Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Model: GT-I9020T
SKU: 1484107
UPC: 635753488586
The second-generation Nexus smart phone is loaded with great features and boasts Android 2.3 (Gingerbread), the newest version of Android. Features include built-in mobile hotspot capability, improved voice action, better navigation and popular Google features like Gmail. Its sleek 4" WVGA contour display offers maximized visibility. The 5.0MP digital camera lets you snap great photos to share. Requires a minimum $10/month Web access fee with all Even More voice plans. Early Termination Fees may apply Questions? Call our Nexus S Help Line at 1-866-813-2021. Nexus S also inBest Buy® stores Available with a 2-year contractwith T-Mobile at select locations. Available without a contractat all Best Buy stores.
Average Customer Rating:
4.428 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 208 reviews
5 stars
133
4 stars
51
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
6
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
184 out of 208
)
Customer Reviews for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black
Review 1 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black
  • Featured

Amazing Smartphone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ninjazn
from Virginia
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Android is awesome, great apps, good build, great customizability and quick updates.
What's not so great: Battery life could be better, but it easily lasts an entire day while I use it heavily.
I was looking for a new phone to upgrade to, from my previous flip phone, the RAZR 2. I did a lot of research because this was going to be my first smartphone and I wanted to pick a good one. After a while I settled on the Nexus S and I am happy to say that I can't go through life without an Android phone.
The Operating System is fast and sleek, there are tens of thousands of apps for practically anything you can imagine. I read ebooks between classes on my phone, I listen to music while walking to and from class, I use the GPS while I'm driving, I surf the net when I'm bored standing in line, I can do anything. Best of all the phone is so customizable. I have a video running as my wallpaper! All my contacts are easily synced with Facebook, so when I receive a call, their Facebook profile picture pops up on my phone so I can quickly know who is calling.
As for the actual construction of the phone, it is fairly solid. I have a case for it that removes all worry of any damage, but I don't even use a screen protector and there are NO scratches! The battery life is really good, but could be better, however, it is a smartphone after all and battery life will depend on how much you use all the features. The phone quality/reception is great and I've never had a dropped call or any noise disturbances.
Overall, I think it is a great phone and I highly recommend it. The absolute BEST part of the phone is that it is PURE Android, so it is currently running Gingerbread OS (2.3) while the majority of other Android phones are running Froyo (2.2). This phone will receive all updates before any other. I love this phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+196points
276out of 356found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Great all purpose phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: VOSmith
from St. Paul, MN
on 05/19/2012
What's great about it: It syncs email addresses and calendars seemlessly
I had the original Nexus, so it was a no brainer to buy another one. I am happy with my purchase
This product is... Great picture quality
About me... My phone is my life, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Good Android for beginner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: clbt8848
on 05/16/2012
What's great about it: Easy to sync, good price
What's not so great: Android is not as intuitive as iOS
I could sync all my contacts from the old Nokia phone, even though it takes a couple of tries.
The interface was nice and fast but so easy to mis-typed. Big bonus is the upgrade to Android Icecream Sandwich.
Battery is 36hrs, with Bluetooth and Wifi off, which is a bummer.
This product is... Short battery life, Great picture quality, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Great phone for $0!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: joezilla
from New York
on 05/10/2012
What's great about it: Design, screen resolution, IC update
What's not so great: Plastic build not so good
Yeah this phone is pretty old compared to the new dual/quad core super phones out there, but the design is elegant, the camera is decent and it has ICS 4.04 which all the new phones are struggling to upgrade to. It is a pure google experience. NFC is nifty as well. Battery life is a bit short if you are a heavy user, but it will get you through the day just fine
This product is... Short battery life, Great picture quality, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Nexus s unlocked gsm for t-mobile

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DrPoochix
from Jacksonville, Fl
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: great styling, vanilla android ICS, wonderful bright screen
What's not so great: 4 inch screen ok, used to 4.3, but quality of screen is worth it
This phone is a nicely styled phone works very smoothly as advertised and the 4 inch screen is really nice. I like to stream baseball games and news on the phone and it performs this very well... I replaced my HD2 with this phone and even though I had android 3.2.4 on the sim card from XDA it worked well but ran the battery down fast ... this nexus,will last 8 to 10 hours for me with the screen on brightess setting ... I did get the ICS update last week and it is great ... for a 2 year old model you cant beat it for the price $0.00
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Great picture quality, Good video quality, Good call quality, good speed not lightning fast, its plastic but real nice dont drop it
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized, stream a lot of video
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

