Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Model: U43F-BBA6
SKU: 1773105
UPC: 884840762874
This laptop features a double-layer DVD� RW/CD-RW drive for creating customized CDs and DVDs and a built-in webcam for video chatting with family and friends. Connect to the Internet without wires using the built-in WiMAX technology (service contract required).Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about Intel� processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
81% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
25 out of 31
)
Customer Reviews for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo
Review 1 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

P.O.S laptop!!! don't blow your money.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ashmac
on 06/24/2012
I bought this laptop a year ago....I'm a college student so I figured it would be good considering it was on sale. The associate said this laptop was amazing and it will do everything I need & completely took my eyes off the Toshiba I wanted. Well, 3 months ago my computer stopped working. Take it to best buy & they tell me the hard drive went bad...really? It wasn't even a year old when that happened... it was covered under warranty so whatever I lost my laptop for a few days. I get it back and 3 days later it won't start up again. Its a joke. Save your money for a reliable laptop, not one that's gonna break every time you need it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Laptop failed in just over 1 year

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TWJOHN
from Lansdale, PA
on 06/14/2012
What's great about it: Good processor, space and RAM
What's not so great: everything else, durability of hardware
Where to start…first of all I am not new to laptops or computers and know my way around them very well. In less than 1 year the laptop was significantly overheating and shutting down. Didn’t matter where you place it to ensure the vents were not blocked or anything. When it started doing that it then failed to boot at all. After repairing the heat sync and pulling out the RAM cards and replacing the computer ran fine for a few months. It then however started acting like it did before, but the exception being the fan would kick on full force but there was absolutely no heat coming off and once again now failed to boot. It is not even two years old and I am thinking the mother board has now failed. They sell you on the fact that it has a very good processor, plenty of space and memory, etc… but the fact is, at least in my experience that the durability of the hardware is absolutely an issue. I will not buy another Asus (this model was the U43F) at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Great Value for the dollar!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DPCARRIER
from DeBary, FL
on 07/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great construction and processor speed! Cool looking wood-tone.
What's not so great: A little heavy from a road-warrior perspective.
I have never used ASUS before so I was a little apprehensive about buying. I am replacing a Sony Vaio which was stolen, and I loved my Vaio. So far this machine has been excellent. Very fast processor and it seems to breeze through my graphics-heavy powerpoint presentations. I wish it was a little lighter for its size which is why I did not give it a perfect score on convenience. My Vaio was as light as a feather. Other than that, it's a cool machine and I like the "throwback" wood-tone look to it. Very cool.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Fast processing, great display, attractive case

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Miami
on 07/16/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Display quality
What's not so great: Documentation
Does what it is supposed to do and does it very well. Display quality is outstanding. Starts up fast and has great processing speed. Documentation is rather general but adequate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

All is good except...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mw72
from Kingsport
on 07/07/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Looks and speed
What's not so great: Sensitive Mouse While Typing
I like the lapotop, size, look, keyboard, and speed of the machine. My only negative thing is the mouse is so sensitive to touch while typing. I am typing away and look up and what I have written is gone because my palms have rubbed against the mouse and everything gets messed up.. maybe its me
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Great computer for the average person

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chickwit07
from Indianapolis, Indiana
on 06/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Look, performance, and functionality.
What's not so great: Mode changes for power saving.
Since I am using this for solely personal use, this product gets almost all of the allotted stars. The only issue I have had with this computer is in the switching of the different modes (entertainment, power saver, office, etc.). I find this to be an incredibly inconvenient method for the device to save and utilize it's power options. Once it has changed itself into power saver mode it is difficult to get it to go back to normal, even when it has been plugged back in. I struggled to get it to stop doing this, and it still doesn't completely avoid this process all together.
Aside from this one issue, this is a great computer. I love the look, functionality, and performance. The bamboo exterior is absolutely gorgeous and I highly recommend this to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Terrible service - Bad Product.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Richmondagent
from Richmond, VA
on 06/14/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Service, product, warranty, durability, everything!
I bought an Asus at Best Buy based on the salesman's recommendation. It was a nightmare getting it up and running because it was right about the time Windows 7 came out. After just 18 months, the motherboard is shot. I asked how much they would charge to replace it and they will not give me an answer. I asked how long it will take and they said 2 weeks. When pushed for a price, the foreign customer service rep hung up on me. I have been disconnected many times trying to call. I am on hold as I type this and it has been 24 minutes. I will never buy an Asus again. I am back to HP!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Worst Computer & Worst Customer Service Ever!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Shopper90703
on 06/12/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
DO NOT BUY ANY ASUS PRODUCT!
I purchased a laptop for my son late last year. He started having problems with it within 3 months. When we called at that time, we were told that we had to ship it to Northern CA (we live in Southern CA) for services. Since he needed the laptop for school and the problems were not major, we decided to wait. The problems have been getting worse, and now that he's out of school, we've been calling the customer service to get it repaired.
The first time, I got disconnected 30 seconds after I started talking to the rep. The second time, I got through and was told that I would be getting an email with instructions on how to take it in for repair. The email did not come. I called again and got disconnected AGAIN! Then I was told that their system's down and cannot send out any emails.
DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT BUY ASUS!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
2out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Best in price range.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dumples
from Texarkana, TX
on 06/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast, good price for the hardware.
What's not so great: "steel" isn't stainless. finger prints= nasty.
If there is anyway possible for you to snag one of these, do it. It's one of the best laptops i've put my hands on. My complaint is the battery life on mine is pretty low, which isn't good for travel. other than that, it's awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Overall a good notebook for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: champajr
on 06/08/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Overall Performance at Price
What's not so great: Touchpad, noise
The notebook itself looks pretty good on paper, and for the most part lives up to expectation. As most people have noted, the touchpad is pretty bad - in fact, probably the worst I've used on a notebook computer. The other complaint I have is it makes a faint high pitched noise, which is really annoying to listen to all of the time. On top of that, Asus customer service has been terrible so I'm pretty much stuck with dealing with the noise. Does anybody else with this computer hear the noise?
Despite those two things, I'd still recommend this laptop to somebody that uses a USB mouse and is looking for high-performance at a cheap price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

