Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Model: R780-JT01
SKU: 1307061
UPC: 036725732513
This laptop features a 17.3" high-definition display and 1.3MP webcam for video chatting with friends and family. The built-in wireless LAN allows you to connect to the Internet without adding wires. Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 34 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
97% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
33 out of 34
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black
Review 1 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

SAMSUNG QUALITY

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DaSkins
from ABILENE, TX
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, speed, Quality
What's not so great: Nothing
Truly love this computer. Big in size, but not that heavy. Powerful, fast, great display, and over-all good looks. Buy it and you'll be happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

"It Rocks"

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: apostle8
from baltimore, Md
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, support, functionality, appearance and feel of the system
What's not so great: NOTHING
Over the years i have purchased many a laptop. This one replacing my current Toshiba Satellite; and i have to say this laptop literally ROCKS!! i bought it online and it arrived very quickly over the holidays with no delays. I maxed out the memory by replacing the 2 (2) gig. cards with 2 (4) gig cards. The info. online regarding whether or not this particular system could be upgraded in memory was vague but after talking with samsung support they confirmed it could be done. I'm not an avid review writer but i had to put in on this system. GET THIS THING!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

great bang for the buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Squigwv
from wv
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price for what you get
What's not so great: the mouse pad a little wierd
This computer has a graphics card that will handle games without spending too much on an alienware. The closest equivalent Dell will have a smaller hard drive and cost 300-500 more than this one. Definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Best valuable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Riversideside
from CA
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Great but dont use for portable
goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Fast and excellent samsung backup software

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jamie100
from Florida
on 01/19/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fast, backup software, no heat after hours of use, expensive looking, sturdy
What's not so great: mousepad, remedy get a logiteck and u can scroll
The computer I bought after reviewing what is available on the market.
It had a very good recommendation. The only think I don't like about about it is the mouse pad. It take little getting use to.
But the best thing about it is that it is fast, has samsung backup installed, and a very important plus is that it does not hear up. Even after 3 or more hours of use.
Better that my dell, which has the fan going after using it a short period of time.
Overall an excellent deal. I will be getting a mouse so that I can scroll and then this laptop will be complete.
Hard to find a better deal unless u are willing to pay top dollars.
This is money well spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Excellent, Powerful Laptop with Big Screen.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ScrappyKoKo
from Vallejo, CA
on 01/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast with a beautiful Big screen.
This Laptop Computer is Well made with a nice full sized keyboard. The beautiful high gloss finish makes this unit look great and is easy to clean. The Dual Core Intel i5 processor is Quick and with the 4GB of memory it handles Internet and background processing very well. Everything works well on this Laptop along with an HDMI output if you wish to connect to your HD TV. The Huge 17.3" screen gives you a BIG beautiful HD picture perfect for veiwing pictures, webpages, Movies, spreadsheets or Games. With ATI graphics and Windows 7, This is a Great Buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Excellent Laptop For The Price!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: miketh74
from St. Louis
on 01/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: For the size, nice and compact. Very fast with the i5 processor!
What's not so great: Can't really think of anything......
This is, by far, the best purchase I made on a notebook - ($745). The display is far better with the 17" monitor.....and mixed with the powerful graphics card, makes it unmatched playing online games. The battery actually lasts as long as it's supposed to and the i5 Core Processor yields fast response! To be honest, I've never had a problem with Samsung products whether it be phones, TV's and now.....PC's. Great laptop!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Great laptop for any type of user.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mheareth
from Louisville, KY
on 01/17/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I bought this primarily for surfing, gaming and storing pictures. I love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Great preformance.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tiffany48
from Prairie du sac, wi
on 01/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This computer was purchased to replace my Dell laptop. I use this for personal finances and for photos and internet surfing. I'm very pleased with the preformance and speed of this laptop. Picture is quality is very good. (Awesome) I would recommend this to anyone who wants it for personal or business use. Great value for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Great Laptop for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Overchar
from Johnson City, TN
on 01/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: GPU, Screen Size and Price.
What's not so great: Battery life.
Bought during Black Friday for $700. I've been shopping for a laptop for college for some time and was looking for something with good GPU and RAM. This laptop excels in this price range, especially when considering the screen size. I did want a 7200 RPM HDD, I thought I would just replace it at a later time. However, I was impressed how fast Win7 load, I will probably just stick with it. Having a full sized keyboard with the number pad is also a bonus!
I am a digital media major and therefore need it for image processing (Adobe suite) and possibly modeling (Maya). I am also an avid gamer so the dedicated video was a must (Borderlands runs great).
The only negative aspects I've noticed is the low battery life and the size. The low battery life can be expected with higher graphics processing - besides, I haven't yet been in a situation where that mattered, there always seems to be an outlet nearby. I hate to use the size as a CON, b/c it's nice to have the big screen, but it made shopping for bag a bit difficult. However, I did just purchase the 17" Wenger/Ibex Swiss Gear backpack and this laptop fits perfectly!
If you want a PC replacement laptop (w/ dedicated graphics card) at a great price, look no further.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Great-performing and sharp-looking laptop.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BlackXRed
from Boston area
on 01/08/2011
Great-performing and sharp-looking laptop. Bought it largely because of the good GFX chipset and it's doing the job for the games I play and everything I've thrown at it. Great deal for a nice all-around laptop.
Contrary to the maroon [Bugs Bunny reference] who gave it one star because "Adobe products" wouldn't run on it, it runs Photoshop and Illustrator beautifully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