GREAT PHONE , ICE CREAM SANDWICH 4.0

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TomorrowsHere
from Phoenix
on 02/26/2012
What's great about it: Great video play
What's not so great: nothing
Turned My phone on out of the box, and was prompted to do operating system update. It replaced 2.3 with 4.0 icecream sandwich. Perfect phone.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Good video quality, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Great phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TMae
from Birmingham
on 02/15/2012
What's great about it: Keep me organized
What's not so great: Battery Life
This is my first smartphone and I love it. Found out the hard way that if you delete any of the apps that come with the phone it goes into emergency call mode and has to be rebooted and all my info was lost. Battery only last half a day.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Short battery life, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good video quality, Good call quality
About me... Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Nexus S

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gypseyeyes
from Sandy, UT
on 02/10/2012
What's great about it: Everything
I love this phone. It is very easy to use and has all the features that I love. Speaker volume is loud enough, screen size is not too big and not too small, it can play movies and I always love a phone that is not programmed with the phone companies extra programs that you can't remove. This is a blank slate! Love it!
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good video quality, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Use for phone calls only, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Okay for the resourceful

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lhhesscpa
from albuquerque nm
on 02/01/2012
What's great about it: Android 4.0
What's not so great: Support
I bought this phone because I expected the operating system to be updated from Gingerbread (2.3) to Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0). That did happen over-the-air within 2 weeks of my purchase in early Jan. 2012.
Be prepared to be resourceful if you need support, even including simple things like an owner's manual for the hardware and operating system. Best Buy can't support this phone. Neither can my wireless carrier, T-Mobile, because they have never sold it. I have gotten what I've neded from Google because I have a Google Apps for Business and that gives me access to Goolge's Enterprise Support. I also got some help from the manufacturer, Samsung.
This product is... Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Good call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

BEST SMARTPHONE I EVER OWNED.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RON1030
from PHILADELPHIA
on 01/30/2012
SECOND PHONE TO GET THE NEW ICE CREAM SANDWICH OPERATING SYSTEM. SMOOTH OPERATION. VERY FAST CLEAR CAMERA. GOOD SPEAKER. GREAT, BRIGHT SCREEN. VERY LIGHT BUT NOT TOO BIG.
This product is... Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Good video quality, Good call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Solid. A fan.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: InWoods
from Worcester, MA
on 01/25/2012
What's great about it: It does its job w/o my noting it.
What's not so great: Wished the battery life were a touch longer.
I have dropped it numerous times.
I have run way too many apps at once.
I am a heavy Google platform user.
It has only hung once in a month of continuous use. Turned on/off, all set.
I am a big fan.
Only wished the battery life` were a touch longer.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good video quality, Good call quality
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized, using in forest for field work
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Nexus S i9020T with ICS 4.0.3

