Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Model: QX410-S02
SKU: 1813058
UPC: 036725726598
This laptop features wireless networking and WiMAX capability for connecting to the Internet without wires. The built-in 0.3MP webcam and 14" high-definition display allow video chatting with family and friends, while NVIDIA GeForce 310M graphics with NVIDIA Optimus Technology deliver a rich visual experience. Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about the Samsung series.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.Learn more about NVIDIA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 55 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
0
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
49 out of 55
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver
Review 1 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

The quality is alright, but it does have problems!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: laker0453
from long beach ca
on 04/20/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: MOUSEPAD
I would not recommend this computer just because the mouspad is horrible! It makes this browsing a pain. I just bought the computer earlier today and I plan on returning it tomorrow morning. If you're thinking about getting it, don't! Mouspad is way too touchy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-34points
4out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Horrible Samsung support; touchpad needs work

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: tuj28
from Loa Angeles, CA
on 02/14/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Display, aluminum body
What's not so great: Non-existent mfr support
You must disable tap to click on this touchpad; it is so sensitive it will click if your finger hovers over the pad.You can't do it on the Windows mouse control panel and Samsung support could not tell me how to do it and has no web info on it; a salesperson in Costco (and I didn't even buy it there) showed me how to find the Elan driver to reset the pad. You can't even register this product on the Samsung website because the model number doesn't exist on the site and you can't proceed without it. Samsung auto update notified me of an urgent NVIDIA driver update and then froze my pc when it tried to download it. Samsung is a good TV company; Not ready for prime time in the PC area.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-31points
10out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Solid Laptop but Trackpad...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: huang
from Fairfax, VA
on 07/14/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price and overall
What's not so great: Trackpad
Overall, you get a pretty good product for the deal you're paying. The screen is of great quality (as all Samsung should be). The processor is fast. The only complaint is that the Trackpad isn't as user friendly as I would have hoped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Good, but will need to be replaced

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: RoEoVoIoEoW
from San Francisco
on 04/04/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Bright screen, lightweight, battery life
What's not so great: Lower resolution, poor keyboard
I am happy with it but there is a problem with the keyboard in that some of the keys do not work properly unless pressed dead center and really hard, making touch typing impossible. It is really good in other respects and otherwise seems reasonably well built. I will return this one and get a new one because I think it deserves a second chance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Only has ONE (1) USB port !!!!!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Crimsun
from Dallas, TX
on 04/03/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Everything else!
What's not so great: ONE (1) USB port !
I bought this laptop a few days ago and I am returning it today. It has only ONE (1) USB port, yes, the website is wrong. It lists that there are 3 USB ports, however, it is completely wrong.
Not only did I see only one USB port, but because of my shock (who would make a laptop like that?!?!?) I went to Samsung.com and "chatted" with a technician about it. He replied yes, it was created with only 1 USB port.
For all of its other great features, that is a negative I can't live with. The Samsung QX410-J01 says it has 3 USB ports and I am going to see if it actually does. Maybe I'll buy that one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-54points
2out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

All show....

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Nickname1000
from Wisconsin
on 03/05/2011
I can't believe the great reviews this laptop is getting. Yes, it looks great, it's fast, etc BUT...the display! My god, are you serious? Everyone says that Samsung is new at making computers...true, but NOT displays. The screen on this is washed out. No matter what I do, gamma correction, brightness, color balance, etc, I cannot get this display to look good. It appears that maybe it's a contrast issue. l see better screens on laptops costing half as much...and can tweak them to be look even better. In addition, the screen is so reflective it's nearly impossible to look at it comfortably except in low light conditions. Why are so many manufactures going with this design...it's pointless.
For $800 I'd expect a much better display than this one...it's too bad because there's so much right with this laptop...but I'll be looking at the screen pretty much 100% of the time - not the nice aesthetics. Samsung - improve the display and you will have a winner hand's down!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Above average windows laptop

