Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Model: s5610y
SKU: 1253361
UPC: 885631488997
This desktop makes it easy to create custom DVDs and CDs with the DL DVD� RW/CD-RW drive that features LightScribe technology for direct-disc labels. The spacious 640GB hard drive allows you to store multiple important documents and files.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about VISION Technology from AMD.Learn more about LightScribe technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 44 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
82% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
36 out of 44
)
Customer Reviews for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive
Review 1 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

GETS THE JOB DONE!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NURREDIN
from LAS VEGAS
on 05/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: SPEEDY AND EASY TO USE
What's not so great: IT'S WINDOWS!
I purchased this to use as a communications computer for my recording studio. I don't put my Macs on line so we needed an inexpensive computer for everyday communications.It's used to retrieve emails,updating Websites, social pages and uploading music and videos files after completion on the Macs.It doesn't take up a lot of space and is very quiet.I'm thinking of purchasing another and installing Windows XP because I don't like Windows 7.For the price I can't find any faults with this unit.
This product is... Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Good for business, bad for gaming

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: JediPro216
from Toledo, OH
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Built in games
What's not so great: Graphics Card
If I had to describe this computer in 100 words of less I would say, this computer was good for its original purpose until I came into the picture. I am a gamer, this computer has its bad points, the graphics are not as slim as I thought. I got Fallout New Vegas and it worked decent. I tried to put in a graphics card the slots were too small. I went over to Best Buy and found out that the only graphics card that will fit is a PNY Verto 520. So now, I have to play Skyrim with low graphic settings. Buy this if you want to be a straight forward business person or you are a casual gamer, I mean if you want to play things that use GeForce 7800 graphic games.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Student, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
EVGA - GeForce GT 520 1GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card
3.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Motherboard issues?

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Simonette
from New Smyrna Beach, FL
on 01/06/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
I bought this computer and thought it was the best. It had everything I needed and worked like a charm. Well, I've had it one year and THREE weeks. The motherboard is shot. From what I've read, HP has known about this issue. Isn't that just great.
This product is... Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Lots of Bang for little bucks

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dragonsfire
from vermont
on 07/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: cost, value, size
What's not so great: needs custom paint ;-)
I purchased one of these as a computer for the kids to surf, play kids game, do homework, and as a general spare computer over my custom gaming system.
This thing is a really great deal for the price. It works with no issues, Win7 is close enough to vista and xp that it was easy for the rest of the family to just pick it up. I use Norton as my primary AV and this came with it, so it was easy to upgrade from the basic version they give you to my "do it all" version.
Boots up Fast
its Quiet as heck.
Runs like a champ.
I checked on the PS issues ive read about here and other places, did some research and found that its mostly a problem for people that add/change things inside. If I do that I will simply upgrade my PS and avoid the problems, plenty of great ones out there for under $30. I doubt I will need to upgrade this any time soon. Plenty of HDD space, and RAM. The video handles movies and streaming no problems. Plenty of ventilation.
I would ABSOLUTELY buy another one if I needed to add yet another computer to my 5 tower house
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Great basic home PC

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jeffdog
from Houston
on 06/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price for features.
What's not so great: DVD drive sits vertically instead of Horizontally.
Everything has been good so far. I did try to add memory and found the configuration not to be the best. The DVD drive sits on top of the memory slots. Seems to be fast enough with the memory it came with, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Lesson Learned: You Get What You Pay For...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: YouGetWhatYouPayFor
from Los Angeles, CA
on 05/03/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It was easy to set up
What's not so great: poor power supply,video card compatibility issues,HP tech support is bad,only 60 days virus protection included
I waited six months before writing this review because I wanted to give potential buyers a good assessment of how well the CPU worked over the long term.
I bought this CPU knowing it was an extremely basic, frill-less model. I don't play video games, I was OK with that. I just wanted a very basic computer for internet access, creating word documents and the like. As far as that's concerned, its worked fine.
But there are other issues potential buyers need to be aware of. I expected a year's worth of virus protection, but only 2 months was included and then had to uninstall the program to get rid of the annoying reminders. Just purchased an HP 2011x monitor because I assumed that two products from the same company would be compatible. Wrong. Screen is stretched out.
I spent quite a while on the phone with HP tech support last night, and spent several hours on the HP support website downloading drivers and trying everything suggested to try to resolve the problem. It took HP technical support 1 1/2 hours on the phone today to figure out that the CPU video card will not support a 1600 x 900 monitor, even though both the monitor and the CPU are their own products, and they have access to all the technical specifications. I find it hard to believe I'm the first person to encounter this problem. And once they did figure this out, they told me that if I had the video card replaced, it would void the warranty. If I bought an external video card from anyone else, it would void the warranty. The technician I spoke to actually told me that the power supply on this CPU is pretty weak and if I attached an external video card it might blow out the power supply. Their solution was that I had to buy one or more items directly from them to compensate for the fact that the video card wouldn't support their own monitor. My solution is to return the monitor and buy a different brand.
So, if you're thinking of buying this CPU, my suggestion is to think about these issues beforehand:
1. HP tech support in IMHO is not very good;
2. You only get 60 days of virus protection;
3. If you are planning on making any internal changes, they'll void your warranty;
4. By their own admission, HP has told me the power supply is weak, and if you add any external elements, an external video card, maybe an external TV tuner so you can record TV programs onto your computer, it could blow out the computer's power supply.
5. This CPU's video card will not support the HP 2011x LED monitor specifically, and will not support 1600 x 900 monitors generally. The only resolutions it will support are 1600 x 1200, 1366 x 768, 1280 x 1024, 1280 x 960, 1280 x 800, 1280 x 768, 1280 x 720, 1152 x 864, 1024 x 764, and 800 x 600. If you already have a monitor you want to use with your new computer, check its resolution against this list before purchasing this CPU. If you need to buy a monitor to go with this CPU, same applies, check this list before buying a new monitor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+24points
30out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Good Luck with this one

