Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Model: DYSON DC23
SKU: 1216015
UPC: 879957004870
Remove pet hair and dirt from your carpet or hard floors with this canister vacuum that features Level 3 Root Cyclone Technology for capturing microscopic dust and a Telescope Wrap system for easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.475 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 40 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
80% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
32 out of 40
)
Customer Reviews for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Spectacular

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: irMrsTweed
from Sanford, FL
on 04/04/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, easy to clean, worth the money
We have tile through out most of our house--primarily the high traffic living areas. The tile was not installed correctly and is very uneven with 1/2 inch grout so sweeping with a broom was highly ineffective. Despite the highly uneven floor this vacuum performs wonderfully and picks up everything. Living in FL we have lots of sand and we have 3 wiener dogs and a toddler who love to go in and out so theres lots of stuff and the vacuum has yet to disappoint. I've never had a canister vacuum before I bought this one (my husband convinced me to try it). I will never go back to the typical design vacuums. Love the Dyson :)
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Big Family, Pet owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Brushes should be motorized.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BadVac
from Oklahoma
on 04/02/2012
What's great about it: Lightweight and easy to manuever.
What's not so great: Non-motorized brush bar.
Good suction but relying on the vacuum suction to power the brushes is a poor design. Doesn't fluff up the carpet.
This product is or has... A light canister
About me... Pet owner
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

The best vacuum I ever bought

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Caldas
from Cleveland
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
The best vaccum I have till now. Does the job like nothing I have before.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Teenage kids, Big Family, Brand conscious, All about design
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Excellent design, features, and performance. A+

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mook82
from Grand Rapids, MI
on 03/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Suction, Ease of Cleaning, Articulating heads, and light weight
What's not so great: Static-holding plastics both on attachments and in the canister that holds stubborn fine-dust and pet hair
I've owned the vacuum now for about 8 months and have found it to be one of the highest performing and best designs that I've ever used. Having pets leads to pet hair accumulation and this vacuum has gotten it out of ever nook and cranny in my carpets. The first time I vacuumed with this machine I was shocked at how efficient and effective it was. This thing picked up CLUMPS of fur, dirt, debris, and very fine dust particles. In fact, the capabilities of this machine to pick up fine dust is fantastic.
On the design side, I'm also really impressed with the thought into the attachments and the use of suction to power the carpet attachment instead of electricity. This design makes it very easy to untangle loose shoelaces or things that might get sucked in. The head still spins at an incredible rate that appears quite equal, if not better than the electrical driven counterparts. The pivoting head of the attachments are also the best I've ever used on a vacuum. They articulate, flow, move, twist, and turn with incredible ease that it allows you to get into all kinds of places or to manipulate the head to move in any direction you want. A+ and well done Dyson. The bag-less cyclone system is also very easy to clean and maintain. The filter is washable (by hand) and clips right back into the machine. No more paying for filters or bags!
My two complaints on the quality side are very minor, but they are worth mentioning. First, the plastics used tend to build up static so pet hair, dust, and debris accumulates on the bottom of the carpet attachment and around the air-intake that powers it. From time-to-time I unclip the power attachment and use the bare nozzle to suck up the static-charged pet hair, fur, or debris. The second issue is that if the cyclone canister is a pain in the but to clean. I've washed and soaked this thing in soapy water, and it seems that dirt, debris, and fur stick to it worse than when it was dry. I probably should have used a dry cloth to wipe it down and possibly an air-compressor to blow the dust from inside. I did not disassemble the cyclone because I didn't want to break it. Perhaps there are some stubborn oils/greases that have accumulated in hard to reach places. Again, this is a very minor issue and it doesn't seem to affect performance one bit, but maybe it will bug the A-retentive types that get annoyed seeing dirt/dust inside the clear canister. Because of these minor things, I've issued 4-stars on the Quality (Design) side.
Overall, this is a fantastic vacuum and I've been extremely pleased with it. Superior suction, excellent design, all inclusive attachments that are highly effective, extremely easy to use and clean... You won't go wrong with this purchase.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Pet owner, All about design, an engineer that expects quality and robust design
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

it sucks

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: youb
from SC
on 03/10/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything, I love it
What's not so great: tools could be easier to keep with Dyson while cleaning-magnet maybe
works in small or large spaces, easy to move around, great suction, love cord winder, no bags, tools for specific surfaces, sturdy,attractive.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools, i trust it not to break
About me... easy to push around, gets under small spaces
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Excellent product, great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PonoB
from Mountain View, CA
on 03/03/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
We bought this because our original Dyson is difficult to use on stairs. It is exactly what we needed.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A great pet hair picker upper
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Almost Perfect

