Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Model: DPAC8KDB
SKU: 1980337
UPC: 067638902663
This portable air conditioner will cool up to a 250 sq. ft. room and features 3 fan speeds for custom control. The reusable air filter cleans the air as the unit cools the room. The electronic controls, LED display and remote allow for easy use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 120 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
35
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
16
73% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
88 out of 120
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excellent AC

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Shanster
on 06/18/2015
This is the second unit that I've purchased. Works great for a single room, and definitely cools the adjacent rooms a little too. Leaves the window space available for light to come in, and is easily removed and stored at the end of summer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2706275300
My Best Buy number: 2706275300
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great potable a/c

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mrobi
on 06/17/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Works great good thing that it is portable
You can move it from room to room as needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0056233759
My Best Buy number: 0056233759
Mobile Submission: True
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Keeps it cool at the cost of noise

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Yyakk
on 06/17/2015
Works well. Quiet Fan runs nonstop but sounds like your in the air conditoner when the compressor starts. Got it at a half the price of the Honeywell so can't really complain. ( that one is way nicer).
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2549026787
My Best Buy number: 2549026787
Mobile Submission: True
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works Great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: btab
on 06/17/2015
Our apartment doesn't have air conditioning aside from a window unit in the living room, so we purchased this to use in our bedroom at night. It keeps the room very cool and comfortable. I can't attest to the other features as we've only used the AC mode, but it works very well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3468127005
My Best Buy number: 3468127005
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works fine and does the job.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mana
on 06/12/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
We are happy we have AC now. It was very affordable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2988312953
My Best Buy number: 2988312953
Mobile Submission: True
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

overall the AC ARE RELLY GOOD.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pikachu
on 06/11/2015
WHEN I BUY THIS AC FOR MY ROOM I THINKS WAS TO SMALL BY ACTUALLY WORKING REALLY GOOD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3460286748
My Best Buy number: 3460286748
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great alternative air conditioner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ACDANBY8000
on 06/09/2015
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I was very nervous about using this type, however, our windows would not allow a typical air conditioner.. So far we have really enjoyed it! In fact, I find the noise calming and the cool air helpful for sleeping. Setup was simple and it requires little maintenance of any (we have had it a month and have had no issues).
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2279040633
My Best Buy number: 2279040633
Mobile Submission: True
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

it works, haven't had any problems yet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jckcapela
on 06/08/2015
I have owned for a couple of months and works sofar without any problems. I only wish the remote wasn't so complicated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2865304606
My Best Buy number: 2865304606
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

I wish it had a larger vent otherwise AWESOME!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: vvela
from Joliet, Il
on 06/08/2015
Love it!! gets cold fast and eco friendly coolant which is always a plus for me. It's a fan, air conditioner and dehumidifier all in ONE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1030345314
My Best Buy number: 1030345314
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

know i got my window back

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rickm52
from holbrook ny
on 06/08/2015
great portable air conditioner can even wheel it around to just use fan it at my desk
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2813093255
My Best Buy number: 2813093255
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Alright

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Jared
on 06/08/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I tried this unit for a few days. It seemed to over hear very quickly though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 1002250356
My Best Buy number: 1002250356
Mobile Submission: True
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

worked great until....

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: hunter1671
on 05/14/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I've had this unit for just under two years. It decided to stop sending out cool air last week. Not really a good option for the long run, but when it was running correctly it put out a good amount of cold air.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2001344046
My Best Buy number: 2001344046
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good buy for price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: dog1
on 04/26/2015
The only problem I have . I asked the best buy rep. if I had to drain the un it he said he did know. Asked him to check he said no. Well it turns out you do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
5out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Quiet Cool

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mike
on 04/17/2015
Bought this unit for my art studio. I did have to place a vent through my wall for the heat exhaust but that was a pretty easy fix, and there is an option to port it out a window. Blows very quietly compared to a window unit and blows very cold. Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0567897082
My Best Buy number: 0567897082
Mobile Submission: True
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good Cooling

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dodo
on 03/19/2015
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
It cools very good and fast. My room is almost 12' x 10'.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0575354010
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Very good to cool down a small room

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Misha
on 02/06/2015
This is my 2nd Danby, does a good job of cooling down the room you need to be in, saves money because you aren't cooling the entire house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0597892842
My Best Buy number: 0597892842
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good Portable AC

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DZACMOM
on 10/23/2014
Like previous reviewers, the unit is a little loud and the blue light is pretty bright but overall it is a good unit for the price and I have learned to live with the noise... I can actually sleep through the noise and bright light. We use the unit in our townhouse, top floor master bedroom which has 14 feet ceilings and it actually works better than our house unit in cooling the room. We did have to be a little inventive in cutting the window slider to fit the window. We used hedge cutters/shears or some garden/lawn tool which surprisingly worked out very well. We just had to shave like two or three inches for it to fit the bedroom window.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0422876740
My Best Buy number: 0422876740
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

would not recommend

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Vero
on 10/05/2014
I do not understand why anyone would want to purchase a portable AC. This ac is very cumbersome and not convenient. One piece is very large and bulky and is unattractive in the home. I would not recommend portable ACs over window unit ACs to anyone. we ended up returning this AC and purchasing a regular AC. This AC also did not cool enough.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2979814114
My Best Buy number: 2979814114
Mobile Submission: True
-41points
2out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for a small room

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Hkm94
on 10/04/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
My son uses this in his dorm room and it works great!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0327688141
My Best Buy number: 0327688141
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: retazz3096
from Acton, MA
on 10/01/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Works excellent! Maintain the room cool in minutes
Only bad about it, is that makes some noise, but it is just a little noise
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2684099264
My Best Buy number: 2684099264
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>