Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Model: 1018P-BBK804
SKU: 1647223
UPC: 884840760955
This netbook features a media reader that allows you to easily store or transfer media. The built-in 0.3MP webcam and 10.1" LED-backlit widescreen display allow you to easily video chat with friends and family.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.682 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 22 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
2
68% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
15 out of 22
)
Customer Reviews for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum
Review 1 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

hard drive crash just outside of warranty

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: K8LN
on 12/26/2011
I bought this for my daughter and she used it for a year with few problems, but just after passing the one year mark, the hard drive crashed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Watered down version of the real thing

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RegularGal
from Dearborn, MI
on 11/23/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Not the same one you will find all over the web. No aluminum finish, its plastic through and through. No Bluetooth,
No Bluetooth, not the same computer as reviewed by CNET or other online resources. Spent over an hour on the phone with ASUS tech support and not until I got a supervisor was I told that this machine did not come equipped with Bluetooth. Display did not adjust as advertised in reviews. Was told by ASUS to take it to the Geek Squad to upgrade it. Are they paying for it? Nope. Back to the drawing board.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, watered down version of the real thing, no bang for the buck thats for sure
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Great notebook, small size , big capabilities!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Linda26
from Tennessee
on 11/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy set up, great price, endless capabilities
What's not so great: Small viewing screen tkes a little getting used to
I love this notebook. It can do everything that our full size laptop or desktop can do. Lots of memory. The only negative is the smaller viewing screen, but that's the trade off for being able to put it in my purse and take it wherever I go.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, 3 ports for adding mouse monitor printer ect
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Great for web browsing

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BrianMD
from Baltimore, MD
on 11/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good value, great for internet use
What's not so great: Having trouble installing printers
Purchased for light school use; great for that. Only problem has been installing printers. Great value for the money.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

pretty good netbook for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: escaladekid
from Providence, RI
on 11/03/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: size,price,
What's not so great: slow
Well I got this computer on sale for 180 not a bad price. It could be a little faster. Seem like the 1gig ram is not enough. Seem it lag when online surfing the web or watching video. Other then that its a nice little computer.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Parent with kids, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Nice Netbook with Beauty to Boot

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheDesertRat
from Deming, NM
on 11/02/2011
  • Top 10 Contributor
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great looks, super screen, pretty fast, nice WiFi
What's not so great: Nothing so far. Well worth the money!
This is for one of my neighbors. It runs very well with the Win 7 Starter, and the WiFi is good. Display is great and it runs fairly fast for an Atom processor. The ram chip is easy to upgrade to 2 GIG without tearing the system apart. I bumped it to 2 gig.
All in all, she is in high school, so she is thrilled with the computer and long battery life. She really likes the fact that it doesn't look like most of the netbooks on the market.
This product is... A nice compact size, good student netbook
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Not the best buy 4 me

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Jahlaune
on 09/26/2011
I bought this and wasnt too happy. The pluses were the size and weight. The minuses were cramped keyboard (i even have small fingers) it gets fingerprints easy, you have to upgrade to reg windows 7 that diminished the 80 bucks i thought I saved. The cam is worse than my cell phone all greenish. I gave mine away to a 15 yo relative.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Bad investment for student

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: KBoris
from Washington, DC
on 08/19/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Sound, weight
What's not so great: keyboard, windows7, short battery, slow processor, poor video
I bought this pc 2 weeks ago and it is already frustrating to use. Now too late to return it.
The most annoying factor is the battery which barely holds charge for 3 hrs. It states it is a 4-cell version and even with basic settings and few programs running, battery dies very quickly. Not very useful for portability.
The WIndows 7 starter is just terrible. XP would have been superior on this machine. There is little you can do with win7 starter. Might need to upgrade which is another $100-200.
The 1Gb ram had to be upgraded to 2Gb ram for $30. Performance has increased a bit, but images stall when viewing videos online. I guess the processor needs to be upgraded too.
The keyboard is terrible. Very hard to type without keys jumping all over the screen. Especially frustrating since I have many. papers to write for school. I have to keep on correcting errors such as vidkeo(video), concehgpt(concept), etc. Mouse is over-sensitive to palm. I have reduced settings to minimum, but no difference.
It hasn't crashed so far, but most pc's take 4-6mos to show this fault, so be wise and consider the risk
This is not much different from the 1015PED which was highly criticized.
Might have been wiser for me to add few bucks and get a lenovo, toshiba or other affordable brand.
The sound quality is great but doubt that these speakers can be this good for several months.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
23out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

