Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Model: WNDR3400-100NAS
SKU: 1208844
UPC: 606449071146
This wireless router enables speeds up to 600 Mbps for efficient operation and features a broadband usage meter that ensures accurate measurement of daily, weekly and monthly Internet traffic.
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4264 Reviews) 4264
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 4,264 reviews
5 stars
2,789
4 stars
1,078
3 stars
140
2 stars
79
1 star
178
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
3,905 out of 4,264
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports
Review 1 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports
  • Featured

Good, solid router

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sabresong
from North Carolina
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I bought this router to replace A Vizio HD router that started dropping the wireless after three years. Before that, the longest any router I bought would last was less than a year. Even when the Vizio was new, our media streaming would frequently drop and stall. Since we installed this Netgear router 4 months ago, we haven't experienced a single media drop. We run a desktop, two laptops, a server, two smartphones, two game consoles and two wifi Blu-Ray players on this router with almost no trouble. And if you configure your wireless card properly, 54Mbps is very, very nice to have.
Installation was fast, easy and absolutely painless, and though the system specs say it's compatible with Windows and Mac, I did all the setup and configuration on an OpenSuse Linux laptop using the web interface so easily I could almost have slept through the process.
It broadcasts wireless on two separate channels (check my terminology, please), one at 2.4g and the other at 5g. I'm not sure how many devices support 5g yet, but its presence in this router means no worries when we upgrade devices.
The one problem we did have may be more a matter of location than a function of the router. There's one spot, about 20 feet from the router, where the sofa is, that seems to have trouble holding the connection with my wife's laptop. But just behind that is my son's room, and he has no trouble with the connection with his desktop, so it's probably not the router itself. But still, make sure of your router placement. Higher up is better. Properly placed, this router seems to be the best I've tried yet.
I'd definitely recommend this router to anyone looking for a fast and easy home or small business router. Not for a large network, of course, but it handles all our devices with ease.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
+395points
466out of 537found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports
  • Featured

Brilliant Product at a Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrAfterhours
from Houston, TX
on 03/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Price, 3 Seperate "Networks", Stability, Size
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I actually went into BBY to buy a cisco router. But when I got there this router was right below it. I wanted the Cisco E2000 but this one boasted better data rates and was much cheaper. Thanks to the sale I got this great product. I am an IT Systems Administrator so my opinion on how easy it was to setup may not be the best gauge. Although, I will say it is extremely easy to setup. The web interface is great. I didn't even realize, until I got home, that this router has 3 seperate wireless networks all with their own SSIDs. I setup one for my internal network of computers, one for my gaming consoles and there is a handy 3rd one. It actually creates an isolated network that cannot communicate back into your internal network. This is good for when you want to have a guest connection for friends to get on when they are over. I hide the first 2 and broadcast the 3rd. I use my Cisco 7921 wireless VoIP phone on it as well and the connection is amazingly clear unlike my old router.
All in all, extremely glad I bought this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+484points
581out of 678found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
qsaj09
 
Please wait while more information about qsaj09 is loaded.
Additional information about qsaj09 could not be loaded.
10/13/2011
Would this be a good product to buy for a netbook? Because I'm getting one and I would like to know and plus I'm thinking about purchasing this product as well.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
ipanemablues
San Francisco
 
Please wait while more information about ipanemablues is loaded.
Additional information about ipanemablues could not be loaded.
Easy Set-Up
04/30/2011
This Netgear Router model was way much easier to install than my previous one. Specially during the wireless hook-up with a Samsung DVD. Recommend to follow the installation instruction from the DVD that is included rather than following instruction from the Netgear website. Step by step instruction were easier for me to follow that way!
+3points
3out of 3found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Review 3 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Excellent Wireless Router!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Happydude
from South carolina
on 09/01/2014
Have had no problems getting internet reception throughout the house
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1038881777
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Improved speed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pattyperfict
from SC
on 08/31/2014
Increased range and speed.and at a good price used in a house of old design ot an open house but cut up with rooms.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2866698315
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

works great and supports everything in the house

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BlingPow
on 08/31/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Replaced another brand and I definitely prefer this
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0563773397
My Best Buy number: 0563773397
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

