Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Model: SD4500IS Silver
SKU: 1218465
UPC: 013803131444
Snap great photos with this digital camera that features 10x optical/4x digital zoom to bring you close to faraway scenes. The smart auto mode recognizes 28 shooting scenes to select the best mode for your photos.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 35 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
6
60% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
21 out of 35
)
Customer Reviews for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver
Review 1 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great Camera - Both Times

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NCPKPEI452
from Mooresville, NC
on 08/03/2011
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, durability, quick on the draw.
What's not so great: Would have liked a traditional viewfinder, but LCD works well
We owned a Canon Powershot for 10 years and were so happy with the durability and picture quality that it was easy for us to choose this camera as a replacement. The camera takes great shots and is very fast from startup to snap which is important with little ones running around doing cute things at a fast pace. We dropped the camera at Disney, cracking the LCD screen, but were given a replacement voucher for a brand new camera through our Geek Squad coverage plan. The camera still functioned and took shots even after falling a great distance onto a cement slab. We really like this camera. It is a great choice for a small point and click with loads of features.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great camera but little protection to lens cover

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fastpics73
from Indianapolis
on 07/13/2011
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great picture quality and versitality in use
What's not so great: The lens opening mechanism
This is my third Canon Sure Shot 4500IS because the first two open/close lens covers broke or came off track. I llove the wide opening for the lens and the quality it gives but the lens needs better protection. It is made too fragil. Although pocket size is handy one must be sure to always protect the lens opening mechanism from pressures that push open the lens cover. One must be careful with the handling of this camera.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

average camera for a beginner

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: happydcgal
from dc
on 06/15/2011
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: easy to set up
What's not so great: zoom
No great features for the price, just basic. Dont expect too much...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

nothing great about this camera

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Kar11977
on 03/17/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
This is my 3rd canon camera, ive had probelsm with all diff models. This one is the latest and the lens is slow to open, slow to focus, even on the kids and pets setting. THe video is terrible bc it does this focusing thing so the screen gets blurry as you are taping. Today i was using it (ive had this camera for almost 6 months now) and it just froze up UGH!!!! Canon cameras are not taht great for th $$ you pay for them. I will say that the first one lasted about a yr b4 giving me any problems but they just seem to be getting worse and worse; OR maybe i just have bad luck with them. ALso, the battery power isnt great either, you have to chargeit quite frequently compared to other cameras ive had.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
1out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Wonderful camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MrsToughStuff
from Sacramento, CA
on 03/16/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Got it for $249.99, practically a steal, great large screen, and pretty easy to use.
What's not so great: Battery life isn't as good as my previous Canon and I still need to learn a lot about the features.
Well I've only had the camera for a few weeks and I love it! I will ONLY buy Canons now, for point and shoot. I had a Sony in the past and it was not nearly as good of quality in pictures. They were often blurry. I don't have that problem with the camera or my last Canon. The only issue with the camera I have is it's not as user friendly as my last Canon, the SD870 IS. I am still trying to figure out a lot of the features, even though the features are mostly the same as my previous camera. I guess I'll just have to investigate more but the "Auto" feature does a pretty dang good job on it's own. I only have problems with it on "Auto" when the lighting isn't very good. I would absolutely recommend this camera!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Best point and shoot I've ever seen

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: teamsandradee
from Sanford, NC
on 02/23/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 10x optical image stabilized lens
What's not so great: Short battery life
10x zoom and excellent image stabilization make images and video from the SD4500 IS leaves nothing short from Canon's reputation. This compact camera has great modes for high-speed shooting. The colors are brilliant and the images are sharp and crisp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

great camera for vacation an wedding

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lewiskimble1
from n.o. la.
on 02/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture perfect for the price
What's not so great: battery life
would by same camera again because of picture quality an easy to operate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great pictures in all lighting

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AERa
from Modesto, ca
on 02/06/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to use with great picture quality
What's not so great: not many features
I was very impressed with the quality of pictures this camera produced. I compared it with an equal camera but found that the SD4500 IS easily out performed my older camera. It has an improved zoom than the older models. It is simple to use.
It doesn't have many features like photo stitching, macro or enhancing colors that are fun to use, but I was so impressed with the improved quality that I don't miss these extra features. I would highly recommend this camera.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Canon has gone downhill VERY quickly lately..sad..

