Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Model: 984-000138
SKU: 1214981
UPC: 097855070517
This clip-on laptop speaker attaches securely to your laptop or netbook and delivers 360° sound with 4W power for impressive audio. The included travel case allows for easy portability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
87% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
13 out of 15
)
Customer Reviews for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black
Review 1 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Great!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PeaBeaAndJay
from Santa Clara, CA
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: Small and great quality sound!!
What's not so great: Nothing!
I recently bought a laptop for my girlfriend. Needless to say that the sound quality on the laptop was really poor. I bought this for her and she loves it! Its great for movies and music. Easy and simple to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

power cuts out

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ahogan
from gainesville
on 10/12/2011
What's great about it: easy to clip on
What's not so great: too big
It works well when it works well. However, there have been many occasions when the power does not reach the speaker or I can't adjust the volume on the speaker control.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

You can believe all the great reviews

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Therat
from Findlay, Oh
on 10/06/2011
What's great about it: Sound, size, clamp, travel bag
What's not so great: No complates so far
I bought two of these.... one for my Dell laptop and one for my wife's Mac.
I plugged them into both computers and the Dell recognized the speaker immediately. The Mac didn't. (Who says Mac's are smarter :). On the Mac you have to go into system preferences, click on speaker and changer the output from internal to external. You can leave it set that way and when you remove the speaker the sound will automatically switch back to internal.
The sound is really a great improvement.... a lot more base and not any distortion. You can hear it clearly throughout the house if you set the volume to max.
The clamp works great and the bag will work great for traveling. The size is also good for traveling.
Bought mine of sale for $25.00
As the summary says... you can believe the great reviews.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Sound Good but is a little heavy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ChiTown60
from Chicago, IL
on 10/05/2011
What's great about it: Sound quality
What's not so great: a little heavy to move around
My laptop's sound is very low. It was a lot lower than my previous one. The sound from the speaker is very good. However, I cannot really clap on my laptop screen too long since I move my laptop around. As a whole, I like it since I want to listen to lectures from my PC when I am doing house work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Very convenient equipment

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rahdna
from Gainesville, FL
on 09/28/2011
Comfortable size and shape, very good. But the sound is the weakness.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Great big sound!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BizyB
from Long Island, NY
on 08/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Amazing sound for the size and convenience.
What's not so great: No problems after a month's use.
I love this speaker! I can really hear my laptop! Great for movies, tv shows, and playing music while i'm working in the house. Can hear it from a couple of room away when I crank it up. I don't even have to hang it from the laptop screen, it sounds great even if I put the speaker on the desk behind the laptop. They are not kidding when they say full-room sound. I keep it connected all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Great sound in a small package

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Xer0
from Daly City, CA
on 08/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small size, easy to use controls, carry case for travel
What's not so great: after it installed the volume went up to 100% so needless to say... it made me jump at how loud it was
This great little speaker produces great sound and can easily fill the room with sound. The speaker clips on to the back of your laptop screen, flat screen monitor or can easily just sit on the table. The clip that holds it on the monitor is spring loaded and has rubber feet that grips on the other side of the monitor. Has a audio jack for other devices but no cable to connect the other device. USB connector handles the audio out of the computer to the speaker. Controls on the speaker control the volume setting on Windows and I only need to set it to 4% to get great sound but upon install it resets the volume to 100% so beware and turn off any music as you are plugging this in. Overall great speaker for the price, Retail from Logitech is $59.99, Best Buy is $49.99 and I picked it up on sale for $39.99 at Best Buy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Best Laptop Sound Solution

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jpd2
from New York, NY
on 07/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound, convenience, form factor
What's not so great: Impenetrable plastic package
If you want better sound from your laptop in a convenient form factor, the Logitech Z305 is the best solution I've found to date.
It's easy to install and transport, and its sound stage and frequency response are superb. Much better than those of the Insignia sound bar I had been using.
The Z305 plays loud, without distortion, and it provides audible bass.
It fits my 14" laptop perfectly, and the USB cord is a good length.
There are cheaper sound bars available, but IMO the Z305 is worth every penny of its price if you care about good sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