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: fishfuzzy
from Janesville, WI
on 03/03/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: good if you like windows
What's not so great: windows in general
Pretty decent computer as far as windows pcs go... I got frustrated with windows in general and took this one back for a mac. Won't go back to windows ever again. If you want my advice spend the extra cash and get a mac. They just work, period. Worth the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-44points
3out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Not quite!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Santa Cruz
on 01/31/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: attractive, lovely keyboard, and a lot of gestures in the right directions.
What's not so great: not quite there.
I was so EXCITED to purchase this laptop. 2 weeks ago I was somehow lucky enough to walk away with the RV511 (a little earlier than I was supposed to I think) - which I absolutely loved (5 out of 5 stars), but after hours of agonizing I decided that I would take it back for this model (under the assumption that it would be lovely in all of the ways that the RV511 was, but with a slightly sleeker design, .5 less lbs, a faster processor and longer battery life - all of which I was happy to pay the $200 extra for).
However, it was a bad decision, not horrible, but a poor move that will soon be rectified - this computer is louder (odd, I know - the other machine was audible with a disk in the drive, but pretty tight lipped and no vibration when it was just running), the battery life is not stunningly longer (the RV511 was billed as 3hrs, but I found that it lasted at least 4 and the QX410 S02 has not done too much better than that). The QX also weighs .5 lbs less, but feels heavier (odd, I know) and is much less user friendly - I found myself admiring the touchpad of the RV511 almost unconsciously, and cursing aloud the fickle jumps and zooms of the cursor on the QX. I must say that the keyboards of both are dreamy and the QX is definitely sexier by leaps and bounds, but the RV511 wasn't harsh on the eyes - just a little bigger and bulkier, but I should have known from personal experience not to hold that against it. I find that for all of its power the QX does not run day to day tasks faster than the RV511, and in fact they sometimes take longer. I must say though that it is possible that I received a dud - the free anti-virus software that I received from Best Buy took at least an hour if not more to load ... which was "troubling." I would have taken it back immediately, but nothing is noticeably broken or inoperable and I keep on hoping that this is just a rough adjustment period. That being said, if anyone is on the fence about the cheaper model - don't be, if you aren't going to use the i5 for any particularly i5y things (which I am not, I'm just a sucker for hot looks and bling) then the i3 will serve you loyally ... and treat her well.
Dear Samsung - I have a lot of faith in your company and I think that you are making a lot of good decisions and responding to the needs of the non-macbook public (those of us loyal to pc and those of us who can't afford a $1900 computer when they would find more benefit in a $1900 car), but things aren't quite where they should be yet. At least get this darn touchpad to work as well as it looks - or maybe drop the macbook aspiration and just stick to buttons.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Samsung - Laptop / Intel� Core� i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive - Silver
4.5 out of 5(160)
 
 
 
Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Aluminum
4.4 out of 5(110)
 
 
 
Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver
4.5 out of 5(55)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
20out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

great for portability

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: agreatcloud
from auburn, al
on 07/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: lightweight, good price, key board has easy layout
What's not so great: picture is not as crisp as I had hoped, touch pad
I'm a recent graduate of a graduate program in landscape architecture and this computer has worked much better than my previous Dell Studio which randomly shut down every other day. I use autocad, GIS, Adobe, Word, sketchup and it runs the programs well. The touch pad requires you to press down extremely hard in order to select and scroll through something. You can resolve this by purchasing a mouse, which is much easier anyway while using these programs. I usually use the pc's in the office however this has the capability of allowing me to work while I'm out of the office.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Comfortable with technology, recent graduate, free lance work
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Mostly Awesome

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Schooliscool
from Ohio
on 07/07/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: clarity, Windows 7, speed, easy to use, graphics
What's not so great: track pad
I've had this computer for a few months now. I use it mostly for school work and it works fine. My only complaint would be the track pad takes a little getting used to. I bought a wireless mouse to go with it, and usually I just use that. The track pad is fine, but it's really touchy and sometimes it doesn't register clicking. Overall though, I wouldn't say that that should be a determining factor. It's really not that bad and the computer is great. It's really fast and the graphics are great! The WiFi is easy to turn on and off, and the volume is easy to control with the buttons near the screen. I would recommend this computer to any students needing it for school, or anyone at home looking for a good laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Logitech - Marathon Wireless Mouse M705
4.4 out of 5(160)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

I am very happy with this computer.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Noche70
from Florida
on 05/26/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I am very happy with this computer. Small and compact but very powerful
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Overall a great laptop!!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Fjacob
from Sugar Land, TX
on 05/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease of setup, Recovery disk, faster performance
What's not so great: Built-in battery, Display can be better, Hidden USB ports.
I have bought this laptop as an exchange item to the Sony - VPCEA46FM/W which i bought a week ago. Sony was very slow with the media gallery running on it. Overall i like this laptop a lot better than the Sony, except the display. Sony, even though it didn't have the dedicated memory for graphix, the videos and photos looked better.I haven't changed the default settings for graphix card yet, but i will try that option. However, the ease of setup and overall performance this laptop is a lot better than the similarly priced Sony (Sony is $20 more but only has i3 processor). I am not sure about the USB/HDMI ports with the door, because i find it a little annoying to open the door everytime i have to plug in a second USB device. Also, i am not happy with the built-in battery, and to me it is a simple business trick from Samsung to make some money to get the battery replaced thru a service center.
Overall i am happy with this laptop and i am going to keep this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

