Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Model: prd-26497-041
SKU: 1414591
UPC: 851427003217
Wireless connections3GSurf the Internet, download attachments and stream videos with fast 3G connectivity on the BlackBerry Curve 8530 smartphone.Wi-Fi enabledConnect to your home wireless network or a Wi-Fi® hotspot to check email, shop online, stream videos and music or even make phone calls. When there's no Wi-Fi access, your smartphone automatically switches back to normal cellular coverage.BlackBerry Maps and GPSKnow where you're going with maps, directions to local businesses and turn-by-turn routes. The BlackBerry® Curve™ 8520 smartphone comes with BlackBerry® Maps built in, and the BlackBerry Curve 8530 smartphone features BlackBerry Maps and GPS capabilities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.139 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 36 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
30 out of 36
)
Customer Reviews for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black
Review 1 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Great all around phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: oldbreadman
from lancaster ca
on 07/27/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: texting
What's not so great: no flash
Best phone I have owned.I have been with Boost Mobile since 2003,have had many phones. The Blackberry 8530 is the best one yet. No dropped calls. Excellent service.
This product is... Replaced my MP3 player, Easy navigation, Replaced my camera, Tough/durable
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:55-64
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Good phone. Easy to text. Backlight. 3G is great !

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tanc
from Treasure Coast, FL
on 07/24/2012
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price. Sprint's shrinkage package. Can be used without contract (I used a prepaid card first, then switched to plan)
What's not so great: No flash, restart after download too long. handbook manual.
Have been always a prepaid / pay as you go phone user. Did not want to have a blackberry because of its features. But :
After struggling to find out how to update its firmware using the prepaid phone without contract I am finally quite happy with the BB. Setup of phone and plan no plan does require a computer! Restarting after each installation of apps takes a bit long. Really like GPS feature (fast and efficient!) Also the 3G is here at the treasure coast a great thing to have. Too many areas without good signal so 3 G is a lifesaver. Application are easy to find and download. Unfortunately no flash and also because of its OS connecting to work email only through web! Texting is almost fun with it (since I do not like to text at all) Fast efficient easy to manage. Would buy it again, yes, until the android based phones get more inexpensive and contracts adapt to a normal pricing. Like the option of international calling, though it is more specialiced for spanish speaking countries (:(( europe is still too expensive. For the price and the whole package I believe this is a phantastic deal. :) Tanc
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable
About me... Heavy apps user, for staying in contact w. friends and family !
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Blackberry App World doesn't work on this phone

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ExBoostUser
from Florida
on 07/18/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The price
What's not so great: Can't downlaod apps
I bought the phone from Best Buy because it was a deal of the day and half price. I was sick of Metro PCS and decided to try Boost. I could never get the Blackberry All World to connect to Blackberry's server so I couldn't download any apps. Boost wouldn't help because it's a Blackberry problem and Blackberry wanted to charge me $249 just to talk with them and the phone only costs $59.95. I sent it back and reconnected to Metro.
This product is... it's terrible
About me... it's my only phone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

No Contract should mean no contract

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Cincinnati, OH
on 06/18/2012
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: false advertising
Boost would not activate phone unless credit card number was provided. I thought this was a "NO-CONTRACT" phone! Thought I could buy phone cards and not have to buy a service. Returned it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
11out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Excellent BlackBerry. Phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: myberry62
from Queens, New York
on 05/23/2012
What's great about it: Life, good battery life, personal or business use
What's not so great: Nothing
I'm a die hard blackberry fan bought this blackberry for boost mobile for the unlimited shrinkage plan. Left Verizon because they charge way too much. I was with Verizon since 1995. I'm hoping and wishing blackberry will make a touch screen blackberry for boost mobile soon. But this phone it works great
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Business Professional, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bossty
from 33707
on 03/08/2012
I didn't know it didn't have a flash. That was disapointing. The video quality is good. Im enjoying being able to have enough memory to download apps.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
22out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Awesome BBC 8530

