Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Model: E4200
SKU: 1678271
UPC: 745883590438
This router features wireless-N technology to deliver improved range while eliminating drops and up to 5.0GHz wireless frequency for fast data transfer. The 10/100/1000 Mbps Gigabit Ethernet switch allows for a wired connection of up to 4 computers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.17 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 481
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 481 reviews
5 stars
294
4 stars
90
3 stars
28
2 stars
23
1 star
46
82% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
394 out of 481
)
Customer Reviews for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
Review 1 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Great router with awesome range!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mcgill
from Concord NC
on 06/21/2013
What's great about it: speed and range
What's not so great: everything is great
Would recommend to anyone! It has great speed and range with multiple devices running together.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection, amazing range
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0540599170
My Best Buy number: 0540599170
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Buyer Beware. Short Operating Life.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Swanks
from Dothan, AL
on 08/27/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Liked the Parental Control
What's not so great: It started running slow after about 8 months. And died 8 days out of the 1yr Warranty.
I purchased the Linksys E4200 from my local Bestbuy. I have been a long time faithful user of Linksys products and i just knew that my investment would last me at least a couple years. At first, The Linksys E4200 worked great, i mean really great, i could play World of Warcraft on 3 computers, and watch a movie on Netflix while my kids played online games on the Wii with no issues. The Parental Control feature was also something that i thought was genius because if one of the kids misbehaved i could disconnect them with the click of a button. After about 8 or 9 months i noticed that my download connectivity was straining so i ran a couple tests and contacted my cable company. I was getting 15Mbps with my computer connected directly to the Cable company's modem and only 0.59Mbps with my router. It wasn't as simple as finding that out, i was stubborn and it took several tests and calls to the cable company to figure out the problem was the router mainly because the signal would come and go, in other words the problem was intermittent. I finally found the receipt and called Linksys Customer support only to find out that my 1yr warranty had expired 8 days earlier and there was nothing they would do to help me other than offer to sell me telephone customer support for $29.99 for 6 months or sell me a new product with a 10% discount. It seems to me that the Linksys company knows they made a bad product when they absolutely do not want to offer any kind of pro-rated warranty so that they could at least try to figure out what happened to the machine and possibly design new products that would not suffer from the same type of failure.
This product has... Unreliable connection, short operating life, limited customer support
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, avid gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Small home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Easiest to install and most secure router to date

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bender1981
from Williamsburg, VA
on 08/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
I live in a 3000+ sq ft home with two floors. This device is able to reach all of it and in a more secure way. Well worth the price. Installation was extremely easy to understand even for a non-IT savvy person. Buy soonest!
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Lots of problems - check the web first

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: CAHO
from St Louis, MO
on 08/09/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy setup
What's not so great: drops signal very often
I'm using this router to replace my G-band. I was expecting Linksys quality & performance but it's not there. It drops me every few minutes and bounces back. When I called linksys they informed me that my router was over 100 days old (they can see when it first came online). I only bought it 40 days ago from Best Buy. So they sold me a used product that didn't work. I'm trying to get linksys to take it back but that's a long process.
This product has... Unreliable connection, slow connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional, work from home project manager
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Returned product after failure

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: EdgarBasket
from Tucson, AZ
on 08/08/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Failed and Cisco support was no help
Might be a good product but it failed on me and Cisco online support wa not helpful. Replaced with Netgear which worked fine.
This product has... Unreliable connection, Fast connection
About me... moderately saavy computer user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Pretty Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Shenku
from Boise, ID
on 07/16/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super easy setup, decent throughput, great coverage
What's not so great: seems to need a reboot once a month
If you are looking for a wireless-N router that is super easy to setup and gives great coverage in a multi-floor house, then look no further. This is a great router in every way except one small issue. It seems to need to be rebooted about once a month, which is far to often in my opinion. It may just be my ISP, but my Xbox seems to have issues with it as well.
I use this for a home office and connect many many devices to it. It seems to take whatever I throw at it with no complaints. I have DSL connected to it and use Internet phone as well as streaming media from an in home media server. No bandwidth issues at all. That's impressive to me and worth the mild nuisance of having to reboot once in a while.
This product has... Unreliable connection, Fast connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Good upgrade from WRT54G

