Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Model: DX-55L150A11
SKU: 1437844
UPC: 600603138027
Bring your home theater to the next level with this LCD HDTV that features 400 cd/m� brightness and 20W simulated surround sound for breathtaking visuals and audio. The PC input lets you use the TV as a monitor for your computer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(246 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 246 reviews
5 stars
133
4 stars
63
3 stars
16
2 stars
22
1 star
12
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
205 out of 246
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great TV on a budget

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CRUMM
from Frederick, MD
on 06/22/2013
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup, great price
What's not so great: Sound is okay
Great TV for a great price. I bought this TV to replace my old 1994 tube TV. What a difference! It has a really nice picture, and took me less than 30 minutes to setup. I had been hesitant to replace the old TV because it still worked and I was worried about the price of the new ones. This one is definitely price friendly and the product is really good.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 0748750625
My Best Buy number: 0748750625
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great basic TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: oudrumr
from OKC, OK
on 11/18/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: price, great picture, decent sound
What's not so great: very basic (no high tech features)
This TV has been great. We have no complaints. I put it is "very basic" because it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of newer TVs (internet, etc.). I don't use those features and just wanted a TV for a TV! We are very pleased. It also has 4 HMDI connections. There is no optical audio option though. No biggie though. We just hooked up the optical soundbar we bought through our cable box!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 2651244918
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

great picture

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: heels
from north carolina
on 10/13/2012
What's great about it: picture quality
What's not so great: not really anything
tv hasgreat pic and sound quality is decent1 good tv for spors and bar
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 409455258
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Good for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Bliz413
from Salem, ma
on 08/03/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Its huge
What's not so great: I see a lot of trails in HD ....
Good t.v. But the picture could be a lot better.....
This product has... Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Poor Quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mrsstraight
from plattsburgh
on 07/24/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good picture
What's not so great: broken already
Bought this tv just over a year ago, and the tv will not stay on. The main board went, and is now going to cost over $400 dollars to repair. The warrenty was up 2 months ago.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

You get what you pay for

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Seattle, WA
on 07/12/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's not so great: Defective unit
This TV is extremely cheap in terms of price and quality. The resolution isn't great and the TV started having issues the second week. It has taken weeks just to get the item repaired and from a customer experience standpoint I am extremely disappointed. I purchased the TV based on reviews and I wish I would have come across a review such as mine as I wouldn't have spent more to get a better quality item. Don't be cheap, TVs are a big investment, an the Dynex just hasnt paid off.
This product has... defects
About me... Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Good Picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: acbal
from Baltimore, MA
on 07/05/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price is to quality
What's not so great: sound
The picture is great and as good as a brand name product. The sound quality is not great but that is typically a problem with LEDs and LCDs my guess. Overall I am very happy with the quality I have got with respect to the price I have paid. I am using it for 4 months, hopefully no major issues will arise for at least 12 months.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Works great, no problems.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hypercube2001
from Evans, GA
on 07/04/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Clear picture, good price.
What's not so great: No directory for over the air broadcasting.
I've owned this TV for about a month and so far, so good. I have noticed a slight timing issue between the sight and sound on the over air broadcasting, but hasn't bothered me enough to try and fix it.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

There's nothing particularly great about this TV.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Chuck1945
from Fort Worth
on 06/29/2012
There's nothing particularly great about this TV. It's just fairly large and fairly cheap for it's size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Not so sure !!!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: carlos2010
from orlando
on 06/28/2012
What's great about it: colors and 120hz feature
What's not so great: its not a good overall Tv ...
i bought this tv brand new @a local best buy store , after 2 or 3 days i notice some lines on both the right And left side like bars going up & down.i talk to a couple of best buys employees in different stores and they all told me that this particular model 55" dynex lcd 120hz came with issues and it was being return by a lot people and those that notice the issue.i took it back and got the insignia 55" lcd more than 2 months no issue is a bit more money but better quality and value ...
I have a 42" lcd 1080p 60 hz Dynex never had an issue with it !!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Insignia™ - 55" Class (54-5/8" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
4.3 out of 5(826)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Bigger than life, minor issues

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Michael123789
from WA
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: huge screen at a great price
What's not so great: some shadowing and pixel glitching
Overall, a great buy and no regrets.
But, I have noticed on some shows there is some shadowing on rapidly moving objects, and sometimes the very top or very bottom line of pixels (horizontally) blinks all white. Not sure if this is a TV problem, or something to do with the signal source: the fact it never happened on my 40" Dynex makes me want to blame the TV but the fact it does not happen when sourcing from a DVD or my PS3 (only happens when watching cable TV (HD and regular)) makes me think it could be insufficient input (ie; source).
Either way, a small problem I can live with (it is intermittent and not often).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Works great for memorial videos in our chapel

