Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

Model: SP-800UZ
SKU: 1233313
UPC: 181010000027
Capture special memories with this 14.0MP digital camera that features 27 shooting modes to snap photos of a wide variety of subjects in various situations. The high-definition movie mode lets you record at 1280 x 720 resolution for stunning results. This product has been refurbished. Learn more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.974 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 157 reviews
5 stars
80
4 stars
34
3 stars
13
2 stars
19
1 star
11
75% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
117 out of 157
)
Customer Reviews for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium
Review 1 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

Not easy to use

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: enjaybee
from Elgin, IL
on 04/10/2011
Ease to Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price.
What's not so great: Difficult to use, slow, and computer software is awful.
I have owned Sony digital cameras forever, but decided I wanted an Olympus, since I had seen that they take great pictures, and this camera, even tho refubished sounded like a great deal. I was also looking for at least a 10x optical zoom. This camera has up to a 30x optical zoom, so I was very excited to get a great camera at such a great price!
The camera is slow to take photos and has trouble focusing. Most of my test pictures were fuzzy especially with the optical zoom. The IP software is terrible and not intuitive. It takes over when ever the camera is plugged into the computer! The lens cover is not built into the camera, and not being used to this, it falls off everytime the camera is turned on. I can see that getting lost or forgotten.
Most of my photography is family/friend events, so the option to point and click (auto settings) are important to me. I also wanted a camera that would take great stills when manually changing the settings. This camera is not easily used for point and click, very slow. I can see where I could miss alot of great shots with the time it takes to process a photo. The camera has a mind of it's own even with manual settings and the menu is difficult to navigate and understand. It takes 5 clicks before you can delete a bad photo.
Battery charging is done in the camera, so you cannot use the camera when it is charging. The instruction manual is a pdf file, difficult to use and also not very easy to follow. At the price range of this camera (new), you would think you would get a booklet.
Just picked the camera up on Friday night, Sunday I am bringing it back and getting a new Sony...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

What a disappointment!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 4168
from WV
on 04/10/2011
Ease to Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Nothing.
What's not so great: Ease of use.
Menu is nearly impossible to get to. Settings are confusing. Not at all easy to use. Picture quality is just average. Battery life is poor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

Nice size for traveling

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Traveler2011
from Washington DC
on 02/02/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size and picture quality. Better quality images and more functions than a small point-and-shoot.
What's not so great: IB photo management software
I like everything about this camera except the IB photo management software. It is less intuitive to use than products like Picassa. The images scroll uncontrollably if your cursor gets close to the top or bottom of the screen. The image editing function stopped working abruptly the first time I used it. I emailed technical support and two days later was given detailed instructions on how to delete and reinstall the software. I'm not convinced this will solve the problem. If it doesn't, I'll simply use another program available on the internet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

Refurbished means broken

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: IMJD
from Honolulu
on 01/31/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Support
Got the camera, went through process to boot it to computer, then found that it works for 1 or 2 shots and doesn't turn on again. Shipping it off to Olympus for repair. I was looking for something for work and now I have nothing. And the process of posting this review is inordinately difficult.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

Great all-around camera.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: erobertd
from Virginia
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything.
What's not so great: Nothing.
Terrific detail, easy to use, with all the settings you could ever want. Hard to take a bad picture with this camera!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

great camera for semiprofessional

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nyashiare
from geneseo, NY
on 01/17/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: zoom, creations, ...
What's not so great: no lens
Love the camera and everything! great zoom, great pic quality, really simple and great :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

Best Buy at BestBuy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CSO2010
from Minneapolis
on 11/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This Camera is top of the line for digital Camera. Unless you want SLR's which start at 600$ upward. It has all the latest features, HD video and pics. Very easy to use. It also has a lot of advanced options if you want to dive deep. This is good for professionals too. This Camera is AS GOOD AS IT GETS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+52points
52out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

Totally simple amazing and beautiful!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DiegosJynx
from Carrollton Texas
on 10/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything.
What's not so great: theres not a looking lens thing but a huge screen isnt to bad to look at pics
Love the camera and everything! great zoom, great pic quality, really simple and great :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
50out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium

good quality, liughtweight

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mamacheryl
from Ovalo Tx
on 10/17/2010
What's great about it: lightweight, very powerful
What's not so great: hard for this grandmother to master
I am definitely a novice with all electronics...but I can follow directions and am learning to be comfortable with this verydetailed camera. It is not a simple "point & shoot".....I purchased it to take exceptional photos of my family and once I am up-to-speed, it will be just what the doctor ordered!
This camera has many functions that should please anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
84out of 128found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Olympus - Refurbished 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Titanium
Based on the average of (148) ratings-only reviews
Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Would recommend? Yes
(
111  out of  148
)