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mands
from West Boylston, MA
on 03/01/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Suction
What's not so great: Turbine Head
The Dyson DC23 has exceeded my expectations for power and performance. We live in a 3 story town house and have two long haired cats and many, many stairs to clean. The constant suction has worked without a hitch. The only disappointment has been in the turbine head. The head seems to clog quite often and need to be cleaned. Thankfully, Dyson designed the unit to come apart quite easily and it’s an easy fix. Other than that, we have been more than happy with the product.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Pet owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

great vacuum

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bixbymom
from Bixby, Ok
on 02/24/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: really gets up the dirt
What's not so great: hose could be longer
I hate to vacuum, so when I do it I want it to really work. This vacuum works so well. I have pets & it's great at getting the pet hair. The only issues is: I wish the hose was longer, so I could clean the fan blades & curtains easier. You will have to empty the bin alot which seams like a pain but that means it's working. I would & have recommended this to family.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Teenage kids, Pet owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Believe the Hype!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: theoriginalpaulyd
on 02/24/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I didn't want to believe the Dyson hype but man is this vacuum awesome. Purchased this particular model because my house is all hard wood and we've got 3 cats. Picks up better than anything we've had previously. The hard wood floor attachments has no moving parts so it's a straight shot for hair and dirt. Other parts are easily removable should hair get clogged in the rollers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

good and bad things

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: weacat
from providence
on 02/12/2012
What's great about it: gets stairs and under furniture
What's not so great: hose short, no manual, hard to roll around canister
I think i have the first upright bagless vacuum ever invented (the Fantom) which is about 12 yrs old (and still running!) , but I guess I figured it was time to upgrade. I own a two floor condo with carpeting upstairs and tile and wood downstairs. I mostly wanted something to get my stairs and under my furniture because that was difficult with my upright. This is good for that and the performance seems pretty good, it seemed to pick up a lot.
No complaints with the carpets either except sometimes it seems a little hard to push. I do like the retractable cord. Im amazed that a $500 vacuum does not come with an instruction manual. So your pretty much on your own trying to figure this thing out. On putting it together (there is a silly diagram that was no help) and figuring out what all the tools do. My first experience was back breaking. It took me a bit to realize the wand actually extends (because there is no booklet! not even on dyson website!). Even then the hose is a bit short and the canister doesn't roll around very easily. And when its hard to push on carpet that just adds to the difficulty. I haven't figured out the storage yet either.. there is a plastic piece on the hose for this? And figuring out how to get the filter out..yup on your own again. So pretty much good cleaning but not very user friendly.
This product is or has... Useful tools
About me... Pet owner
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Great vacuum for people with hard floors and pets.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HBeric
from Huntington Beach, Ca
on 02/05/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great for hard floors and tons of power for pet hair
What's not so great: Storing it is a bit awkward
We have had this vacuum for 2 months now and my wife and I love it. We have tile and hardwood floors throughout our house with a couple of throw rugs. This vacuum works great on our floors especially with picking up the black hair from our pug. The Dyson DC23 is easy to use and comes with some nice attachments. The spinning brush attachment struggles on our thicker throw rug do to its spinning action being powered by the suction from the vacuum but it still does a nice job. The hard floor attachment is great on hard surfaces and really gets under low furniture nicely to get all the dust bunnies. The power of this vacuum is terrific and has tons of sucking power. I'm 6'2" and would have liked to see the extension wand to be be just a couple of inches longer but it really isn't bad. There's a spot to attach the wand for storage but it really doesn't support the wand very well and it looks like you should be able to wrap the hose around the unit for storage but I haven't figured out a good way to do that yet. The instructions are very vague and are picture based so it doesn't really explain some features very well. All and all this is a great vacuum. We bought ours on sale when it was $100 dollars off or we probably would have waited to purchase it. I highly recommend this vacuum.
This product is or has... Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools, easy to empty
About me... Pet owner, Brand conscious, All about design
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Every home should have one !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: floridabrit
from Oldsmar,, FL
on 02/03/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It`s so lightweight, yet very powerful.
What's not so great: Just the storage of it is all. Otherwise AAA
I purchased this vacuum after reading tons of reviews on different products. I`ve never owned a canister vacuum before so was a bit hesitant, but boy am I glad I got this. This machine picks up everything ! Its so easy to use, glides effortlessly, and I love the way the handle twists to help get into the small spaces with ease. The only criticism is that it takes a bit more room up for storage because the handle sticks out at an angle ( unless I`m doing it wrong ). Thats easy to live with for the time and effort it saves in cleaning - I only wish I`d bought one sooner...well worth the money. And the customer service at my local Best Buy was 1st class..
I noticed that in reviews some people didnt like that the on/off switch wasnt on the handle - I think that its location is ideal as you can switch it on/off with your foot, which I`m sure is the idea.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... clean freak
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Great Vacuum...wish we'd purchased soooner!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: QWERKYJ
from Lubbock, TX
on 02/01/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The power to get the job done right the first time!
This is the best vacuum we have ever owned! We were hesitant because of the price, but after seeing how well it performed at a friends house, we had to have one! Picks up pet hair, sand, dirt and dander the first time on carpet or hard floor surfaces. No more going over the same area more than once. We also use the machine on stairs. Easy to use and it's great to be able to vacuum under furniture. Of course, the service at our local Best Buy store was superior!
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Teenage kids, Pet owner, All about design, asthma and allergies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Awesome vacuum

