Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Model: DPAC8KDB
SKU: 1980337
UPC: 067638902663
This portable air conditioner will cool up to a 250 sq. ft. room and features 3 fan speeds for custom control. The reusable air filter cleans the air as the unit cools the room. The electronic controls, LED display and remote allow for easy use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.822 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 174 reviews
5 stars
72
4 stars
49
3 stars
24
2 stars
8
1 star
21
76% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
133 out of 174
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good and compact

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rasorback
on 08/04/2015
Its easy to install. It is practical and you don't have to worry about it falling off your window.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0550875967
My Best Buy number: 0550875967
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Ok for a very small room

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Americo
on 08/01/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I purchased this product because I heard it was good for a small room. My room is very small but still takes a long time to cool it down :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2535052400
My Best Buy number: 2535052400
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for small rooms

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Batman
on 08/01/2015
It works very well if you don't have central air. It's great for a bedroom and I love it and it cools down the room very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3479764404
My Best Buy number: 3479764404
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works great in a rather large 12X18

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DaytonaBestBuy
on 08/01/2015
This puppy is great. When you live in FL you can elect to have one room 6 degrees colder than the rest of the house. I haven't had it long, but so far, so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2021737736
My Best Buy number: 2021737736
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

not good

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kringo
on 07/31/2015
Will not put out very much cool air. Expected it to compare to a small 110 but it did not. Won't even cool 1 small room.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0589862570
My Best Buy number: 0589862570
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great air conditioner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Matt
on 07/31/2015
Great air conditioner that is quiet and smooth running.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2363379953
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excellent but not perfect

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MBAirConditioner
on 07/31/2015
The air conditioner is pretty easy to set up and cools the room beautifully, but the controls are a little flakey at times. It will sometimes refuse to let me change a setting or shut itself off as soon as I turn it on. Usually it's a breif glitch and it straightens up quickly, but can be frustrating when you're already hot and irritable and just want to cool off.
Overall, I'm very happy with it and I've gotten lots of good use out of it already in this incredibly unseasonably warm weather.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great a/c for a small room.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tucker
on 07/31/2015
Just working perfectly from room to room. I like it much better than the window style.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2634016518
My Best Buy number: 2634016518
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great little Unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Spete1218
on 07/31/2015
Easy to put together and it stays together. Would be 5 stars, but the remote and unit read out is all pictures and sometimes they are confusing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2625780091
My Best Buy number: 2625780091
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Not efficient

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: VElliott
on 07/31/2015
I decided to return this product because in order for my room to be cool, I had to keep it running all night; and my room was minimally cool. I did not want to give this a a bad review, however, for my room space, this was useless.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 3307876118
My Best Buy number: 3307876118
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Needed this because a/c broke in NEW house

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Diee
on 07/30/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I got this because my downstairs a/c broke in my house. it served it's purpose for the room where my dogs sleep and when the a/c company came out and fixed it. My daughter stuck this in her room. Living in Florida it's always good to have a back up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0813019091
My Best Buy number: 0813019091
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: seawieg
on 07/29/2015
we purchased this unit for our popup camper-- it works great, and we all slept through the night in 85+ degree humid weather
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0543761840
My Best Buy number: 0543761840
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dryst
on 07/29/2015
Cools down my living room very quickly. Also seems to be great at being energy efficient; my electric bill was no where near what I thought it would be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2944986693
My Best Buy number: 2944986693
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Overkill for 100 sq ft

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pmo47
on 07/28/2015
Easily cools my small room in my apartment. I keep it at 75 when I'm away and turn it down a few degrees when I get home and it quickly drops the room temp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3450783240
My Best Buy number: 3450783240
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Efficient portable AC

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Kifaru
on 07/27/2015
Efficient portable AC unit, exhaust vent/tube is larger than I expected but easy to move and put together
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0404333605
My Best Buy number: 0404333605
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FrequentBuyer1
on 07/24/2015
This is a good buy, easy to work with out of the box. My only complaint is I should have bought a larger unit. Otherwise, no complaints.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0075212056
My Best Buy number: 0075212056
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Does an excellent job

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jbear
on 07/24/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I've had this unit for about 3 weeks now. It works great! The air is cold but the fan isn't that strong so it does take a bit to cool down a larger room. It's not as noisy as I'm seeing people claim but I'm happy with my purchase. Easy to install and hook up. You do have to drain the unit every week or so depending on use but it comes with a hose to drain it into a bucket if you need to. I'm happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2599169816
My Best Buy number: 2599169816
Mobile Submission: True
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby Portable air conditioner

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Sugarsmack24
from Raleigh, NC
on 07/24/2015
This unit is unreliable and insufficient. I wouldn't recommend this item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2827981968
My Best Buy number: 2827981968
Mobile Submission: True
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works fine, not amazing

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: amybrewhaha
from NYC
on 07/24/2015
This is my first free-standing AC. It does a fine job of cooling my bedroom but it never quite gets below 70*. (I set it for 68-69*) It does allow me to sleep comfortably which is all I need but I have considered returning it for a window unit of larger BTUs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2687089217
My Best Buy number: 2687089217
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Fan needs more velocity

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Brou
on 07/24/2015
Cold air but high fan doesn't put out enough volume
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0960664649
My Best Buy number: 0960664649
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>