Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Model: DPAC8KDB
SKU: 1980337
UPC: 067638902663
This portable air conditioner will cool up to a 250 sq. ft. room and features 3 fan speeds for custom control. The reusable air filter cleans the air as the unit cools the room. The electronic controls, LED display and remote allow for easy use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.866 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(216 Reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 216 reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
64
3 stars
32
2 stars
11
1 star
21
76% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
165 out of 216
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Very quiet for a portable unit

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sensei70
on 08/31/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I like that the fan speeds have noise reduction. The unit is made of hard plastic. Unfortunately, during transit, the side panel became detached. It looks like the screws used are too short to secure the panel doors.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0055775243
My Best Buy number: 0055775243
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great portable AC unit for the price!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: C11R
from Adelanto CA
on 08/29/2015
You can really feel the difference with this unit!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2949241858
My Best Buy number: 2949241858
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good for a small room

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Nik143
on 08/28/2015
The capacity of this may not be as given in the specifications. But good for a small room. It says portable but you cannot move across the room. I would rather buy a window AC which doesnt occupy any of the space in your room.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 1013914636
My Best Buy number: 1013914636
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

perfect for work

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pauly1272
on 08/28/2015
This item has been the best for me at work. Nice and cold
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3311320348
My Best Buy number: 3311320348
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Strong

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Kris
on 08/27/2015
This works so well. It cools down my living room within 30 minutes... Easy to move around the apartment as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0563216467
My Best Buy number: 0563216467
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

I love this item :)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 881007sh
on 08/26/2015
working is good and really cool :)
If you buy this one you never disappointed!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3468432567
My Best Buy number: 3468432567
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

It does the job!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mikeymanho
on 08/24/2015
I had never heard of the Danby brand before this purchase. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and how easy it is to use. I am using this for a 12" x 12" room and it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0031762823
My Best Buy number: 0031762823
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excellent product!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Manny
from Gresham
on 08/23/2015
This portable air conditioning really keeps my bedroom cool I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1026910930
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Disappointed in my first portable air conditioner

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Beth
on 08/22/2015
For such a big unit it doesn't cool very much. I have a small living room (in an old 60's ranch home) so I'm only trying to cool a small area, but unless you're right on top of the unit, you don't feel much cooling. It does take some of the humidity out so you can feel a little more comfortable.
BUT, be sure to place a pan under the drain, no matter what mode you are using, as it does drip some.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0772214803
My Best Buy number: 0772214803
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Emma
on 08/22/2015
I bought this product for my daughter's room and it works perfectly. My electric bill did go up slightly, I guess it is to be expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2834352386
My Best Buy number: 2834352386
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Small in size and quiet but still powerful

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: customer
on 08/21/2015
Was very surprised with how well it work and being very quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0302998005
My Best Buy number: 0302998005
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good portable air conditioner for a small room.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bea77
on 08/20/2015
Great for cooling a small room! The only thing I dislike is that the air filter needs to stick out of the window. I can't put my blinds all the way down because of this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1054467160
My Best Buy number: 1054467160
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for and convenient

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Berna
on 08/20/2015
Great and convenient unfortunately it didn't work in our house because of windows
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 3771746443
My Best Buy number: 3771746443
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Perfect for my studio apartment

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Needles
on 08/19/2015
Perfect for my studio apartment. Only con would be the awkward tubing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3443730244
My Best Buy number: 3443730244
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great portable AC

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tyrone629
on 08/19/2015
It cools my living room in about 25-30 mins. If you have 2 of these AC's it should cool your whole apartment. The power button is located on the front of the ac unit. My son constantly turns it off and on. The light shines very bright too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1056263180
My Best Buy number: 1056263180
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

five starts

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Everlidys23
on 08/19/2015
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I loved this item, im happy. My bedroom, is cool..
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3471860968
My Best Buy number: 3471860968
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

performs better than ratings

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ersatzw
on 08/19/2015
This air conditioner was easy to set up and works very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2966734852
My Best Buy number: 2966734852
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

loud and cold

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Annie
on 08/19/2015
The ac at the house that we're renting doesn't work upstairs (we can feel the ac downstairs, but not upstairs). Then our ac died completely so were were baking inside in the TX heat!! We've purchased a portable ac for the upstairs bc it's the hottest area in the house.
You have to have it connected the the window and the hose at the back that releases the hvac water needs a big bucket (if you're going to leave it on overnight). It is loud at first bc we did place it in our room to keep us cool while we sleep. In the afternoon I usually turn it off until night time and it leaves the room smelling "muggy" even though the floor isn't wet. The vent is on the top, so you don't notice the room cooling down till a few minutes. I suggest you leave it running alone with the door closed, so that once you open it after a hot day you get hit with a cold room :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2826200695
My Best Buy number: 2826200695
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HotGirlNowCool
on 08/19/2015
Very nice. Works great for large room. Easy to install!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0032587838
My Best Buy number: 0032587838
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for a small room.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: familyof6
on 08/19/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
This in room AC is great or a small room. The only issue we had was getting the exhaust vent to stay in the window. I do recommend this to anyone needing an alternative to the traditional window AC unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2080861779
My Best Buy number: 2080861779
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>