Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Model: 91016
SKU: 1089285
UPC: 662248910161
SynopsisPrepare to travel to the new and beautiful realm of Eorzea and embark on the multitude of journeys that await you in Final Fantasy XIV. As citizens of this grand and magnificent world, players will explore the far reaches of the land while experiencing unparalleled customization and adventures and realizing objectives — with or without the aid of others. The entire experience has been created to suit a wide variety of play styles — from a throng of soldiers fighting for days on end to a lone mercenary with only a moment or two to spare during the day. The compelling storylines are narrated through high-definition cutscenes and real-time events that feature your highly personalized and versatile character. Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition is the revolutionary massive multiplayer online role-playing game that places you in the visually stunning realm of Eorzea. Actively engage in the enthralling storylines while at the same time embarking on adventurous quests that have you exploring the far reaches of this massive world. You will be given the freedom to completely alter the gameplay experience by swapping out equipment or fulfilling objectives — solo or with a group. The Collector's Edition grants you early access to the game, allowing you to begin your adventure eight days prior to the release of the Standard Edition. This Collector's Edition includes a behind-the-scenes documentary DVD showcasing the making of Final Fantasy XIV and featuring exclusive video content, interviews and more. A Final Fantasy XIV-branded Security Token is also included to be used in addition to your regular password and chronicle your journeys in the bound Travel Journal that is filled with pages of never-before-seen concept art. Receive your fully personalized Right of Passage certificate stamped with a unique serial number with the included voucher. Embark on your adventure with free gameplay for 30 days and invite a friend to play for free for a limited time with the buddy pass. Receive the Onion Helm in-game item to protect yourself while you embark on life's journey as it speeds recovery following KO. From immersive storylines to an endless cast of well-developed and fully customizable characters, Final Fantasy XIV Online lets players from around the globe join together for an adventure of infinite possibilities.
Average Customer Rating:
3.647 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
71% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 17
)
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows
Review 1 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Awesome game!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Janni
from Colorado
on 11/01/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Length
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I really have to say the Graphics are the best part if you are running it on a well built gaming computer.
What's not so great: The issues needing to be fixed and the force closing are the worst parts.
Me and a few friends bought this game to play because we liked FF-XI. They incorporated a lot of the same stuff from that game but also designed some new things. Graphics are impeccable! There are still some issues that need to be fixed, but they are in the process of it. Things like quick keys to bring up menus and chatting are among those needing fixing. It took me a few days to really get the hang of how everything was done before I actually began to like it, but if you ask questions and figure everything out, then you should begin to enjoy it as well. I do find the program closes out a lot, if your in windowed mode and close out and open another program it doesn't like (vent) it has a tendency to force close FF-XIV.
Besides the game play, the little journal that came with the game is really cool is has different watermark pictures on every page. I also like that there is a special key to prevent hacking of your account(s). I would totally recommend this game(whether or not you get the special edition) if you enjoyed the first game, like I said still some issues to be fixed, but in good time.
P.S. If you get the special edition and get the code for the onion helm, enter the code first before creating your character, lol.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Great evolving MMORPG for hardcore gamers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CambriaKilgannon
from Mysidia Server
on 10/26/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Length
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Graphics, Character Skills Customization, Challenge
What's not so great: Tricky UI at first without help, (join a linkshell [guild])
A lot of people are downing this game but it's not for everyone. World of Warcraft is for kids and more casual gamers with easy gameplay and tutorials. FFXIV makes you work a little harder but once you get the hang of the system after a couple days the game is pretty great and they are currently working to put more into it. Some of the best graphics are in this game so you need a decent CPU / RAM / vid card, but there's always plenty to do and grind. Also you can use abilities from other classes so really you can customize your character to the max. For example you could be a tank, with a heal from the conjurer, and a debuff from thaumaturge. Great nex gen MMORPG but not the best for a casual gamer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Good MMO for fans of FFXI

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Aster13
from Dover, DE
on 10/23/2010
Challenge
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Length
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics & Sound
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Fun
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Easy to get into, user friendly, Fans of FFXI will be hooked to FFXIV
What's not so great: User Interface, lack of tutorial in the beginning
Pros:
Graphics are BEAUTIFUL
Gameplay is fresh and rather new
Music isn't as memorable as other installments in the FF series, (SE used Nobuo again, it's just not working for me)
Solo and Duo friendly (teamwork friendly in later levels)
Monthly updates
Synthesis consists of fun minigames
Easy to earn large amounts of gold in the game
Character Customization is great!
Cons:
The UI isn't too friendly, as it consists of clicking numerous things to get something done.
Lack of tutorial in the beginning in the game
long winding roads of nothingness
recycled textures
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Excellent MMO