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jpeders10
from Rockford IL
on 07/11/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy installation and lots of features
What's not so great: I found signal range below my expectations
This is a pretty good router. I live in a 2 story brick home and it gets good signal in most rooms but for the money I was expecting a little more range in some of the corners of the house where a few bedrooms are located. The dual band is a neat feature although I myself have not been able to find a practical use for the 5 ghz band as it has limited range and 1 of my HDTVS is hardwired. When I did test it out speeds were great and HD streams beautifully. This router handles Media Streaming without skipping a beat whether it be to my tabs, phones, computers or hdtvs. The wps feature on it is a lot easier to use then my older router and have found myself using it more. There is a ton of customization you can do in the settings. Everything from having 2 sids to having a guest network. Its got some built in QOS features which give priority to certain applications like skype and netflix. Usb port has made having a home network so much more practical. Its a very aesthetically pleasing and you can turn the lights off on the Gigabit Lan ports. This is a good router and I am happy with it.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Gives good throughput for both G and N

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JJooee
from Anchorage, Alaska
on 07/11/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and use
What's not so great: nothing
This heavyweight can handle lots of devices and has a good user interface, both through Cisco Connect and a web browser. I have a small internet shop, and the router can easily handle 15 to 20 laptops -- I just wish I had greater bandwidth to push it harder. It will be around here for years.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection, blinking lights
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional, can't waste time on bad products
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Best in class!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MikeMod
from Modesto, CA
on 06/30/2012
What's great about it: Everything! Easy to install, great price
What's not so great: not a thing
I was researching all different wireless routers for quite awhile and when I ran across this Cisco Wireless Router it had everything that I needed and more. It's easy to install and load, extremely fast and the best part is that it is not expensive at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Does the job faster

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 49er
from Honolulu, HI
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: Compact and lightweight, modern design
What's not so great: Power cord too short (could be 2 feet or more longer)
This model is an improvement over the basic model Linksys I just bought late last year in that downloads are faster now but am not sure that the range has increased very much. I did notice an improvement in the range when I placed the unit about 3 feet higher on a shelf. I have an iHome AirPlay speaker that used to go on the blink (lose reception) at times while taken to the outside corner of my ground-level house. Since getting this model, reception has improved but still loses reception at times. If the power cord were a bit longer, I could raise the height by another 2 feet (without using an ugly extension cord) and the reception would likely be even better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

STAY AWAY FROM THIS ROUTER!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: billybyter
from St Johns, FL
on 06/17/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Can't maintain IP
I purchased this router over a month ago. Then - suddenly it started releasing the IP frequently. That's without me having many any changes to anything. After reviewing this issue online - it appears its' MORE than common for this model. Anyway - I though I purchased a dud so - I returned it and made the mistake of getting the exact model... and - got it home - installed it and - right out of the box this one had the same problem. I have an older wrtg54 so - I just plugged it in and - sure enough - it worked fine. So - it's most definitely the router. There are about 10 different things you can try to fix the issue online #which seem to vary for different situations# but - it would seem that they rarely work. I tried a few around Windows 7 registry settings and - another around cloning your pc's mac address on the router. Neither worked. And - quite honestly - I don't think I should have to spend hours troubleshooting an issue like this when - it's obviously the result of poor design on cisco's part. So - Tomorrow - it's going back..... I guess I'll be picking up a netgear...
This product has... Unreliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user, Technology guru, Business Professional, Video chatter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Small home
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Good signal range in a compact body

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BuckeyeJeff
from Columbus, Ohio
on 06/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Straightforward set up, slim size, no protruding antenna
What's not so great: Expensive
It's designed to lay horizontally. It would be nice if it were to come with a stand to hold the unit vertically.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged, Internet phone user, Business Professional, frequent webinar participant
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Installed easily....worked immediately

