Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Model: SPHD700BKS
SKU: 1168955
UPC: 635753484571
This 4G Android phone offers an outstanding mobile entertainment experience with its blazing speed and amazing display. Record and watch HD-quality video, view downloaded movies and TV shows and more. It operates on 3G and 4G networks and also features two cameras, mobile hotspot capability and access to Android Market. Requires a Simply Everything or Everything Data plan and a $10.00 Premium Data add-on The Early Termination Fee is prorated and is calculated by taking the months remaining on your Service Agreement times $20 for Advanced Devices, with a maximum of $350, and minimum of $100.
Average Customer Rating:
4.376 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 210 reviews
5 stars
122
4 stars
63
3 stars
14
2 stars
4
1 star
7
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
191 out of 210
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)
Review 1 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

this phone is so much fun

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nannyj
from Moreno Valley, CA
on 08/02/2012
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I love the phone it does more than I expected, I bought 2 (one for my husband too) and my husband who couldn't hardly text on his old phone now texts, video chats , takes pic's and videos and sends them to family .We both keep playing with our phones and constantly learn more things we didnt know we had
This product is... Easy navigation, Good video quality
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:55-64
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Has problems - No fix

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: IELoanguy
from Inland Empire - So. California
on 02/20/2012
What's not so great: tend to stop working
This is a great phone when it worked. In fact I talked my son into getting the same phone also. About 2 months ago his power button stopped working. There is no way to start the phone any other way. Yesterday Mine just did the same thing. Obviously this is a common problem with the phone itself. DON'T BUY !!!!!!
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Short battery life, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Use for phone calls only, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Too many problems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: my3sonsofplenty
from Kent
on 01/23/2012
What's great about it: large screen
What's not so great: everything else...
Ive been stuck with this phone for 9 miserable months. I replaced it 3 times, and it still doesnt work right. Bestbuy helped me update it, and that only helped one of the problems. It shuts off whenever it wants to, the screen locks up ALL the time, and it wont hold a charge now for more than 2 hours (in idle,with apps turned off). My son had this phone too, and his was a pain as well. Im disappointed in Samsung, I expected greater.
This product is... Short battery life, too many glitches
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Great Fone 4 Advanced Ppl

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LilUptown
from Uptown, Washington DC
on 12/27/2011
i have dis fone and it's great da only flaw is wen im watchin videos it keep buffering but other den dat it's great
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Short battery life, Great picture quality, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Could be a great phone

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: delmo
from IL
on 10/23/2011
What's great about it: Screen size, camera, swipe feature
What's not so great: Connectivity & other problems
This could be a fantastic phone but it is plagued with connectivity problems and others. I am on my 4th phone, have to keep bringing it back to Sprint and then they order me a new (refurbished) one to replace it. Unfortunately each one has worse problems than the previous. I use the Hotspot feature and it is constantly disconnecting. I live in a 4G area but the excuse they use is the 4G is 'outside'. If a feature doesn't really work they shouldn't try to sell you the phone based on that feature. Also, the drag (to 'wake' the phone) often doesn't work sometimes. When on a call, esp one that lasts more than a few minutes, all of a sudden I'll get dial tone. I can see my original call but can't get back to it cause when I touch the screen, it goes black. Finally figured out the screen will stay available if I open the keyboard then I can press the phone icon and get back to my original call - if they haven't hung up in the mean-time. The phone gets extremely hot too, when talking and when charging. I've gotten error messages that say charging has stopped because the phone is either too hot or too cold. When sprint sends out updates I loose all my settings. The swipe feature gets stuck now and then - like when a key is stuck on your keyboard. Very frustrating. If the phone didn't have all these issues, I'd love the phone. I am usually a fan of Samsung. Now I have to go through this process all over again - they need a way to store ALL your settings and apps not just your contacts.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Tough/durable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Best phone yet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: feather393
from Collegeville, Pa
on 10/15/2011
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: Can't think of anything that I have disliked about it.
I loved my Samsung Instinct and didn't want to give it up! However, I had to cave to the times and upgrade. I thought that I would like no other phone as much as my Instinct. After trial and error with two other phones the ending result was the Epic! It has now been 2 years now and I still LOVE this phone. I have not had to return it or repair it once. It gets me where I need to be, whether physically or virtually every time! Now that the Epic II is out, I am contemplating the switch since my daughter needs a new phone and could use my original one....maybe. One thing that I am sure of is the dependability of this phone! My Crackberry husband is even considering the switch!
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Tough/durable, Good call quality, appearance
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Thought it was a good phone at first...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MattM1994
from Texas
on 09/18/2011
When I first bought the Epic 4g about 1 year ago, I thought it was a GREAT phone, however, pretty quickly after, things started to go downhill. It began to freeze up, and get extremely hot (actually hurt to touch), and overall just wasn't working right. So, Sprint re-imaged it, still no avail. Then they replaced it saying it might just be a bad phone, but once again, I had the same exact problems. I am sick of my Epic and I cannot wait to get a new phone in October (I am the primary # on my account)
Also, I dropped it out of my pocket today, one of the things Sprint advertised about the phone was how "durable" it was, meaning it wouldn't break easily, but it fell out of my pocket onto the tile and completely cracked the whole screen and now it won't turn on. NOT DURABLE AT ALL.
This product is... Great screen
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Definite improvement from my old phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Boberri
from Arizona
on 09/07/2011
What's great about it: Really, really fast
What's not so great: keyboard slides a bit weird
I'm not crazy about how the keyboard slides out. I always end up hitting another button on the side and inevitably, my camera will come on or volume will raise or lower. More thought should be put into the placement of these buttons on the sides of the phone.
This product is... Great screen, Lightning fast, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Excellent Android Device!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ampdavo
from Saratoga Springs, NY
on 08/29/2011
What's great about it: Battery life, Super Amoled display, Great touch response
What's not so great: No Official Gingerbread update at the time of this review. (Gingerbread still obtainable through root and custom Rom)
I have had my Epic 4G for about 8 months now and its still the best device I have picked up (Although the Galaxy II device will be released soon). I would highly recommend this device to anyone! I had the Evo 4G and HTC hero prior to the Epic 4G, I get better battery life from the Epic then I did with the Evo or Hero.
-Rooted Samsung Epic 4G
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Good thought, bad execution

