Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Model: 46LA45RQ
SKU: 1831054
UPC: 883393003458
This HDTV showcases stunning images up to 1080p and features a 4000:1 contrast ratio for an arresting viewing experience. The 3 HDMI inputs allow flexible connectivity options so you can enjoy your favorite movies, games and TV shows in high-definition.
Average Customer Rating:
3.422 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(308 Reviews) 308
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 308 reviews
5 stars
114
4 stars
76
3 stars
24
2 stars
14
1 star
80
66% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
203 out of 308
)
Customer Reviews for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Ms

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Sungold7
from Fort Myers, FL
on 10/10/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: I love the size, and the sound and color saturation is very good.
What's not so great: I am plagued by the defect that many other reviewers have reported; wide vertical lines on both sides of the screen.
I ordered this TV during the Christmas 2011 holiday sales. It was delivered on New Year's Eve. A few months later, I started noticing wavy vertical lines on the right side of the screen. Sometimes they would go away, and sometimes not. I thought it was a problem with Comcast, since I have had trouble with their cable before. They had me switch out my cable box and remote. That did not seem to help. My brother said, "You need to switch to the HD cable box, that will probably solve the problem." So after a while, I did that also. It didn't change much, and then wide wavy lines started to appear on the left side of the screen, too. I came to this website and was shocked to see a slew of negaive comments from other buyers with the same problem. I say shocked, because I had read all the reviews carefully before buying this TV, and all were positive, and none mentioned this problem. Now it looks like I'm going to have to go through that return-repair nightmare that others have gone through. I am VERY disappointed. I don't enjoy watching that TV in the condition it's in, and just watch the other TV in my bedroom...while I'm paying for HD cable service on the defective one.
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
My Best Buy number: 0568205114
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Nice tv for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ss7182
from Chico, CA
on 09/07/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
I bought this tv and was happy with it, but after reading all the reviews i got concerned and returned it for a samsung.
This product has... Great value and features for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
My Best Buy number: 565270146
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

i love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: snugent
from west monroe, louisiana
on 08/09/2012
What's great about it: everything but the picture most of all
What's not so great: nothing so far
i just love my wonderful tv. all the programs i watch and all the movies i watch are better on my big screen!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... retired, watch tv at least 10 hours aday
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: just cable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good tv for the price, terrible overall quality

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: feb2012june2012
from Flowood Ms
on 08/07/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: This tv has ok picture quality and it swivels.
What's not so great: Sound comes from the back of the tv. Had to buy a sound bar to get good volume on it
My wife and I bought this tv Feb 2012. After hooking it up to cable and game console and playing around with the settings, it seemed to be an ok tv for what we paid for it. Mind you this is our third RCA flatscreen. The two that we previously owned worked great and still is. With no complaints we decided since they were ok, we would try a third. Big mistake! Turns out, the only thing good about this tv was the price. In June our son whose a serious gamer like myself, told my wife to come in and look at the tv and that it had a fuzzy rainbow line down the left side of the screen. She looked at it and called me at work about it. I tried telling her a few troubleshooting ideas, turning it off and then back on, unplugging it and plugging it back in, checking all the cables to make sure they were intact etc,etc. Everything checked out but the line was still there. Tech came out and said that model had a bad panel in it and they had recalls on them. Why keep selling them if they're bad tvs. Needless to say it stayed there and got worst over the month we were waiting for the warranty company to get us a replacement tv. Finally got a repalcement tv now, another brand of course and we love it. But please dont waste your time or money on this one. Not worth the hassle!
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Will stop working in 6 months

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Dillinger83
from Los Angeles, CA
on 08/04/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The box it came in is pretty cool
What's not so great: It won't work after 6 months
Who could resist such an offer? Smart people. Just like the others, I was lured in by the price of the TV for its size. Little did I know that it would stop working after 6 months.
Within 5 months I noticed a 3" wide, vertical bar of dead pixels running down the left side of the TV. By the time a service repair technician (from RCA's service provider, NOT Best Buy) came out, which took weeks, the TV had 4 bars across the screen.
The technician said it was a common occurrence and that the part needed to fix the problem was discontinued and the manufacturer would contact me to replace the TV. That was months ago and still no word.
Contacting RCA is a joke and a waste of time. All numbers go straight to voicemail, which is probably never checked.
Now, the entire left side of the television is dead with moments of multicolor flickering. I went ahead and purchased a Samsung, which is amazing, out of sheer frustration.
I've contacted the BBB to get my money back. It's been over two weeks and still no word from RCA. Turns out, hundreds of other people have experienced the same issue and are having as hard, or harder, of a time getting a replacement/refund as I am.
Learn from my mistake and DO NOT BUY THIS TV.
This product has... a large a chance of not working, capabilities of causing frustration
About me... Sports enthusiast, Gamer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
4.5 out of 5(145)
 
 
 