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: HawkeyeSpike
from Bartlett, IL
on 03/29/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Somewhat easy to set up
What's not so great: Pre-installed software, HP Dock, HP Service, and the fact it doesn't work.
My wife and I received this one as a Christmas present to replace our 5 year old computer that was at the end of its usable life. This computer worked fine the first two months until the day (THE EXACT DAY) the pre-installed Norton Anti-virus expired. Since then it has worked so-so, then poorly and now I have a hard time even getting it to turn on (took an hour prior to being able to review it here). Contacting HP was just as poor an experience. I am awaiting a "Recovery Disk" that they estimate will take at least a week to send me in the hopes that that fixes my problems.
HP's pre-installed software is terrible and their service is worse. I DO NOT RECOMMEND!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Turned out better than I thought

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DelMontie
from Auburn, NY
on 03/09/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast
What's not so great: Nothing
At first, i thought it wouldn't be as good, but after I got it. I was impressed. I would recommend this for people to buy if they're looking for a not too expensive good computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Love my new PC

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Babies
from Slidell, LA
on 03/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's so affordable and the size!
What's not so great: Can't think of a thing.
I have been so impressed with the dynamics of the my PC. I just couldn't be happier. The price was affordable and love the fact that it takes up so little space!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

great computer for young adult

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: morkim
from wisconsin
on 02/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
I bought this because I needed a work computer. It works great! I love the computer and I bought as a bundle and upgraded to the 23" monitor.Love the monitor so work the $50 more. I also use it for everyday things and it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Great Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Banjs24
from Reisterstown, MD
on 02/23/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good graphics card
What's not so great: nothing so far
Needed new computer because my old refurbished Dell had an out of date integrated video card from 2006 that you couldn't update. I play a lot of computer games and I needed a machine that could handle the graphics. Easy to set up and I am loving this computer. I had resisted getting Windows 7 because I didn't think it was necessary but its much better than Windows XP.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

HP is unreliable.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Deniaggie
from Victorville
on 02/18/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything
My husband and I own this computer.. and ofcourse 3 months after our warrenty ended our motherboard just completly fails. My husband has been on the phone with Hp cust service 3 diff times of a 1 week period to pay to have our comp sent in and be fixed. Well for some reason hp doesnt accept money anymore, as they didnt care nor did they do anything to help us. After 3 diff 2+ hr calls and not one step closer to getting our computer fixed my husband called their coorperate offices where they, "COOPERATE" didnt care much to do anything for us. we are now in the market for a new tower, not an HP.. so for everyone who decides to buy this computer think about the customer you'd like to receive once their inferior product fails and buy a dell, or an Emachine...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Completely satisfied, more value than expected.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OurReview2You
from San Diego, CA
on 02/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Operations, capacity, and speed compared to last computer.
What's not so great: Nothing so far, very happy with it.
Purchased this item as part of a Home Networking Package. Received this computer, a laptop, a netbook, router, software, virus protection, and a few other items all under $1000. Well worth it, and this item seemed to provide the biggest surprise. Much better than what we were using so that probably contributed to the Wow factor. Very happy and would purchase this package again if given the opportunity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Two Thumbs Up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Edigity
from Blaine, MN
on 02/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, Size & Windows 7 Rocks!
I love my new machine and it was an amazingly affordable!
Wouldn't change anything
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

great home computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bellee33
from illinois
on 02/07/2011
What's great about it: slim, fast, simple
What's not so great: nothing
we are happy with this computer , it is used for basic home computer and is fast , easy and more than enough for what it is used for. Is a slim design and takes up little space. Is used for very simple web browsing simple games , good price and very fast and plenty of memory for our use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Great for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Skinny2
from Miami, Fl
on 02/03/2011
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
for the price, it's a great machine. very fast and reliable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Outstanding Overall Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mld3742
from Lafayette, LA
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size, speed, ease of use
What's not so great: nothing
This desktop has exceeded all of my expectations. Super fast out of the box, works great with my second monitor, and immediately recognized both of my printers. I did upgrade to 8GB of ram because I do a lot of computer programming and simulations. I am rarely pleased with technology purchases, but I would buy this unit again without hesitation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Great design since hard drive can be on your desk

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BanditTiger
from Ca
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It is fast and quiet and fits on your desk
Had the PC a few weeks. Had to use recovery discs twice now. I like HP service which is why i bought another HP product. Quiet hard drive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

nice entry-level small form factor pc

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dpol
from midwest
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: very good price as a system bundle on sale
What's not so great: HP bloatware and comes with a 100 instead of a 1000 LAN connection
Picked this up as a system bundle with a 20" HP monitor & KB/M for $500 around the Christmas Holidays...I think a very good deal from Best Buy. It's nothing flashy, not "blazingly fast", doesn't blow my mind and a gamer would never consider it worthy...but it is a very nice, basic, small-form factor entry-level Windows 7 PC system with a very good quality 20" widescreen monitor that leaves desktop space to spare and does more than good enough at all the basic tasks my wife and daughter need to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 3GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive

Great pc

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kingonipaa
from Pearl City, HI
on 01/27/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
An excellent pc for the price. Easy setup and the features are awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>