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: CanonReviewer
from USA
on 02/03/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
I felt compelled to post this review. I have had canons for years and now they have gone downhill fast. The Canon SX210 and also this camera both have BLURRY video. The video focuses then blurs focuses then blurs. I called Canon to tell them its not just one camera its all of their new ones with this problem. They say 'never heard this before, you have to send it back to us and then our product team will investigate". Well I just send it back to Best Buy not Canon. You would think they would want to fix their defect in their cameras but they don't . The Canon CEO really needs to know about this - take a canon and try it out and see how the video just doesn't work. Why can't Canon just fix their product????
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-21points
4out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LPIII
from Rochester Hills, Michigan
on 01/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: size and flexibility
Bought this as a pocket camera for my wife she loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Love this Camera!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MEVG
from NY
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: battery life
I had a canon power shot for 4 years and recently lost it. I replaced it with the Panasonic Lumix. I hated that camera. Consumer Report gave it a top rating but I have to disagree, the camera was NOT user friendly especialy when trying to shoot pictures of children and pets. I sent the camera back and replaced it with this Canon. I love the ease of use, and it's ability to shoot HD 1080p video. The only con to this camers is the battery life runs out faster than my pervious Canon but I just carry the charger with it. It shoots with ease and is very good with kids and action. Love it and would only buy a Canon next time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Exxcellent Digital camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: d2w2
from Honolulu,HI
on 01/16/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: The wide angle zoom is tremendous
What's not so great: No viewfinder.
If there was a digital wish list, it would be for a faster reaction time when the button is pushed. I also miss the view finder, especially when the battery is low or when the camera needs to be left on for an extended period of time to capture the action. The large screen is great, the zoom is incredable and the picture quality is excellent. The perview and record have seperate buttons and are a great inprovement. I've owned it for a couple of months taken 3600 pictures and it has visited 5 countries and a number of states. Freezing conditions in Spain to the Amazon rain forrest, performed excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Pictures can be impressive, but unduely pricey.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Hancehold
from Downstate East Central, Illinois
on 01/14/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: good pictures with a little practice
What's not so great: very short battery life
This camera gives an opportunity for very nice pictures. It is on the easier end for use. It offers black/white and sepia, but little else as effects.
The bad side of this camera is its battery charge life. When reading reviews, I thought others might have been picky about battery life. The battery does really run out quickly.
Overall, it is a nice camera, but its price carries expectations that go unmet. Definitely invest in a second battery. It is a necessity if you want to capture important moments that pop up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Hard to visualize features

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pickledufuss14
from Racine
on 01/14/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's not so great: Not useer friendly
I wish they would make a camera that us baby boomers could use with ease. The features are packed in so small that it's hard to manipulate. The time to take a picture is very slow. No ability to take rapid photos and things are blurring at times.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Nice package, good video, poor picture quality

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from St. Louis
on 01/14/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Zoom and Video
What's not so great: Picture Quality
I wanted to upgrade from my Canon PS50 I bought back in 2001. It provided good picture quality... still does except for in poor lighting. Also it is a bit bulky.
I was torn between purchasing the PS95 and SD4500... Both brand new models. I went with the SD4500 because of the zoom and video. I am happy with those features on the SD4500 but I am disappointed with the picture quality. Pictures appear to have more yellow and cyan hues. Pictures taken outside look good, but in poor lighting, not very good. Also, I'm getting a lot more blurred pics than I thought I would when using auto mode.
I have to say that 10x optical zoom and nice video features (you can zoom while taking video) do not compensate for the poor picture quality.
I should have went with the SP95... It looks like the reviews on that camera are more favorable. It's more money bet it it's better to pay a little more than not be satisfied.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Not as good as expected.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BFNYC
from Queens, NY
on 01/14/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Features, 1080P video
What's not so great: short battery life
For a quality camera from Canon, I was surprised at how "slow" the camera responds when taking photos. My SD870 was much faster. The camera has some great features, but a few downsides as well. The battery life is extremely poor in my opinion. Again, other Canon point and shoot cameras I've owned had a much longer battery life.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Poor Quality and battery life

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Renee27
from Uniontown
on 12/30/2010
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Battery life, poor picture quality and focusing issues
I bought this camera to replace my old Canon and what a disappointment. The battery lasts 15 minutes or 50 pics and if you are in movie mode 10 minutes. There is a focusing issue with the new lens and it blurs almost every other shot even using a tripod. I returned the first camera because I thought it was defective. Then I purchased another and still the same focusing issue and battery life. I would not spend the money on this camera at all!! I returned it and bought the Canon SD1400 IS which so far surpasses this camera by far. Quality much better and great battery life. This is my first review ever but felt buyers needed to know this is not a great camera.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Good, with one reservation.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: geo43
from LI, NY
on 12/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Still pictures have good detail.
What's not so great: Color of sceen
The opt zoom is very effective. The pictures are fairly crisp. One can capture movement, even in auto. I've used an sx210 which is an excellat camera. This is just as good and is a little faster and better at micro.
The only reservation I have is that the pictures on the camera screen have a very sight yellow cast. (I compared this screen to my sd1440 screen.) But when downloaded to a computer or when the pictures are printed, it disappears. Strange. Maybe its just my camera.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NoniRo
from Livermore
on 12/21/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease and clarity
What's not so great: Some problems downloading movies to computer but were solved.
So easy to use. Takes wonderful and clear pictures and movies. I have never been able to take good night and distant pictures with a digital camera before. This does a great job with no effort.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon - PowerShot SD4500 IS 10.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

So far so good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: traveler1977
from Spring, TX
on 12/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use
What's not so great: cost of extra "speciality" battery - would prefer AA's instead!
First use was on a vacation to China. So far so good. Took 920 pictures and they turned out well. Camera easy to use for a handicapped person. Light-weight and easy to store in a pocket.
ORDER extra battery or two. Vacations use lots of battery power when you take many pictures each day. Had to recharge almost every evening. Extra battery was expensive but worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>