CORRECTION - hidden USB ports !!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CRIMSUN2
from DALLAS, TX
on 04/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Everything sounds great so far
Oops! Since Best Buy could not fix my first post ( CRIMSUN from Dallas, TX on 04/03/2011 ), I am re-posting.
Samsung support representative "Arnold" (whom I chatted online with) was incorrect, there are THREE (3) USB ports: 1 easily seen on the side and 2 inside a door (?) on the side along with the HDMI slot.
Now, I will actually use this laptop computer since I can plug in my wireless keyboard, mouse, headphones, etc. and see if it's what I want!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Overall Solid Buy - Great Price to Performance

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MattFromMN
from Minnesota
on 03/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Discrete graphics, Core i5, Price to Performance, Sharp looking
What's not so great: Touch pad leave something to be desired
I've had a chance to use this computer for two days now and overall am very satisfied. It is a fairly powerful and fast machine. Not quite as fast as my overclocked core 2 quad q6600 desktop PC, but it can handle any internet surfing, movies and multitasking you can through at it. I was also pleased to find it does play Fifa 11 on high settings just fine, something that will help pass the time on long flights. Battery life does seem to be about 6 hours for normal internet & email type use and about half that if you're gaming and using the nVidia graphics card.
It also is an almost silent computer with little to no fan noise. The computer can get a little warm on you lap, but a book or pad takes care of that issue
The one negative I do have is the touch pad. It's finicky and can be an annoyance. I use an external mouse so no big deal, but it is an issue that should be noted to future buyers.
Overall I would recommend this computer to anyone who wants a sharp looking computer with the power to handle all business applications and moderate gaming with good battery life to get you through (most of) the day
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Best value in its price range right now

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ldd233
from New York, NY
on 03/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, weight, battery, overall quality
What's not so great: Screen, touchpad
Unbelievable laptop for the price. The two negatives are the graphics (passable but not great) and the touchpad (wonky and takes some getting used to).
But you at this price you are going to have to sacrifice somewhere, and I knew about these going in. They are both minor enough. The rest of the computer is great. Great processor and memory, lightweight, great battery and sleek to look at.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Solid choice

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Placcy
from SF Bay Area, CA
on 02/19/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Owned for a couple months or so. No complaints at all really. Its not an Alienware, but its far cheaper also. I don't game on it, and its fine for everything else. CPU one of strongest available currently, and 4gb ram is plenty. Only thing you could upgrade to make it better is a SSD drive. Overall a solid buy, I don't plan to return it at this point.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

First week with this laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Hottamale
from Santa Ana,CA
on 02/13/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Level of user moderate.
First look look keybaoard and silver metallic interface looks promising. After some time the key pards are gentle and do not give make too much noise but very nice feel. Separate volume controls: a pair near the screen the other udsing Fkey to right side.The keyboard is not back lit so you will have to make due.
Out of the box set up was a breeze as it connected to my wifi within minutes. Start up was quick and without delay. The computer comes with limited bloatware and the usual trial office suite.
As I have had Dells and Toshiba's in the past one of the big things that I wanted was the realiabilty of the webcam. My Toshiba suffered from this. One I connnected with msn msng I I noticed the camera was crisp and came with a fun package to playaround with an add some basic smiles etc.
The sound quality is great as you will find the speakers up near the display. However it beat my Toshiba hands down.
The computer comes with3 USB ports three to the left under a cheap plastic cover and a another port to the right. The computer does come with audio and headphones jacks to the left as well as a SD card reader to the right side.
The screen as I look at is very nice as there isn't any black around the edgesColors aren't brilliant like in the stores because they are usually at full intensity to catch the customer eye.
The power plugs in near the 2 usb ports to the left and HDMI port and you will find the vga port and network cable connector.
I will be updating my review in a while as I see it perform its movements and then durability as this will be the real test.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Great Laptop for Daily Use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: krishnat
from Washington DC
on 07/20/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Display
What's not so great: None
Great Display, sleek body.
Look the Samsung sleep feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Great computer for a internet surfer and student.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Internetsurferil
from Illinois
on 06/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: perfomance
What's not so great: I didn't find nothing yet
I like it because it does the job. The screen is really bright. It has enough memory for all my files.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i5 Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Silver

Great Laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zhou
from Minnesota
on 05/29/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great performance and easy to carry,
What's not so great: Mousepad
I brought this computer a month ago and i must say that I am quite satisfied with it. It delivers great performance and the gaming experience isn't too bad either. However, like all things, it also have some flaws. Although it is claimed that the battery life can last up to seven hours, it only lasted approximately 4 hours for me before all the battery ran out (and I wasn't gaming, watching HD video or any of that sort). The mouse pad isn't too sensitive either. Other than that however, it runs great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>