average reliability

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: tana11464
from seminole
on 08/31/2014
What's great about it: not much
What's not so great: intermittent disconnects
I have had to reset the unit several times over a short period of time. The Best Buy Rep recommended this unit over the Belkin Unit. I guess my expectations were too high.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2589354819
My Best Buy number: 2589354819
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Great Wireless Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TechnicalLeeSpeaking
from Amarillo, TX
on 08/30/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy To Set Up & Configure
What's not so great: Nothing
This is my router of choice for myself and all of my customers. It's very easy to setup and configure.
Two different networks for home/business use plus a Guest Network for visitors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0046242723
My Best Buy number: 0046242723
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Nice!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fred
on 08/30/2014
Really, really, really, really, really, nice router.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0091753717
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

as hoped

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bobo
from new england
on 08/30/2014
What's great about it: speed
What's not so great: n/a
Great router. An upgrade from an older one, so couldn't really go wrong here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2755987520
My Best Buy number: 2755987520
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Grand
on 08/30/2014
Simple to install I had it connected in minutes and it was exactly what I needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2375128488
My Best Buy number: 2375128488
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Yeah
from Jackson, MI
on 08/30/2014
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: Nothing
Met my expectations and it was very easy to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0051593414
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Not sure if its just my luck or a bad product

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Chopper
on 08/29/2014
I purchased this and in just under a month the Ethernet port that allows my modem to connect to this router failed. It happened after a storm, but there was not a power outage or surge that we could detect and everything else that is plugged into the same power strip is functioning perfectly. So it could just be my luck.
I purchased this one after the one we had for a year did the same thing and we didn't feel like paying $100 to extend our tech support when $80 could fix the issue immediately. (Even though they say they have a 2-year limited warranty, the tech support people who approve the RMAs will apparently only talk to you for the first 90 days after purchase)
NetGear has good reviews and seemed to be a reliable brand but less than 30 days and this one failed. And after an hour and a half of talking to the guy with tech support who kept insisting that if I just waited the Internet light would turn on(never did) he gave me an RMA and I discovered that I have to either pay at least $17 to have then send the replacement and get it sent back within 10 days or have then charge the cost of the router plus a $20 fee, or send the defective one back and wait and then have them send one. So either way I'm out a router for the next few days and I'm not happy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2979749133
My Best Buy number: 2979749133
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Great product,

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Reviewer
from Raleigh,NC
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: easy setup with clear instructions, good value for money
What's not so great: I have not found any downside yet
I am thoroughly impressed with this product, my previous router died without warning after just a month, this has however lived up to expectation . I will definitely recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2700099469
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Easy to install (after rebooting modem)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: woodstock216
from ohio
on 08/29/2014
Easy to install. Just wish they mentioned that you may need to unplug the modem to allow it to find the router. Other than that, no problems. Works great so far. Would recommend to friends & family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2831468899
My Best Buy number: 2831468899
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Good Router

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FLgator18
from Gainesville, FL
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: fast
What's not so great: disconnects sometimes
It is a good router. I live in a 3-bedroom condo, and I keep it in the living room. I've never had an issue with it using it in different rooms, however, it does disconnect sometimes (I am not sure if that is a problem with my router or ISP)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1052783354
My Best Buy number: 1052783354
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Great Router for Home or Small Business!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JayJay
on 08/29/2014
It was very easy to set up and configure.. And the dual band gave me the range and speed I needed... I would definitely recommend this router to others...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2879188315
My Best Buy number: 2879188315
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Best Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brie
on 08/29/2014
This router hasn't given me any issues and it works great! I rarely have loading issues. I love that it has a "guest" option.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Works very well.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nancyf
from Mason MI
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: Plug and play.
The item was quickly set up and it works really well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2980875951
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Perfect router for our household needs

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Angie
from Jackson, TNT
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: Strong signal throughout entire house
Perfect router for our electronic household. Everyone has strong wi-fi signals for all of their electronics no matter what room they are in in the house. No more complaining.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2085779697
My Best Buy number: 2085779697
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

pretty good, not good enough for office

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: phinetime1
on 08/29/2014
Worked great in our office, for 4 months. I dont think it was the routers fault though. We put it through VERY heavy use almost 24 hours a day. I think this would be an excellent home unit. Good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0550757706
My Best Buy number: 0550757706
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 214 next>>