Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Model: WF840 - C11
SKU: 1740283
UPC: 010343878785
Print, copy, scan and fax with this all-in-one printer that features built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet for easy network connections. MicroPiezo ink jet technology features droplets as small as 3 picoliters for precise printing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 41 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
36 out of 41
)
Customer Reviews for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer
  • Featured

Best home office printer.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SlayerSolo
from Dallas, TX
on 09/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I like everything about it.
What's not so great: Touchscreen isn't as "flashy" or colorful as other units but I don't care about that.
I've been using this for about 4 months. Both my wife and I have home-based businesses and one of us is taking a full course load in college. We've printed over 700 sheets of paper with text and images, frequently on both sides of the page, and I still haven't changed the initial ink cartridges that came with the printer! This was my biggest of all beefs with printers...buying ink. Yeah, buy a printer for under $100, and you will most likely be paying $60 everytime you replace the ink, which will be frequently, because that's how a manufacturer will make their $$$ on a cheap unit. Buy one that costs a little more and the savings will astonish you.
Features on this unit are astounding and reliable. I keep envelopes loaded in the first tray and letter paper in tray 2, and they hold a lot. My favorite features are the auto 2-sided print (this printer even save you $$$ on paper too!) and the fact that I can pile a stack of papers in the scanner feed tray and let the machine do all of the work, the file is loaded right onto my machine as a PDF when it's complete. Fax function works well with its own dedicated phone jack.
I don't have it setup for Wi-Fi as I typically run sensitive docs that shouldn't be broadcast by radio waves, so I have it plugged right into a USB jack. My wife can still use it from her other computer as the unit is networked through my PC.
A reviewer wrote about poor web picture quality, and I couldn't disagree more. My daughter comes running into my office wanting different pictures of Pocoyo, Caillou, Sesame Street, or whatever printed out from the web so she can hang them in her play area. They all look beautiful to me. I have yet to be disappointed with any job that I've thrown at this printer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Exactly what I needed!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: quiltingdeb
from Hogansville, GA
on 11/11/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up.
Easy to use, scanning, wireless printing, all I wanted and needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Excellent printer for home or small business

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Herb33
from San Diego, CA
on 11/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Excellent printing/scanner at exceptional value
What's not so great: I waited to long to get it.
I bought this printer as a floorroom demo. There were no boxed printers left in any of the local stores. EVen before the discount for a demo model, the price to value is exceptional. I have owned three HP office jets & or desk jets, and this printer is faster, easier to use, double sided printing, and has many more features. It is an excellent scanner, and I have a stand alone scanner. Photos are easy to print from any of our networked devices, or direct off USB, SD, MicroSD, CF, etc. The networking was easy, and we can print from all computers, and our smartphones. so far 1.5 months and still on the first print cartridges (even though they were demo). I would recommend this to anyone short of a large, heavy use business.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great all around home office printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rdmasm
from Redmond, WA
on 11/06/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This wireless printer was extremely easy to setup. The scan quality is great for regular home situations and the print speed is excellent. Software installation on all my home computers went without any problems for Win7, Vista, and XP.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Very frustrating equipment

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Droidfone
from Sidney OH
on 10/27/2011
What's great about it: concept
What's not so great: performance
I have several printing issues with this printer. It stops printing half way thru a print job creating lots of frustration, lost ink and paper. Also had problems with fax but seems to be resolved. The second paper tray is also frustrating. Should be "main tray" so you could use the top tray for envelopes etc.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Home Office all-in-one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GGBlue
from Delaware
on 10/26/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: See review
What's not so great: See Review
Positive: speed is good, and print quality is fine. Paper feed for multiple sheets is wonderful.
Negative: Concern about durability of plastic chassis; scan destination not intutitve (took me a while to locate the files on my computer.....in the My Pictures!?)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Epson Workforce 840

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jcmco
from Austin
on 10/14/2011
What's great about it: print and scan quality
What's not so great: CHEAP plastic paper output tray
This is an excellent printer. It does not use as much ink as previous Workforce products. The output is good and scan & fax work well. It has two paper trays that are easy to switch between and each hold a lot of paper. The ONLY complaint I have is with the output tray. After the pages print, they exit the printer onto a VERY FLIMSY output tray that would break in a second if you brush against it. This was a problem with previous Workforce products and if it breaks off, much of the front housing must be replaced OR you have to sit by the printer to receive output by hand. SO, just be careful with the output tray and the printer will work well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Outstanding Printer for a Home Office

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JPG
from Washington, DC
on 10/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: * Quick Setup * Easy of Use * Supplies are Reasonable * Print Quality
What's not so great: * Front Panel Monochrome
I have been a loyal HP Printer user for several years and after continual poor quality, I decided to change to the Epson 840. I brought it home, unpackged it and within minutes had the printer installed and connected to my wireless network. While I am was disappointed to see that the front panel is monochrome (the HP was color), the printer is quiet, prints fast, nice quality on all types of paper, and supplies are reasonable. Many have said that the printer is loud. If you do not select 'Quiet Print' under the Printer Options, the printer does print a bit loud. Overall very satisfied and would recommend the printer for purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Excellent All-In-One for the $$$$

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bigstick
from Fayetteville, AR
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Smooth Quiet operation
What's not so great: could be a little faster
Much smoother and quieter than similiar HP. So far(approx. 1 month) seems to meet all expectations and doesn't use too much ink. I'm still on the original XL cartridges.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Mac on the WorkForce 840

