Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Model: LG670KIT
SKU: 1430129
UPC: 652810514569
E-mail and text friends and family easily with this mobile phone that features a virtual QWERTY keyboard and Internet connectivity. Take great photos and video with the 3.0MP camera and video camcorder with 2x digital zoom. Requires a Simply Everything or Everything Data plan and a $10 Premium Data add-on The Early Termination Fee is prorated and is calculated by taking the months remaining on your Service Agreement times $20 for Advanced Devices, with a maximum of $350, and minimum of $100.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 104 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
29
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
6
80% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
83 out of 104
)
Customer Reviews for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)
Review 1 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Great phone for an entry level smart phone.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: WedgeRedLeader
from Hoth
on 07/19/2012
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Very affordable.
What's not so great: Not enough internal memory.
Great phone for the right price. Good entry level phone that uses Android. Can support a large micro sd. Not enough internal memory and the battery life is very poor, especially if you are in a rural area, such as Hoth.
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Great at first...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: WestNile
from Coleman, MI
on 05/28/2012
What's great about it: It works
What's not so great: The phone
I've almost had this phone for 2 years. It worked great for the first couple of weeks, but the battery life is horrible. Some days it'll be gone in 4 hours and other days it lasts all day. It gets really warm. It constantly restarts itself and freezes. The camera isn't bad but it freezes as well. The screen is non responsive sometimes. I have to take the battery out and restart it. I could have great service and then go to make a call and BAM! I no longer have service. The GPS rarely ever works. It does not vibrate anymore if I have the ringer on. Or when someone calls me It doesn't even notify me. For a couple of months the power button did not even work. Apps take forever to load. Games lag. The phone is really at it's potential when It is connected to Wi-Fi it helps with the battery life. I use my phone every second of the day. I don't have the patience for it to do what it wants to do... I guess this is Sprints prototype for the Andriod software. After using this phone I'm reluctant to even try another Android device.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Short battery life, Tough/durable
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Better battery life then the iphone

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BillyJobs
from countryside, il
on 05/25/2012
What's great about it: battery life
What's not so great: doesnt work, poor quality, shut off by itsself,
Long lasting battery life that surpassed my expectations. I never have a problem with overheating because my phone always shuts its self-off when every it wants for no reason. Best of all, my phone never wants to take pictures or lets me play my downloaded apps. When I try using the sd card to store stuff is always says that the sd card is un-mounted even tho it has not been touched. If you don’t use your
phone to check the time this is the phone for you. Every time I reboot the phone or it does it for me it comes back on with an incorrect
time and date. The touch screen have a cheap toy like feeling to it. This is my 3rd LG Optimus S. Overall the phones doesn’t to what I need it to and I can’t wait for a phone that does work.
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Great for a 2 year old!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: HungryMan3453
from USa
on 02/03/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: The fact it is still my phone.
This was a good phone for the first couple months, now it sucks! I have had this phone for almost 2 years and can't wait for the upgrade to the iPhone. The problems kept getting worse and worse. It takes about 3 minutes to go from the notifactions tab to the message that popped up. Horrible phones. All LG phone are horrible. If you are thinking about buying this, do not. Take it from some one who has had it for almost 2 years.
This product is... Short battery life
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Not Impressed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Itsme23
from Tennessee
on 01/22/2012
What's great about it: It was free with upgrade
What's not so great: short battery life!
Yes, this is what I get for getting a free phone when I upgraded. My intentions was to upgrade from this to an EVO or Galaxy in December of 2011 but since Sprint changed it's upgrade policy, I am not stuck with this, uh phone until October of 2012. It's a battery HOG, low internal memory and other little things that I don't care about. The Gingerbread upgrade clubbed this phone in the kneecaps and made it worse. I had to revert back to Froyo which was better. BUT, this phone is nice for a younger child's first phone, someone who doesn't use a cell a lot, etc. Since Sprint has changed their policy of the yearly upgrades, I have been giving some thought on going to another carrier when our contract runs out...Thanks Sprint for making me keep this phone for another year and WAY longer than I wanted it...Save the headache people and spend a little and get another phone. Lesson learned.
This product is... Short battery life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

DON'T BUY

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mispike0506
on 12/30/2011
I got this phone last December and it froze so much and I had so many problems with it my Dad ended up calling Sprint and getting me an upgrade. This phone is a piece of garbage. I went through about 3/4 of these phones until finally my Dad was tired of it and got me an upgrade. I got the iPhone and it is so much better than this phone. This phone is slow and freezes up A LOT. Also when I clicked on a text to forward it to someone it would pick up a different text message that I didn't want to forward.
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

it was a good phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: itsallgood83
from N.C
on 11/07/2011
What's great about it: 2.2 android, camera, call quality, loud ringer, feels good in the hand
What's not so great: 2.3 gingerbread update, small screen, battery life
the optimus s was a awesome phone when it had 2.2 froyo, but when i updated gingerbread 2.3 it ruined the phone...if you can find one with 2.2 i would recommend it.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Great 3G Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: brjiii
from Delaware
on 09/26/2011
What's great about it: Great Touch Screen Response
What's not so great: 3G Only
This is a very good phone, I didn't have any problems. I returned this phone to Best Buy within the 30 day return policy. Why ? I was not aware that as of 1-1-11 Sprint now charges an extra $9.99/mo. whether you have a 3G or 4G phone. I purchased a Nexus S for $1.00 and love this phone. If I'm going to pay for 4G service I might as well have a 4G phone.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Blame it on LG's choices with Gingerbread

