Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

Model: 129513-00
SKU: 1380724
UPC: 050644577109
Learn more about Magnolia Premium Installation These noise-isolating earbud headphones feature a magnetic FluxTube for natural audio reproduction. The Duraflex protective cable jacket provides maximum tangle resistance and durability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
75% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
6 out of 8
)
Customer Reviews for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones
Review 1 for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

Best In-ear headphones I have owned

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: adam1959
from Allentown PA
on 06/21/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great sound. Solid fit.
I bought these headphones with some curiosity. I needed a pair of headphones that would work while I was playing the MP3s on my IPhone while I was riding my motorcycle. I previously had a pair of the Bose IE2 headphones. If you read the reviews they are pretty good, and they are. I didn’t know if the extra $100 would be worth the money. The answer is yes. I consider myself an audiophile. I love listening to music on a great pair of floor speakers. Nothing better for listening to the whole sound stage of music. My musical taste is very eclectic, everything from Beethoven to Led Zeppelin. Considering that MP3 is not the fidelity of a CD or album, these headphones bring it pretty close. It is an incremental change from the Bose IE2 headphones to these, but to me they are worth the extra cost. I agree with ssahnan that you need to spend the time trying the earbuds until you find the right pair that can bury the headphones into your ear canal to get the best bass. It is worth the time to find the best fit.
About me... Budget Conscious, Audiophile
I would recommend this to a friend!
How Often Used:3-5 times a week
My Best Buy number: 0548053131
My Best Buy number: 0548053131
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

Excellent sound quality, but bit pricey

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: frostymoose
from Los Angeles, CA
on 05/06/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: good bass
Sound quality on these earbuds are excellent. Seem a bit bass heavy but I actually prefer this quality. Wish the cord were a bit more durable however. Not sure how long these will last but have held up so far after about 3 months of daily use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
How Often Used:Daily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

Not Impressed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bbagman
from ny
on 05/06/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Comfort
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Volume adjusted on cord
What's not so great: sound quality
I am not impressed with this product. Sound quality stinks. Also they are very heavy so while I am running they keep falling out of my ears. I still like my $20 Sony ear buds. Gong back to them
This product has... Fall out of ears easily, sound quality poor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
How Often Used:3-5 times a week
My Best Buy number: 2585049108
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

Awesome, awesome, awesome.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WhiteNinja
from Bronx, NY
on 01/09/2013
  • Top 50 Contributor
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Sounds, looks, bass, mids, highs, trebles.
What's not so great: Price.
Totally worth the $200. Awesome in-ears. The bass thumps. The trebles rock. You have to get these. They are much better than Beats or any celebrity-endorsed headphone. They are so clear, so loud, so nice. And the cable is very sturdy. Get the warranty and you are set for 2 years. These were my first pair of "great" earbuds. I do reviews on headphones and these are the best pair of buds I've reviewed. They come with Monster SuperTips. They also do not leak at all. These are great!
This product has... Perfect fit, Stylish, no leakage
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Audiophile, Avid listener
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Soul by Ludacris - Ultra Dynamic In-Ear Headphones
2.9 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
Klipsch - Image S4i Rugged Earbud Headphones - Blue
4.1 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
 
 
How Often Used:Daily
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

A fun pair of in ears

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jomamma1982
on 07/11/2012
I have had many pairs of ear buds even the $350 klipsch x10i (which I returned for these). These are just plain fun, the music is in your face and kickin. I wouldn't call these audiophile though as the bass is very present(depending on what tips you have). These can be cranked up all the way with no distortion and the highs never become shrill or fatiguing as they say in the game. I would have rated these 5 stars my only gripe is the fit( very minor). These little babies have a solid and weighty feel. When you are out and about maybe a little sweaty, they tend to start slipping out, so u are constantly pushing them back in so much that it becomes a habit. Not that big of a deal but a slight annoyance...oh yeah and the monster super tips are horrible. The gelled ones have no or little play in the fit so they are either too big or too small, and the foam are a very tough an uncomfortable fit. That's just on my ears though, I have the best fit with the cheapie silicones. Bottom line..you can never get the total package..but these are close and I recommend them if you listen to modern music.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

