Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Model: HON787800F0
SKU: 1915037
UPC: 882960300594
That collection of old VHS tapes in your closet has been taking up too much space for too long. To be honest, you're not even sure you know if your VCR still works. Those cassette tapes under your bed are certainly running the risk of becoming too dusty to be able to ever use, as well. If this sounds like you, then you could use this powerful and effortless video conversion solution. VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe helps you effortlessly convert your videos to digital format so you can edit them or burn them to a DVD or Blu-ray Disc. Breath new life into your old video collections by converting them to a digital format, so you can preserve them and access them easily. With VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe, you can convert your media using either Easy mode for one-click transfer or the Advanced mode to access creative features. In Advanced mode, you can edit unwanted scenes, add transition effects, create custom menus and easily upload your videos to YouTube. The software also includes a Vidbox video capture device for capturing VHS, Beta, 8mm or camcorder tapes. Edit high-definition video footage from HDV camcorders and burn up to 25GB of data to a Blu-ray Disc. Maximize the potential of your media while minimizing the space it takes up.
Average Customer Rating:
3.839 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 87 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
26
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
15
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
67 out of 87
)
Customer Reviews for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows
Review 1 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Great product for converting my vhs tapes to dvd

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rnevadaguy
from Nevada
on 05/28/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Installation was easy
I wanted to convert some movies I had that have not been released on DVD yet. Read the reviews about this software and took a chance. The setup was easy.(windows 8) The quality of the DVD's is really good.
Am very pleased with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0414109122
My Best Buy number: 0414109122
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Gets the job done, no frills no thrills

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cwell79
from Silver Pring, MD
on 05/25/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: breeze to set up and price was at an excellent price point
What's not so great: the software is somewhat limited in features
This works as advertised, if you want to convert your vhs to dvd or digital files without much in terms of editing features then pick this up. I did virtually my entire vhs collection without any issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0315349511
My Best Buy number: 0315349511
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Great product ...couldn't be easier to transfer !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bluesbro1960
from California
on 05/10/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use ..
What's not so great: nothing
Couldn't be easier to transfer those old VHS over to digital files or to DVD's
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2737732186
My Best Buy number: 2737732186
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Great product for the price for basic transfer.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chill25
from Georgia
on 05/08/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Ease of use
I used it to transfer several old VHS tapes to digital on my computer and was able to easily transfer and edit clips and post on facebook. I had one problem and had to call customer service and they were very helpful and resolved the problem quickly. I haven't tried to add music or any of the advanced features but it does have nice features for the low price. You have to have your own VHS player for the transfer but that was no problem because I already had one that worked great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0049892024
My Best Buy number: 0049892024
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Kiels
from Port Huron, MI
on 05/06/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price
What's not so great: Takes a long time to down load VHS tape.
Easy to set up and very easy to use if your copying entire VHS tape. Editing video is a little more complicated. Great price. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who want's to transfer VHS tapes to DVD's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2865718472
My Best Buy number: 2865718472
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jibbers
from Louisville,ky
on 05/04/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Cost
Easy to use. I bought this to transfer my VHS to DVD and get rid of VHS because they take up so much room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0563957995
My Best Buy number: 0563957995
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Worked great on first use - will be using it often

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: despres
from Long Beach, CA
on 05/03/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: RCA connectors are a bit loose
I used this to convert the output of an old camcorder to a digital feed into my laptop for a streaming event using Google Hangouts. It worked flawlessly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
eForCity - Ultra Series RCA Type Audio Video Cable (12 FT/3.7 M) - Black
 
 
 
 
 
My Best Buy number: 0000377973
My Best Buy number: 0000377973
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

If you have old video tapes this is the way!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Travinnio
from San Diego CA
on 05/03/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use and for the price excellent features
What's not so great: nothing
If you are trying to save old family videos this is an excellent product. The software is easy to use and the quality of the video can be adjusted. My only suggestion is you may need a computer with plenty of RAM otherwise the conversion will take a little longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2870410705
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mcgraw50
from hurdle mills, nc
on 04/26/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use
This software is very easy to use. I was able to put all my VHS tapes on DVD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2026339911
My Best Buy number: 2026339911
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Does a good job of getting the VHS tape to DVD