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CadRat
from Carmichael, CA
on 02/27/2012
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Battery
My first prepaid phone and it's all good, happy with the service and be out of the contract from Sprint. I also love the shrinkage package.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Short battery life, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Good Phone for On-Da-Go-Mom :)

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: QueenOfDiamondz
from Washington, DC
on 09/21/2011
What's great about it: Easy to set-up and use, alot of great features for on the go, good price.
What's not so great: I've only had 1 out of the 4 that I purchsed work for more than 30 days with no problems.
I love the features of the phone. I would have liked to given it a 5. But, the camera needs to be improved and have a spotlight added. Also, I have had to return the phone 3 times. It's a good phone if you get 1 that works for more than 30 days.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy texter, use for a lot of phone calls
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
HTC - EVO 4G Mobile Phone - Black (Sprint)
4.6 out of 5(678)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

LOVE MY BLACKBERRY!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: theirmom
from Elkhart IN
on 08/27/2011
What's great about it: Having everything at your fingertips
What's not so great: No flash for camera
When I began shopping for a new phone, I wasn't planning to get a smartphone, but my husband insisted.He has a Droid and likes the convenience of it. I, on the other hand, hate using his phone because i have fingernails and have a lot of trouble with the touchscreen. After 5 different phones in a year, I have found one that I absolutely love! I can do everything with my Blackberry and although there is no flash, it takes great pics. It was very easy to learn to use it as well. I have never been happier with a phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
43out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Gets it done

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Immilling
from Biddeford Maine
on 08/18/2011
What's great about it: Pay as you go, no contract
What's not so great: coverage, miss the blackberry ball
I was tired of paying through the nose for service, so I stopped. This phone is everything good about Blackberry, without the commitment, or service fees. The OS is fast, stable, and intuitive. I like having unlimited web, talk text, heck everything. I would give it five stars, but the coverage is spotty, did not work in Hollis Center, and won't work past Bangor, but other than that I am good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Upgrade from previous Blackberry model for Boost

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MisterRev
from Rittman, Ohio
on 08/13/2011
What's great about it: Greater speed than previous model
What's not so great: Battery life suspect when using applications all day
The Boost Mobile BlackBerry Curve 8530 model is an upgrade from the previous Blackberry model offered. There is more internal memory and the phone itself moves through applications much more quickly. I have had the phone for a couple of months now and am satisfied with it. The only downfall I can think of is its battery life. (I either charge the phone constantly or I can use the battery from my old phone).
Boost Mobile itself has been good to me so far. The service has been as good as any of the other previous phone services that I have had in the past.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Hidden service fees for payments

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Sam549
from Orlando,FL
on 07/12/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use. Good features. Well thought out.
What's not so great: Hidden fees.
Like the phone, it has very useful and intuitive functions, but very disappointed in the hidden fees Boost charges to pay your bill by phone or computer. The alternative is to pay each month in the store. What the heck is that? Wish I knew this upfront.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-15points
26out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

its alright but.......

