Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Model: 01636110
SKU: 1310569
UPC: 694202305669
Introduce your child to music with this miniature MP3 player that features large, kid-friendly buttons, 128MB* of storage and 20 prerecorded songs featuring artists such as Twin Sisters and Hot Buttered Rum.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
69% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
11 out of 16
)
Customer Reviews for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player
Review 1 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Kid's MP3

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: mustangmcelroys
from oklahoma
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Easy to Use and Durable
What's not so great: Pre-recorded songs and no option to type in number of song
Our 1 year old son loves music. We bought this because we trusted the brand, it looked durable, and it seemed easy to use. Our son was able to opperate it easily, but lost interest quickly with the pre-downloaded songs. Also, to get to a song he likes, we have to skip past several others. UNfortunately, yu can't delete the pre-recorded songs to get to the songs on your memory card. Other than tht, it is durable and easy enough for a 1 year old to opperate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:25-34
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
Top MP3 Accessory:Speaker/speaker system
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Great for children

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: diskidsmom
from san diego, ca
on 01/30/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, safe for kids.
What's not so great: How do I take off the prerecorded songs?
I bought this for my twin 6.5 year olds. I wanted them to be able to listen to their favorites w/o me changing CDs for them. I also didn't want them to use headphones (to protect their hearing and to keep them from becoming isolated). It looks babyish for 1st graders but they love it! I used a PC (I didn't bother to try to use my mac & itunes) to download songs from CDs after reading another review about how to do it (lowest quality setting, etc). They have 61 songs on it w/ room for a few more. They use it every day. It is strange that the battery compartment has springs in it and it takes effort to close, but I haven't had to change them in over a month. I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:45 and up
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
Top MP3 Accessory:Speaker/speaker system
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Easy for small children to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ackelsma
from Des Moines, IA
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy for children to use
What's not so great: Should come with volume control headphones
Plays a variety of children's songs and is easy for them to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:17 & under
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:More than 5
Top MP3 Accessory:Headphones
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

My kid loved it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jossie
from Houston, TX
on 01/27/2011
This toy is a perfect replacement for my daughter's CD player!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Good product for kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cignusman
from CR
on 01/26/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: size, sound quality
Nice addition to my arsenal of cool toys for my LO. Super easy to use, fairly good sound quality (well, this is not meant to be HiFi) and it has a lock button! (you kid won't even be able to turn the volume up... until they found out, but it's ok though :))
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:35-44
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
Top MP3 Accessory:Headphones
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

didn't work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ThisMom
on 01/22/2011
I bought two different versions of this product and could not get them to work with batteries. They worked when connected with USB to the computer but I could not get it to work on only batteries - yes, the batteries were installed correctly...I was disappointed because it was supposed to be a Christmas present.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Perfect for the little music lover!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: morganmom
from Nashville, TN
on 01/20/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use, easy to add/remove songs
What's not so great: Haven't found anything negative yet!
I bought one each from my two sons, ages 2 and 4. Though mine are really young, i think that they will enjoy it for years to come! I don't know which one loves it more, I don't think either one has put it down except to sleep or take a bath since Christmas! Easy for them to use, perfect for carrides, rest time, craft time, etc. Without a doubt their favorite thing they got from Santa!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:17 & under
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
Top MP3 Accessory:None
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Not bad for my 1 and 3 year olds, quite happy!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jade80770
from Gettysburg, PA
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound and songs
What's not so great: Control buttons
Santa brought this from my almost two year old daughter this Christmas. The songs that come preloaded are really cute and because of that I still have not got around to uploading any of our own. It seems to be quite durable and has good sound quality. The controls are a little hard to work but I am sure when they get a little older they will figure it out. Over all good buy glad Santa brought it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:17 & under
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:More than 5
Top MP3 Accessory:None
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Great for my granddaughter

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PopPop17536
from Kirkwood Pa
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
She love its and sings the song that came with the unit. It made a great Christmas gift.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:17 & under
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
Top MP3 Accessory:Headphones
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