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FuneralGuy
from Denison, TX
on 06/21/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Large enough to see all over the room
What's not so great: Extremely heavy.
Good product, easy to set up and would recommend to anyone.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Good picture, good price, easy setup.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Topeka area, KS
on 06/10/2012
What's great about it: Sharp picture, vivid but true colors, good price.
What's not so great: Nothing yet.
We have a 52" Sanyo TV in our living room (2 years old) and I wanted a similar size TV for our rec room. I tried to get one like it (same brand, but in 55") from our local Walmart, but they did not have it in stock, and it was not in stock in their warehouse either - I tried them for a few weeks, even tried other Walmarts. Got tired of waiting, so I checked out Best Buy and saw the 55" Dynex. The price was about the same as the one I had wanted, it looked good when compared to more expensive competition on display - sharp picture, vivid yet true color. I am not familiar with Dynex, but I decided to give it a try anyway (if I did not like it, I knew I could return it).
I like the Dynex more than our other set. It automatically switches to the correct screen format. Setup is easy. Color is great.
I can not comment on sound as I watch through my home entertainment system. (The sound is not even passed through to the TV.)
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: slimshastid
from Clintwood, VA
on 05/28/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is one of the best HDTV's that I have had in a while.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Good tv for the cost...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Midkemia21
from Clayton, NC
on 05/24/2012
What's great about it: Good price, and easy to setup
What's not so great: Need better menu functions and options
Overall good tv for cost. Would of liked more setup options (hide unused port for Input search and labeling, etc.)
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Picture quality not up to par, took it back

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: JCMCharlotte
from Charlotte, NC
on 05/23/2012
What's not so great: Picture quality not up to par, took it back
No matter what settings I used, and I used aq Rocketfish HDMI cable, the picture quality was poor, with plenty of ghosting.
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

55 ' Flatscreen TV very HD very clear picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jtidmore
from Panama City Beach
on 05/23/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I just love the HD picture that I get from this TV
What's not so great: It is heavybut well worth the weight.
I got a great deal on this TV and compared pictures with other 42" and up flatscreen and it was great. Had help loading it up and hooked it up to my dish and Laptop easily. Once we got it up and going now for 3 months I just love the picture quality. It is absolutly the clearest picture I have owned to date. I highly recommend this TV to anyone on a budget looking to get the best bang for their buck. This is it no doubt about. Buy and take it home and see for yourself.. You won't regret it.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

This TV is a BEAST!!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PsychoHogfan
on 05/22/2012
I was looking for the biggest tv for the best price. Saw this beast on sale for $650 at my local BB store and couldn't pass it up. Got it home, mounted it on my wall above the fireplace, and wow what a picture on this tv! U can pay more for the name brands but after seeing the picture on this tv i'm sure glad I didn't spend more for a name brand. I have this connected to Dish Networks Hopper and Joey whole home dvr system via HDMI cables and the picture is every bit as good as any tv I've seen. And I've owned many of the name brand tv's previously. The setup out of the box is not very good but with a bit of tweaking it is perfect. I really don't know what the tru motion feature is for because the picture looks like everything was filmed with a camcorder so I basically turned off all the features and started from scratch and the the picture on the tv couldn't be better. Just tweak it until u get it exactly the way u prefer. I would have rated it 5 stars if not for having to adjust the settings. A 55" beast of a tv for $650 and an HD picture that is good as any tv that cost $200-$300 more, u can't go wrong with this tv.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Good TV, right price, undependable and bug ridden

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: SteveRrrrrr
from Rochester, NY
on 05/18/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture nice when it works, many features, great price if avail.
What's not so great: Bugs, blinks out, no firmware avail to fix, unreliable!
I have had a Dynex 55 for 5 weeks. First it "blinked out", Had Geek squad (great by the way) come and replaced both boards. Good for few days, then went out and had to turn off then on to make it work. Fed up, went to store to get different brand. Got an Insignia, only one near the price. Dynex had more features and built better but just didn't work.. Most other choices online were not really available and it wasted a lot of time and effort. Store was nice and all, but didn't offer any help with a replacement and offered no discounts or special offer on comparable set for the time and trouble. Jury out on Best Buy AND Dynex. Great price for a 55 if it only worked, would probably not recommend the Dynex or maybe even BB.
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control, very good for price if it only worked, no usa cust support
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, retired, feel taken somewhat
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex� - 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great entry level tv for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ddp5150
on 05/16/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Remote
Overall good tv for the entry level price point. The tv has good sound and works well with other components.
This product has... Great value and features for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>