Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Model: VR-5585DFZ
SKU: 1466044
UPC: 882777062500
This flat-panel LCD TV supports stunning high-definition images up to 1080p. The 5 ms response time eliminates blurring during fast-action scenes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.567 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 60 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
12
70% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
42 out of 60
)
Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
  • Featured

This is truly a great deal!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dwaland
from Chicago
on 01/25/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture/Sound
What's not so great: Limited Remote
I read all the reviews before I purchased this television. Truth be told, I too was a bit skeptical, but I must tell everyone, I am really confused as to why this was not rated better by EVERYONE who purchased this set.
I heard about sound issues....this TV has a built-in equalizer with pre-set or user settings.
The picture is stellar, even on broadcast stations. If you have Comcast HD, even better. Use this for everything from movie night to games and you will have a wonderful experience.
For me, the picture is sharp, crisp and perfect. I have not seen the HUGE Pixelation others spoke of, nor have I have any degradation in sound quality.
The unit itself has a piano black finish that is quite nice, the design outstanding. It's ONLY real drawback is the limited function remote control...I would have preferred a universal remote, but hey...I use my Comcast remote anyway!
If you really want a large screen...and I mean this baby is really, LARGE...you cannot beat this set for the money...it does everything it should...it does so beautifully and offers great sound, picture quality and value!
I may well get another for a gift!
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+110points
130out of 150found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

easy to set up...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dwick1982
from houston tx
on 03/13/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: size
What's not so great: image quality
it very easy to use the remote and the LCD TV, the image's quality is not excellent but it good.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

delivery/set up crew very professional

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: msgrandma
from milwaukee, wi
on 03/09/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price, looks beautiful
What's not so great: on hd channels picture freezes or hesitates momentarily
very bright colorful picture but don't like the screen cropped on some stations
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Very happy with this TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: billapex
from Scottsdale, AZ
on 03/09/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, price, looks
This is my first flat-screen TV, and I'm extremely pleased with it. I didn't need 3D, internet (my BluRay player is internet-capable), etc., but I did want a 55" TV for a great price. HD channels are fantastic, and even SD channels aren't bad. I do occasionally get a bit of a jittery picture when watching a recorded program via the Cox HD DVR, so I'm thinking that's more of an issue with the DVR than the TV. As others mentioned, the display does always show 60hz, so I guess it's not really a "true" 120hz set. Seems to be perfectly acceptable to me, however, and BluRay movies look utterly fantastic. While watching TV programming, the sound out of the speakers isn't too bad. (I have a 7.1 surround setup for movies.)
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Sound, etc

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Debba1
from Rockford
on 03/09/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The size, features and picture quality for the price. Amazing!
What's not so great: Nothing, so far.
I don't hear very well and was not pleased with the sound of my Toshiba so dismissed that brand out of hand. I read the reviews on this TV and found they were favorable. I watched a movie last week and had to turn the volume up to 100% and still had trouble in spots. Then I got the owner's manual out and fiddled with the sound settings. I turned the movie back on and turned the sound down to about 50%!
The other concern is DirecTV does not have the code for this model so that all my accessories can be run through their remote. Annoying, but doable.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

horrible quality, get dynex instead

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: tvwise
from melbourne, fl
on 03/08/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: only 70 lbs - so it's easy to return.
What's not so great: everything is not great.
slow frames, pixels lag, parts of peoples faces lag behind in the picture.. just really bad quality. the "smooth motion" algorithm makes the picture worse. horrible. i returned this westinghouse and spent $20 more for the dynex and it is great - on par with samsung. get the dynex brand instead.
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kbvegas
from Las Vegas
on 03/08/2012
What's great about it: Picture Quality
What's not so great: Cant program it with universal remote and no optical connection
Great TV for the Price only set back is you cant program it with universal remote the codes are not available and no optical connection
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Good value for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gongren
from Canton, mi
on 03/01/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
This product is really worth for the money. If you are in a tight budget, this definitely is your choice for big screen TV. The picture quality is really great! Only complaint is the sound quality. Overall it is still a good buy.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

WORST TV EVER

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SSEVER1960
from CAPE CORAL, FL
on 02/27/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything
Do not buy this TV--it is the worst quality ever. Terrible sound, terrible picture. After 1 week the speakers blew and I got sick of trying to correct the color. Any type of movement becomes a blur. I finally packed it back up and returned to the store. Added another $235 and bought a 55in Toshiba. This TV has a beautiful picture--great sound. Don't waste your time on the Westinghouse. Remote is not compatiable to Directv.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Super Picture Quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Paismm
from Burlington
on 02/14/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good Price , Super Picture Quality
What's not so great: Sound
Love the Picture Quality. Sound quality could have been better.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

i love the colors of this tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gabriel801
on 02/06/2012
I got this tv for 579 and its a great deal the tv resolution is good and the colors are clear and beatiful the only bad thing is the 120hz is weird because i set it all the time in 120hz and come back to 60hz still i think is a great tv for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