Roku - HD Streaming Player
4.5 out of 5(287)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Not a good deal after all!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kikibella
from san jose
on 07/31/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: nothing now since you can't even enjoy watching tv!
What's not so great: Picture quality!
My husband and I purchased this TV because we needed a new one and it seemed great the first 5 months thinking we got it on sale for a steal price! Until this green vertical strip down the right side of the TV appeared. At first we thought maybe it was the cable but after a good check we knew it was the TV. Then just a few days later a blue line appeared on the left side of the screen and it has become so irritating that we can't even watch TV!! And then I go online to contact RCA and see they're advertising it so I click the Best Buy link to check the reviews and I am surprised to see almost every one has had this same problem. After reading what others have said about contacting RCA I know what to expect! I will contact RCA asap to have this resolved and I will make it a point that I will not play the waiting game and let them know excatly that I am aware that this has been a problem for sometime and I will demand store credit for my purchase price! If your thinking of purchasing this TV don't! Read the reviews! This is a faulty TV and you will have to deal with the hassle after!
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Flawed design

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: DrAstro
from Takoma Park, MD
on 07/27/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Known to fail.
I got this tv around December 2011 for an XMAS gift for my wife and I. The price was fantastic and it had great recent reviews. In the last few months, the review scores have plummeted. This is because the TV actually has a faulty design and will fail after 3-6 months. A blue line will appear on the screen.
The repairman came (since the tv was under warranty) and told me it was a known problem and I should contact RCA to get a new set. RCA has farmed out the building of this tv to a company named Oncorp who I have been dealing with for the past month to get things fixed. At the repair persons suggestion, I've had Oncorp arrange to authorize me to return the TV to Bestbuy and pick out a different tv set. This should happen this weekend and I will definitely not pickup another RCA.
Again, the TV is fine when it works, and can't be beat for the price. But its likely that the TV will fail.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control, faulty product
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

This Tv is the worst

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Kjp3
from Baltimore,MD
on 07/24/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
So I brought this Tv in January 2012 b/c is was a good price and aslo b/c I have two other RCA Tv's in my house so I was familiar with the brand. About two weeks ago a blue vertical line began to appear on the left side of my Tv screen and it began to spread across the screen. At first I thought it was my cable box so I unplugged everything and the line was still there. So I called Geek Squad ( b/c I purchased the sevice plan) and told them about the problem and I was told that they no longer serviced RCA Tv's. Of course I was furious. So I took the Tv to Best Buy and they got the situation straight they informed me that I was misinformed and scheduled for a Geek Squad tech to come to my home and service the Tv. He was here for no more than 5 mins and told me that my Tv needed to be replaced and that my warranty could be transfered to an new Tv of equal or lesser value. Don't waste your money invest in something of better qualitiy.
This product has... not worth the hassel
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Didnt last more than a few months

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: littledadeo
from phoenix.OR
on 07/23/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: good picture quality, a lot of HDMI ports
What's not so great: sound, build quality and pretty much everything else.
I bought this TV in February when i got my tax returns as a gift to myself and it worked awesome for a few months, sound quality was poor but i had it running through my stereo system so i never really had to deal with it. at the begging of last month a 3 inch strip of washed/faded out color started to appear, I called RCA and had them send out a tech guy from one of their contracted companies in my area. He looked at the TV and said that this is a common problem with these TV's. he said it would only get worse and said RCA will contact me within 5 to 10 business days. It kept getting worse and worse untill over HALF OF THE SCREEN would go black and start flashing primary colors. 5 to 10 business days flew by and i kept waiting until i had waited over 20 business days (over 4 weeks!!!) and called RCA myself to find out what the hell was going on. the woman said that NOW I would have to wait another 5 to 7 business days to get a call from the best buy i bought the TV from with a conformation so i can exchange it. I went into the best buy to find out if i could just return it and get my money back and they said when i come in to exchange the TV i could get store credit, but not for what i paid, just the current retail value of that model. Im furious, I dont want another garbage TV, i want my money back. DONT BUY THIS TV!!! SAVE YOURSELF A LOT OF TIME, MONEY AND STRESS!!!!!!! please learn from my mistake and stay as far away from RCA as possible. its worth spending more money to get a better product.
This product has... Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies, builds computers
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

TV crapped out under 6 months.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RebRoberts
from New York
on 07/20/2012
What's great about it: picture / sound
What's not so great: stopped working in less than 6 months
TV seemed great. However in less than 6 months it stopped working. The manufacturer is suppose to be sending us a new TV, however we are still waiting for this to be shipped to us after months. They do not return our phone calls. TOTALLY Frustrated and I will NEVER buy another RCA product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Easy to install; poor sound

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: love2watch
from menifee, ca
on 07/20/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Easy to install; good picture while it worked
What's not so great: Warranty
Purchased this tv end of March, began having prob. with picture by June. Service tech came out and advised new tv would be required and was a warranty issue. The warranty company, for all RCA's after 2010, was non-responsive. Actually had to call Best Buy, who were great about getting me a replacement tv. Would never purchase any product warrantied by current RCA representative...ever. Sound comes from the back, which makes it hard to hear unless turned to max.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

