Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Model: DPAC8KDB
SKU: 1980337
UPC: 067638902663
This portable air conditioner will cool up to a 250 sq. ft. room and features 3 fan speeds for custom control. The reusable air filter cleans the air as the unit cools the room. The electronic controls, LED display and remote allow for easy use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.449 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 49 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
9
67% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
33 out of 49
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Never gets cool

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DJRic
on 07/19/2014
I purchased this unit for the simplicity of it and it is that. The down side to it is, it never gets the room cool. It never gets the room lower then 82. I would not have bought it now knowing that. Room is 10x20
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0907041397
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excellent AC / Dehumidifier combo

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vikki530
from St Paul, MN
on 07/15/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: It is somewhat loud.
Does as advertised, cools and dehumidifies our entier 1000 sq ft apartment. Was easy to set up and is easy to operate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0041950203
My Best Buy number: 0041950203
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

portable & not noisey

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lindalinga99
from saint paul MN
on 07/11/2014
What's great about it: noise level is quite compared to on window AC unit & my reg house fan :)
What's not so great: big & bulky
Still love it! Size does matter & I wish I had a smaller one but it does the job without me having to higher the volume while watching TV in my living room. It sits in my corner and cools me off :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

business

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Snowballs
on 07/09/2014
Nice air condition if you have a small room without a lot of activity
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2792205250
My Best Buy number: 2792205250
Mobile Submission: True
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works OK - doesn't stink, isn't great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: IrishJimmy
from Long Beach, CA
on 07/05/2014
What's great about it: blows cold air
What's not so great: doesn't blow enough cold air
I have a small room, 13 x 13. It gets hit by the sun every afternoon and gets insanely hot. This a/c unit helps a little, but can't keep up with the heat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2662497235
My Best Buy number: 2662497235
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great AC for the price and BTU's

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dda310
on 07/04/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This AC is very easy to install and so far has been working great for my living room. Until now all I had was a really loud Vornado fan. This unit isn't silent but it's much quieter than my fan was and of course is cooling the room better.
I have casement windows and therefore can't install a window AC, so this was a great alternative for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0531389728
Mobile Submission: True
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for small room

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lbcsmithj
from Long Beach, CA
on 07/01/2014
What's great about it: Instantly cools room
What's not so great: Its a lil loud and a lil pricy
My bedroom is the hottest room in the house and with this air conditioner I am able to cool the room down pretty quick...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2874093751
My Best Buy number: 2874093751
Mobile Submission: True
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good A/C for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Oscar
from Apopka , Fl
on 06/29/2014
What's great about it: the size
What's not so great: a bit loud
for the price it is a good unit it cool down a 10 x 10 room fast in less than 5 min , the unit is a bit loud but if it is put in the high setting , easy to install , in overall in happy whit this A/C unit...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0571924569
My Best Buy number: 0571924569
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

danby ac dont buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: nothappy
from illinois
on 06/21/2014
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: does not cool as advertised
purchased two of these units last night one was inop out of box ie display flickered will not turn and controls inop,second ac unit running all night outside tempature 78 degrees in a 200sqft sealed room that is a well insulated room would not get below 75 degrees at night,best buy customer support was limted to refund of purchased price with no comparable replacments instock at stores within 100 mile radius ,so 200 mile round trip to store .2 failed ac units and one very very unhappy customer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Decent Machine, LED light is TOO BRIGHT

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Coolnunchuckdude
from Minneapolis, MN
on 06/17/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: It keeps things cool
What's not so great: the LED light is really super bright
I got this unit for my bedroom and it's quiet, keeps things cool and is not too big. What really drives me crazy is the LED light on the unit is so frustratingly bright that when I try to sleep at night everything in my room is enveloped in a bright blue light. There is no way to turn this off without turning off the whole unit. I really liked this unit otherwise so I am sad that I will need to bring it back and find something that does not have a blinding light.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0950233800
-12points
8out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Did not like

