Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Model: RC512-S01
SKU: 1814048
UPC: 036725726581
This laptop features wireless networking and WiMAX capability for connecting to the Internet without wires. The double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive allows you to create customized CDs and DVDs.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 13
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite
Review 1 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Excellent!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: csr1030
from orlando
on 03/04/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Processing is fast and the boot up was much faster
What's not so great: don't know yet
This PC is fast & works great! I have no complaints at least not yet because I've only owned this for 1 month. Even though this is a 64x, I had no trouble loading many old programs, too. This was my biggest concern become I would of needed to spend about $2000 to replace some of the software. The battery is awesome too. Again, I have no complaints but the real test is will it works for two years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Awesome Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: N8Dub
from Alaska
on 03/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nearly impossible to slow down regardless of how many applications you run
What's not so great: Blu Ray player is only 60hertz not 120
This computer is probably the best investment I have ever made. It's definately worth the price. Looks great and works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Great, With one problem s far...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KennyWILDCAT
from Durham, NH
on 01/31/2011
Background:
Mechanical Engineer, Senior year of college.
Experienced in building tower pc's.
Many hours of gaming and heavy programing.
Overview:
Great laptop, performs its job at the limit without scaring you. The laptop size is ideal, meaning its 15.6' with a FULL KEYBOARD. Its relatively difficult to find these two options together, plus all the goodies under the hood. It's very convenient to go to a Bestbuy and pick one up rather than spend hours online looking for one and waiting for it to ship, or build one online and wait for it to ship (i've done all this). Its not heavy at all, considering all the hardware. People complain about the screen being cheap because its only 1366x768. True,most companies will use a 1366x768 screen knowing that most consumers do not know that there can be a higher resolution. I can't tell the difference, so this is not a negative for me, plus, this screen is bright! Theres also no need for a higher resolution on this relatively small screen.
Specs that Bestbuy does not make specific:
1.) LATEST i7 Processor, 2.0GHz, 6Mb L3 cache
(2nd generation Sandy Bridge....google it "i7 intel wiki")
2.) 6GB Ram PC310700 (667MHz)
3.) nVidia Geforce GT 525M (i think its second to last, of the newest micro cards, but its good!)
4.) Hard drive is 5400 rpm. You can easily swap it out for a faster 7200rpm one by purchasing a 2.5" hard drive enclosure and using either Ghost by Norton or Acronis.
Uses:
CAD modeling (Solidworks 2010)
Labview and various other National Instruments Programs
Matlab
Latest PC Games (i.e Dead Space 2 on highest settings)
Microsoft Office 2010
Photoshop
Skype (Very decent camera!)
Video processing
Playing High res. movies (output to TV on HDMI without an issue)
.......and on and on......
Conclusion:
1.) OK price (was very convenient though to pick one up from Bestbuy...)
2.) Great spec for this size of a laptop. did i mention the full keyboard?!
3.) Super light for all the hardware its carrying.
4.) Runs ultra cool and has no fan noise, considering its an i7. maybe because its a second generation....but i place my hand in front of the fan all the time and it blows cool air(except for heavy duty gaming and programing of course).
5.) Battery life is good, for all the powerfull hardware.
6.) Speakers are nice, not top notch, but nice.
Just bought it a week ago, wish i could post more, but it just came out!
NOTE: Other companies will be coming out with laptops similar to this as to compete with it....maybe 2-3months? Sony, I believe is coming out with a new F series this summer? I can't wait, technology grows exponentially.
O, and i can't find this model on the samsung website (because its so new?). I accidentally deleted a program that came with the laptop and would love to recover it without recovering the pc...so if anyone knows where i can get any of the pre-installed programs, that would be great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

top notch

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: immortalmyth
on 01/31/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: one thing it could have is a backlit keyboard but that would waste precious battery life
This laptop is beast and can actually keep up with all the multitasking I do with graphic design. I run multiple programs that take alot out of my previous computers but this one takes it like a champ. It runs smoothly and I havent had ANY problems.
The design of this laptop is also a plus. Its stealth design and light weight make it all the more better. The raised keys are a plus. Good sound. Great battery life for the performance.
All around Great buy and I am satisfied
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Good laptop hurt by oddly overlooked issues