You get what you pay for

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: gcnjen
from Ann Arbor, MI
on 08/17/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: not much
What's not so great: Cheaply made not worth the money
We've owned this netbook for over a year now and it progressively gets worse. After a few months the cord connection got loose and just a slight movement disconnects it from the pc. All we use it for is surfing the web and it's very slow all the time. Recently the computer has started shutting itself off and we are not able to restart it unless we remove the battery and put it back in. I really would not recommend this netbook. Spend a couple more $100 and get a better one!
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Best netbook in this class

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: arvrim
from Guntersville, AL
on 08/11/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: compact size and good finish
What's not so great: installed RAM memory
Very good netbook, reliable, good display, beatiful black alluminun finish, really a portable solution. I just recommend a upgrade to 2GB RAM for $20.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, on the go solution
About me... Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Great for every-day use, portable, classy look

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KAManley
from Evansville, IN
on 07/17/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: design, feel, weight, battery life, for netbook standards, you won't be disappointed
What's not so great: I've heard Asus has bad customer support, but besides that, it's a good product.
I have been looking at netbooks for the past two months, and decided to try out this 1018 model. I currently own a full-size Asus laptop, and am happy with it, so therefore decided to stick with the Asus brand. Anyway, I am going to college in the fall and wanted something portable, that I could carry around campus and to class. The laptop I have now is definitely not my idea of portable, so I was searching to get something new, such as a netbook.
VALUE: The value of this netbook is very good, but I'll explain while it received my four star rating. You can get other netbooks with the same specs for about $50 less. This one is only a little more, due to it's looks. (see display) So therefore, you're not paying for value, you're paying for the design.
DISPLAY: The look of this netbook is one of the best. Unlike others, where the battery causes it to be raised, this netbook is FLAT, similar to macbooks. It also has the brushed aluminum, which looks and feels so much better than the plastic, matte finishes on most other netbooks. It is very thin, and looks very sleek and sophisticated. The classy look will definitely catch people's attention.
PERFORMANCE: I have experienced three netbooks in my life, and this one is definitely the fastest of the three. Granted, the other two I've had were through my local high school, so they weren't the newest models out, so it's kind of unfair to compare them to this 1018. Old games and browser based games can be played on this, but don't expect to be able to play any recent first-person shooters. I can also have many websites/tabs open, and easily switch between them. (just remember, it's a netbook, so it's going to be a little slower than desktops or laptops) One other thing to mention - the speakers on this are VERY nice for a netbook! I think this thing is just as loud, if not louder, than my full size laptop!
CONVENIENCE: This is a very light netbook, and it is very portable, yet sturdy. I haven't gotten for sure readings on battery life yet, since I just bought this yesterday, but due to the 4 cell battery (to make the netbook flat and look nice), there are other definitely other netbooks that have longer lasting batteries than this one. But this will still get a good 5-8 hours (from what i've seen so far), which is plenty for the day.
I have not yet found any major cons of the netbook. On other reviews, they say that the keyboard is flimsy. This is not true. The center of the keyboard has no give while typing, so it's definitely pretty sturdy. Some of the keys on the keyboard are pretty small, which takes getting used to, but this is expected since they have to squeeze everything in. The trackpad is great, and the trackpad buttons seem harder to click at first, but they're fine once you get used to them.
For you gamers out there, this model has an Intel GMA 3150. (I'm pretty sure) So remember, it's only meant for video playback and light gaming.
Sorry for such the long review, but I think I said everything that needed mention!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+43points
46out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

great little first netbook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: happyhappyhappy
from MI
on 07/07/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I like this netbook-I haven't upgraded the memory to 2gB but it works pretty well without it. Its easy to carry around as its SUPER light and a wireless mouse keeps me from having to use the touchpad too much. Overall a great buy for my first netbook!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Asus does good work.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: coffeebean247
from Medford, OR
on 06/30/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sturdy build, good-sized hard drive, long battery life, great touchpad
What's not so great: Keyboard is flimsy
Before I had this computer I had tried a comparable netbook (same specs) from another brand so I have a good comparison between the two. This computer has a very sturdy build, made of aluminum instead of plastic. Performance is great for a netbook, and it is EXTREMELY quiet. My only complaint is with the keyboard; the keys are small but I have no problem typing long essays for school. Excellent battery life; I can use it for two days before I need a recharge. Overall this is a great netbook that is well worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Recommended with advisories