GREAT Laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: laerc
from Florida
on 01/07/2011
What's great about it: Fast, easy set up, great screen!
What's not so great: Battery life
I just got this laptop a few weeks ago and I am extremely happy with it! It is very fast which was one of the things that I was most looking for. I was considering a Mac and was very close to buying one however, the prices on them forced me to do research on PC's further. I read every review possible online about every brand and each had many bad reviews mixed with good. The reviews on Samsung brought me to the conclusion that this may be the best bet of all PC's out there. I was RIGHT! I am so happy that I chose this vs. a Mac. I saved over $1000. Fast - doesn't lock up - great screen resolution, easy set up, etc. My only negative would be that the battery doesn't last long. I saw others' reviews that indicated a negative is the mouse however, I don't seem to have a problem with it. I'm more of a wireless mouse user however did use the one on the laptop quite a few times already and see no problems with it. HIGHLY recommend giving this laptop consideration for your next purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Excellent overall

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bluepride
from CT
on 01/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Display
What's not so great: Battery life is relatively short, but it's really a DT replacement, so it is what it is
I picked this up Thanksgiving weekend when it was on sale ($200 off), so at that price, it was a steal. The display is phenomenal, and was the primary reason I bought it. The processor is fast, but frankly, for what I use this PC for, it's more than I really need. The hard drive is large and fast. Overall, this is an excellent computer and I would certainly buy it again.
The display is by far the best I've seen. I tried out an Asus 17" with a similar HD display but it was not nearly as sharp and crisp as this one. I recently streamed an HD movie to it and it was better than the HDTV I'm using now. There is some glare and the viewing angle gets a little thin at times, depending on what you're looking at, but overall it's amazing. By far the best feature of the computer.
For the price I was able to pay, I'm very glad I bought this PC. At the regular price, you can probably look around and find something similar or cheaper if you're willing to give up a little on the processor. But you won't be sorry if you buy this computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Excellent laptop for performance and appearance.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DeepSeaDiver
from Washington DC
on 12/26/2010
What's great about it: Appearance and speed.
What's not so great: No problems.
We have been using this laptop for a month and love the speed and clarity of the large screen. You will not be disappointed if you purchase the R780 because this laptop offers a lot for the price-range.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

