Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews
Him

Customer Reviews for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Model: STAC3000101
SKU: 1361508
UPC: 763649028179
Upgrade your computer storage with this external hard drive that stores up to 3TB of files. The included adapter base fits on your desk and includes a capacity gauge to show how much space remains on your drive. View a product demo.
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 67 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
15
75% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
50 out of 67
)
Customer Reviews for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black
Review 21 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Easy to use, Great Product!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JoeThomas
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
After reading a lot of the reviews I was a little hesitant about purchasing. Went with my instincts and I am extremely pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Great HD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mjz55
from Coopersburg, PA
on 09/15/2011
What's great about it: Huge and inexpensive
What's not so great: None
Very nice for the price. Great shopping experience at Best Buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

So much better than a WD!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: time9000
from Cincinnati, OH
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: BB Price
Much easier to use, better performance, better support.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

great flexibility

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NJjohn
from Northern NJ
on 09/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: low price, high, capacity, great interface flexibility
What's not so great: seems to only be designed to stand upright. Would like option of laying it down.
I wanted to replace my aging MyBookStudio and it seemed like all the options currently available with 1394b support were very pricey. This drive has snap on bases which support other than the stock usb2/3.
By getting this 3tb drive and then ordering the base adapter from B&H for 1394b support. When it was together it became the cheapest 2tb drive with b support, but it's 3tb! I think that when a manufacturer puts 1394 support on a drive it is instantly subject to Apple Tax.
Works great as my Time Machine drive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Good value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CTMC
from Maryland
on 09/08/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price, insane amount of storage
So far, I've had no problems with the Segate. For 3TBs, you can't beat the price. It's been very easy to move files to it since I primarily use it for storage, not back-up. Sometimes, you need to unplug it from the power source then plug back in if it won't connect to the computer. Once the front lights are on, there's no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

It does what it's supose to do, Store Data.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tonyb49
from New Jersey
on 09/01/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good storage drive and dependable.
What's not so great: I wish it were faster on the network for multimedia
I use it on a home network and find that all computers are able to access it at good speeds. I use it primarily as a storage drive for multimedia. I would have liked it to perform as if it were part of main system and not as it is now a network drive. If speed is a major factor then the user needs to go to the main system to use it for storage of multimedia. Other that that, It does fine. By the way, I have more the 1 of these drives on the network (5).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Harddrive died in 7 mths, lost all data! HORRIBLE

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DigitalDMB
on 08/31/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Unreliable, horrible customer service, bad company all around
Do not buy Seagate products, especially their hard drives. I purchased this product about 7 months ago and a couple days ago all it does is have a faint beeping sound and no computer will recognise it. After researching online, this is a common flaw with Seagate's quality control, leaving your data in jeopardy! Many have complained about this online and Seagate charges between $700-$2500 to get your data back. This is a crock because its marketed as a product you can use to backup your files. I called support and they told me they have quality products, but how can they say that if their hard drives fail in just a few months! They told me that is the way hard drives are, that its a matter of when they will fail, not if. I told them they should notify potential buyers then about this but they said its just common knowledge. Right! I have old hard drives that are 10 years old still running strong. They will replace the physical hard drive, but wont recover the files, which is the important thing, as there are photos, data, files that can't be replaced. They also told me if I am using it as a backup I should keep a copy of all files on my computer and a second copy on the portable hard drive. So basically they want you to keep 3TB of space open on your computer so that WHEN your Seagate product fails you will have your files backed up. Kinda defeats the purpose of getting a 3TB portable storage system. Also pretty scammy that they sell the hard drive, then also own the hard drive data recovery service so when it fails they can get you with a $1000+ recovery fee. Sounds like a scheme to me. I recommend you stay away from Seagate products, as their quality is sub par and their customer service is equal to that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Works as expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RonBinPA
from PA
on 08/30/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lots of storage for a great price
What's not so great: nothing yet
3 TB unit works perfectly with Windows XP. Didn't even have to partition it - loaded up as one huge 3 TB drive.
Installation was a breeze - plugged it in, hit OK to a couple found new hardware prompts, and off it went. Only minor thing you may run into (and this is true for all removable drives) is the drive letter designation may change, depending on what other devices happen to be plugged into the computer. This causes shortcuts or applications to not be able to find things. So, you should go into Windows drive configuration and give it a fixed letter to keep it stable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Great hard drive

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dmorr
from Pennsylvania
on 08/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy intallation
Over all nice hard drive. easy install. Works for all my needs
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MadChad
from Lexington, Ky
on 08/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Price, size
Great price for a great product. was blown away by the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Didn't use their software

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jerrysnb
from New Britain, CT
on 08/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It was a good deal
Since I'm using other backup software, I didn't bother installing theirs. I can't speak to that.
Since I wasn't installing any software, all I had to do was plug it in. Can't get much easier than that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Lots of memory in a relatively small package