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pets5
from Crandon, WI
on 01/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: nothing
As an owner of 2 labs and 3 cats I have a lot of hair to pick up. I have never ever had a vacuum cleaner suck up hair as this one. I was amazed to see what it sucked up. I took my old vacuum cleaner and vacuumed the living room with it and then went over it with the Dyson - I was amazed at what my old vacuum left behind. This was sure worth the price. I would highly recommend it to anyone who owns a pet. It also works great on my steps too. No worring about it tipping over or holding on to the canister while I try to do the steps. Awesome is the only way to desribe this vacuum. Well worth the price.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Pet owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Fantastic

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Beckster92
from St Louis MO
on 01/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is a wonderful vacuum! I had not used a canister style vac in years, so it definitely took some getting used to, but I absolutely love it! It is easy to maneuver and has great suction. The only thing I wish is that there was someplace on the canister to keep the attachments. Of course maybe there is and I just haven't figured it out yet. :)
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Pet owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Vacuum picks up very well

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: cruze
from Michiagan
on 01/19/2012
What's great about it: picks up great
What's not so great: hard to push and pull because it gets stuck on the carpet
The Dyson canister picks up the dirt very well but its hard to move on carpets and the handle should be longer its like Im always leanig forward to push the darn thing it gets stuck on the carpet and you have to push the release button for the suction to be released its a back breaker for me
This product is or has... Easy to carry, A light canister, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Teenage kids, Pet owner
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Bought for Fiance. She was estatic, so I'm happy.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: orthojoe
from White River Junction, VT
on 01/19/2012
What's great about it: The design and functionality.
What's not so great: NA
Bought for Fiance. We have cats that shed. She liked it so much that she uses it regularly. We have 3 sets of stairs. We like the design for stairs, the suction & attachments are great and the bagless canister is a plus. Have no negative response.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Pet owner, All about design
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

A little disappointed

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: nyhoney
from Clarence,NY
on 01/15/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: lightweight
What's not so great: does not move well on carpet
This is my first Dyson product. I had been excited about getting one for sometime, but I am a bit disappointed in the product. It's nice and light weight which makes it easy to move about, but at the same time I find it a little awkward to use. the hose attachment seems to twist in the wrong direction often and I'm not happy at all with the beater bar head. I find it VERY difficult to vacuum carpet it just does not roll you have to force it over the carpet, it does pick up well when you are on a flat surface and I like the no bag feature. overall for the amount of money I paid for this item it looks and feels like a cheap plastic brand not the expensive Dyson I purchased.
This product is or has... Easy to carry, A light canister
About me... Teenage kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Great vacuum cleaner! Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cutup
on 12/01/2011
I am amazed at what this vacuum picked up from my area rugs! They were vacuumed the day before with the Royal canister that developed an electrical problem (the reason it as replaced) We have two papillons so their fine hair is an issue, The Dyson animal is perfect for removing dog hair from floors and furniture. I also love the fact that I will never have to buy vacuum cleaner bags again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dyson - DC23 Animal Canister Vacuum

Just as good as upright

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: daveallen
from Ludington
on 11/23/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to clean under furniture
What's not so great: a little harder to manuver than the upright
We have had a dyson upright for a few years now but was always flustrated as with all uprights with the capabilities to get underneath furniture. We purchased this canister with hopes that it would be easier to use in these situations and it is. Same power and quality that we had expected.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, A great pet hair picker upper, Useful tools
About me... Pet owner, Brand conscious, All about design
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>