Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Model: 2311x
SKU: 1807039
UPC: 885631750360
This monitor features a 3,000,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio and 5 ms response time for clear, detailed images. The 250 cd/m� brightness helps ensure that your movies, games and graphics come to life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 158 reviews
5 stars
118
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
9
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
144 out of 158
)
Customer Reviews for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
Review 1 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
  • Featured

great monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cdgv
from Plano, Texas
on 01/06/2012
Needed this monitor for work to hook up my laptop with a small 13" screen. Monitor settings easy to adjust and pedestal adjusts. Very nice and no complaints.
This product has... Easy to setup
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Outstanding...one of my best purchases ever!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SLE2
from Manassas, VA
on 09/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Beautiful display, easy to set up, DVI and VGA cables included
What's not so great: Weight a little too light
I purchased this monitor on clearance over the weekend and must say that I don't believe I've been more pleased with a technology purchase. I'm using it in a dual screen setup with a three-year old 22" monitor (with which I have been quite pleased) and the difference between the two screens is like night and day. The colors are very true and really pop out at you...for example, the whites have no trace of gray (I tried and tried to replicate the colors by adjusting the RGB settings on my old monitor, but to no avail).
Setup was also incredibly easy and the included VGA and DVI cables were a plus, as my other monitor only came with VGA, despite having a DVI port. It also has HDMI cables, so I guess it could also be used with a cable or satellite box, but I haven't tried it as a "TV" yet. The buttons are also conveniently located and clearly marked at the bottom right of the cabinet, and although I didn't use the menu structure much, the menus I did use seemed to flow logically.
Only three very minor shortcomings, which led me to mark design as "good." First, the 2311x does not have sound, which is OK. Most slimline monitors don't have room for quality speakers and amplifiers, so anyone who purchases a monitor of this quality will want external speakers anyway. Second, although the screen pivots, the height is not adjustable, so I had to work a little magic to get the two monitors at the same height. Third, and this may be important, the monitor is extremely light (which makes it easy to carry from room to room. However, the light base makes it top heavy. The part of my desk where I have my monitors backs up to a wall, but if it faced forward in a room with a lot of activity, I would be very apprehensive about mounting it out in the open because of its "tipsiness."
Again, these are three minor nits that in no way detract from the quality of an outstanding product. Even better, I purchased it over the phone from the Manassas, Virginia store after seeing it in the store site under the "clearance center" section. I bought it for approx $100 less than it's listed on the site. I didn't realize this site feature existed until this weekend, and would recommend that everybody check it out under "store locator" to find some incredible deals. Most stores have different prices for the same items, so if you're in an area with multiple stores, check many of them out for expensive items.
Props also to the Manassas store, especially Rob who retrieved the monitor from stock based on a phone call and had it waiting for me when I arrived, and Alea at customer service, who was very pleasant and helpful in arranging a price match from another store's clearance stock.
All in all a great monitor and a very pleasant purchase experience.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Dual monitors user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Excellent all around monitor!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JustinS4NE
from South NJ
on 09/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Affordable, great resolution/quality, sleek design.
What's not so great: Only 1 HDMI input
I've got a MacBook Pro notebook computer and was looking to get an additional monitor for more workspace. I really liked the apple branded monitors but feel they are WAY overpriced for just a monitor. Most apple products are but I could not justify spending close to $600-700 only on a screen. I came across this monitor in one of the Best Buy stores as a package with a PC tower, and the sales associate informed me I could buy the monitor by itself which definitely interested me. These HP branded monitors looked better than any other displays in the store, it was on the larger size at 23" but they had a 27" that I almost bought instead, but this particular monitor was on sale for $160! I could not pass up that deal, it was $60 cheaper than the regular price and the 27" monitor wasn't on sale and was listed for $300. Not to mention hundreds cheaper than the apple monitors... Overall my in store experience was a very good one, and after having this monitor for around a year I am still very happy with it. It works very well as a dual monitor for my notebook, I also use it as a gaming monitor for my Xbox 360 since it is more responsive for online gameplay over a regular LCD television. I would even go so far as to say this display would make a good tv replacement altogether if you're using a cable box from Comcast or verizon that's HDMI. It goes really well with my Logitech computer speakers. Only complaint is that there's only one input per input type (HDMI, VGA, etc.). I've got the laptop hooked up via VGA and Xbox through the HDMI so it worked well but a second HDMI port would be nice. All in all it's a great monitor, if I had some spare cash I would consider getting one or two more so I could have 3 total to wrap around my desk. Talk about a multitasking command center! Haha
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Student, Dual monitors user, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

LOVE, LOVE LOVE this screen!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dirtyfoot
from Bloomington, Indiana
on 07/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is large enough I do not need my "readers" anymore.
What's not so great: So far I love everything about it. It shows dust easy - but they all do...
This is the best screen we have ever had. Not only is it large, it is a nice thin model that doesn't take up the entire desk. The colors and graphics on it are great, everything is so clear and pretty.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, proud grandparents
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Perfect size and great price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SilverEagle1956
from Harrison City, PA
on 06/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price and size
What's not so great: nothing
I bought this as part of a package for my mother who was in need of a better computer. She has nothing but praise to say for the whole deal.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Parent with kids, Technology guru/developer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Great overall monitor/great image quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: WriteReviseEdit
from Rochester, NY
on 06/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice sized monitor...bigger than I anticipated and I'm happy about that since I actually sized down from an LCD-TV.
What's not so great: Using the buttons isn't terribly intuitive & the on/off button needs a good push.
Overall, this is a great monitor with great image quality. I don't find the menu buttons to be terribly intuitive and sometimes have to push the on/off button more forcefully than the one on my last monitor for it to be effective. Those are somewhat minor concerns, but may be important to someone else. Certainly, I have NOT spent time reading the accompanying literature so there's a margin for user error there. This monitor appears larger than I anticipated and I'm very happy about that. I was previously using an LCD-TV as my monitor, so you can imagine that size matters to me. I'd buy this package again and LOVE anything HP. My last computer combo was HP, as well, and lasted me (7+) years through daily, ongoing business use. The frame is very high gloss, btw.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, not sure about hdmi connection so didn't check it, good size for side-by-side doc comparison
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

