Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Model: MFC-J270W
SKU: 1148518
UPC: 012502626619
Print, copy, fax and scan with ease with this printer that features wireless capabilities that allow you to connect to a home or office network to print from multiple computers. The 1.9" color LCD display ensures simple navigation of features.
Average Customer Rating:
4.454 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 108 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
87% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
94 out of 108
)
Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Best Printer I've Ever Owned

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jmb1031
from Muncie, IN
on 01/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is by far the best printer/scanner I have ever owned for several reasons. The first is that I don't print very often, and with all the other printers I've owned the ink would dry up, but not with this one. The printer is always ready to print flawlessly even though I only print maybe once a month. I also love the fact that I can print or scan wirelessly from any computer in my house and whenever it isn't being used it is in power saving mode. I would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Excellent all-in-one

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PDubs
from Austin, TX
on 11/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, great package, can do it all well at a cheap price.
What's not so great: Faxing is limited to manually sending one page at a time.
I have gone through a couple all-in-one devices, but none have performed this well at this price point. It is an excellent product for basic needs of a home office. Faxing is the only drawback. We don't fax that much, so scanning page by page is not an issue. But for those that may send faxes with multiple pages on occasion, be aware you have to manually insert every page one at a time. Overall, you can't go wrong with it, I easily recommend it to anyone looking for a sub $100 product.
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

The Best Printer By Far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DelanoCity
from Delano,Ca
on 10/27/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, Great features, Good price
What's not so great: Prints Average, but its okay.
I used to own a Lexmark printer and i had so much trouble with that printer that i ended up bashing it up because i got so frustrated, so i decided to give it another try and i purchased This BROTHER all in one printer and let me tell you its awesome all the way around the WIFI was an ease to connect in just 5 minutes i was printing pictures and documents.. The best Printer and it was in a reasonable price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Mediocre printer, tough install

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Technocam
from Mass
on 10/26/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Print quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Very tough install, poor print quality, crashes laptop
When I was looking at wireless printers and asked the Best Buy rep if it was an easy install, he said it was - just turn it on, run the install disk, and that's it. Wrong. It took hours to install, working with both the router support and Brother support, making several calls to each before getting help. In the end the printer disrupted my new Toshiba laptop (also Best Buy product) purchased just a few months prior. The printer is now turned off and in a corner. My laptop freezes and crashes frequently, and I've got to get it to Best Buy to pay who knows how much to the Geek Squad to troubleshoot and repair. Who knows if the printer will ever work properly and not crash my laptop. It should be easy, fast and seemless but has been the opposite. I don't recommend the Toshiba laptop or the Brothers printer. Very frustrating, costly and disappointing purchases from Best Buy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

It's conveinent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DAOUTLAWSWIFE
from Cleveland, OH
on 10/08/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It's wireless
What's not so great: print speed
It's conveinent to use at home. I can do everything right at home. There are no wires or cables to string.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

I like this printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tb0588
on 10/06/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Its a good printer! I got it on sell so i like the price too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Excellent Printer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cvaughan
from Mount Laurel, NJ
on 09/28/2011
What's great about it: Multifunction, space saver
I am very pleased with this printer. It doesn't take up much space and is super easy to operate. I recommend having Geek Squad set it up. The buttons are straight forward and the options to scan, fax and print are all easy to use. The quality of the output is great. I am very satisfied and would recommend this printer to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Easy Set up.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Marvelanddc
from Kyle, Texas
on 09/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up and Great price
Very easy to set up. I was very excited about the WIFI but worried it would not work that good. I was wrong. Set up took about 5 min and very easy. The cost for this unit was amazing too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Fast and clear

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dranny
from Massachusetts
on 09/27/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, speed, functionality, wireless
What's not so great: Grey tones when reducing print quality
This is used primarily for my husband's home business and for my teaching needs. I have owned about 6 HP DeskJets, an HP InkJet, a Canon, an Epson, and a Lexmar printer, mostly all-in-ones so I have used to the way they function. I bought this because it was a ridiculous deal when I got my husband's new HP Pavilion and couldn't say no. Right out of the box I set it up, connected to the wireless, and printed two books (until the starter cartridges ran dry, why do they not just give you a reasonable amount of ink?) One of the best features for me is the copier cover that lifts up and out allowing a good sized book to be placed under it without having to crush the binding and without letting so much light that the quality of the copy is compromised; the cover actually fits right over the binding making it superior to a flat cover. Print quality is fine, but I definitely prefer HPs "Fast draft" mode for fast printing in good blackline. The various modes in the Brother printer reduce the amount of black applied so trying to go with a fast draft or fast normal print it all comes out grey, which is not great for making teacher originals. Having several cartridges is not exactly the environmentally friendly thing to do, but I'll recycle them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