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: stv23
from St. Paul, MN
on 08/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: works well, fast
Well worth $125. Very fast, lots of memory, easy to work with
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

great value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gixerr
from port washington, wi
on 08/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great price and ease of set up
Value wise, this external hard drive is great. It works right away when I connected it to my pc. It gets warm but not too hot, I guess it's normal for this hd. Would buy this again if I need another hd.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

fantastic

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: whiskyman
from Chesapeake,VA
on 08/11/2011
What's great about it: holds 3tb of phtos, videos and doc.
What's not so great: nothing
easy to use for a plug and play seagate product...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Works great with my Mac

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MacintoshEnthusiast
from Rockville, MD
on 08/10/2011
What's great about it: Installation easy and straightforward.
What's not so great: No complaints
Following a series of emails with Seagate Tech. Support, I acquired a USB 3.0 PCI card for installation in my Mac desktop. That card supports the faster data transfer rates available with the USB 3.0 protocol.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Good hardware, software bundle not so much

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jtamba
from Orange County, Ca
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price, upright stand
What's not so great: Software bundle is memory hog and prompts too much
Just a fair warning, I'm a little biased with the software bundle since I'm a computer professional and prefer to write my own back up program. I didn't like that there were several programs running to manage this hardware after installing the accompanying disk. The software was too bothersome (to me) and had too many prompts like user reminders and such. I believe its a memory hog as well but haven't tested this part. Hardwarewise, the design is good. It came with a mini docking station that is hard to separate from the body. Performance is okay. I only use it for movie and music storage. I believe the best part about this is the price and the fact that it stands upright... that saves me desk space a bit. I would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

All-around great drive

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: audioguy40
from Memphis
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great bang for buck, ability to connect different bases.
What's not so great: Unnecessary software for Mac caused several problems.
I'm using this drive on a Mac, and I recommend NOT installing the Mac software that comes on the drive. (There are diagnostics and drivers to run the LED space gauge on the base, none of which are required to use this drive with a Mac) Installing the software caused several issues, but removing the software has resulted in perfect performance from the 3 drives we bought.
We especially like that there are different bases available with different interfaces. The drive came with a USB 3.0 interface, which we're using with a USB 2.0 port. I am only aware of the FireWire 800 base (sold separately) right now, but here's hoping Seagate sells a Thunderbolt base in the near future. THAT would make this drive future-proof!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

Performs as advertised

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GeordieM
from Va
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: capacity
What's not so great: no on/off switch
So far, so good. No problems with installation or initial back-ups. I wish that it had an on/off switch which would allow me to isolate it when not in use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

does not work with macOS snow leopard

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MacSable
from San Jose, CA
on 07/30/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: reasonable price
What's not so great: freezes and doesn't work. no support from seagate.
I have a iMac with OS 10.6.8. I've had the Seagate GoFlex Desk 3TB drive for 2 wks. this drive freezes the finder daily. I researched the Seagate forums and there are several complaints and growing. I installed the mac software updater and it still freezes. when the computer shuts down the it causes my computer to hang unit I unplug the hard drive or pull out the USB cable. It's a piece of garbage and getting returned. Very disappointed in Seagate and their misrepresentation that this drive is mac compatible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB External USB 2.0/3.0 Hard Drive - Black

BEWARE

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: geezer701
from texas
on 07/24/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: Will not back up files without error "0x8078002a"
when trying to do my first back up, I repeatedly received an 0x8078002a error.
I went to the Seagate Website and tried "troubleshooting." It seems many people have the same issue I was having with the inability to successfully accomplish a back up of our Windows 7 hard drives onto a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk hard drive. The moderator, eventually recommend that we transfer our files we want to back up manually.
Moving the files manually may seem like an easy fix, but when I purchased the Seagate Free agent GoFlex Desk external hard drive, I was expecting the information on the box to be accurate; "automatically and continuously back up your content..." (note: Manually does not equal Automatically) I used the Windows back-up software that comes with your computer, to select the files that it felt was best because I didn't only want to back up data files that I created, but also wanted the appropriate system files from Windows. Doing it manually was not something I felt competent in doing, because I don't know which specific files those are. The Seagate Box also has an icon that says its "compatible with Windows 7." That’s supposed to mean that it WORKS With WINDOWS 7. Elsewhere on the Seagate forum there was a letter from Seagate to a consumer that said this conflict was a problem with windows 7. To say that the conflict between Windows 7 and Seagate is not a Seagate problem is completely irresponsible. That is like advertising that Aspirin cures cancer, and that later when it is demonstrated that Aspirin doesn't cure cancer, that it is the fault of Cancer that Aspirin doesn't work. Windows makes no claim that it is compatible with Seagate products; it is Seagate that makes the (FALSE) claim that it is compatible with Windows 7. A robust product would have appropriate troubleshooting infrastructure to deal with issues that would have been discovered during product testing prior to the claim that Seagate is compatible with Windows 7. My recently purchased Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk is going back to Best Buy this afternoon to be exchanged for a product that will work the way it is advertised
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>