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BaxterJ
from Arkansas
on 10/22/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Length
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics & Sound
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Community
What's not so great: N/A
I have really enjoyed playing this game. The bonus content was fair. The community is very accepting and vocal. There is a lot to do, and is great for 1-3 hour quickies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Best Buy Never Had it

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: rojin
from Sacramento, CA
on 10/19/2010
Challenge
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Length
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Graphics & Sound
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Overall it is great the game that is for a seasoned mmo'er
What's not so great: not as user friendly
Review for Best Buy for dropping the ball on that one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Just plain bad

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Mord
from Michigan
on 10/19/2010
Challenge
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Length
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
The only high point of this game was the graphics. The ui was dismally complex and even the tutorials were a pain to read. No fun "this is how things work" quests just endless walls of text.
My biggest complaint however, is that the game is just plain boring, and I consider myself a person with a high tolerance for boring games. I'm bummed because se usually puts out quality but it seems after ten years of being in the mmo business, they still haven't figured it out. Too bad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Great for those with high-end gaming rigs

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from DPO, AE
on 10/19/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Length
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics & Sound
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The amount of things to experience in the virtual world.
What's not so great: Too much strain on resources to run the game at the best resolution.
This game is great testament to the Final Fantasy series. It has a great interface and a lot to do and see. Overall, if you have the PC computing and graphics power to run this game, the overall experience is rewarding. There are many tweaks and enhancements coming up in the updates. Beware, if you played Final Fantasy XI Online, then you'll be very irritated by the set-up of the commands and options available to you at the present time and the November/December 2010 update promises to rectify those issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Not ready for release

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: OmnipotentClown
from San Diego, CA
on 10/19/2010
Challenge
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Length
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Graphics & Sound
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Pretty graphics
What's not so great: everything else
Millions of bugs, unpolished combat system, tedious travel, long cooldowns on quests, hardly anything to do OTHER than long cooldown quests and grinding, grinding got old fast (buggy/aweful ui to blame), crafting was "interesting", mini game with ZERO in game guidance... overall, give this game a YEAR or TWO and MAYBE they'll have fixed it to the point that its not a total joke. It was like playing an alpha testing phase. nothing worked like it should, and the things that did work you couldn't believe they planned so poorly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Released too soon

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: johnnyt305
from miami, fl
on 10/19/2010
Challenge
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Length
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Graphics, Sound, Many classes
What's not so great: Horrible UI, no content, server lag
FFXIV has excellent graphics & sound, the best of any MMO I have played. However, that is the best part of the game right now. There is very little content, only 1 storyline quest and then you can do a few daily battle quests and you can only grind after that. Add to this the fact that the game has the worst UI ever in an MMO and you can easily become frustrated in this game. There are many problems, so I would wait a while before purchasing this game, maybe 6 months at least.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Worst Game Ever....

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Soloflight
from Indiana
on 09/24/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Length
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Graphics & Sound
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The box is very purdy
What's not so great: Bestbuy, Square enix, non refundable
its not 9/24/10 and ive yet to be able to play this game... my story...
Day 1 : Best buy cant plan for release dates so shipments is late.
Day 2: Game arrives, installs, crashes everytime i click the desktop icon... running asus amd 6 core phenom with ATI 5750 graphics card and 8 GB ram... windows 7 64 bit.
Day 3: Learn that SE didnt make the game compatable with ATI graphics card so have to dig online to find catalyst and update all drivers.
Day 4: Its been 12 hours now and only 60% through update because Square Enix's new P2P update system cant find a good seed... but can upload at a steady 50kbs with no problem...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
1out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

EVEN BETTER THAN FFXI AND WOW

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FFXIVBETATESTER
from Golden Beach FL.
on 09/20/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Length
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the best FF so far.
What's not so great: crafting recipes can be challenging.
I have to say that after been playing FFXIV on beta for the last 3-4 months. i was amazed by the graphics, the new classes, jobs. and overall of the game. the quest system, the crafting, the story.. We cannot still Jump. but
you are going to love this game. hour and hours and some more hours of fun and adventures awaits you.
one advice try to become familiar with the txt commands so you can switch jobs easy. and do combo attacks. etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Need Good Graphics Card to Play Game

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Deedi
from Augusta, GA
on 09/17/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Length
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Wonderful Graphics and Sound
What's not so great: High learning required to play
I had a good laugh when I read this game can be played using an ATI 2900 card. I tried using an ATI 4200 and while yes, you can play it, it looks really bad. I installed an ATI 5500 card and can barely play it full-screen using 720P settings. My friend is using a 5750 card and still can't play it in 720P with maxed settings. I'm ordering a 5770 XT card to play this game (can't afford anything better).
This game is huge! It has a really nice on-screen display map and you can view others, and mobs. Nice when you have mob following you -- you can see it finally.
Your armor gettings damaged when you craft or fight. Best to craft wearing underwear! (buy extra set because you can't repair underwear unless you unequip it to fix it). You WILL need to do crafting to survive this game.
Crafting uses multiple crystals to synth -- stock up on Wind and Lightning. (crystals + shards)
There are NO mog or auction houses. You will need to purchase via bazaar. Most armor drops via Leve-quests.
This game is awesome! Scenery and mobs are so realistic it's unbelievable. I have stopped playing FFXI for FFXIV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

