Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Model: WNDR3400-100NAS
SKU: 1208844
UPC: 606449071146
This wireless router enables speeds up to 600 Mbps for efficient operation and features a broadband usage meter that ensures accurate measurement of daily, weekly and monthly Internet traffic.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4476 Reviews) 4476
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 4,476 reviews
5 stars
2,925
4 stars
1,139
3 stars
148
2 stars
82
1 star
182
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
4,108 out of 4,476
)
Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports
Review 1 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports
  • Featured

Good, solid router

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sabresong
from North Carolina
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I bought this router to replace A Vizio HD router that started dropping the wireless after three years. Before that, the longest any router I bought would last was less than a year. Even when the Vizio was new, our media streaming would frequently drop and stall. Since we installed this Netgear router 4 months ago, we haven't experienced a single media drop. We run a desktop, two laptops, a server, two smartphones, two game consoles and two wifi Blu-Ray players on this router with almost no trouble. And if you configure your wireless card properly, 54Mbps is very, very nice to have.
Installation was fast, easy and absolutely painless, and though the system specs say it's compatible with Windows and Mac, I did all the setup and configuration on an OpenSuse Linux laptop using the web interface so easily I could almost have slept through the process.
It broadcasts wireless on two separate channels (check my terminology, please), one at 2.4g and the other at 5g. I'm not sure how many devices support 5g yet, but its presence in this router means no worries when we upgrade devices.
The one problem we did have may be more a matter of location than a function of the router. There's one spot, about 20 feet from the router, where the sofa is, that seems to have trouble holding the connection with my wife's laptop. But just behind that is my son's room, and he has no trouble with the connection with his desktop, so it's probably not the router itself. But still, make sure of your router placement. Higher up is better. Properly placed, this router seems to be the best I've tried yet.
I'd definitely recommend this router to anyone looking for a fast and easy home or small business router. Not for a large network, of course, but it handles all our devices with ease.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
+420points
494out of 568found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports
  • Featured

Brilliant Product at a Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrAfterhours
from Houston, TX
on 03/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Price, 3 Seperate "Networks", Stability, Size
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I actually went into BBY to buy a cisco router. But when I got there this router was right below it. I wanted the Cisco E2000 but this one boasted better data rates and was much cheaper. Thanks to the sale I got this great product. I am an IT Systems Administrator so my opinion on how easy it was to setup may not be the best gauge. Although, I will say it is extremely easy to setup. The web interface is great. I didn't even realize, until I got home, that this router has 3 seperate wireless networks all with their own SSIDs. I setup one for my internal network of computers, one for my gaming consoles and there is a handy 3rd one. It actually creates an isolated network that cannot communicate back into your internal network. This is good for when you want to have a guest connection for friends to get on when they are over. I hide the first 2 and broadcast the 3rd. I use my Cisco 7921 wireless VoIP phone on it as well and the connection is amazingly clear unlike my old router.
All in all, extremely glad I bought this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+495points
593out of 691found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
qsaj09
 
Please wait while more information about qsaj09 is loaded.
Additional information about qsaj09 could not be loaded.
10/13/2011
Would this be a good product to buy for a netbook? Because I'm getting one and I would like to know and plus I'm thinking about purchasing this product as well.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
ipanemablues
San Francisco
 
Please wait while more information about ipanemablues is loaded.
Additional information about ipanemablues could not be loaded.
Easy Set-Up
04/30/2011
This Netgear Router model was way much easier to install than my previous one. Specially during the wireless hook-up with a Samsung DVD. Recommend to follow the installation instruction from the DVD that is included rather than following instruction from the Netgear website. Step by step instruction were easier for me to follow that way!
+3points
3out of 3found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Review 3 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Great Router

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Angelo418
from Worcester, MA
on 10/22/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This router works very well and installs very easily. It does what it needs to without trouble. The sign of a good router is when you can install it and forget you have it because it just works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0731996269
My Best Buy number: 0731996269
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Make a 100% difference the minute i hooked it up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: woody
on 10/21/2014
Old router seemed to be working yet giving me all kinds of problems. I kept blaming the laptop. Finally talked with a Best Buy sales person who suggested a new router. My wife is sure glad I listened for a change.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1043110091
My Best Buy number: 1043110091
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Easy to setup, works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AnH7
from Kokomo, IN
on 10/21/2014
Purchased for my apartment. It was very easy to setup and works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2828396860
My Best Buy number: 2828396860
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

