Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Model: CHD96-001
SKU: 1421112
UPC: 185323000378
Whether you're plummeting from a cliff's edge or exploring uncharted caves, the GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Helmet Camcorder gives you the freedom to capture every millisecond of the action hands free. Capable of recording at 480p,720p, and even 960p, the GoPro HD HERO 960 helmet camcorder provides crystal clear imaging and a 5 megapixel still photography option to fully capture your adrenaline-fueled excursions. Included with the GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Helmet Camcorder is an owner's manual, mounting and strap equipment, USB connectivity and rechargeable lithium battery. The features, in addition to the three resolutions and 5- megapixel photography capability, include conventional single as well as triple shot and timed photography options for more naturally timed photos. The sound quality is just as pronounced if not more than the resolution, and the GoPro HD HERO 960 helmet camcorder also comes with a memory card port for storing those must-have photos and memorable videos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 23 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
22 out of 23
)
Customer Reviews for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver
Review 1 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

good product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from minnesota
on 02/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Whether you're plummeting from a cliff's edge or exploring uncharted caves, the GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Helmet Camcorder gives you the freedom to capture every millisecond of the action...Whether you're plummeting from a cliff's edge or exploring uncharted caves, the GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Helmet Camcorder gives you the freedom to capture every millisecond of the action...
About me... Love capturing special occasions
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Very nice product!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Charlie321
from Florida
on 02/01/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Image/Video Quality
It's a great camera! High quality video and pictures.
Very nice to use into radical sports or ouside experiences.
The image quality reduces in low light spaces, and the sound could be better. It makes a annoying sound when used in motion, but in general way i recommend it.
About me... casual user, skier
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Great Item!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: keclementine
from Santa Cruz, CA
on 01/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Versatile, easy to use
What's not so great: No zoom, poor video quality in low light
I purchased this gopro for my husband and so far it has been great! No problems or complaints. The waterproof casing is great. Fun little gadget =]
About me... Love shooting sports, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Christmas Gift for my Husband

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ninik3
from Lake Hopatcong NJ
on 01/19/2012
He loves this camera. He plans on using it when he is out with the guys playing paintball.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Waste of time and money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: dirtbike10
on 11/13/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: mounts size video quality
What's not so great: about everything else
The camera does not work with windows vista or xp movie maker or media player. All is good for is watching film playback on tv or computer The moving pictures are blurry. Instructions are hard to read. Camera takes a long time to learn to operate. I returned it within a day. Originally got it for skiing and motorcycle riding, but it is real shame because i think it is a great invention
About me... casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-47points
5out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Versatility

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EZMack
from Portsmouth, NH
on 11/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: GREAT outdoor photos and video. great for capturing fast paced activities.
What's not so great: terrible in low-light, with case, audio is very limited.
Takes awesome photos for the outdoors. VERY cheap compared to other waterproof/shockproof cameras. limited features, but small and easy to bring anywhere.
About me... Love shooting sports, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Good camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: edal
from ohio
on 11/02/2011
I like the camera but I don't like that Best Buy charges $10 more for a battery than Go Pro does. Best Buy will not match the Go Pro price...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Good piece of work.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Alreadybeentaken
from Green Valley AZ
on 11/02/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Small size, good quality.
The camera works remarkably well. I have it mounted on the handlebar of my off road yamaha motorcycle. no jitter or shaking. clear pictures with the fisheye lens. the sound is not as clear as expected, but the noise of the bike is boring. Only when conversation is recorded am I disappointed. I also purchased the handlebar mount and used it and the mount that came with the camera. Using both together I was able to get the camera pointed and level the way I wanted. I am certainly pleased with my purchase from Best Buy ($179). I am sorry that I didn't wait to buy. GoPro has reduced the price to $149.
I would recommend that a purchaser get the largest high quality sd card they can afford. I have an 8GB and filled it up quicker that I had expected.
The USB cord has to be pushed HARD into the camera. GoPro says that is normal.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Great camcorder for action sports

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gaarangers
from Ft. Worth, Tx
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Great for action sports
What's not so great: No LCD display, no zoom
The gopro is an awesome camcorder if you use it for what it's made for...which is action sports. I bought this for my new paintball business and have ended up using it for many things. I have attached it to dune buggies, taken it deep sea fishing and snorkeling. The gopro has allowed me to capture all these events and share them. If you are looking for a general camcorder to capture everything then this is not the camera for you. With the lack of zoom and lcd display it makes it difficult to use this as an everyday camcorder unless you carry your computer with you everywhere. The accessories that come with it make it easy mount to many things. It has definitely been worth the money and is a great product.
About me... Love shooting sports, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Good for action videos, but

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cbcracer
from Washington State
on 09/15/2011
What's great about it: action videos
What's not so great: mounts
not that great for touristy things. For instance I was on a ferry to the San Juan Islands that was surrounded by a pod of about 20 orcas hunting sea lions and though I could see them doing all their orca tricks like jumping out of the water, etc. just fine with the naked eye, the camera's view was too distant to make out much later when I watched the videos.
I have made some good videos of rather boring to watch road bike rides, though on chip seal pavement the vibration from the road surface causes a pretty jittery picture.
Plus, while they sell handlebar mount for the camera, they do not sell a quick release for the mount. So if you park your bike and are in the store for 5 minutes, you should be safe because it takes quite a while to get it off. haha. The camera also can turn itself on when in your pocket and boom, the battery is dead when you are ready to roll film. If the power button were recessed it would help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

