Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Model: B40
SKU: 1241514
UPC: 649645004020
Enjoy delicious hot beverages with this single-serve home brewing system. The 48-oz. reservoir keeps plenty of water on hand, and 8- and 10-oz. selectable brew sizes allow you to customize your drink.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 88 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
80 out of 88
)
Customer Reviews for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black
Review 1 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Novice Keurig Buyer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chadg82
from Dallas
on 01/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Taste
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and tastes so good!!
What's not so great: Have to buy coffee filter additionally
Bought for in laws; they love it. Make sure you get the normal coffee filter so you have the option to use without Keurig custom coffee filters. They love it and the coffee is so good. You may save 10 on another site; but Best Buy has a great return policy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
16out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Very fun, and useful.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kyle5580
from ft. collins, CO
on 08/11/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Coffee, Tea, Cocoa, and more in a matter of seconds!
What's not so great: Price of K-cups, and amount made per K-cup.
Quick consistent drinks every time. Drinks come out at a very nice temp, and its much cleaner and easier to maintain than regular coffee makers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

I love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DrRitchie
from Auburn
on 08/11/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is fast and easy to maintain.
What's not so great: The price of the coffee.
The Brewer is great. Easy maintenance, and fast. I love the fact that no coffee is wasted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

quick and easy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lo48
from langhorne,pa
on 08/12/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: haven't found anything as of now
Everyone in my family like something different to drink. My kids can do it themselves. I love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

love love love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ksuhistory
from Ilinois
on 08/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: worth every penny
What's not so great: nothing
I was going back and forth with this purchase and I finally decided to buy it. One of the best decisions I have made. If you are looking for a coffee maker that gives you hot fresh coffee every time, then this is the one for you. Great flavors for all. I suggest that you get one for everyone in your life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Get the protection plan!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: PhxD
from Phoenix, AZ
on 09/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Convenience
What's not so great: Needs to last longer
Love my Keurig! We have had one for several years now and have bought several as gifts for others. With everyday use, they seem to die before two years so don't skimp and pass on the protection plan.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Manufacturer's Defect ?

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Rusty3
from Fairfax, VA
on 09/22/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Convenient single serve cups, 30 second brewed coffee
What's not so great: My unit leaked around where coffee came out onto counter.
I had used a commercial version of the Keurig machine before but this was the first time I owned one. One note about the instructions, when it says wait for the blinking blue light you must raise and lower the load mechanism to get the blue light to flash. I don't know why but every 2 or three cups the machine would spit out the coffee near the drain hole sideways and miss the cup and go on the counter. Some cups worked fine and others would spit sideways. The good news is BestBuy took the machine back and gave me a full refund. I wasn't crazy about the water reservoir on the side was not convenient to remove and replace. I think I am going to get the smaller model you just fill from a 10 oz. water bottle.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TerriLynn1
from Massachusetts
on 10/04/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use
What's not so great: expensive k cups
I truly love my new coffee maker. Easy to use and easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Makes weak coffee

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kegjet
from Scottsdale, AZ
on 10/12/2011
What's not so great: Makes very weak coffee
I bought the machine as a birthday gift for my boyfriend. He only used it a couple of times and wll not use it again. He says that the coffee is so weak it tastes like water. He wants me to get my money back for it.
Can it be returned if it was only used 2 times?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
4out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Excellent drink maker

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: spiffingtaraberry
from San Diego, CA
on 10/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ability to make single cups of custom coffee, tea, or cocoa
What's not so great: It's a little bigger than you would think a machine that makes 1 cup would be, prepare to clear some counter space!
I was completely in the school of thought that the Keurig was some useless fad that wasn't worth looking into and I stayed with my old Mr. Coffee for several years. Oh, how I wish I had purchased this sooner.. I was so wrong. My boyfriend and I use ours once and sometimes twice a day. The thing that finally sold me on it was the fact that it also does iced coffee, tea, hot cocoa, and more. Even just needing to get water to that very-hot-not-boiling stage for other cooking and baking takes seconds. It's great if you have a large group of people over who want coffee after dinner, because it allows each cup to be individual in taste and style, and not a bother to make a dozen different cups in minutes. The only thing that I'm still concerned about so far is that it is made out of plastic and I'm not sure how it will last over time, so I did buy the 2 year plan to have that peace of mind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Makes a fabulous cup of coffee with no hassle!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NewRetiree
from McLean VA
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use; makes great cup of coffee
Great variety of coffees to choose from. Easy to use. No better way to make a single, great cup of coffee. Great value for price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Awesome functionality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thedeepsouth
from Castle Rock, CO
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: Kind of expensive
My wife drinks coffee, but I do not. The Keurig coffee maker makes so much sense for use because we NEVER need a whole pot of coffee. She can drink a cup of coffee whenever she wants and I can have a hot apple cider or hot chocolate whenever I want!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Excellent cup of Joe!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Coffee4me
from Graham, NC
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quickness
We love the convenience of making only one cup of coffee and different flavors instead of making a full pot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Excellent purchase