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Clownzilla
from MO
on 01/31/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Solid build, good performance, good price point.
What's not so great: Broken Windows update out of the box. No Samsung.com support page yet.
Let me start by saying that this is a GREAT laptop with a nice set of features and a good price point, The build quality is good, the performance is solid, and the price is great for what you get. Why would I possibly give this laptop 3 stars?
Well, first the windows update DOES NOT work out of the box. You can fix it by disabling the update service (in the administrative tools section), erasing some preloaded update files, restarting the update service, then restarting your computer (the exact directions are on the web). The windows auto-fix does not work to fix this issue but since Samsung caused this problem then it's not Microsoft's fault.
Second, this laptop does not have a support page on Samsung.com. The support page should be up the day the product is released. This product has been out for a few weeks now and still no support page.
Is three stars harsh with only 2 complaints? Absolutely not! These are problems that should of EASILY been remedied before release. In a market with heavy competition (many of which don't have these simple problems) a company like Samsung needs to get on the ball and make sure their customers don't get a product that has these blatantly obvious, easily fixable issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Fastest processor out there right now

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jessbond007
from Mckinney, TX
on 01/30/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Top of the line technology
What's not so great: Touchpad sensitivity could be a little better
Works great, good price and main thing is 750GB ram and i7 processor. Couldn't be better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Very Good for early 2nd Gen Intel Model

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HowardHC
from California
on 01/30/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Processor speed, dedicated graphics card, battery life
What's not so great: 5400RPM hard drive and going through the steps to make everything function properly.
This is a very high performance laptop, and it works great for both my work and gaming. I had some problems with Windows Update, Graphics card driver, and the power settings. These were easily fixed with FAQs online since they are software, and not hardware problems.
Go to the Samsung program called Fast Start and TURN IT OFF. Then you can change your power settings (closing lid, power button etc) as you like.
Go to Device Manager and uninstall the NVIDIA driver, and then re-install it using the Samsung Support Center. You can do this by checking off the "graphics driver" to install it again.
Windows Update fix - Go to Start and type in "services.msc" in the search box (without the quotes). Find Windows Update, right click it, and click stop. Go to C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\ and delete everything in there. Go back to services.msc as you did in step one, and turn Windows Update back on. It will run fine.
Other than those issues. this computer runs very nicely. The computer has 4 cores, and runs 8 threads! The video card is top of the line, and runs great with Starcraft II.
For a machine running high end hardware, it has very good battery life. My previous laptops would only run half or even less the time this battery can run.
The 5400RPM hard drive is a bit disappointing, but it does save some power. Just upgrade your hard drive if you can't stand the loading time (it really isn't that bad).
Overall, a very good laptop. High performance with the newest technology installed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Good fast laptop with a fixable bug

