Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Model: BDPS580
SKU: 1666042
UPC: 027242815414
Enjoy your favorite movies in high-definition with this Blu-ray player that features full 1080p playback and DVD upscaling for stunning image clarity and detail. To build a complete 3D home theater system, you'll need to purchase a 3D TV, active shutter 3D glasses designed for the TV and high-speed HDMI cable. We also recommend an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D products. Smart Blu-ray Player Get a world of instant entertainment with this smart Blu-ray player. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix Pandora YouTube Twitter
Average Customer Rating:
4.306 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(383 Reviews) 383
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 383 reviews
5 stars
234
4 stars
91
3 stars
21
2 stars
15
1 star
22
86% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
328 out of 383
)
Customer Reviews for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

I love the built in internet connection

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: happyncalifornia
from California
on 04/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: built in internet
What's not so great: nothing
So easy to install. Love built in internet for streaming from Netflix, You tube, and iTunes.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Works great, but I've not used it much yet.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KennethWB
from Minnetonka, MN
on 04/11/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Produces excellent picture and sound.
We watched a 3D movie using it and it was everything I expected!
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Nice add on to the flat screen

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mandm55
from San Francisco
on 04/05/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, internet access.
Great picture with blue-ray. Love the internet connectivity for Pandora through the sound system.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Just ok

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: dsferg
from Lake Geneva, WI
on 04/02/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: small profile, easy to connect
What's not so great: unable to use as internet browser due to flash player
My first BluRay player. Plays well, is a bit noisy. Remote that came with this player is not so good. I downloaded the free app for my iPhone, which was actually WAY better than the remote that came with the unit. Menu is clunky and tedius. Unable to use regular Hulu, but must subscribe to Hulu Plus, for an added fee - not what the sales person at the store told me. Bummer.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls, internet browser is not so great
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sirving
from lakewood,wa
on 03/29/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great Product - Easy to use. I would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Best Blu Ray player I have owned yet!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Prodriguez32
from Kissimmee, FL
on 03/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is a great Blu Ray player. It sets up easy and the picture its displays is phenomenal.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Great player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: papasmurff
from Nort Richland Hills, TX
on 03/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
I love that it can connect to the internet to play Netflix and Pandora.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Sony quality!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: canmangolfer
from Lilburn,Ga
on 03/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Outstanding quality adds to viewing experince.
What's not so great: No negatives.
Wanted Sony Blu-ray to enhance my new Sony Bravia TV..could not be happier..
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

False specs; will not play offered video variety

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: alge
from Colorado
on 03/25/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Poor support, does not deliver capability advertised
This unit is a returner; will not play avi, wmv, and more video files whether on CD, DVD, or USB Flash. Technician non-helpful. All play perfectly on PC's, LG HDTV, and on other Blue Ray.
On line; from 2010 to this 2012 week; constant complaint on this issue for multiple Sony Blue Ray.
Sony lost it...major way.
This product has... Slow load time, don't buy
About me... Avid movie watcher, travel presentations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Untouchable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GigemKK
from College Station, TX
on 03/23/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This Blu-ray is where it's at. It has apps for netflix, pandora, etc. My brother purchased this a year ago at $225 and I just bought it recently for $99 - that is a steal. Plus it's a Sony. Untouchable for what it offers at the price I paid for it. I don't even have a 3D tv, but I was looking for a blu-ray that offered the 3D options, should I upgrade to a 3D Tv at some point. I've already recommended it to others to purchase. Can't go wrong with this! Gig "em! KK
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Very reliable blu-ray player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Buffalogirl
from Woodstock, GA
on 03/22/2012
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: There is nothing bad about this product.
I really like the quality of this player. It is worth the money. THe picture quakity when watching movies in incredible. I am very glad I made the decision to buy this player. Sony quality is definitely in this product.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sonyshopper
from temecula ca.
on 03/22/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: all above
simply great, easy to use and set up. wireless with ease.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Blu Ray/DVD 3D/wifi player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SweetieSue
from Simi Valley, CA
on 03/21/2012
What's great about it: got bargain for it
What's not so great: no comment
That's a gift to my son's b-day. He said it works beautiful and love it.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Awesome DVD wifi player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Reesie726
from Delaware
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Very easy to set up. The picture is perfect. I love being able to get NetFlix on my TV from this BluRay player!!
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Love SONY

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: famensch
from MD
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: no fiber optic audio
As with all SONY products this one is no different easy to use great picture wi-fi built in.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Great Blu - Ray Disc Player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DayNuss
from Greenboro, NC
on 03/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Low price and high performance.
What's not so great: I guess I will have to search for that, sorry.
Very easy to use Blu-Ray player. It is excellent for viewing wide ranges of videos from Wi - Fi and disc. I don't have a 3d TV ,so I can't comment on that feature.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Great intro to BluRay

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WiFiBluRay
from FQ-NOLA
on 03/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Convenient
What's not so great: So far, nothing
My first BluRay player. Have not yet used for disc but very much enjoying streaming capabilities w/Netflix, etc.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls, user-friendly
About me... Love to stream movies, love to stream tv series
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Good player for cheap

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MItchellP
from Madison, WI
on 03/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Normally this is a $199 player but I got it on sale for $116!! I had to go back and get some money as it went on sale after I bought it.
Very good player and very nice picture. Got this and a 42" LED and that is an awesome combination!
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Insignia™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
4.4 out of 5(90)
 
 
 
Boston Acoustics - 150W 2-Ch. Soundbar Speaker System with Wireless Subwoofer
3.7 out of 5(55)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Excellent product!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PackerFamily
from Tulsa, OK
on 03/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Menu reacts a little slower than expected but otherwise a great product. Integrated wi-fi is awesome.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Great product at a great price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MikeK35
from College Station, TX
on 03/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Internet content and build quality
What's not so great: Could be more user friendly
I initially bought the Panasonic DMPBDT210 but had problems with Netflix streaming and problems with the device shutting itself off for no apparent reason. Returned it and bought this Sony player. I love it. It is a little less user friendly than the Panasonic, but I got used to it pretty quickly. Runs great. Great picture. Easy to to do a firmware update.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options
About me... Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>