A lot of bang for your buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rsharp
from Louisville, Ky
on 12/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: 1080p resolution, dedicated graphics card, appearence
this computer is great. the physical apearence is amazing. the red/black fade really stands out and makes the computer look very expensive.. ive had numerous people compliment it.
performance wise. I like to get on the internet, watch videos, etc. and it does everything i want it to flawlessly. Blueray player works great. the display is amazing and i love the fact that i can watch 1080p videos on youtube. also the HD wallpapers are awesome. LOTS OF DETAIL.
ive had this computer for about 7 months and i really cant think of anything negative to say except when i hook the computer up to the TV via HDMI. when i try to clone the picture it doesnt look the same (on tv) as the computer secreen. (its the tv's fault).
now when i watch blurays on the tv via the computer the picture is flawless!!! I LOVE IT..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Guilty plea for stealing money!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kevinisamazing
from charlotte, nc
on 12/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Storage, looks, value, brand, keyboard, graphics, speed, display
What's not so great: speakers could be better, I'm not sure how great Samsung's customer support is for laptops, power cord could be longer
I should be jailed for getting this laptop for $699 during Black Friday! It is 100 times better, faster, and sharper than my 2005 HP Pavilion and even at 850 is still a great buy! I am very glad to gamble with Samsung on their venture into computing....the display is so bright it made my old HP's display have a dull yellowish tint when sitting next to it, the screen size is amazing and perfect for watching movies or streaming videos, it has a ton of space for storage and an easy back-up hard drive if the first one crashes, the keyboard is awesome with a great number pad, and the graphics are vivid and clear. Windows 7 and this computer's features took a week or 2 to get used to and become comfortable using but in no time I fell in love with everything about both the laptop and Windows 7 (compared to XP a whole other world better). Laptops have gotten so much better and more efficient since 2005 and I'm very glad I waited this long to buy this model after doing a ton of research...even the lack of exterior volume controls and other functions is something I've gotten used to but a huge plus is the touchpad and how you can still scroll using your finger down the right side which HP and Toshiba seem to think is no longer useful! And the fingerprint smudges is not really a big deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Excellent value, perfect performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: snowmo
from New Hampshire
on 12/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Performance, fit and finish, all under the Samsung flag..
What's not so great: My only issue is with the mouse because Im still struggling to get used to all of its abilities.
I really love this computer and I got it on sale for $699, what an unbelievable deal, one that I couldn't pass up. Even at $849 its the best computer out there for the price. There are so many things that I like about this computer one being the LACK of the junk software that other companies clutter there new computers with. The display, performance, fit and finish, size, weight, keyboard... ECT I love it all.. Loads of performance for short $$.. I highly recommend this computer..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Fantastic Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BruceJ
from Ohio
on 12/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast, great display
What's not so great: Battery life is short. Significant time to setup.
This laptop is everything it's advertised to be. The processor is fast, the display is crisp and bright. Be prepared to spend significant time getting it ready to be productive. Once it's ready to go......marvelous! Battery life is short, but wall outlets are everywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

I love it!!! and love the color

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mommyof2angels
from Yakima, Washington
on 12/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
fast, Great display, Love the keyboard, lots of storage, Love the Bluray player great webcam resolution. Great buy for the price I got it for $595 on sale with laptop bag and mouse GREAT BUY
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 17.3" Display / 4GB Memory - Red/Black

Top-Notch

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: crich5619
from Georgia
on 12/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: beautiful display, numeric pad on the right hand side of keyboard, runs smoothly
What's not so great: battery life, no dedicated volume rocker
First just like to start off by saying this is a beautifully crafted laptop. The only drawback is that there isn't a dedicated volume rocker on the side that most laptops have.
As far as performance is concerned, it runs very smoothly. I haven't experienced any sort of hiccups or lags since it's been up and running.
I can definitely see why this product is on back-order, I happened to purchase mine when it was 700. For this to be my first laptop, i am very pleased with what I received for the amount of money I payed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>