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SmugBoy
from Chicago, IL
on 01/29/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: simple, lightweight, and powerful
What's not so great: Windows update fails immediately but fixable
I like this computer a lot, simple, lightweight, and powerful. Samsung is new in the industry and are creating some very nice laptops, this was my second Samsung. Keyboard takes some getting used to
Windows Update issue was easily resolved by Googling
http://helpdeskgeek.com/windows-7/cannot-run-windows-update-on-a-windows-7-pc/
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Pile of junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DustinL
from Orlando, FL
on 01/29/2011
What's great about it: 8 cores
What's not so great: 8 cores are useless if Samsung cant script a simple windows load
As previously posted I too can not run windows updates, but Microsofts FIX IT, cant fix it either.
Also can not enable hibernation
Also can not change "Closing the lid" power option,
Then created my own power plan, still cannot change that setting from anything other than sleep.
I get, your power plan isnt available, then windows tries to help but
windows too is helpless resolving this issue.
and finally the kicker go to samsung.com for support
NP-RC512 isnt a valid model number, ok then contact chat support
and they cant find it either, and are unable to assist.
They even asked me if I bought it in the US, I said I did, and sent them
a link to it on Bestbuy. but they cant access outside websites. LOL yeah dont give your support desk the ability to search WWW for answers. HOW STUPID
So I have a $1200 DOLLAR pile of junk
DO NOT BUY!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-24points
2out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Nice everything.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bwandin
from Rocklin, CA
on 01/27/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Screen Brightness, USB locations, Power Cord Location, Overall Design, Discrete Graphics, Processor, among others
What's not so great: No Backlit Keyboard, Bloatware, Bad sound quality at higher volumes, Strange Error
I had purchased this laptop around 2 weeks ago (not too sure the guys at BB were supposed to give it to as they said they had got in the warehouse 2 hours earlier.haha) , after I had just went through my 4th broken laptop in a month. (I must have REALLY bad luck with these things.) I had gone from 2 of the G73JH, to two of the Sony Vaio of the same price (didn't have it long it long enough to even remember the full name).
Among these three laptops I would have to say this one is my overall favorite.
--It may not have the best graphics card of them all, but the discrete graphics is still really nice for specific video games. (If you don't know what a discrete card is, it is a Video Card that is only used for certain programs that you choose.) There is an integrated Intel HD graphics card thing, and the NVIDIA GeForce GT 525M is the Discrete card.
---------You may have a few problems with the NVIDIA card at first, I had to uninstall it from the Device Manager and reintall it via the Samsung Support Center App.
---------Display brightness is wonderful.
--It may not have the biggest screen resolution and what-not but is is still nice, and you can always buy a second monitor.
--The processor on this computer is amazing though, although I haven't put it through any rigorous programs yet. This processor is a second generation i7 and has 8 cores!
--The boot up time is pretty amazing, it starts up in the morning in around 20-30 seconds.
--The sound on this laptop isn't the greatest either, at higher volumes is just doesn't sound right, not too sure what it is though. Just like the display, you can always add on some speakers.
--I love the locations of the USB ports, 2 USB 3.0 on the left and 2 USB 2.0 on the right if I am not mistaken.
--Upgraded this to Windows 7 Ultimate and it runs amazing as well.
--Keyboard spacing could be a little bit better. The letter portion is perfect, but the arrow keys, and number pad are a little too small and crammed together. When playing a game I always end up hitting the 0 key instead of the Right Arrow Key. One this I dislike is the lack of a backlit keyboard.
--Hard Drive. 750 Gigs is plenty! Wish the Drive Speed was specified though. On first boot you have the option to create multiple partitions, which was nice.
--Little too many bloatware applications.
--Webcam. The webcam is a 1.3 MP HD resolution, little blurry, but it looks a lot better than most built in webcams.
--Battery lasts me around 3 hours, while online, and playing a game or two while listening to music. Would say that is pretty good!
--There was a strange error I had that caused me to get a Blue Screen every time I opened up my old word documents, not too sure how I had fixed it though.
--The weight of this thing is wonderful. Very portable.
That's about all I can think of at the moment.
Overall it is a wonderful laptop, and all I can say is I am glad they finally put it online, and hopefully this is a pretty easy to read review, rather than a huge wall of text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Quick Take

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: terry123
from Sacramento
on 01/27/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Performance, external finish, weight
What's not so great: Keyboard & DVD software
I can't say that I've had a lot of time on this new laptop since I just picked it up yesterday but I do have a few observations/ comments.
Pros: Performance, weight, and external finish are great
Cons:
1. Bluray disk playback was very jittery with the PowerDVD version that came with the system. I tried to update (yes you pay for this) and the site charged me for 2x updates for some reason. After the update, the video didn't work for the actual movie portion ... only the sound. I uninstalled the OEM version and the update and got (yes, bought) the full version. It seems to work fine now.
2. I had a real problem trying to get Windows update to work properly. When checking for updates an error message kept coming up saying the the update service wasn't running ... even though it was. I had previously uninstalled the Norton Anti-virus software and installed my own (McAfee) but I'm not sure if that was the real cause of this problem since Windows update didn't work even after disabling all of the non-Windows services. After trying a number of goofy things, I finally got it fixed using Windows Update Troubleshooter located at:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Open-the-Windows-Update-troubleshooter
I don't have a clue as to what it really does but it worked :)
3. The last thing that I've found to be rather annoying is the spacing of the keys on the keyboard and placement of the delete key. My hand also seems to scrape the large touchpad at times which throws me way off.
But it's only been a day :)
Have fun!
I just noticed the checkbox below this frame that says minmum reached ... and it's checked. I wonder what that means.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Awesome Laptop, Fast Processor, Great Graphics