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PapaBoo
from Kansas City
on 04/20/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It hooks up easily, and the software works well.
What's not so great: Editing is not as easy as it might be. It takes several hours to render the data before it can be transferred to DVD
When I went to Best Buy and talked to the salesman, he knew exactly what I needed. It only took a few minutes to set up and start to capture the video. I had some problems trying to edit the video. I was surprised that it took several hours to render the data. Burning to disc only took about 10 minutes for a 2 hour video. The software allows multiple copies to be made at the same time with no additional rendering.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2644572431
My Best Buy number: 2644572431
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Product is terrible at any level

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Huntsville, AL
on 04/20/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: Doesn't work with any medium
The products instructions were pretty straight forward so I thought it should be easy to use. HA!! Wrong! I tried using my VCR transfer and digital camcorder transfer and neither worked at all. Very dissapointed!!!! Did my research and checked my system requirements. I thought that all was good but no dice. TERRIBLE PRODUCT would not recommend to my own worst enemy. Not worth the money at all. What a waste.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0327721923
My Best Buy number: 0327721923
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Nice Video editing software, even for beginners

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: msnell
from Maryland
on 04/19/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy installation, decent price, easy to follow instructions
What's not so great: somewhat slow at copying info to be transferred, but maybe because I wasn't using usb 2.0 as recommended
I bought this software to transfer family movies from vhs and vhs-c to dvd. I thought it would be cheaper than having them done at walmart one at a time... which it is. I like the software and the editing options that the program provides. It is relatively easy to use. I'm not familiar with any other software, as video editing is not something I do on a regular basis, so unfortunately I don't really have anything to compare it to though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0326528981
My Best Buy number: 0326528981
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

EASY TO FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 7CATPERSON
from CEDAR RAPIDS IA
on 04/13/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: GETTING MY VCR MOVIES TO DVD
IF YOU HAVE OLD MOVIES TO TRANSFER THERE IS ONLY A ONE TIME COST AND IT ALSO DOES MUSIC FILES
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2852167542
My Best Buy number: 2852167542
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

not want I wanted

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: star48
from new york, ny
on 04/13/2013
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
not what I wanted. looking for the equipment to handle the conversion once
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0556275853
My Best Buy number: 0556275853
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

This product was just what I was looking for.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: EsGrandpa
from Swansea, IL
on 04/13/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Using it is very much intuitive.
What's not so great: Some of the instructions for making a program are confusing.
I'd been dreading for years putting old VHS family videos that I had recorded on DVDs. I had considered taking all of them to someone who did this for pay. I thought that doing it myself was too confusing and too expensive. I don't know when this software was available, but had I known it was available, easy to use and inexpensive, I would not have needed to dread this project for so long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2519802243
My Best Buy number: 2519802243
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Does exactly what is says It is a must for anyone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JonAndii
from Palm Beach
on 04/13/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: nothing
Converting is a snap and very quick. Buy this before your VHS degrade any further!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0811401447
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Easy to edit recordings

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mustang72
from KC MO
on 03/22/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to get started
What's not so great: not sure what the extra editing options are used for.
Has been nice getting all my kids old movis onto DVDS so I know they are safe and I can watch them. Love being able to cut out what you dont want to save.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

Do not buy this! Wasted $50 :(

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SNESHUNTER
from Sacramento
on 03/21/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing but it installed fine
What's not so great: Product doesn't work.
I bought this product for $50 thinking it would be a great price for capturing video from vhs or other analog video. To my dismay it doesnt even feed video in what so ever. The audio makes popping noise as well. I have a great computer with top of the line specs and has required specs. This was a waste of my money and time. I am so upset that I am out 50 bucks and BEST BUY WONT TAKE IT BACK! It was even within an hour from buying product I tried to take back but no go. I am out gas money, time, and patients. BEWARE IT DOES NOT WORK!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

A gamble if it works

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TechBuyerDMR
from San Diego, CA
on 03/16/2013
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's not so great: Did not work
This device did not work for me. It couldn't show, and obviously record, the video. There wasaudio but it was skipping. My computer met the requirements. Based on the other reviews it worked for some people. It looks like it would be really easy to use if it works, but that's a gamble.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe - Windows

EASY SET UP

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: STYMMEGOLF
from PINCONNING,MI
on 03/12/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: GOOD PRICE
What's not so great: ERRORS IN MEDIA READING
At 1st no problems,then after 4 tapes there was error's in the media ( DVD) not ready, I found that if you install your new blank dvd b4 you even start anything else it worked GREAT for the rest, also you can stop the recording to put in another vhs tape, over all quite happy with price & ease of use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>