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: eric90125
from Memphis, TN
on 10/26/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This product was exactly what my wife and I needed. We don't driink enough coffee to make a pot each morning, plus we don't drink the same type. This allows us to drink what we want, in the quantity we want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Mediocre

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Tzintzuntzan
from Aptos, CA
on 10/27/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to use with pre-packaged kcups
What's not so great: Generates a lot of wasted plastic, messy
This coffee maker made a decent cup of coffee only when the pre-packaged kcups were used. I wanted to brew my own coffee and tea so I bought the additional kcups. The machine is not able to brew properly with the self-filled kcups. It made a mess every time, with water squirting out from places I am certain it is not supposed to. Also, the kcup might be convenient, but the pre-packaged kcups are an environmental nightmare. I would recommend this item only for a business that needed instant coffee with little prep and cleanup time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Great coffee maker!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Aupony
from Rome NY
on 11/02/2011
What's great about it: Ease of use
I love this machine. Excellent investment and the coffee comes out great using either k cups or my own brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Love Single Serve!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mark1963
from Georgia
on 11/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Keurig Elite is a well built coffee brewer, especially for single-serve afficiandos like myself and my wife. We like coffee at various times during the day, so this brewer suits us very well. Coffee selection is varied and tasty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Broken in 8 months

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MinnieP
from Lincoln, CA
on 11/05/2011
What's great about it: Convenience
What's not so great: Short life span, increasing price of coffee packets
As someone who is always on the run, I like the Keurig concept. However, after about 8 months of daily use (i.e. 1-2 cups of coffee a day), the coffee maker is breaking down and it is only a matter of weeks before I know I will have to buy a new machine. In my opinion, for $129 it needs to last at least a couple of years.
What happens is this: after the first cup, the smaller coffee size option button doesn't light up to blue. When I hit the regular size to make another cup of coffee, nothing happens. I then have to unplug the entire machine, bang on the top and and side of the machine, wait a minute, and then re-boot the machine to get that 2nd cup. What a hassle! This extra procedure defeats the purpose of quick, easy, and convenient.
My other complaint is that since the Keurig brand has taken off, so has the price of a box of coffee packets. I've noticed an average rise of about $1.00 per box over the past year at vendors across the board.
So. . .I will be replacing this machine (probably this month) when it churns out its final cup. So long, Keurig, the relationship's been real.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
7out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Expensive, but worth it?

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Claytonvista
from Seattle, WA
on 11/12/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Thus far, after a little under a month of ownership, the B40 Keurig machine has been worth the price, in my opinion. As someone who only drinks coffee at work, it's very convenient to be able to pop one K-cup in, and be done. However, I've had the machine a little under a month, so I can't speak to the durability of the machine. I will say that, in other reviews, people complained of the coffee not being hot enough, but that is NOT TRUE at all. Unless you are one of those people who like their coffee scalding hot, you will be happy with the temperature of the coffee, when dispensed. The following is a list of some of the good, and bad, things about the Keurig B40:
The Good:
Easy
Convenient
Variety of K-cups
Quick
Good coffee
The Bad:
K-cups bad for the environment
Long-term durability?
K-cups are a little pricy (esp. if you drink a lot of coffee)
Co-workers might try to use your K-cups if you bring it to work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Keurig - Elite Brewer - Black

Awesome product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: peliti27
from Okc
on 11/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simplicity
I'm the only one in my household that drinks coffee, and I've used one of these at my work. Just as happy to have it at home. Simple, convenient and worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>