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SparkyD
from Redmond, OR
on 09/20/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast and a small footprint
What's not so great: Fastest print setting unreadable in color, functionality on Mac is slightly limited
First I want to say I am using this printer on a Mac with operating system Snow Leopard. Many of the comments about the printer communicating with Mac wirelessly are correct when using the scan function from the printer. Even when attaching a USB cable, the best the printer will do is call up the scanning window on the the Mac, which is actually not a bad thing. The controls for scanning are much more detailed on the computer than on the printer itself. All in all, I found that even though the printers intended capabilities on a PC fall short on the Mac, I have found this printer to meet my needs with very little inconvenience. I will not be returning it to the store for the Cannon MX882. Cannon works very nicely with the Mac. I chose the Epson over the Cannon because of the foot print difference. My one irritation with the WorkForce, which may be some kind of user error, is that the fastest print setting in color is worthless. It leaves the print out unreadable and thus really only deserves 3.5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Replacement printer for home office.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Macman233
from Decatur,Ms
on 09/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up good price
What's not so great: Have not found anything so far.
I had a Brother Professional inkjet printer that died on me after 6 years of heavy use. Went to Best Buy looking at all the printers trying to find a replacement . Found the Epson Workforce.Got it on sale for $169 Love it... Very easy to set up for wireless printing. Prints fast and with good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

good basic printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: customer99999
from new york new york
on 09/16/2011
What's great about it: easy to set up, works well
What's not so great: slow scanner
we've only had this a short time, but are happy with it. Good basic copier, very easy to set up. The scanning is painfully slow, so if you're a business, this isn't for you, but for occasional home use it's great. Haven't tried faxing or photo printing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great functionality, tough wiifi set up

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Michele0830
from Ny
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Printer itself functions great.
What's not so great: Wifi tough to manage
If it weren't for the fact that it keeps dumping us off wifi it would be great. Load the software and it works a few times and then it doesn't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

great all in one printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dsut
from MatamorasPA
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
nice that the ink is cheap to buy.it makes great pictures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Alright for a PC not so much a mac

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JohnDC
from Chicago
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good value
What's not so great: Not real compliant with mac OS
I have a mac and have OS Lion. I bought this printer instead of an HP mainly because it had two paper trays and was entirely wireless. I wanted a wireless printer that would wirelessly scan. Well, this one does not wirelessly scan for any mac OS 10.6 or higher. Other than that, I thought it was a good all-in-one and great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: stoneyst1
from Muskegon, MI
on 09/08/2011
What's great about it: easy to set up and great photos and color.
This all in one is great. it prints photos very nice and the color is good. Scanning is easy and the only thing we haven't tried is the fax, that comes soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Amazing - exceeded expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: putergeek007
from Waukesha, WI
on 09/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, performance, quality, features, speed, clarity, connectivity
What's not so great: Wireless setup could have been easier
My color laser had the fuser go on it and it was more expensive to fix than what I paid for the entire printer (nearly 2x). I highly rely on my printer for business and personal printing. I decided to go for a multi-function unit since it's for my home office, where I work from at least 50% of the time. The features on this unit are exceptional! I've been in IT for over 15 years and have had experience with many devices and have actually been impressed with this one.
The printing performance is great and fast. I mostly print documents and presentations that are very colorful and with a lot of technical detail and pictures. It works great for that. Customers have commented on how great they look. Having the ability to print on both sides of the paper is also great. The scanning and copying have been stellar as well. The only major function I haven't used yet is the faxing, primarily because I send or receive a fax maybe 1x a year.
Setup was pretty easy, though it may be challenging for someone who is not very technical. I'd still recommend it for them as it's well worth it. I only use it via wireless and felt the setup with wireless could have been easier. It may be due to my complex home network setup as well, so don't let that discourage you from purchasing.
In summary, I think this is a great printer and it came highly recommended by the Best Buy person I talked to at the store. I was mostly considering HP, Canon, & Epson. I've had bad experiences with Lexmark. My last printer was a Xerox color laser, which was a great printer, but decided to go for something less expensive with more features. I'm very glad I went with the Epson. I have downloaded their app for my phone and am printing from my phone and tablet to the printer as well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great printer!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JDCABRAL
from Yorktown, VA
on 08/24/2011
What's great about it: Easy to setup; multi-function
What's not so great: None
This printer is very good and easy to setup. I would have given it 5 starts, but it gave me a bit of trouble with a conflicting MAC address in my wireless setup; however, after setting a unique MAC address for it, it has worked well. EPSON brand offers my favorite printers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

Difficult to install

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Choctaw1
from Tucson, AZ USA
on 08/24/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price vs (advertised) Options
What's not so great: Installation
Over the past 30 years, I've probably owned and installed 8 to 10 printers. The 840 is my first with WiFi and without a doubt it is/has been the most difficult to get working as advertised.
I've a relatively simple application...a Dell Studio XPS desktop, Netgear N300 Router, linked via WiFi to a Dell 1700N laptop and an LG 55" Smart TV.
The installation instructions that came with the 840 are inaccurate and at times confusing....the worst I've seen, and Epson support isn't all that good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Epson WorkForce 840 Network-Ready Wireless All-In-One Printer

All you would want except for some minor flaws

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Chiefarey
from Murrieta,ca
on 08/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Stand alone all in one printer
What's not so great: Does not like to print web page pictures with quality
This is a great printer all around and has great features and is up to date with the recent technology. The thing about this printer is printing pictures off the web and web pages will come out funky. There will be distorted colored lines streaking through the pictures. I saved the picture to desktop and then printed and it seemed to work fine. Im not sure what it is that this printer does not like about the web pictures or pages it seems to not print them like it should. This is an easy to setup and if you dont know much about wireless network setup for the printer make sure you have your router information ready with the proper information which should be somewhere on the bottom of your router or you can call your ISP and they should be able to tell you the info. All in all this printer took me about 10 min to set up 5 min for the printer to do its preloading and whatever else it does to setup for actual use. The touch pad is amazing along with able to read usb flash and memory card sds straight from them without useing the computer . Its a stand alone printer and is Great for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>