Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Model: CHDHH-001
SKU: 1004722
UPC: 185323000897
Record professional-quality footage with this HD digital camcorder that shoots 1080p HD clips at 30 and 60 fps, so you never miss an important shot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.434 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 53 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
47 out of 53
)
Customer Reviews for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder
Review 1 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder
  • Featured

Awesome!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Racer71
from California
on 07/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything so far!
What's not so great: Does have a short battery life that doesnt help when you are out on the lake for hours! Extra battery is handy!
We really love this camera. We use it for bike riding, drag racing, on our jet skis and boat for wakeboarding purposes. We have only had it about a month and so far we are very happy with our purchase. Only reccomendation is to get a class 10 card for it to get the most out of the quality of picture that the camera offers (class 6 will work as well). Note: that you must play back the videos on a high speed computer that is capable of keeping up with the videos of the camera, not to mention getting the full HD experience while watching them. We played our videos at someone elses house with an older computer and it skipped frames really bad. But when we play it on our computer and tv it looked awesome. So do not freak out when you play it with a class 10 card and it still skips, just make sure you have all the capabilities.
I highly suggest getting this camera and all the accessories you need to get out an have fun. The roll bar mount fits great in our drag car and never misses a beat going down the track at very high speeds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Love this!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ElaineN
from Cleveland, OH
on 01/10/2012
What's great about it: Excellent video and extremely stable
What's not so great: Video size is very large - needs compressed
Got this for Christmas as a gift. Mounted on a helmet for ATV riding. Takes excellent videos. Quality is very clear and stable. Excellent. My only issue would be the size of the videos are very large and they need compressed when uploading to any site like Youtube.
About me... Love shooting sports, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Great Camera For Off Road Use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tjdream05
from North Carolina
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Tough
What's not so great: Not seeing what was recorded
Has steady picture and sound while recording while on ruff trails.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver
4.5 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Versatile and Durable Camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Birdbox
from Florida
on 11/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Mounting options, picture quality and durability.
What's not so great: Not much.
The camera and included accessories are of good quality and work as advertised. The HD quality is very clear and the picture is stable. Buying the Motor Sports version probably gives you the most versatile mounts, I bought the helmet version so I needed to buy the large suction cup mount separately. It would be nice if the camera had a "normal" mode, with the stock lens all modes give somewhat of a fisheye look due to the wide angle, then again that would limit the field of view...which is great with this camera.
About me... Love shooting sports, Video enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Awesome camera!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HotdogMcQueen
from Austin, TX
on 11/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Video quality
What's not so great: Complicated controls
This is the first sport camera that I've owned so I don't have anything to compare it to but I'm very happy with it. Not hard to use once you figure it out and the picture quality is great.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Great video camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gamaliel
from Houston, Texas
on 11/16/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I love this video camera. The wide angle lens captures everything I need.
About me... Video enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Awesome HD video when you need hands free

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zlasie
from Fredericksburg, VA
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality and ease of use.
What's not so great: No audible warning for low battery.
We purchased this for use on a zipline trip. It attached to the helmet easily and the one-button record feature was great. We are now editing the video clips we recorded and are amazed at the resolution. It is good enough to pull individual frames and print on 5x7s.
There are no bells and whistles on this camera, but given the designed purpose I would not expect them. It is designed for use in sporting activities where you typically do not have hands free to operate a zoom. It does take a little practice in orienting the camera for optimum capture of the trip, but that was to be expected. Both sound and picture came through great. If there is any complaint, it is the fact that in this type environment there is no warning beep that the battery is getting low. After over two hours of recording, you just have watch it.
About me... Video enthusiast, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

I lost the first one and bought another one.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Springfield Missouri
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Very good quality and easy to use
What's not so great: You need light to record in dark places.
Well the first Gopro rolled out of my work truck and it was lost. I bought another and have been using it for Royal Rangers (Church Boyscouts) while we are hiking and backpacking and having a great time.
I have a ATC9K HD camera and it works better in low light but the Gopro works best in all wet, dusty, humid, banging around situations. I like the case it protects the camera very well and it had lots of options. If your into hiking get a gorrilla tripod mini and the tripod mount and you can get all kinds of camera view angles with that attachement. Good sutff.
About me... royal ranger commander
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Awesome camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sicsti
from Campbell, CA
on 10/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very easy to use
What's not so great: battery could last longer
This is by far the best ever camera. The picture is so clear and sound is great its unbelievable. And durable enough to with stand a motorcycle crash with no scratches. GREAT BUY
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

to sensitive to light changes , no close ups

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: aworner
from wisconsin
on 10/13/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: not for the average user, returned camera
When in a tree shaded area with sunshine flickering through the trees the picture had bright flares of light. When out on a golf course the camera would switch to a darker picture at its discretion. The result was part of the video dark and part much lighter.
The fixed focal length of the lens limits its use for what looks like wide angle all the time. If you are good at editing you will be more successful with the results. Not for the amature.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Used for autocross