briiliant product with great results

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Hughfarn
from easton,PA
on 09/17/2011
What's great about it: great quality at great price
What's not so great: nothing
I bought this as I needed a new scanner although I have not been a fan of Inkjet printers in the past.
The scans are top quality (almost photo quality)and the installation software also includes an OCR facilty for text.
The printing is almost as good as my colour laser printer.
I have not used the fax facilty but would not expect any problems given the quality of the rest of the product
Would reccomend to anyone looking for a 3 in one
The fact that it is a wireless product is a great plus
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great printer and options

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rajamo
from Louisville, KY
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price-quality
What's not so great: print cartridges too small
Printer has very good quality and was easy to set up. The wireless features allows me to print from any of my computer locations in the house and from my cell phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

for the price it's a good Machine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: raww
from Everett,WA
on 09/15/2011
What's great about it: it works
What's not so great: nothing at this time
it does everything they say it does...I hope it last us a long time
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great printer, copier, scanner & fax

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ttoe
from Venice, Florida
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I really like this machine. It was very easy to hook up and easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

It fits just about anyplace you could need it.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: j777d1001
from Tulsa, OK
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It has every feature you could ever need at home.
What's not so great: No top feed so you have to load each original by it self.
I got this one after my Dell AIO died on me. This one has been a better printer from day one. The price is amazing for everything you get. If your looking for an AIO get this printer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

A great printer and value for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wapdavis
from St. Louis
on 09/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great price and value
What's not so great: Challenging setup of the wireless connection for the inexperienced or novice
OK, this printer has taken a beating by some over configuration of the wireless connectivity. Could the documentation be better, clearer? Perhaps. But, what people need to understand is that wireless configurations can have many variables relative to the user. I got through my setup by having some basic intuition for dealing with networks, experimentation, and patience. Once I realized what I needed to do for my somewhat unusual business setup, it was super easy. I give Brother a 5-star thumbs up. I have always found their products to be good, reliable, and a great value for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Good little printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BigGusto
from Pikesville
on 09/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: ease of use
Gets the job done quickly and nicely. I have 5 brother printers I have gotten them for many of my family members. They enjoy using them also
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

First time Wireless Printer, Very pleased

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gscaton1
from Severn Md.
on 09/01/2011
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Cheap but great wireless printer
What's not so great: Instructions, hard to understand, alot of steps to get it runnning
Great printer, very happy with it, only problem was the instructions. Found the tolll free number and they walked me thru. Took longer than the 10 minutes every one said. It took about 45 minutes but it ran perfect. Waited about 5 minutes on the phone so can't be upset with that. For a cheap printer, has great reviews, just the instructions for the average person would be very hard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great Product for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CAT123LCS
from Washington, DC
on 09/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price and Easy Setup
Product is an excellent value. The WiFi automatically connected to my home network, setup was simple. The print quality is great and it can fax in color. What a great product for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Very Difficult

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: A0653971
from old bridge, nj
on 09/01/2011
What's not so great: Instructions confusing, very difficult to install
I brought this printer at a great price for my son who's going to college. He is very skilled when it comes to technology but this wireless printer was very difficult for him to connect the instructions were very confusing. He called brothers customer service and was on hold for almost an hour thats when we decided we were returning the printer to best buy. I wouldnt purchase again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother MFC-J270w Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great Product for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: unbiasedshopper
from Massachusetts
on 09/01/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Serves the purpose of a general user who's looking for wi fi printing at the comfort of sitting in his couch with a laptop and print his documents that comes out clean & crisp. Remains turned off by itself and turns on when a job is sent ..prints and then shuts off. Great feature. Very easy set up took me minutes. Compact and decent looking. Speed is acceptable but how does a few seconds matter.. I don't know. I am happy with it. Brother is well known in the printer world for great products and certainly this is one of them. Excellent value for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>