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: android117
from illinois
on 07/05/2011
What's great about it: great functions, and applications
What's not so great: battery life
the phone has very good functions, but i don't know why sometimes when im just using the internet for a little bit or using an app it overheats, and must of the time just when i really need to use the internet i have no signal i don't know why, also something that i don't like about it is the battery life, i don't think it even last for a day, if you use it to much it would die very fast, but i think that's something that i would consider as a major problem, the battery life. i would recommend this to a friend if the battery life was good, but is not. last time i was talking to a friend that has this same phone the blackberry, but he's with sprint and i asked him about the battery life of his phone and he told me that it works fine, so i was thinking that maybe a good option to try to solve the problem is to buy a new battery and see how it works, i was checking em on ebay and a new one costs only like one dollar so im gonna try that and see how it works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Best all around BlackBerry.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mike617
on 05/26/2011
Best all around BB for the $$! Phone has all the comforts of a laptop. Very smooth O.S., Good picture quality, Excellent web browsing,MP3 player,fast typing & more! Here is your all in one smart phone! Does needs to be charged daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+35points
39out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Awesome Phone!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rdrover
from Appleton,WI
on 05/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Pretty much everything
What's not so great: Camera(no flash) Wish I could get more free apps.
I had a Samsung Seek for about 5 months until I got the Curve. I love it. Never had any problems with it. I wish it had more free apps though. Also wish it had some of the apps that the android has. But Overall it is an awesome phone. I love the Facebook app- can easily upload pics. I can get all of my emails straight to my phone. I never thought I wanted a BlackBerry until I tried it and I am very glad that I did. The internet is so easy to use. It is nice to be able to have GPS and to get directions. The trackpad is way better than the ball. The camera is pretty good- just wish it had a flash on it. I am on the shrinkage plan and my next payment is $5 cheaper. Pretty good deal. Where else can u get a smartphone with unlimited everything for $60/month? I never have an reception problems. I'd have to say that it is my most favorite phone I ever had!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+42points
44out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Excellent Phone and Service

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ldobzins
from Gaithersburg, MD
on 04/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Battery life due to frequently running the internet.
I had the motorolla clutch for boost for about a year. The service wasn't great because my text messages would take a long time to get sent and recieved. I had the unlimited $50 a month plan and it was definitely worth the money. I had it just for myself, no family members. I switch to the Blackberry for Boost and I am so impressed. The service is great. The service is very fast. Texts get sent and recieved immediately. The Blackberry has so many options and its great because I'm a full time student and my emails come straight to my phone. It's especially important for last minute cancelled classes. I also love all the app features. For $60 a month with shrinkage you can't beat it. I tell people about it all the time. Also, with Best Buys payment plan for six months it was very easy to pay it off slowly. A great option all around. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
ZAGG - Invisible Screen Shield for BlackBerry Curve 8520 and Curve 8530 Mobile Phones - Clear
4.7 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
BlackBerry - Leather Pouch for BlackBerry Curve and Bold Mobile Phones - Black
5.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Great phone !!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BrenLuvsTechStuff
from Minnesota
on 03/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Apps,ease of use,reliability
What's not so great: battery life could be better
As a previous iPhone user let me tell you that I absolutely luv my Blackberry Curve 8530.
You can do much with this phone and it works great on the Boost network.
Plus the BB plan is $60/mo for unlimited everything.
Try to find that price with any other carrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Its ok

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: babyphat5ps
from chicago,il
on 02/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: feels to lite
i just think it feels to lite but other then that its a good phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
-16points
8out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

great Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 99reed
from chicago
on 01/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: the key board the apps the wi-fi
What's not so great: battery life
i just bought his phone the other day and i love it..its a great phone i like that it comes with a 2GB memory card that was nice.But other than that i lik the keyboard and the apps. its ony 199.99 and the plans a month are ..60.00 a month. antoher reason i love this phone is because if you hav wi-fi you can get on the internet an dbe on the phone at the same-time
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
29out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BlackBerry - Curve Smartphone 3G - Black

Great phone, gets all the necessary and more done

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: houstonchick
from Houston,TX
on 01/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Txting, FB app, 3g Internet
What's not so great: battery life
My bf had been trying to convince me to get boost mobile for a while now and i never really wanted too. I had heard so many bad things about it, but it's safe to say they were wrong. I got this phone from a boost mobile store for the same price 3 days ago and I am so HAPPY with everything. I'm not gonna lie i've had several dropped calls where I live it but thats whats always happened to me with phones even with the blackberry storm I had with verizon. Text messaging is easy, my internet is not slow, FB application Great. I love everything about it. But I agree with other ppl the battery life is poor if you are a FB freak and are gonna be on it 24/7. But overall great phone specially for $60 a month. Besides I've always had blackberrys so Im content.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
36out of 44found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>