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: SkipIt
from Ohio
on 08/24/2011
What's great about it: Beautiful screen
What's not so great: Battery
I had been researching phones for quite some time before making my purchase. The thing that drew me to this phone was that it had a physical keyboard and the amazing screen. Once I got it and started using Swype, there wasn't much need for the keyboard. The bad thing about this phone is the battery. I'm not a heavy user and the battery would drop around 25% every 1 1/2. I could barely make it through a day at work, but only if I didn't use it. If I did, I had to plug it up. The other bad part was spell check. There isn't one. Swype would try and correct words for you, but if you were quick to continue typing and spelled the word wrong, it would add that word to it's bank of words, which meant that it would bring up the incorrect spelling every time you Swyped something close to it. Ultimately, I took the phone back after 2 weeks. Unless you want to be tethered to a charger, don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Great upgrade from my samsung moment

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: happyphoneuser
from Burlington, NC
on 08/24/2011
What's great about it: Fast, decent battery life, easy to use
What's great: I like that the screen is bigger that my moment. It's so much clearer, too and the colors are great. The battery actually lasts longer than my moment. If I'm using it with average use, it'll last about 8-10 hours. It's definitely faster than my moment.
What's not great: Best Buy lowered the price of the phone by $50 and when I went in a month later to ask for the difference in price, they wouldn't give it to me b/c I was 2 days late (it's 30 days, not a month). That made me sad. So, be aware that there's no grace period--it's 30 days so you might shop accordingly since their new ads come out on Sundays to make sure you get the most Sundays possible in that 30 days. Had I waited 2 days to buy, I would have had another shot at getting the lower price match.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

best phone on the planet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AdioXB
from 11201
on 08/04/2011
What's great about it: screen, cameras, run time, productivity, easy to use, everything, everything, everything!
What's not so great: if you use it like crazy it does have a lower battery life, but still amazing
i am super picky about the productivity of a phone. this phone is incredible. i could never ask for anything better. killer camera, easy texting both on screen and with keyboard, runs apps at a stellar speed, no errors that i've come across yet. i bought a screen guard and a snap-on case for it, only because i love it so much. i never go that far to protect phones, but it is that great. SAMSUNG ROCKS!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite
4.1 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
Samsung 32" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Not a great phone,I have to many issues

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DAN8014
from LIVINGSTON N.J.
on 08/03/2011
What's great about it: TEXTING IS GOOD
What's not so great: I CANT TURN THE POWER OFF TILL I PUT THE SCREEN BACK ON
this phone i have for 1 month now calling is no issue but every thing else is either slow or complex e/mail works sometimes and other times dont app.s are always asking for passwords that says it doesnt know I liked my old I/phone better but it had issues with calling and ATT
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Awesome phone!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: StephM
from Bethlehem, PA
on 07/28/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use, great features
What's not so great: Battery life
This phone is great! I love how easy it is to use and the features it offers. The keyboard makes texting so easy, My only complaint is that the battery life isn't the greatest, even with the display light down to almost the minimum and GPS off when not in use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Best Android phone!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lucentminds
from Hurst, TX
on 07/21/2011
What's great about it: The best features of any Android phone.
What's not so great: Short battery life when running data or other extra features other than voice.
The Epic 4G is the best Android phone I've owned. I upgraded from a MetroPCS Huawei Ascend Android phone to this one because I needed a phone that would allow me to remote desktop into my computer at work using the phone's data service. Sprint's 3G data speeds were more than enough to accomplish this. The Epic 4G processing power makes smooth operation of the phone. There are newer and faster phones coming out, but the Epic 4G still handles whatever I throw at it.
The only thing that needs to be improved on the Epic 4G and any other smartphone is the battery life. By turning off 3G/4g data, bluetooth, GPS and wifi; you get great battery life, but I would at least like to be able to leave 3g on and not have to worry about charging my phone in the middle of the day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

I love this phone!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lydia
from Harbor City, CA
on 07/14/2011
I am so glad I finally got a new phone! I am still getting used to all of the features and apps available. The only thing I notice is that I have to keep charging the phone because I tend to have too many things going at one time! My kids say I am a slow but good student!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Great phone!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jackie51
from Radnor, PA
on 07/13/2011
What's great about it: Great value!
Excellent sreen with many apps. Easy to use. You can easily learn what is available on the phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Great phone, but does overheat

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: IAH1
from Wichita, KS
on 07/13/2011
What's great about it: Speed of Android System
What's not so great: Overheats
This is a great phone! Fast speed, and I love it. It does occasionally overheat though, not only when charging, but has while I was charging and using it at the same time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

Great phone for anyone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Anaheim, CA
on 07/07/2011
What's great about it: the graphic and the key board
What's not so great: Needs improvement on the battery, need longer lasting one
There are many apps are available on this phone, with Sprint I don't have to worry about my usage limit. All access are unlimited.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung - Epic Mobile Phone (Sprint)

love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ladyscreolesoul
from New Orleans, LA
on 07/07/2011
What's great about it: Keyboard
I love this phone and I know I have not scratch the surface of all it can do. I am loving finding out all it can do. Slide out keyboard is great for someone like me who seems to have normal fingers that are too big for on screen keyboards.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>