More than meets the eye

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Computerpal21
from Richmond, VA
on 09/12/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Length
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything,
What's not so great: Squareenix has some polishes they need to fix as a company.
Alot of people in the Beta are complaining about controls and stuff for the game. THere are patches and fixes for that and make the game that much more enjoyable, they just need to know where to find these patches because they are not on the game updates. I hope they are incorperated in on game release so we dont have to keep finding th patch after every update
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Final Fantasy XIV Online - Windows
2.8 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
 
-32points
4out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Open Beta Disappointment

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: BestBuyGameGuru
from U.S.A
on 09/11/2010
Challenge
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Length
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Graphics
What's not so great: It feels rushed and should be held off a couple of months to polish things up.
I pre-order FFXIV and couln't wait to try out the new mmorpg. Well that all went away after joining open beta. The graphics are awesome, although they use alot of repeating textures.
I don't like that crafting is a class like Warrior,Mage ect.... I do however like the fact that equiping a bow, automaticly switches my class to archer, and equiping a fishing rod switches me to fisherman instantly. I don't like that any action bars that I setup prior to switching classes are not saved. So going from Archer--->Fisherman--->Archer erases your hotbars.
I don't like the limited control config for keyboard on PC (the PS3 and PC version's should have seperate interface). I don't like the battle system (it feels slugish),
I wish they would have kept everything from FFXI and just updated the graphics. Overall the game feels rushed, and should be held at least 3 more months before it's released. As it stands my order is canceled and I will check back at a later time to see if any changes have been made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
29out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Forget everything you know about the genre

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: M4VE
from Fort Bragg, NC
on 09/11/2010
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics & Sound
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: The ability to solo without feeling grindy
What's not so great: Crafting system is a bit complicated
I've been playing the Open Beta of FFXIV for the last week or so and it is a TON of fun. The graphics are incredible and the world is insanely big. It's interesting playing a limited schedule, but I don't hate it. I'm playing a conjurer and they seem to be a great balance of nuke ability and healing ability. As far as game play goes, I have gone solo the whole time and have no feeling that I'm missing anything because I'm wrapped up in the story line and just working my way forward without feeling like I'm grinding at all. For this reason I am really looking forward to launch and would highly recommend this game to anyone tired of doing things the Blizzard way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
16out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Collector's Edition worth every penny!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mchrist
from Woodstock, GA
on 08/16/2010
What's great about it: Graphics, gameplay, slaying dragons, community
What's not so great: If you get addicted, you will have no life
If you are certain you will be getting FFXIV, it is worth every penny more to make sure you get the collector's edition! It includes so much for just the $25 extra. It will include an authenticator which, if you played WoW, you would know how valuable this can be due to all the people trying to keylog people's accounts!
It will also include a free month of gameplay for you, and you can also give your friend a guest pass so they can try the game out too (or if you're like me, you will use the guest pass yourself to have a 2nd account!).
More amazingly is the extra week of gameplay you get before anyone who doesn't pick up this edition! I've never seen a game, much less an MMO, that allows people early access for being such hardcore fans! This will definitely give the hardcore players a chance to get some levels and get out of the "noob zones" before the mass population picks up the game. Way to go Square Enix!
It's a bit premature to rate the game before it comes out, but from playing FFXI and watching all the new FFXIV footage come out, I know this will be an amazing MMORPG. As usual, Square Enix will set the benchmark in graphics for all MMORPGs. My favorite aspect with FFXI was that you can play cross-country and cross-platform on the same realms. They gave us a way to communicate with people in Japan, Europe, etc. I can't wait to see what they bring this time!
In case you didn't hear, the demo at E3 2010 for this was in 3D. It is not going to release in 3D, but it will eventually be able to be played in 3D on both the PC and PS3.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard with LCD Display
4.5 out of 5(55)
 
 
 
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 465 1GB GDDR5 PCI Express Graphics Card
 
 
 
Logitech G9X Laser Gaming Mouse
4.3 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
-11points
16out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Final Fantasy XIV Online Collector's Edition - Windows

Looking forward to this game!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Veritas717
from Portland, OR
on 07/06/2010
What's great about it: CE allows early access to game
What's not so great: Going to have to upgrade computer already!
I played FFXI a lot when it was first released. Had to stop because I didn't have the time required to group and level. Now with FFXIV they have added a solo component that allows casual players to enjoy the game without having to devote hours to a single session. Can't wait to wade back into FF again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
62out of 108found this review helpful.