NOT 120HZ but THATS OK!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cc99
from fremont, ca
on 02/03/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Large cheap picture looks good
What's not so great: MAJOR lie about 120Hz
For the price its a crazy deal as long as you know its not 120hz.
Picture is good, nice in HD and of course SD at 55" is just ugly
Audio is okay better than a few LED tvs i tested
As others might have mentioned its simulated 120Hz so it trys to figure out where the motion is going to go which is fine for objects constantly in motion but if there is something that changes directions it was cause MAJOR blurring (sports), the simple solution is just turn the 120hz off, you must be in "user" picture settings for this to be remembered if in any other picture mode it won't be remembered. However sometimes when you switch inputs, even in "user" mode it still sometimes won't remember. Also don't forget that hd channels and sd channels have different picture settings ie SD can be on dynamic and HD in user so when you go up and down in channels (hd and sd) it will turn on and off the 120hz.
Honestly if westinghouse had written this key part in the manual and marketed this tv as 60hz I am 100% certain the ratings would be much higher.
Overall if your looking for a 60hz 55" 1080p tv on the cheap it does the job fine just turn off the 12hz
This product has... Great value and features for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lee414
from Huntsville, AL
on 11/03/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price, picture
This tv has excellent sound and picture, it just doesn't have all the fine tune adjustments and features that the more expensive models have. The connections are very easy to reach when it's wall-mounted.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+11points
18out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Priced right.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: NatLoc
from East Texas
on 08/10/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Very basic features.
Priced right and great picture quality. I did not realize how bad the picture quality was on our old TV until we got this one. The only problem we have had is it is not compatible with the DirecTV remote, so we have to keep track of two remotes.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

great digital picture frame

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: elang
from tennessee
on 05/14/2011
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: the size. very pritty sitting in media room.
What's not so great: the picture performance. the changing settings.
terrible picture. great color and very clear unless there is any motion. bad blurring anf artifacts with motion fast or slow. worse in a dark scenes. have tried to fix it with different connection and sources. receiver with video processing and up conversion.componant and hdmi. hd satelite and blueray player as well as a ps3. dose it no matter what. set the 120hz to high and it turnes itself down to low or off for no reason i can find. this is my seconf westinghouse. love my first, this is my last. worse purchase ive ever made.
Best Uses: watching picture slide show
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-26points
11out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Top of the Line TV for small price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lrs1
from Miami Beach
on 05/04/2011
What's great about it: Picture and sound
What's not so great: Nothing
I have a Samsung 50 inches and I paid $1700 then I saw this 55 inch Westinghouse at $799 and i was astounded by the clarity and beauty of the colors plus the programs in HD blew me away. I bought it on the spot and love it.
This unit is a bargain and is comparable to top of the line similar TV's.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+24points
29out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Nice T.V.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BigDaddyTee
on 02/23/2011
I love this T.V. Not bad for that amount of money.
Sound not that good,but it got Equilizer so you can make it sound the way you want to. Very clear picture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

not good with a sound bar

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: proudamerican64
from Chicago, IL
on 02/03/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The price I paid
What's not so great: the overall performance
no optical port so I could not use the a sound bar properly. Paid $549 for a demo model. Considering the price I think it is a great deal. I was not blown away by the picture quality but I am starting to think it is more of an AT&T U-Verse issue. Overall it is a nice TV. The sound is pretty good without external speakers. Not a lot of HDMI ports either.
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Poor Quality TV - Broke after only 3 1/2 days

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: obiwanjohn
from portland, me
on 01/27/2011
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: nothing special
This TV may seem like a bargain. However, the picture quality is poor. The claim of 120HZ is simply not accurate. I was watching a basketball game and the tv simply could not follow the fast moving ball; no matter what adjustments I made. This is a 60 HZ TV. Lastly, it would not turn on after only 3 1/2 days of use. I took it back for a full refund.
DON'T BUY THIS TV - BUY THE DYNEX INSTEAD FOR THE SAME PRICE.
The Dynex is a better TV, hands down. There are more hookups and most importantly, a better picture quality. It displays standard definition far better and has more features.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+3points
32out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Westinghouse 55" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Price is Great but.......

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Plakota
from Canton, Ohio
on 01/24/2011
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Picture
Bought this a week ago and took it back yesterday. Took a gamble because of the price and should have paid a little more. The picture quality is just odd. There was no clarity issue but the movement of the picture was off as was the depth of the picture. In addition, the slightest character movement caused blurring and the settings kept changing. Had no issue returning it and was told there are a lot of returns for this TV. Kudos to Best Buy for their ease of return.
Best Uses: none
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>