good vaule

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: isteelerfan
from Pittsburgh
on 06/05/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's not so great: touch pad
i like my new laptop, however there are a couple things i wish were different. i wish it had lighted keys and i wish the touch pad wasn't so sensitive, even after turning sensitivity down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

The price we pay

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RetiredGil
from Carson, Ca.
on 06/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Light, fast,
What's not so great: Integration, its cons
is it too good to be true? It's brother, the U43J- is about $200 over this one in price but this has more memory. The difference that I saw in paper was their graphics card, the U43J has a separate card, while the U43F is integrated into its board. I have to return my first pick up due to inexistence of a sound device inside. The video acted up while we were looking at it on the counter of the "Geeks" for service, so they gave me a new one. Back at home, the transfer of files and cruising the net are breezes on this laptop, i am keeping this one for good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Perfect laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: findanthony
from Gerrardstown, WV
on 06/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything.
What's not so great: Nothing.
It's not as bulky as some laptops (14" vs 15.6"... It feels lighter)... The design is perfect. Some people don't like this, and that about this laptop, but I absolutely love it. The mouse not being sunken in -- great idea. It makes it look like it's a piece of actual bamboo. The silver outlay,.. everything about it is magnificent.
Value for Price- I looked at BB, Staples, Office Max, and this was by far the best bang for my buck. People say that Intel HD gfx cards aren't that good, but I can play Everquest 2 at a high level. I can search the internet and skype with people at both high levels.
Display- My old Asus, ul50v, was awesome. But as soon as I got this computer, I noticed how much this screen was improved over my old laptop. Everything looks sharp-- like it's HD.
Performance- Great, nothing at all to complain about.
I'm telling you, if you ever buy a laptop, ASUS is ALWAYS the way to go. And this laptop does NOT disappoint one bit. If you're a hardcore gamer you might want a little better graphics card, but you generally pay well over 1,000 for this type of performance and battery life in a laptop (By the way, the battery life is no lower than 3 1/2 hours, and that's with skyping the whole time).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

I really like this laptop.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ldcarls
from Mission, TX
on 05/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price for quality product.
What's not so great: Can't think of a thing. Maybe needs more USB outlets.
My grandson recommended this brand. I agree with this recommendation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Got a dud.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: gotadud
on 05/25/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: parts. price, came with a free xbox.
What's not so great: Wont work when not plugged in.
Great laptop when plugged in. Mine however shuts off when unplugged. The battery is in and is recognized by windows. It says its charging but its stuck at 87%. Tried every trick in the book to try to get it to work. It wont even power on from battery. Only when plugged in.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
6out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Great fast laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Joeysmith
from TN
on 05/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: RAM, i5
What's not so great: Touch pad takes some breaking in, price went down $50 the day after I got it
I've had this laptop for about a month now and I absolutely love it. The i5 is fast and efficient, the battery life is good, the hard drive is more than enough space, and the 6GB of RAM really helps.
The laptop doesn't have a dedicated graphics card but the Intel integrated graphics are enough to play WoW, even though this is my school computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Nice everyday laptop.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nollocs
from Lansing, MI
on 05/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Looks, price, and speed.
What's not so great: Plastic around screen and mouse pad.
I have had this computer for a month. I love the way it looks. The start and shut down time is great compaired to my old laptop with Windows Vista.
The battery life is great. When I have it unpluged and just browsing the interent I turn it to batter saver mode. It will last well over 4 hours on the battery.
I have two things I do not like about the computer. First, the black plastic around the display feels cheap. When I open the lid I feel like I am putting to much pressure on the screen. Second, the mouse pad looks like it always has fingerprints on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

