Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Model: LW2902
SKU: 1492858
UPC: 778597290202
Monitor your home or business with this digital wireless security system that features 2 indoor/outdoor cameras with IR night vision capability for use during the day or at night. Recording options include manual, motion or schedule to fit your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
86% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 14
)
Customer Reviews for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System
Review 1 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Good camera system but mounting brackets need work

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mattxr2i
from Ohio
on 08/08/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Easy to Set up
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Recording Capacity
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Clarity and range
What's not so great: The mounting brackets for the cameras are low quality
Thus far I like the system. It is very clear and the motion activation works fairly well. I can have the monitor just about anywhere in the house and see the car port cam. Now the bad. It took me more than an hour to get the car port camera up and fixed in position due to the low quality friction ball mechanism that holds the camera to the mount. No matter how much I tightened it, it just kept spinning. So I had to Jimmy rig it to get it to stay in place. Once that was done, everything worked great. So great little system for the price but you may want to look into better mounting options.
This product has... Adequate viewing area, Many good, useful features
I would recommend this to a friend!
How many cameras do you need?1-3
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Works for Indoor Only

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: StephenTX
from Irving, TX
on 06/01/2012
What's great about it: Works for Indoors
What's not so great: Doesn't work for ourdoors
I couldn't get a signal when I placed the camera outdoors next to the house (a brick wall). If I placed the camera outside at shoulder height and opened the garage door - it worked, but as soon as I closed the garage door, with the camera on the other side of the door, no signal. I tried this in several areas, and no signal in every different situation. If you want the cameras for indoor use only, it works and is easy to set up, and even set up additional cameras -- but won't work for outside use - it cannot send the signal through brick or garage doors
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

5 stars

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Binksters
from Florida
on 04/05/2012
I love this item! It is easy to use. It has great sound and picture. I would definitely buy this again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EJsReview
from MA/NH
on 04/05/2012
What's great about it: Screen monitoring, night vision, motion sensor
What's not so great: Long distance clarity
I bought this for home security/surveillance. It was easy to set up and is easy to use. The record with motion feature works very well, and there's an audible alarm (with volume control) at the monitoring screen to let you know that something triggered the sensor. The monitor can be used in quad mode or it will flip between camera views. The monitor can also be turned off, while the system remains functional. (I find this nice because I keep the monitor in the bedroom and don't want it flickering all night, but can turn it on with the remote control if I need to see something.) The monitor also has a "new video" indicator to let you know if something recorded since your last check. The night vision clarity is great. If I had to state any negatives, it would be that the camera's clarity at a distance could be better. But if you need it to just cover entryways, and short distances, it would be an excellent choice. Overall, I'm very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Nice system

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rocketman707
from SoFlo
on 04/05/2012
What's great about it: (1) Easy set-up and (2) intercom
What's not so great: Garage camera reduces range of wireless garage door opener.
Works well.
Good range - even through CBS concrete walls (20' - 30'). Even better through interior walls.
Fairly clear picture.
Like that it records to a SD card.
Love the 2 way intercom at the cameras.
Motion detection works well.
Easy to set-up and use.
Does interfere w/ wireless signal (somewhat reduced range) of garage door opener.
Don't like having to re-set system date & time after power off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mrsmoto2
from Pittsburgh
on 04/05/2012
What's great about it: Great picture/love the small screen for I do not have to login to a computer to view. Love this product.
Cannot wait for the product to go on sale again. I will buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Great Home Security System

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CropDoc
from Florence, sC
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: Ease of installation
What's not so great: Signal interference
Easy to install and works very good. Hardest thing is getting power to the cameras.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

WORKS BUT NOT AS WELL AS I HOPED

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ONTRAX
from GLENCOE, MN
on 04/04/2012
What's not so great: CAN NOT VIEW A PERSON AT THE RANGE STATE IN SALES PITCH.
THE SYSTEM SEEMS TO WORK,BUT IT ALSO STATE VIEWABLE AT 65'. THERE IS NO WAY EVEN AT 45' YOU CAN MAKE OUT A PERSON FACE. BE AWARE THE CAMERAS WILL NOT TRANSMITT THROUGH A METAL WALL, NOT STATED IN SALES ADD. I DID ADD A CABLE TO ANTENNA TO BRING IT INSIDE AND THAT WORKED. I ALSO MUST LEAVE A LIGHT ON ALMOST TO VIEW ANYTHING, IN THE DARK CAN NOT SEE MUCH. I WOULD SPEND MORE MONEY TO GET A BETTER OR HIGHER GRADE UNIT.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

not bad for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ACS2548
from Marengo, Il.
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: 2 way & motion sensor
What's not so great: needs a wider angle lens
Picked up on the deal of the Day for $250.00.
I would not pay the regular $400 they ask.
The only real disappointment was the field of range.
You need to mount it under the eaves by the door to use the 2 way communication, but that close you either need to mount it down lower where anyone could touch it or higher & only see about a 5' circle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System
4.1 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Works perfectly

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheAddamsFamily
from Columbus
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: Easy to use and set up
What's not so great: Cameras are big and bulky
This item was very easy to set up and use. It comes complete with a digital photo frame so that you can watch the video seperatly while working on your computer. It comes with a 2 GB SIM calrd but you may need a larger one if you plan on recording the video.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Does a good job for our needs

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nagoh
from Harrison Ohio
on 10/22/2011
What's great about it: Night Vision
What's not so great: Power Cords to short.
I think the night vision works well where we have our cameras mounted(in a low light area)
I agree with some of the other reviewers that the power cord on the cameras should be longer.We esp like the motion sensors and the intercom features on the cameras.Over all this system suits our needs very well and I am planning on adding 1 more camera to the system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
32out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Outstanding security system

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cavpilot
from Wellington, FL
on 08/10/2011
What's great about it: Wireless night vision recording system with monitor
This is an outstanding wireless security system for the price.
The recording monitor system is excellent and eliminates the need for connections and wiring to home TV's or monitors.
I purchased two additional cameras and now have a complete home security system for half the price of comparable wired systems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+48points
56out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Ok camera

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Sunshine2673
from Louisville ky
on 06/16/2011
This is a great camera. I purchased it 2 weeks ago. Great picture & sound. The only problem that I have is that the power adapters are not long enough!! I contacted Lorex & they do not make longer cables for this camera. They told me that I could have an electrician cut the cables & extend them but, the warranty would be voided. It's good if you have an electrical outlet close by, maybe 10ft. You cannot sit it in the window at night because it receives a glare from the window. Overall it, ok!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+63points
67out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lorex - Live SD9 Indoor/Outdoor Digital Wireless Security System

Awesome Cameras

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Merritts
from NC
on 01/20/2011
What's great about it: Everything, the night vision cams are totally worth investing
We purchased the Lorex camera system after reading the reviews. All I can say is they are the best investment we have purchased in a long time. We live in a really dark area and I had some concerns about the night vision. As it turns out, we can see just as good at dark as we can in the daylight. I give these cameras a 5 star plus. Anyone looking to invest in a great quality in security cams ? Then these are what you need. Thank you to lorex and best buy for allowing such a GREAT product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+90points
208out of 326found this review helpful.