overall excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: smjlosgatos
from Los Gatos
on 07/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use/quality
What's not so great: would change the volume control to the top of soundbar
excellent add-on to improve the poor sound quality and volume of virtually all laptops and notebooks.Simple to set up: plug and play. Controls are intuitive, you do not need to study anything to make these work.Sound quality may not be perfect but for add-on speakers to your laptop there is nothing better.
My only complaint is that I would move the volume control to the top of the bar so you can see it and use it from the front of the computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Excellent sound, perfect for Netbooks!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HappynHawaii
from Oahu
on 06/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very good sound quality for the size.
What's not so great: .Adding a volume adjustment wheel would make it easier than using the up/down buttons, to make volume adjustments.
I just picked up one of these at the local store after reading many reviews from satisfied owners. I’m not an audiophile, but this speaker more than satisfied my needs for my Acer Net book. Instead of straining with listening to the sound from the tinny stock speakers, these add depth and great sound quality in a reasonably compact and convenient design. From 1st appearances, it looks like the sound would be coming out only from the end grills and away from the user, but on closer inspection, there are sound slots also manufactured into in the rubber cushions that protect the net book/laptop LCD cover, directing the sound toward the user. I would definitely recommend the Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker to anyone looking for something compact and convent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Awesome sound!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Franchesco
from Rockford, IL
on 04/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Immersive sounds, great bass, plug n play (nothing to worry about)
What's not so great: Short cord(just long enough to plug in, would prefer a retractable cord)
After reading a few reviews, I decided to jump on this sound bar. Great buy!!! I listen to a lot of techno with heavy bass. I just bought this one night ago and immediately had to try it out when I got home. Sounds for my laptop are clear and crisp on this.I play a lot of Pandora and the sounds are great. Even you tube video sounds have improved...and you know how some of those videos can be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Awesome Speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mnbestbuyer
from Minneapolis, MN
on 04/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: NIce loud sound
What's not so great: Not a lot of high pitch
I bought these after purchasing the Insigna clip on speakers which were very inadquate. The Logitech speakers have a nice sound even on the low tones. The cord clips into the housing when not in use and the speaker comes with a sleeve for transportation. I was worried that the speaker clips on the back of the laptop screen/cover, and that it would hamper the sound, but that was not the case. You still get good sound. The sound seems to be a deeper base, and there are not many trebles coming from the speakers. Very nice addition to my laptop which had very undersized speakers buit in. Great purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

A great improvement over laptop original speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Graystone55
from Mesa, AZ
on 03/15/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound quality and volume
What's not so great: Short USB cord and cuts off internal speakers.
I have a Compaq laptop that I really like except for one thing. It has really horrible sound volume and even the headphone jack puts out such weak levels that the amplified speakers I've tried before just didn't work.
This speaker bar clips to the top of your laptop's display and a cord is then plugged into an available USB port. The speaker bar gets both it's power and audio from the USB port. It also has an input for small portable audio devices like MP3 players. It's nice not to have to plug in a power plug but you will find it will suck a laptop battery down in no time. So you'll probably need to use your laptop plugged in or only for short periods.
The rubbery mounting clip is great as it isn't likely to scratch my laptop's top. The disadvantages I noticed is, it covered the area where the microphone hole in my display is located. But I don't use the built-in mic, so no harm done. If you have a microphone or webcam in this location, this device might cover it.
The cord fits into a circular slot to store it. It doesn't stay put very well. The cord is just long enough to reach the side of a laptop. If your ports are near the front of the laptop, it might not reach. It has a nice little bag to keep it in so the cord coming loose from the body won't matter in the bag.
Also when the device software installs, it shuts off the internal speakers and earphone jack until it is unplugged again. This can be good if you don't like the sound of your internal speakers. But to some, this could be a disadvantage as you'll have to unplug the speaker bar to get your originals back again. Powering off the speaker bar isn't going to return you to the original speakers.
The volume is pretty good. I'd suggest for most people to just leave it turned all the way up and then use the software volume controls as needed. The volume buttons are a little difficult to use on the bar as they are behind the display. One of the main issues I had before with my laptop was not being able to hear movies when any background noise was present in the room. This speaker bar has solved that.
The quality of the sound is quite good. Granted, it's not like a high dollar set of speakers. But at the cost you pay for this, it's well worth it. The stereo separation and bass seem quite good from either the front or behind the laptop display. I was quite surprised that two small speakers could do so well.
You can also use this sound bar on a normal PC by clipping it on the monitor and using a USB extension cable to your PC. It would save the space taken up by two standing speakers and still provide good quality sound.
I would recommend this speaker bar as a good value for it's cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Great sound for the $$$

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Giorgios50
from Tallahassee FL
on 11/08/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Looks, saved space
What's not so great: Sound a little muffled depending on how you mount it
Definite improvement over the laptop speakers. Sound is a little muffled depending on how you turn the unit and where you attach it. I put it under the 24 inch monitor i use with my laptop. Hanging it over the laptop, tried it once, ok sound, about the best you can hope for. Main thing is the SAVED SPACE on the table.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Logitech Z305 Laptop Speaker - Black

Better than the most clip ons.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: soys4uc3
from Thousand Oaks, CA
on 10/18/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound, Light
What's not so great: No internal battery
Let's face it, it is a clip on speaker for your laptop. It is no extraordinary set of speaker that would be a replacement for a pair desktop speaker. However, z305 took everything that is unsatisfying of the other clip-on laptop speakers and improved it.
z305 has a strong great quality clip that will set on the top of your monitor for your laptop. Also has a rubber design to be used as feet if you decided to set it down instead of clipping. The sound works either way.
This speaker does use a USB as a power source. Does not come with extra 3.5 mm auxiliary cords for your ipods. Because of this, you have to find a USB charger to plug the speaker in for power. Unless you plan to only listen to music from your laptop. This is a shame because the z305 looks to be very portable. Unfortunately, no internal battery is its main set back. (unlike its cousin the z515)
A great buy if you plan to use it as a pair for your traveling needs. It does fill up a small office! Great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+38points
43out of 48found this review helpful.