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JoeyFUZZ911
from Stafford, VA
on 01/26/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 2nd Gen i7 Processor, 6GB DDR RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 525M graphics card, blu ray, LED display, 750 GB hard drive
What's not so great: Nothing except for Windows 7 compatability issues with some programs and software
Well It was on the steep side of purchasing for me and was replacing my failed again HP Laptop. Had 3 of those and they constantly go so I went with someting new and I'm glad I did. Figured I had the Samsung 3D HDTV, 3D bluray player and 5.1 system....I might as well as another Samsung to the collection.
The Laptop is pretty stylish. not flashy at all and doesnt look like a puzzle put together. Very nice! LED-LCD screen is very nice as well. 1366x768 HD display is looks great. The 2nd Gen i7 processor is ridiculiously fast and with 6GB of DDR3 RAM, I never have to wait for anything to load on this computer. Im really impressed with how quick this thing computes and processes simultaneous programs and downloads at the same time with no interruption. Its very quiet too for a laptop. Never hear a fan come on and never gets hot like my old laptop which was a 2yr old HP pavilion DV5. It's got a huge hard drive. 750GB!! I'll never use it all. The laptop actually splits the 750GB into 2 hard drives "C and D." The BluRay player works great too. Looks amazing! The graphics card is a Nvidia GeForce GT 525M. Its a new graphics chip but its part of the Nvidia Optimus class which means the computer has 2 graphic chips. It has the basic Intel HD faimly graphics card which it mainly runs off to conserve battery power until you need that extra graphic power for games or video editing and then the Nvidia GeForce GT 525M takes over and that thing is pretty nice for a laptop. Its not gonna look like Xbox360 but its not far behind it, which makes gaming alot more fun and portable. The battery life isnt bad. There are conservative modes and such to program the battery use so that helps. Windows 7 is pretty nice coming from Vista. I like Windows 7 alot more although i havent been able to download the Zune software on this laptop yet which is kind of bugging me. Theres some problem with the install. Coming out of sleep mode is pretty fast. It takes about 4-5 secs to go from sleep mode to fully on. The 1.3m HD webcam looks great too, if you like to skype or make vids. Other than a few compatability issues with Windows 7 and other programs and software, I cat say anything bad about this laptop. It's freakin amazing!! I def recommend pickin this up if you have the money for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 15.6" Display / 6GB Memory - Black/Graphite

Stylish, Great Performance, Fast, Very light

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HenryK
from Michigan
on 01/25/2011
What's great about it: Easy to Set up, Good Price, Great Graphic Card, Performance
What's not so great: Short Battery Life
I bought this laptop after someone broke into my apt and stole my previous Samsung QX410 J01 laptop. I chose the brand, Samsung again because Samsung makes the best and most stylish laptop with relatively low price. And my choice was right again.
I really liked Samsung QX410 laptop for very light weight , 4.7 lbs and long battery life, upto 7 hours. However, if you are looking for bigger screen still with light weight and great performance, this laptop (RC512) is the one!
This Samsung RC512 laptop has 15.6 inch LED screen with the weight just 5.3 lbs! (You wouldn't find any other 15.6 inch laptop with that weight) The only thing I feel bad about this laptop is the battery life (upto 3 hours). However, it is because of i7 processor, and every laptop with i7 processor also has very short battery life, so I understand.
Anyways, among other laptops from other brands, I think this laptop is the best one (i7 processor, GeForce GT525M Graphic Card, 5.3 lbs, relatively low price etc)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.