GOOD MONITOR FOR THE PRICE

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GRAPHICSJUNKIE
from ANAHEIM, CA
on 05/26/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
THE MONITOR IS AVERAGE. WOULD LIKE TO SEE SPEAKERS ON THE MONITOR. IT IS SATISFACTORY FOR MY PURPOSE AT THIS TIME.
This product has... Difficult to adjust/use buttons, No speakers
About me... retired home crafter
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Great PC monitor.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Blasterman
from Corinth, TX
on 05/25/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fantastic color and resolution.
If you want an easy-to-set-up LCD wide-screen monitor with great color and resolution, this is the one for you.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, HDMI connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Great so far

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Josh1770
on 05/02/2012
No significant complaints so far. If I had to come up with one, it would be its weight. While not a deal breaker, the monitor shakes a bit as I move things on my desk. Not terribly heavy or stable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Am very happy with the purchase.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Heddie
from Canyon Lake
on 04/25/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sleek finish, easy on the eyes to see and to work with all day.
What's not so great: I'm not picky.
This is not the sleek, reflective screen I thought I wanted, but now think it's the better choice for my office situation. It was super-easy to install, with adequate choice of hook-up needs right in the box. I am running XP with no down-side.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Great for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LvlLaw
from Louisville, KY
on 04/22/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great picture
What's not so great: Auto power sve
This monitor is great especially at the price. Great picture. Great features
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Just what we wanted

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: THow
from Louisiana
on 04/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality & looks
This monitor was offered as a combo with a PC we had been looking at. Great combo price & pleased with performance.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Screen is crystal clear and no glare

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TexasDan
from Denver, CO
on 04/18/2012
What's great about it: This monitor was a good price and is perfect for a dual monitor for my laptop. Set up was almost automatic.
This monitor works well as a dual monitor for my laptop. The screen is very easy on the eyes and no glare. I am regularly on call at home and I use this for hours at a time during long night time sessions.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, HDMI connection
About me... Technology guru/developer, Dual monitors user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Nice big screen

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kittylady
from Van Nuys, CA
on 04/12/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is east to set up, and start going.
What's not so great: It does not have an adaptor or HMDI cord for sound
I am still trying to learn all about this monitor. I love the size and clarity.
Wish it had the adaptor or HDMI cable for the sound. I had to use my old speakers with it. It still sounds good!
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, needs a hdmi cable with it, a great size!
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Photo/video enthusiast, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Excellent color and sharpness

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: alanago
from Redondo Beach, CA
on 04/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 1920x1080, LED
I use it as a second monitor attached to my macbook pro for editing HD video. Also great for working on multiple program windows. I spend hours editing code and using graphics programs and the monitor does not give me eye strain or fatigue. Sharpness of text and details are excellent. Actually looks better than my laptop screen. I wish it was higher than 60Hz but I'm not getting fatigue like my 60Hz lcd at work.
This product has... HDMI connection
About me... Photo/video enthusiast, Technology guru/developer, Dual monitors user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Great monitor, perfect size for my space

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KLeen
from Capitol Heights, MD
on 04/11/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Design
What's not so great: Does not tilt
Love this monitor, coming from the big bulky monitor, this one is perfect. Easy to set up and read. Speakers were not included so I used the ones from my last computer.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers
About me... Computer technology challenged, Dual monitors user, grandparent
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Great picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JDawg99
from Grand Forks, ND
on 04/07/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to install and set up
What's not so great: Not wall mountable
I purchased two of these monitors and am doubly pleased with them. I am using a NVIDIA GeForce Gtx 550 Ti graphics card with dual DVI to HDMI convertors and 13.0/gbs HDMI cables. The crispness and clarity of the picture is amazing with all the built in picture settings and the ability to customize your own.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, HDMI connection
About me... Photo/video enthusiast, Parent with kids, Student, Dual monitors user, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Great Monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mus1cl
from Valrico, FL
on 04/05/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
We purchased this monitor after the one that was recommended to us by a Best Buy email drove us crazy. This HP 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor does everything we need it to and more. Excellent buy for the money.
This product has... Easy to setup, HDMI connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Might have some issues

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ANY1976
from Ontario, CA
on 04/05/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's not so great: Issues after a few months
I've had this monitor for 5 months and it was decent until it started acting up. Turned on my PC and all I got was a bright white screen. I turned off, unplugged monitor and when I plugged it back in all I had was a bright white screen. Went on HP website to trouble shoot problem and couldn't fix issue. I found a blog online regarding the same issue other users encountered with this monitor and the 2 solutions were turn the upside down or hit the back of the monitor. Hitting the back of monitor worked for me, I called HP support to report the issue and they tried telling me the issue was with my tower, after 20 minutes I told them I wanted escalated support and again the person tried to convince me it was my tower. After telling the guy if it is the tower why does the image come back when I hit the back of the monitor? He finally said fine it seems to be an issue with monitor so we'll replace it since it's within 1 year or purchasing. Waiting on my replacement now.
So if you buy this monitor and encounter same issue don't let HP tell you anything different, monitor is faulty and it's a known issue with this monitor.
About me... Dual monitors user, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

great looking monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hugotjmx
from san ysidro
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: easy to set up, good price
I find the quality excellent and the screen is huge!!
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>