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Arturo1111
from Hudson Valley, NY
on 06/13/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy installation. More than mets my needs.
What's not so great: Nothing.
See above. Nothing else to add. Nothing else to add.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Internet phone user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Smoking!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bertitchyslash
on 06/12/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: App for phone to check stats
What's not so great: pricey
Stream multiple units with not problem! It streams even the most demanding programs easily, a must for those who have extended bandwidth.
This product has... Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large office
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Good performance, good price, easy set-up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KenSanDimas
from San Dimas, CA
on 06/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Performance & flexibility
What's not so great: Nothing
I got this dual-band wireless-N router to replace a Linksys wireless-G router. It seamlessly connects to both my G & N devices & will connect N to 5.0 and 2.4 Ghz devices. I'm using the automatic settings for both bands. I experimented with various settings, but found that the automatic settings were the best, most flexible settings (and using the same network name for both bands). Also, I find that even my old G devices connect at faster speeds than they normally did on the old router.
For the far reaches of my home interior & also outdoors on the patio, I configured my old WRT54G as a wireless extender. I benchmarked all the areas in the house & outside, and I found that the new Cisco E4200 router operating alone outperformed the extended combo.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
I use it in...:Large home
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

why did we wait so long - this is great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Carolyn1234
from California
on 06/01/2012
What's great about it: Move any where in the house and still be connected
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Best Buy installed this wireless router - now we can move around the house using all our electronic devices without any hassle - got rid of so many wires! This product is great! Waited to long to get with it!!
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Product has issues

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Steve9000
from Evanston
on 05/31/2012
What's great about it: The software was easy to use
What's not so great: The software had a bug
After reading numerous reviews on wireless routers, the 4200 came out on top in quite a few. I have red many reviews, and I must tell you, there are as many horror stories about them as love stories for them. and we are often talking about the exact same router.
One of the things that drew me to this router besides the product name was the demos and the ease of use of the software. The examples could not be more flawless in terms of ease of use. Having worked in the IT business at one time, even for an expert, diagnosing software hardware operability can be a real headache. This issue gets worst with a mixture of hardware and software.
Here is my issue with this product. I followed the instructions faithfully, installed the software. The software did an automatic software update from the internet. This is not out of the ordinary.
The problems came up, I believe after the software update. It either installed the wrong software or entered the wrong device in the designation for the router. Instead of the E4200V2, it incorrectly listed a 4500. And this was the reason the product failed. I installed it a couple of time and received the same results. I was told that I may be able to change the router designation by logging into the router from a browser. I thought well OK but if this is how the product performs right out of the box, why should I go further?
It was billed as an easy installation /software interface. For a novice, if you can’t install it then you can’t have interaction with it. I took it back and bought a Netgear WNDR 4000 – N750. No problems thus far.
This product has... Difficult setup
About me... Technology guru, Video chatter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Apartment
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

not nearly as easy as Netgear products

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jgdski
from worcester ma
on 05/30/2012
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: Tough to get setup
I had a Cisco product a while ago and it was always touchy... I bought a netgear for home and it was SO easy to install and have working on all computers and devices in no time. I figured Cisco must have improved so I gave them a try as my work travel router... What a pain in the neck. I returned almost immediately. I bought a NetGear and, again, very easy to use and no problems....
This product has... Unreliable connection, Difficult setup
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Apartment
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Works good but the signal could be stronger

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: trauts
from Aurora, CO
on 05/30/2012
What's great about it: It works better than the last one
What's not so great: Nothing
I like it but wish it had a stronger signal. It works very well.
This product has... Fast connection, Short range, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cisco - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Good coverage

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jeffo8
from Cary, NC
on 05/28/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
We bought this when our previous wireless-N router died, and it has been a big improvement. Our modem and router are in a utility closet under the stairs, and with this product I get much better speed and signal in my upstairs office than I did before. I have been happy with its performance.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>