One of the best laptops I've ever owned

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jeremy000
from Near Knoxville, TN
on 05/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size, style, performance, value
What's not so great: Touchpad button is stiff, it looks so nice I am constantly wiping it off because I don't want to see it dirty
First of all, I work in IT for my 9-5 job and also do IT consulting work on the side. This involves everything from upgrading memory in client's PC's to designing entire network infrastructures. I have also been a computer nerd since I was 14 years old and spent every minute of my free time using a computer, repairing a computer, or reading about computers. I'm not saying I know everything about computers because that's far from true but I have been working professionally with them for 11 years and have had a lot of laptops.
I needed a mid size laptop to replace my wonderful Acer that just didn't have enough power to do everything I wanted to do, which included running a few virtual machines using VMware. I saw this Asus and loved the bamboo but mainly bought the laptop because of the specs. I purchased this laptop a little over a week ago and got it for $649 and now I see it's went back up to $779... I'm not one bit surprised either. I couldn't find a laptop with similar specs for within $150 of this laptop. For $649 you were looking at i3's with less memory and a smaller hard drive. For $649 this thing was a STEAL and at $779 it's still a great deal and I wouldn't hesitate to buy it.
I have already upgraded the memory from 6GB to 8GB (will need it for VMware and it was only $40 for a 4GB stick of DDR3) but this thing was a powerhouse already. My old laptop was only about 2 years old and I thought it was still pretty quick but this i5 just blows my other laptop out of the water. I can go on for pages and pages because I really enjoy using this laptop but I'll try to get to the point.
The only things I can complain about with this laptop is:
**Left touchpad button is stiff... but that's ok, I started taping more and LOVE how you can use gestures so I use the "two finger scroll" and now I don't use the button anyways.
**The spot where the "invisible touchpad" is will start to look shiny compared to the rest of the palm rest because you're basically just buffing it with your finger everyday.
The keyboard is AWESOME (I was worried because I've never had one with the chiclet style keys) and not only functions great but looks really great too. Also, I bought this laptop just assuming the battery would be just like any other laptop and see 2-3 hours use but was really surprised when I read that Asus says it can do 6 hours on the battery and I have already seen around 5 hours on battery and that was with web browsing and even watching some YouTube videos.
All in all I LOVE this laptop and don't regret the purchase at all. If this one was stolen or lost I'd be buying the same thing to replace it. If you see it at $649 again DO NOT HESITATE, buy it, it's a great deal! Oh and it's got USB 3.0!!! I was getting a top end laptop for the price of a mid grade laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Very pleased

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: craztcatfguy
from killen,tx
on 05/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: quality speed
What's not so great: Only a VGA webcam
Everything about this laptop is high quality. It looks beautiful.
The I5 has two threads per core. Virtual quad core. With extreme turbo boost enabled in BIOS is runs from 2.8 to just over 3mhz
Video editing is a breeze. Intel HD graphics on chip and I am running an external monitor through HDMI.
Great purchase.
Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ASUS - Laptop / Intel� Core� i5 Processor / 14" Display / 6GB Memory / 640GB Hard Drive - Bamboo

Rock solid, best laptop I ever had

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Voymarty
from Kenosha, WI
on 04/28/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Just about everything at a 99%.
What's not so great: Intel graphic chip really kills the 100% perfection of the laptop.
I am a IT student going for computer support specialist and needed a laptop.
I bought this laptop to replace my old Toshiba single core.
I love this mid size laptop. Rock solid performance when it comes to school and multi tasking perfect for Business and collage.
Just about everything about this laptop is perfect like the i5 processor, hard drive space, six gigs of ram and battery life and as well as the size and weight of the laptop, I love the way it looks it's a fresh and unique design and very little heating on this laptop.
I only wish that this laptop would have come with a better graphics chip because of the price is a bit high but other than that its a great slick laptop.
I don't know what other people think about this laptop but other than being a rock solid laptop for business and collage it does good gaming for its class of laptop.
I play COH, Warcraft, BFB2, halo 2, Brothers in arms Hells highway and some racing games, and other games on low to mid graphic settings and get around 35 to 60 fps , So this laptop can do gaming on the fact that it has a quad core processor and six gigs of ram so much of the power comes from the processor and ram but not much the Intel graphics chip sadly and if you can buy a faster hard drive that helps a lot since the hard drive speed on this laptop is like 5400 rpm but it's still good.
People who do hard core gaming (DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP) this is a light to mid gaming and heavy work laptop ONLY.
P.s I did professional tweaking on the Windows 7 Os that came with this laptop for better performance on gaming .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>