GREAT HEADPHONES

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheGrayAudiophile
from St. Petersburg, FL
on 02/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: life changing sound quality, GREAT price
What's not so great: honestly nothing
I bought these today and I have to say I'm quite impressed. I've had much experience with both beats by dre and monster; almost having all of the beats in ear models (except justbeats and powerbeats) and have had the original turbines. But NONE of them compare to this. In means of style, they are beatiful. The color is a slight off white and the cable literally shines!
But these headphones aren't just about the style, the sound is liquid and extremely balanced; a problem that I deffinitely found in the beats tours. The highs soar (literally), the mids are probably the strongest feature of them. The mids are very powerful without becoming overwhelming. The lows are existent, but also not too existent. I like my music like that though. They truly do have a natural sound to them. The bass is thumpy but tight; not uncontrolled like in the beats tours (and pretty much all the other beats). These are good for ALL genres. I have a diverse music taste from the depths of john mayer to lady gaga, and I have to say reproduce the sound u'll love.
Durability is great on these headphones. Though not having the tangle free cable that the diddybeats, heartbeats, and tours have; the cable is very convenient, durable, and pretty not tangable (if thats a word).
Overall, these headphones shine in almost all possible categories. Sound compared to headphones nearly twice the cost. Buy them NOW.
Best Uses: When I travel, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Audiophile
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

solid bang for my buck

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ssahnan
from scottsdale, az
on 01/13/2011
What's great about it: very close to high end sound for a much more reasonable price, a multitude of fitting options
What's not so great: control talk module too close to the ear, wire feels shorter
was looking for a good backup earbuds that i could exercise with but not give up too much audio quality, i needed a beat-em-up pair of earbuds.
the shure 530's which i own give the best audio quality i have ever heard but the price of them preclude them from risking use during excercise and the fitting procedure wouldn't allow them to stay on for more then 10 seconds anyway.
i also own the sennheiser cx 680's which after my research into them, had concluded they would be the best audio quality i could get for pure sports performance. They stayed in just fine under some harsh conditions but the audio hit was still a little more then i wanted to give up. whenever i reached for them or happened to have them on me in non sports environments, it was just no fun to listen thru them.
I realized i was going to have to compromise on sports fit a bit and while these turbine pearl's don't quite have that fantastic fit of the cx 680's, it's ability to give such a quality sound while having the sports option with the clip on over the ear attachments made it a win-win for me. if i have the patience at the time and have access to my shure 530's, i'de be a fool not to use them. but now if I dont have access to them or want something i can pop in a bit quicker I no longer feel i am conceding as much as I used to on the audio quality front.
I've kind of found my audio nirvana, I've found a pair that I am not sacraficing as much as you'de think from not wearing the 530's and yet I have something I can easily alter for a quick bike ride. Best yet, If I stop on a bike ride and decide to pop out the tunes a bit as I relax, I have a great pair of earphones to listen to.
All this said, be prepared to spend a good evening deciding on which of the quite extensive selection of earbud attachments provided is your ideal fit. I went back and forth for a bit and settled on one but I feel it was time well spent. They sound fantastic now.
Flaws : the controltalk module is a tad bit too close to the ear for my comfort to reach up to when trying to adjust volume or skipping tracks. Also, the wires are a little on the short side if wanting to set your mp3 player on a treadmill interface(i.e., if you don't have it attached to yourself when exercising, the wire is probably going to be too short). I guess finally, not really a fan of the right angle connector. The last one is more of a silly beef i have with that setup.
Best Uses: At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:3-5 times a week
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Monster - Turbine Pearl Audiophile Earbud Headphones

Best iPhone Headphones Ever!! Sound Quality superb

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Suggestionable
from New York, NY
on 12/19/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Sound Quality & IN-Line Mic Controls
What's not so great: Having to find the right earbuds from 20 different styles
In my opinion these headphones are a beast in terms of quality and design. The right earbud is hard to find the perfect fit at first. but after a week of usage I found the best earbud for my ear. This is so much better than using those lousy iPhone default headphone with mic. With these new Monster Turbine /Audiophile you can control your volume and change tracks. It looks amazing and these gets noticed alot when i'm on the go. Basically i prefer to use this headphone for my iphone because the sound quality is 100 x better. And best of all i found out these even work on my iPad. So for these that have Bose headphones and use it on the blackberry phones forgot those and buy one of these. (*Yeah these mic works on blackberry) Monster products are superb in quality, thats why all my tvs are hooked up to Monster HDMI cables.
Best Uses: When I travel
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.