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Eeeva123
from Burlington
on 10/13/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
We bought this for an autocross event a couple weekends ago and like how well it attaches with the suction cup mount. Even with excessive speed, breaking and turns we never lost it! The only two drawbacks is not knowing if its always on and recording (we suggest buying the battery attachment viewer) and the background noise. We have had to play around with different sponges and makeshift things to cover up loud background noise. Fun toy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Great camcorder for the price and use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NewFatherof1girl
from Denver, Colorado
on 10/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great overall camcorder
What's not so great: short battery and memory space for diving - Cant change either out underwater.
This is a great camcorder for its price and use.
I was originally looking for an underwater camera to take diving. Most cameras started at $299, and could only go down to 30ft. If you start talking about camcorders, the prices just sky rocket from there. Yes the quality is not going to be as good as the IMAX underwater cameras, but it is great for capturing more than the disposable point-and-shoots. Alternate light sources are always recommended underwater for anything. These things are used by every tv show that is on discovery, racing, etc. It is a lot of fun.
We love strapping it to our kids as they learn to walk and play.
The battery life and memory cards tend to be small and could limit your use, but still worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Great Buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DaStars6
from Columbus, Ga
on 10/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use this for a lot of deferent things from driving around, out on the lake, scuba diving and many more things. all the pictures and videos come out great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Expected More, But Satisfied

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: tmtf8
from NOCO
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size, Portability and Housing
What's not so great: Everything Else
While this product does everything advertised, I think I expected a little more. The housing is easy to use and does a great job. The video picture in 1080p is okay, but is not near the same quality as a ProAm level camcorder. While this is expected, I thought that the chip would have been a bit better considering what is being done these days with digi-video. The main reason I bought this was for action video and the 1 second still capture rate. The action video in well lit conditions is good; however, the moment the light dims or the subject is veiled in the least the image goes blurry. This is also expected, but in my opinion the camera should compensate better than it does. My wife's smart phone does a better job at capturing low light 1080p.
The still images are awful unless the conditions are ideal. If the subject or cam is moving, do not expect anything close to a clear image, even when the lighting is good. I expect that if artificial lighting was introduced the picture would be better, but that defeats the entire purpose of the unit.
Underwater the camera performs well. I brought my lighting rig that I use for my primary u/w camcorder housing and attached them to a makeshift handle in conjunction with the GoPro Handlebar mount, and it all worked great. The color and video were outstanding for what it is. The still shots appeared much like the surface shots, and were very blurry even with the additional light. Of course, any camera would do the same thing underwater sans metering and strobes.
The BacPac LCD Screen is an absolute must for this unit if you want to frame anything properly, especially the POV you're going after. Otherwise, you're potential once in a lifetime shot may be cut off exactly where it shouldn't be.
The price of the unit would be reasonable if the BacPac LCD screen additional battery were included. As it is, they are not, so I don't think that the 'value' is there, hence my 'fair' rating for value for price.
Overall, the GoPro rig performs as advertised, and has many great features, unfortunately, the camera is not something that I will use for anything but capturing action video, which thankfully is meant to be unique and not necessarily to the same level of quality of other HD video.
I would only recommend this product to others if they have a serious need for true, Point of View action footage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Versatile little Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wottiv
from Cashiers, NC
on 09/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple, two buttons, comes with waterproof case and a ton of mounts, value, rugged construction
What's not so great: none so far
This is an amazing little camera!!! It is well worth the price and comes with a TON of mounting possibilities, as well as even more additional mounts available for purchase. I have shot hours and hours of video already with this camera as well as some great photos. I can not wait to experiment with more mounting angles/possibilities. I primarily use this for my landscape business and mountain biking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Go Pro Hero 1080

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tricks433
from Topeka
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: hands free high def video recording
What's not so great: can be alittle tricky to toggle through settings
I love my Go Pro! i picked one up after watching my friend's videos he had made with his and thought it'd be an easy way to film anything active. i used it to film a float trip instead of taking a camera and it took great pictures and awesome videos. under water videos are awesome with these! i've also mounted it to my helmet for motocross, and to my my mountain bike as well. just a very fun way to film action.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

This IS the camera for action!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ThumperPDX
from Portland, OR
on 09/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
As an experienced outdoorsman and active in high impact sports such as Skydiving, I can confidently say this is the camera for action. Rugged, reliable, compact, high quality and a fraction of the cost of the alternatives for the features. GoPro did it right. This isn't the the be-all end-all HD camera for everything, but for the applications that suit it, it is an incredible value for the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Good camera w/ lots of mounting options

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GiuseppeM
from Bay Shore, NY
on 09/18/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: waterproof case and many mounting options
What's not so great: viewing angle reduces down to 127 if shooting at 1080p
I appreciated the fact that the camera offers several mounting options, providing you purchase the various mounting kits. The waterproof case makes it a great camera for wet/ water sports. The picture quality, even as low as 720 is pretty good, although 920 probably offers the most versatility. Which brings me to my one bad point. I purchased the 1080 model, but unfortunately filming at 1080 reduces your viewing aperture from 170 degrees down to 127. Had I known this before the purchase, I probably would have opted for the lower end models since I'll probably always want to shoot with the wide 170 degree view. I don't think the extra $100 for the 1080 was really warranted. Overall though, I'm pleased with the camera.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Great camera for outdoor people

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SilverPatch
from Charlotte, NC
on 09/16/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Love this camera. I got it to mount to my surfboard and my bike. I'm blown away at the fish eye display. You won't be disappointed. Come with lots of excessories.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GoPro - HD Helmet HERO 1080p HD Wearable Video Camcorder

Great camera for the active

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jelliott
from Lakeland, FL
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact, Great Video Quality
What's not so great: Need to familiarize yourself with the settings/options available because there is no LCD, unless purchased seperately.
This camera is a great video camera that I have been using for a few months when I go scuba diving and it produces really crisp HD videos. I purchased an aftermarket lens for the camera that I use for underwater video because the attached curved lens tends to blur the picture a little. I have caught alot of great video and would definately recommend this camera for the active person (Biking, Hunting, Surfing, Diving, Racing, Etc.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
GoPro - BacPac LCD Screen
4.0 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
GoPro - BacPac Battery Charger
4.7 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>