ONE TIP: GET THE CHEST HARNESS!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Icy1
from Irvine, CA
on 09/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Comes with two different kinds of backing (waterproof & regular)
What's not so great: Can't attach the optional display to this model.
I'm a girl and there are many instances that I wouldn't want the head strap on while using this product so the CHESTY is the perfect solution!! I definitely recommend it!! I've used it while mountain biking, stand up paddle boarding and about to take it out white water rafting!!
I really wish the camera itself had a display of some sort... or at least the port to attach the whopping $80 display but the 960 doesn't even allow you to do that!! GRR.
Other than that... LOVE the fact that you have a choice between the regular and waterproof backing. You can't really hear too well through the waterproof housing but does keep your camera nice and dry heheh.
P.S. I don't care if it's the housing is waterproof, GET THE ACCIDENTAL PROTECTION PLAN!! Don't be a cheapie!! It's easy to have an accident with a camera that you take out to a whole bunch of adventures!! Protect your investment!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

My new favorite toy - GoPro ANYWHERE!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OHVidGuy
from Dayton, Ohio
on 08/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Affordable. Portable. Fantasticable.
What's not so great: Expensive accessories, confusing display, lack of quickview display
Love this camera. Very durable, very waterproof. I've shot tons of stuff with this already and have only had it about a month. Some of the accessories are a bit expensive, but the camera is great for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

I like it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: welccm
from Monroe, NC
on 08/24/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fun to use
What's not so great: read the instructions closely
have to read the instruction carefully -- but is a fun piece of equipment - I mounted to my helmet and got some great video - be sure to put a safety cord on it in case the glue comes loose !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Awesome camera for extreme sports!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jericarae
from Diamond Bar, CA
on 08/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This camera is amazing! I bought it as a present for my boyfriend. He's used it for kayaking, surfing, biking, and boating so far. The pictures and videos come out AMAZING! We also bought the bike and surfboard attachments. Even though we can't see the pictures once we take them, it's fun to review them after!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
GoPro - Antifog Inserts
4.8 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
GoPro - Surfboard Mount for Select GoPro Cameras
3.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

GoPro where have you been all my life!?

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TechNoze
from Atlanta, GA
on 07/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact, Durable, Great Video Quailty
What's not so great: no LCD screen, not compatible with the 3D kit.
This is a great buy! Especially if you are active and enjoy adventure/extreme sports. I used this for one of my obstacle races. the quality of video is great and it, as designed, is very durable. Get this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

great cam for all things fun

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Royalwithcheese
from Birmingham, Al
on 07/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I have used this cam for everything matter of fact i have 2 now love the interval feature 1 pic every 2.5.10.30.60 seconds very fun for making a stop motion type video havent used it in all weather yet but a mud race is up coming will use them then. I have the chest harness which works great dont waste your money on the suction cup doesnt have enough movement do but the tripod mount and buy a better suction cup type mount I got one on ebay for about 10$see videos taken with cam
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Awesome must have camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MichelleRap
from Marin County, CA
on 07/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease and quality
What's not so great: don't know yet, haven't used it diving yet.
This camera is totally worth the money. It is very easy to use and the picture quality is amazing for how bounced around it gets on the bike. The stabilizers are great and I can barely see any shake in the final movie. This is a great way to record the times we are having fun.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Excellent Action Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: captnjack
from Florida
on 07/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, Excellent Price Point, Quality of Video and Still Photo
This camera is ideal for anyone that wants to document your activities from POV's that are not possible with a standard video or still camera. It is rugged with housings for damage protection in most any condition. Quality of the video and stills are excellent and rival most any video/still camera available. Video can be shot in and uploaded as raw footage or edited down allowing you to be as creative as you want. Time lapse capability make it so easy to create fun and interesting videos, you will need special software on your PC or Mac to put the images into a video, but it is not a hard thing to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Go Pro or Go Home

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Megmaster
from Cincinnati OH
on 07/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture and durability.
What's not so great: Expensive memory cards
Simply stated, this is the best helmet camera for the money. It has a simple operation and a short time of study to learn the menu functions. The picture is absolutely brilliant for the money. You cant beat the Go Pro.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GoPro HD HERO 960 Wearable HD Video Camcorder - Silver

Good sports camera

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Pinelli
from Honolulu HI
on 06/22/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good all around wide angle sports camera with a lot of accessories to capture anthing, anywhere.
What's not so great: bulkier than more expensive models. Wish it wasn't soo wide angle or could adjust it.
Handles some good vibrations but definitely not a lot. The extreme wide angle has it's advantages/disadvantages. Search youtube for gopro videos to see how wide it is. You can't get any detail of anything but you do get a sense of the environment. Underwater looked cloudy and wasn't clear.
Mouting it on my car grill made me look like I was driving faster because it was lower to the ground. When I mounted it on the roof it picked up significantly higher vibrations. Not recommended for bad roads but on smooth roads it'll look great.
Wish the beeping volume could be louder and adjustable.
Easy to use and you can set the default mode when you turn it on. Battery lasts pretty long. Charges fast.
Bulkier than more expensive sports cameras and heavier but it's also cheaper and you can use SD cards. The big selling point to me in choosing the gopro line is the breadth of accessories and mounting kits. The 3M adhesive holds extremely well.
I just wish I could adjust the wide angle to make it more narrow so I can get more details of subjects in the middle of the action.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>