3rd might be a charm but NO!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Madgoose
from Boston
on 01/13/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Simplistic controls for toddlers.
What's not so great: Battery compartment
My toddlers love music and love to dance. I was excited to buy this for them. First one I purchased was DOA. Second one I purchased was also not working. I literally had to open and close the battery compartment a dozen times to get it to finally turn on. It worked for less than half a song brfore it shut off for good. Worked on making it work for another 15 minutes but with no success. I am done with this horribly designed product. Can you say STORE CREDITI!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:17 & under
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
Top MP3 Accessory:Charger
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Great MP3 for a toddler

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PezHead
from Milwaukee
on 01/05/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use. Durability.
What's not so great: Volume control is difficult to adjust.
My daughter loves this player. She can play her favorte songs as many times in a row as she wants. That may not always be the best thing for the rest of us in the family.
It was very easy to download files onto the player. I removed all the preloaded files and downloaded files from the computer and CDs. I have about 10 - 12 songs on there and have not tried using an SD card to expand the memory yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:45 and up
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
Top MP3 Accessory:FM transmitter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Wish it worked ...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: PLShutterbug
from Port Ludlow, WA
on 12/30/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Inconvenient battery replacement, will not turn on.
As posters have said, the battery compartment is poorly designed. How? It requires you to unscrew and then re-screw two Phillips head screws every time you replace the batteries. This by itself will severely limit its life because the screw threads will strip out far before the unit dies - except I've had two DOA.
As another poster has said, I have just given up on my second unit brand-new from the store - brand-new batteries properly installed and the unit will not turn on. Living half an hour from the nearest Best Buy this is a great inconvenience.
The ratings seem to require rating value, durability, ease and features but without being able to get the unit working there is no way to measure them.
Folks, this one missed. Discovery, next time hire a real design engineer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:45 and up
Type of Listener:Audiophile
Number of MP3 Players Owned:More than 5
Top MP3 Accessory:Soft, flexible case
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Fantastic for a toddler!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ohmfortheholidays
from floral park, ny
on 12/30/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This little music player is fantastic for my 3 year old! I actually bought this for her about 6 months ago & she plays with it DAILY! The pre-loaded songa are adorable & very catchy....The buttons are a perfect size for toddlers & young kids. While i do agree with the other reviews that the batteries are a bit of a pain to change, the batteries last for a long time so the annoyance is minimal. And yes, you are not able to shuffle the songs, but my daughter really doesnt care about that...you can just press the Next button. All in all, this radio/mp3 is a great purchase!!!! I was so happy with it that i bought it for gifts for 2 of my daughters friends for the holidays.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:25-34
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Disappointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MplsShopper
from Mpls
on 12/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, color and large buttons.
What's not so great: Couldn't get it to work.
I bought this for my granddaughter. It is cute, has large buttons and appears as if it would be durable ... if I could have found one that worked. The battery compartment is poorly designed and seems to not allow the batteries to connect properly. Tried two of these and couldn't get either to work. Too bad ... this would have been a great gift for a toddler. :-(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age Range:45 and up
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:1-2
Top MP3 Accessory:None
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Very well for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FiremanEdwards
from West Paducah
on 12/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price and duriability
What's not so great: no shuffle and battery compartment
I bought this for my daughter who is almost 4, for Christmas. She has played with it almost non-stop since she has had it. I only have 2 minor complaints with this product. one, the battery compartment is a pain in the butt to put back on. Second, the music will only play in the order of progression (i.e. no shuffle)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:17 & under
Type of Listener:Audiophile
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Discovery Kids 128MB* Miniature MP3 Player

Great for little hands!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rosie1822
from Grand Rapids, MI
on 11/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Durable and easy to use
What's not so great: hard to find
Bought this for my young daughter. It made such a hit, I now have to find ones for the grandchildren. Love the ease of use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age Range:45 and up
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Number of MP3 Players Owned:3-5
Top MP3 Accessory:None
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.