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Crash56
from Williston, VT
on 09/20/2011
The Optimus S with Froyo (Android 2.2) is a fantastic phone. The Optimus S on Gingerbread is a travesty for anyone over the age of 50. If you're in your 20's and have good eyesight, go for it!! It's fast, sleek, slim, has plenty of memory and processing power, and you will love the neon-green-on-black color scheme. If you are over the age of 50 with aging eyes, stay away from LG-for-Sprint Android products. They have chosen gray-on-black (seriously!!) and white-on-black for the menus, and miniscule bright green icons against a black background for the notification area. It is eye strain personified. Icons I could read easily (sometimes from across the room) are now indecipherable even up close.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

I really like it! :)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: aalexismaarie
from Liberty, MO
on 06/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, fast, customizable.
What's not so great: Battery life
So I just bought the LG Optimus S last night from someone. My brother has had one for a few months and he seemed pretty please with it, but then again, he's not all into the twitter, facebook, constant texting, like I am. I previously had the HTC Hero which I really liked but I can only stick with a phone for so long before I want a new one. Plus, it froze a lot and was really laggy. I just was sick of it so I decided I'd get the Optimus. So far I really like it. Its really quick and does just about everything my other one did. There are a few differences but I went from an HTC to a LG. The only thing I don't like is it doesn't have a trackball or anything. I mess up during texts sometimes and I used to have a trackball which I could just scroll over to the error and fix it. This, I have to delete basically the entire word, which is fine, just annoying. I was actually really suprised over the picture quailty. I had read that it was only a 3.2 mega pixle which is not as good as my 5.0 Hero, but the pictures are pretty good. Overall, I really like the phone. I'm sure it'll be a little slower the more I use it but otherwise I like it! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

was not what i suppected

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: loverbug1
from cape cod,ma
on 03/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothin
What's not so great: the battery life is terrible
i got the phone in December after a mouth if use its freezes and ramdomly calls people. i think this phone has a mind of its own and the battery dosnt even last a full 12 hours. but its is durable i have dropped a couple of time it was fine. please look at others befor buying
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
4out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Can't go wrong.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PleaseOmit
from Charleston,West Virginia
on 03/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good Price, Very user friendly
What's not so great: Battery,Internal Memory
Excellent phone! Impressive applications. Totally blown away with performance of this smartphone. Sprint's 3 G service is very fast and dependable. Just totally impressed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Awesome product for the price. Well pleased!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DavidOptimusSUser
from Blackshear, GA
on 03/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Customizability
What's not so great: Battery life in low service areas
I've been pleasantly surprised by the responsiveness of the phone. It has good hardware and feels very durable. It is unable to run Adobe Flash, which would be nice but is not necessary for me. And because my work office has very low signal strength, while I'm at work the battery drains quickly. However, on the weekends while not at work the battery life is on par with other CDMA smartphones. Overall I've been very pleased with this phone. My wife's HTC Evo is very nice and faster, but it also costed $200 more. I'm happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

great phone easy to learn and use...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Suprastylin
from Texas
on 03/22/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: simple to navigate through apps/programs
What's not so great: battery life is never enough...
phone is easy to use, fast loading apps, minimal loading time compared to other phones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Great phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: yepyep
from San Antonio,TX
on 03/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: There are no faults
I bought this phone for my girlfriend and she LOVES this phone. It is perfectly sized for a female's hand. The features are great and so is the speed, and sound quality. This phone has everything you need in a perfect compact size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Great phone, Great price!!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tish50322
from Des Moines, IA
on 03/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Free stuff from andriod market
What's not so great: The battery life
This is the best phone I've ever gotten from sprint. It is easy to use and I am able to download alot of cool apps from the andriod market. Plus it came in my favorite color purple. The only bad thing is it uses alot of battery time. That is my only complaint. I love this phone and so do my kids.Ii have downloaded alot of free games for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Good Phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lisa848
from Edinburg, Texas
on 03/06/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Small, reliable
What's not so great: Poor camera quality
This is not the fastest phone, but it is fast enough. The camera is not the best, but it does have good voice quality and all the other smart phone features, email, gps, and the android market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Not as good as he thought

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: LadyT69
from Lexington Park, MD
on 03/04/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The Android operating system
What's not so great: To have mind of its own with the ringtones
I had gotten this phone for my fiance, which is the one he chose to get. He liked it at first, but lately it has been not accepting ringtones for some contacts, he would change them and the choices wouldn't stay, and sometimes it would choose its own ringtones when it wants to. He is getting a little irritated with it. He does like the Android operating system though. It is a lot easier for him and the fact he can pick from a lot of apps from the market is really cool for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Great Phone Period.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: timothymoney24
from Heath,OH
on 02/23/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The Cover Is Damage Resistance Rubber No Scratches!
What's not so great: Battery Life
I really like my LG Optimus for the price I wanted to spend I got everything I needed out of my current network, it has the coolest app's and other features, but it gets wonderful service, the only thing that bother me is it uses a battery cycle fast because of all my apps that are running but hey in the long run I got a great purchase and with the buy-back program I feel it's truly worth all the value I put into it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LG - Optimus S Mobile Phone - Charcoal (Sprint)

Great, inexpensive phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: KC53
from Frederick, MD
on 02/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Android and great price
What's not so great: Short battery life- must charge it every day
Great phone. No problems since I purchased this 6 weeks ago. This is my first smartphone. Surprisingly easy to use, but texting on the flat screen takes some practice. You get the android technology for an excellent price. You will need to charge it everyday though. Get the free task killer app to turn off apps you don't need running all the time to save some battery life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>