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Guster61
from Buffalo, NY
on 06/14/2014
What's great about it: Not much
What's not so great: Did not get cold enough
I usually dont purchase larger items soley because of pride but in this case I had a wake up call and did just that. I firmly believe you get what you pay for. This is not a quiet AC and it did not cool down my average size room much at all. Needless to say, I did return this unit and got another brand at another retailer, which works perfectly and I am satisfied with.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0546397220
My Best Buy number: 0546397220
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

great ac

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: solsan
on 06/13/2014
a good portable ac I actually thought at first it was gonna be a waste of money ... the next couple of days it proved me wrong . It freezes my bedroom up ... I plan on gettin another one for the living room
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3302063711
My Best Buy number: 3302063711
Mobile Submission: True
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excellent at cooling, loud from time to time

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Designasaurs
from Bergen County
on 06/07/2014
What's great about it: easy to install in window, cools apartment well
What's not so great: heavy, loud
The best buy employee helped me carry this to the register, but not my car. I was worried I wouldn't be able to get it into the backseat when I tried to lift it and realized it's very heavy! It was too heavy for me to lift out of the box once I got it home. I had to cut open the bottom of the box to remove the box from around it, then wheel it into place. It cools off my entire apartment when using it in "cool" and "auto" mode on a very warm day. I keep it in my bedroom, and if the door is open and all windows in the apartment are closed, I can feel it cooling down other rooms. It shuts on and off when it reaching the temperature it's set to, which sounds like the unit is turning off completely (makes me think it's broken) - then it turns on with a loud start that startles me a little each time. Overall, great cooling unit. I have not used the dehumidifier mode yet. Fan is pretty good, too. You cannot adjust the vents, they point in a fixed direction. Might recommend to someone not worried about the noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2502093115
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Easy to use and set up.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: rhcktkcj
from south bend, in
on 06/06/2014
What's great about it: good price, easy to use, multiple settings, thermostat
What's not so great: pretty loud, fixed fan direction
All in all a good product. Works well and cools an area around 200 square feet. Attractive unit, however it is pretty loud if you are sleeping next to it. Has programmable thermostat and a fan only feature which is nice on cooler nights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0547297345
My Best Buy number: 0547297345
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

NICE COOL AIR, nice and quiet.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jtlv
from Las Vegas, NV
on 05/30/2014
What's great about it: Price, quality, Design
Living in the hot desert southwest, I have tried several portable air conditioners. The Danby is the perfect amount of quiet, as in you can sleep with it on in your bedroom. It also is super power efficient and keeps a nice size room cold. The most important thing is to vent it and insulate the hose. Get the hot air out. Keep the cool in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2838781137
My Best Buy number: 2838781137
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Portable Air Conditioner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pinkeya
from randallstown, maryland
on 05/28/2014
What's great about it: Its works great
It keeps my area so cool! The best part is it perfect for the space i have it in. Invited my friends over to give me their take on this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2860131078
My Best Buy number: 2860131078
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

heavier than i thought

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: grammie
from Easton.MA
on 05/23/2014
What's not so great: harder to install window piece
works well in smaller bedroom than in larger one but does the job very quiet as advertised
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2217322593
My Best Buy number: 2217322593
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FoxyL
from Naples, FL
on 05/03/2014
It is exactly what I needed. It is quiet, it cools quickly and efficiently...
It just plains works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great use but takes time to understand how to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CollegeAttendee
on 10/11/2013
What's great about it: The temperature controls
What's not so great: Too many types of fan/AC options
I use this in my room and it does take up a lot of space. Assembly alone is easy enough, but it does seem useless in a room when the weather gets colder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2843118294
My Best Buy number: 2843118294
-15points
12out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for small room

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ValTexas
from Austin, TX
on 09/08/2013
What's great about it: It is very, quiet and worked liked I thoght it would.
Very easy to put together and the directions were easy to follow. I'm glad I bought it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>