First one had a hardware defect,...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Chuck
on 10/21/2014
I purchased a new router and it would never download at more than 20Mbps. After going back and forth with Netgear, it was determined the router had a hardware issue and needed to be returned. The problem was it was 1 day outside of Best Buy's return policy so it had to be returned at my cost. Since I was out the cost of the router at this point, I figured I would pay the shipping and get a new one. The new one didn't perform much better (altho it was slightly better). After doing more research on google, I was able to tweak the settings on the router and was able to get download speeds approaching 50Mbps. Now it seems the cable model and the router don't play nice, and I cannot get speeds over 50Mbps. I have Comcast 150 and connecting directly to the modem I get speeds over 150Mbps. And my old Netgear router (model R6250) easily connected at 100Mbps. If you are good with speeds in the range of 20-40Mbps, this router will work. As a side note, the upload speed has always reached the max, it is only the download where issues have be encountered
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0962183988
My Best Buy number: 0962183988
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Reliable Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Geekyj2010
from Mead, WA
on 10/20/2014
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I have used Netgear before and it is a top notch router for what it does. It works well in the house which has an upstairs/downstairs and has coverage from end to end.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2504750825
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

welcome me to the wifi world

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: paco1234
on 10/20/2014
welcome me to the wifi world this is great i have a phone now that uses wifi and a TV that uses it, I am totally impressed on this wireless router since hooking it up in our house any place i go in our house it has a strong signal, even when I am outside working in the yard to the garage i am sold and happy i bought this
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0417988366
My Best Buy number: 0417988366
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Great Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: anjo
on 10/20/2014
Works great. Very easy set up process. Signal strength is great. Centrally located in my home & reaches everywhere is the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2838266849
My Best Buy number: 2838266849
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Trouble-free router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RHHalford
from Long Island, NY
on 10/20/2014
My older Linksys router had been acting kind of weird lately, and we shopped at Best Buy online to find a replacement router- a decent performer as well as a reasonable price. We decided to get the NetGear. After easy hook-up, it has been trouble free. Great replacement.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0300490495
My Best Buy number: 0300490495
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Works fine. No issues. Covers my house with Wi-Fi

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kennyt96
from Greenville, SC
on 10/20/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This is a Good Product. I have been happy with it so far and would recommend it to a friend. It has given me good coverage in my house
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0566377516
My Best Buy number: 0566377516
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

It is exactly what I needed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mainegal
from brunswick, me
on 10/19/2014
This router does exactly what I need it to do. I've used Netgear before and have always been pleased with it's performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2814539455
My Best Buy number: 2814539455
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Easy to Use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rvjinwi
from Fond du Lac, WI
on 10/19/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Netgear once again makes an item that is easy to use and to set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2034657465
My Best Buy number: 2034657465
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

easy to install for a first time user

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: alto2006
on 10/19/2014
I have had no problems with this product since installation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2943683920
My Best Buy number: 2943683920
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Does a good job

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shantima
on 10/19/2014
We upgraded to this router after having a Linksys for many years.
This router is light weight and easy to use.
With Neatgear Genie it will make any printer an AirPrint.
Nice feature
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2647413977
My Best Buy number: 2647413977
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Easy setup

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pbnh
from white river junction,vt
on 10/19/2014
Wireless router was easy to setup and change password.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2720469945
My Best Buy number: 2720469945
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Didn't last very long, ok while it worked

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: John
on 10/19/2014
After 6 months, my WNDR3400 router stopped working. Although none of my devices could connect to the network, I was able to connect to the internet if I connected to my modem directly. Although I'm pretty good at resolving home technical issues, I have not been able to get the router up and communicating for more than a day. I called Netgear but since my router is older than 90 days, they were only interested in trying to sell me a $120/year service contract. It was a nice router while it lasted but $80 for 6 months is definitely not worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

good buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: maxx
on 10/18/2014
This was easy to install and set-up. I would recommend this router.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0965476506
My Best Buy number: 0965476506
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Connects great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ClaimMe
on 10/18/2014
I work from home so I needed access throughout home
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2979442973
My Best Buy number: 2979442973
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

Easy to Install and Start Up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Enna
on 10/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Price is reasonable for the product. This is the 2'nd one I got for another house and install, start up was easy for almost anyone. Even my daughter who is by far not tech savy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2363376174
My Best Buy number: 2363376174
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 224 next>>