WORST TV EVER! STAY AWAY!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: dyridings
from charleston, wv
on 07/20/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
We got this TV in March of 2012 to replace an older tv in our living room. We purchased the best buy 2 year warranty because they said that BEST BUY would come out to fix it or would replace it if anything went wrong during those two years. It is now July and we have a vertical bar on the right hand side of the television. I called geek squad and they said that RCA had to be contacted about the issue. RCA was contacted and they sent out a repair man 4 days later. The guy came out today, said that it was a classic "band of color" on the right side of the screen due to a bad panel. he said that RCA knew about this problem and that it was common in these televisions.
He said that RCA would have to be sent this information so they could contact me for a replacement because the part is no longer available.
Not sure how that's going to go, since I have read the reviews on here.
I don't understand what the point of the BEST BUY warranty is if they won't even honor it. ???
STAY FAR FAR AWAY from this product, unless you want to completely waste $500 for a matter of months.
About me... Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

I will not purchase another RCA Tv

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: LetitiaB
from Greensboro, NC
on 07/19/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The price was great at the time
What's not so great: The volume is bad
I will never purchase another RCA I love my LG TV I brought
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

It is a good tv

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ronbgreen
from savannah
on 07/19/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It is a tv
It is a good inexpensive tv. I would reconmend it.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Excellent Monitor for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Earth
on 07/18/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, picture
Love this TV. It is mounted on the wall of my children's bedroom.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chris10111
from Minnesota
on 07/15/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price, Reliable Brand
What's not so great: N/A
I have this TV as a multiple monitor connected to my PC, used for video streaming and such. I'm not much for knowledge of televisions. After doing all the searching online and browsing store models and reading reviews, I bought this TV without hesitation. Couldn't be happier, you will agree. So don't waste anymore time looking for a TV, this is it. The PC I have recommended below is the PC I am currently using, all you need is a graphics card and you are good to go.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies, geek
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Asus - Essentio Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
4.0 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Hulu
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

DONT BUY THIS TV

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Fisher44
from KC, MO
on 07/14/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Lots
After owning this for four months, the picture began showing constant vertical lines. After much research, I finally found out that this is apparently a very common problem for this model. Basically, they could have fixed the TV, but when the technician showed up, he said the TV was totaled and ruined forever, and also that RCA and/or Best Buy would not do a THING about it.
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS TV!!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: fatbear1982
from des moines,ia
on 07/11/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: WHERE DO I BEGIN
so i saved my money for a tv found a great deal right before the super bowl..46 inch rca 1080 60 hz.. everyhting i wanted..i even bought best buy's 2 year black tie warranty.. 4 months later the main panel went out..so they made us speak to rca..rca had a repair tech come out from a&e. he walked it and sd yep its broke.. then they have had us dealing with ta 3rd party company named oncorp..it has been almost 2 months. i started looking online and founds tons of people with the same problem. they told us weeks ago they were sending us a box to ship our tv back. we have not received a box or a phone call or anything..we call at least 5 times a day..no joke..i was told the only way i had a shot at getting my tv replaced is by getting a hold of the better business bureau. that i am doing next. i am also filing a compliant against best buy because they are at the front line. i wouldnt blame best buy, but they are still selling the tv and are well aware of this...whatever you do dont go thru the pain i have to go thru along with the others.
This product has... got to stop being sold
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

DO NOT BUY THIS TV!!!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kc3181
from oklahoma city, ok
on 07/10/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: at this point, nothing!
What's not so great: the fact that it just randomly ceases to work
The first one of these we had broke. It had a defective panel, which RCA does not make a replacement for. We waited almost three weeks to get our replacement sent to us. We have had the second television for a few months and it broke again! We take very good care of our televisions and all issues were internal, beyond our control! DO NOT BUY THIS TV!!!!!! Under no circumstances is this television worth the headache you will get dealing with RCA and their ridiculously sucky customer service. In fact, you can't even really call it customer service, its just a bunch of automated messages and they take forever to call you back. I must say this again, DO NOT BUY THIS TV!!!!!! I would have given it a zero if I could.
This product has... complete garbage
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RCA - 46" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Worst TV EVER

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Krchambers
from Moab, UT
on 07/10/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing.
What's not so great: Panels Go Out almost instantly!
This is the worst TV I have ever owned. Not 6 months after my purchase, 4 LCD panels went out. After a month of waiting for a technician, I was told that On-Corp USA would call me and give me a replacement. That didn't happen. I called everyday around 15 times a day for a month straight not being able to talk to anyone. Either the call would be suddenly ended or "user's mailbox is full" would be heard. Finally on today of July 10th I got a hold of someone by calling 1(858)798-3300 Ext: 116, I talked to a girl who was "surprised" that no one has called me back yet and then proceeded to tell me that best buy will be calling me in 48 hours to give me a confirmation number so I can return it to best buy. I live 2 hours away from best buy. DO NOT BUY THIS TV!!!
This product has... nothing to offer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>