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ghh01
from New York
on 01/06/2012
What's great about it: Nexus S i9020T with ICS 4.0.3 for free
What's not so great: i9020T, i9020A, i9023,...,& D720 4G? but, a Nexus phone with LTE will be the future.
Just got my Nexus S i9020T. It came with Gingerbread but, I was able to login to Google account with existing T-Mobile number and WiFi, to update to Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.3 as basically the first activity on the phone. I updated my i9020T after starting WiFi. So, I hope i9020A WiFi connection makes the mobile networks a non-issue. I hope this helps others.
However, Sprint Nexus S 4G phones have not gotten ICS updates as of today, Jan. 6, 2012. I expect Sprint Nexus S 4G phones will have the update in the near future?
After three days, I am not seeing any issues, except interface has moved things around from Gingerbread but, I would say mostly for the better.
Love, Ice Cream Sandwich! I had Gingerbread on a Nexus One (T-Mobile) before updating phones to Nexus S i9020T.
My understanding is that the i9020A is for some North & South Americas 3G networks like AT&T & Rogers in Canada. The i9020T is listed as general (GSM) phone for Samsung but, I think both work to make GSM phone calls. Only issues are with 3G networks between i9020A & i9020T, plus i9023 with Super LCD is same as i9020T minus Super AMOLED.
If you are in a position for the Bestbuy i9020T (T-Mobile) or i9020A (AT&T) free phone this is a no brainer buy.
This product is... pure google unlocked
About me... My phone is my life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Simply a perfect smartphone!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AndroidFan2010
on 12/22/2011
What's great about it: Great price, excellent quality, full features, super easy to use.
What's not so great: Back cover feels plasticy and flimsy
December 17th was my one year anniversary with this phone. I bought it on the day it first came out last year for T-Mobile. I have been very pleased and satisfied with this phone. It has everything a smartphone would offer: GPS, Bluetooth, front/back cameras, speaker, headset jack, NFC (a bonus), excellent hardware that keeps the phone runs smooth and fast, beautiful elegant design but sturdy. The Samsung SuperAMOLED screen is beautifully vibrant. The 5 Megapixel camera takes beautiful pictures.
What I like most about this phone is it is pure Google, SIM unlocked, 100% stock Android, no carrier's pre-installed crapwares. Since it is a Google phone, it's receiving quick OS updates and patches from Google. One recent example is Google just pushed out the latest Android OS - Ice Cream Sandwich for this phone. I was super excited! Ice Cream Sandwich makes my super Nexus S like a brand new phone. It changes the user experience greatly with lots of new features and user interface.
This phone has many great potential features to be unlocked. After couple months of owning this phone, I rooted this phone and installed custom Android ROMs. Rooting this phone and installing custom ROMs cannot be any easier on this phone. I have so much fun with customizing and enhancing this phone.
I highly recommend the Nexus phones.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Great picture quality, Tough/durable, Good video quality, Good call quality, excellent vibrant bright screen
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Business Professional, power android user/developer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Love this phone...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nixona
from Los Angeles, CA
on 09/21/2011
What's great about it: Fast for all applications, phone, web, texting, apps...
What's not so great: Short battery life if you don't get the Juice Defender app loaded
Wanted a new Android phone, but not want to move into a new phone plan with my Sprint carrier, so when I saw the Google offer for a free Android phone and that I could choose my carrier (wanted T-Mobile), I was thrilled.
Have had this phone since August 18th, 2011, so from the date of writing this review, it is about 5 weeks now and I haven't had one problem yet with this phone. I had downloaded many apps successfully and quite fast I must say compared to my Touch Pro 2 from Sprint.
I love the ability to speak to my phone for all sorts of tasks...from dialing numbers, speaking addresses for Google Navigation, Google Web searches and even typing my text messages. This phone is a joy. I would highly recommend this phone for updating into a Android device.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Great android phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: magamoo
from Chicago, IL
on 09/21/2011
What's great about it: I got it for free!!
What's not so great: It would probably break if dropped but that's what cases are for
The Nexus S is the second Android phone I've owned and it's been great!! Camera takes great photos, although I have no idea how to zoom, has a very large amount of internal memory which is good for all the apps and photos I have, and I don't even care that it doesn't have a removable memory card. Of course with any smart phone, the battery is going to go fast if you use it a lot and have a lot of apps that end up constantly running; but to remedy that everyone should go and download Juice Defender, a free app in the andriod market, it works AMAZING!! It's very rare that my phone has dropped below 40% in a full day of using it. Great phone, I have no complaints.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Great Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: weusall
from Seminole, FL
on 09/16/2011
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: Keyboard
I love this Android Phone. My first was the G1 which was the first. This Nexus S has it all! It is also faster than anything I've owned, ipod touch included. The screen is beautiful and bright and with 16gigs of memory, I have every app that I want. The on-screen keyboard takes some getting used to and I usually speak words and it recognizes my voice pretty good.
This product is... Great screen, Lightning fast, Tough/durable
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

awesome free smart phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bubblefree
on 09/13/2011
What's great about it: free
What's not so great: locked into a 2 year contract
This phone is great. It took some getting used to, but I love it. I was not crazy about switching to a touch screen, but it has grown on me and I already find myself touching other people's screens forgetting that not all phones are touch screen. There are many things I have yet to learn, but I am loving it.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ATXRRG
from Austin, Texas
on 09/09/2011
What's great about it: Easy to set up, Got it for free on the one day we could, Screen does not easily scratch, great screen quality
What's not so great: short battery life on calls.
So I've had this phone for a little while now. I of course did the first 3 power drains like you should to make battery life better. I can usually get about 2 days out of the phone depending on how much I use it to be honest. If I do a lot of heavy talking on this phone then I do charge it because the battery will run low. There are however a lot of apps you can get to watch how much power you have been using. When I text, it barely takes up any power, and running apps is super easy. The only real drain I've found on battery for this phone is prolonged phone calls. I love the phone and I'm more of a texter than a talker so it works out perfectly for me. The display is gorgeous, and the back camera is great. The front camera can be a little grainy, but that was to be expected after reading the specs. Granted you can still take some pretty decent pictures with the front camera. I have had no issues with lag on this phone, nor have I had any freezes. I'm not a huge fan of the keyboard, but there are plenty of apps that can make up for that. I'm honestly still getting use to the digital keyboard, so it is probably just a me thing. So far I have had a great experience with this phone, and will do an update at a later time when I've had a few more months to play with it.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Best Google Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: InfoGuru
from Tampa, FL
on 09/08/2011
What's great about it: Long battery life
What's not so great: Camera picture quality
Google was right on the spot with this phone. It has the cool design and sharp screen that I expected from an Android phone. The battery life was finally taken into consideration for all the nice features on this device (Bluetooth, wi-fi, 3G, GPS, camera, music, etc...). I would highly recommend.
This product is... Great screen, Lightning fast, Tough/durable
About me... Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Google Nexus S Mobile Phone - Black

Phone is phenomenal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: barbg0715
from Chicago
on 08/31/2011
Love the Nexus S, it's fast, and the battery lasts much longer than the Nexus 1. Easy to use, especially love the bluetooth feature and video for Skype or Google +.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>