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wqrn
from Tulsa, Ok
on 06/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything BUT the onboard wifi
What's not so great: The Atheros wifi nic
I purchased this netbook after doing considerable research. I do have a few items to pass along to you who may be considering it.
First, there are at least two versions of this model number (eee pc 1018p). This model from Best Buy does NOT come with on board bluetooth or usb 3.0. But, the model that does is in upwards of $150 more from the vendors who carry it. So just a little "caveat emptor" is in order here.
My only real complaint with the unit is that the on board atheros wifi nic is quite sad. The other computers on my home wifi network would pull 10 mb download speeds. The Asus 1018p with the atheros nic would barely pull 2mb. I purchased a Linksys wifi usb adapter and now the unit will pull 10mb down and web surfing "smokes". Rest assured I exhausted all other attempts to fix this problem before spending more money on additional equipment. But I am glad I did.
So all in all this is a great little computer and I recommend it for those who know the inherent differences bewtween a notebook and a netbook.
J
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

first netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dhdevine2
from riverside, ca
on 06/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: doesnt come with windows 7 home premium and 2 gigs memory
first thing to do with any netbook is upgrade from win 7 starter to win 7 home premium and max out your memory (which in most cases is 2 gigs) also i would recommend removing bloatware and antivirus like norton & such & go with something less intrusive since they bog down your processor. something like windows essentials works great. also be sure get all the updates & clean the registry (ccleaner is a good one to use).
i have had this machine for over a month and am very happy with it. dont expect it to be able to play high end games because.. well, its a netbook.. meant to browse the web & such.
even so, with my current setup i am able to watch you tube vids, run multiple programs, play lower end games, run visual studio, etc..
overall, i am glad i purchased this. battery life is great. does all i expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Light Weight, Compact, Convenient!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 6s219
from Covina, CA
on 06/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very piratical
What's not so great: Long boot up
PROS:
Very piratical, light weight, good key board, good battery life, nice display
CONS:
long boot up
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Great netbook for basic users!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: eztechsmart
from Dover, NH
on 06/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything! DDR 3!
What's not so great: It's a netbook folks! Nothing bad about it for basic needs!
My wife and I have been using an I-PAD first gen for the past year and decided to sell it and get an I-PAD 2. While looking around at the netbooks, this one caught my eye right off the bat! I liked the way it looked, the keyboard was slick and has been easy to clean! It's even upgradable to 2GB DDR3 PC 10600! My wife was sold on the unit, plus it was $200 less then the I-PAD 2! Its got plenty of speed for basic internet needs like surfing the web, facebook, online banking, e-mailing, ect. It even runs i-tunes just fine with the power settings set to high performance, I would recommend this setting when doing updates! The battery life is great I'm getting at least 4 hours with the power settings set to high performance! The unit over all has been a great alternative! We have owned this unit for 3 weeks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Asus Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DBreen
from Palm Harbor, Florida
on 03/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy to set up. Love the 'featherweight' feature. This Netbook is an excellent value.
What's not so great: Nothing I can think of
The Asus EEE pc Netbook is a fantastic buy. The Netbook itself was easy to set up, and the upgrade software was fast and easy. The feel of this netbook for typing is exactly what I have been looking for. I was surprised at how easy I adapted even though obvoiously the keyboard and monitor is smaller than a regular size laptop. The" featherweight" feature on this Netbook is awesome. If anyone is looking for a really nice Netbook, at a great value, this is the one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Nice all around Netbook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mrsrabk
from Northwest
on 03/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Does just about everything
What's not so great: limited speed.
I shopped a lot before choosing this computer. It does everything I ask of it. I could only improve it by adding more memory and RAM. But I have a Laptop for everyday use. This is perfect for quick daily use and great when I travel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Asus Eee PC Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - Black Aluminum

Nice Light Netbook!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: techchik
from Miami, FL
on 03/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick Start Up, Lightweight
What's not so great: Nothing
Pros: very light netbook, windows startup is very quick, keyboard layout, aluminum finish, asus brand
Cons: can't think of any.
I've owned three asus netbooks. All of them have worked well. I have never experienced the problems noted by the other reviewers. Two of three netbooks are three to four years old and still work very well. I bought this one for the larger hard drive and because I wanted a very light netbook. This netbook is as nice and pleasant to use as Apple's macbook air. I would recommend Asus eee pc netbooks to family and friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>