Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Model: DPAC8KDB
SKU: 1980337
UPC: 067638902663
This portable air conditioner will cool up to a 250 sq. ft. room and features 3 fan speeds for custom control. The reusable air filter cleans the air as the unit cools the room. The electronic controls, LED display and remote allow for easy use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.59 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 100 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
30
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
15
72% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
72 out of 100
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: retazz3096
from Acton, MA
on 10/01/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Works excellent! Maintain the room cool in minutes
Only bad about it, is that makes some noise, but it is just a little noise
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2684099264
My Best Buy number: 2684099264
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Worked Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sumice
on 09/26/2014
I used it in my camper and it keep us cool in 100 Temp
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0573786660
My Best Buy number: 0573786660
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good for the Price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: kim1t2
on 09/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Needs to be vented outside, so if it is for a large area, consider this first. Does well in a smaller space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2652592223
My Best Buy number: 2652592223
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

AAA

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: letterbird
on 09/24/2014
Amazing, works incredibly fine for a small room. Perfect for those hot days
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0571208591
My Best Buy number: 0571208591
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for smaller rooms

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jaypee
on 09/16/2014
Love the little AC. It judt I needed to help my main unit cool my entire place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0539901830
My Best Buy number: 0539901830
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Relatively Quiet but Poor Otherwise

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: f02eric
from New York, NY
on 09/12/2014
What's great about it: Relatively Quiet, Price
What's not so great: Unable to deal with high humidity, poor cooling
The unit is relatively quiet but it can't handle high levels of humidity. It's supposed to vent the humidity outside but if the level is too high it'll start to leak water from the reservoir normally used for the dehumidifier function. You have to hookup a hose and route it to a drain or bucket in this scenario. The air is only moderately cool.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0570249083
My Best Buy number: 0570249083
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

not working good

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: asam
from san diego
on 09/09/2014
What's great about it: not working good
What's not so great: does not cool off.
i already asked for the contact phone number to call and arrange a visit from repaire person. please comply and provide information asked for twicw now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jripple7
from Denver, CO
on 09/07/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up
Works well for its size, wish I would have got a bigger unit
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2918036973
My Best Buy number: 2918036973
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good AC For Individual Room Cooling

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BRW1974
from KCMO
on 09/03/2014
What's great about it: Easy to move around from room to room.
What's not so great: Have to remove vent tube to roll the unit easily, otherwise no problem.
This unit has helped get us through the hot months of the summer. Our home's air conditioning unit isn't quite big enough to cool our entire home efficiently, so our solution was to purchase this unit in order to cool our bedroom at night. The unit has both air conditioning and regular fan capabilities, as well as a dehumidifier, which we haven't tried yet. Apparently that feature will require us to empty a water collection tray when it fills up. The unit is a little noisy when on full blast, but nothing you can't sleep through. It seems to do a good job maintaining the temperature we have selected on the unit, and we actually end up adjusting our home's ac unit to not work as hard overnight for the rest of the house. We really haven't seen a noticeable increase on our utility bill either - the bill was just about the same as the previous month, when we did not have the unit yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2084508571
My Best Buy number: 2084508571
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works fine

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Me2014
from Boston
on 08/30/2014
What's great about it: cools
What's not so great: bit noisy
works as needed so far. Will know more when have used it more
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2836698802
My Best Buy number: 2836698802
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Not bad but to much noise with limited options

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Bestbuyshopper
on 08/29/2014
Great product , unfortunately the remote control comes with limited options to Handel , the light on the screen never goes off so at night in the bedroom it is a problem . The big problem is noise , really loud , beside that works very well...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1345678999
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

great fan/air conditioner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cjntrish
from olympia,wa
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: gets my bedroom cold fast
What's not so great: very loud when switching from air to fan
great air conditioner for the price. easy set up. my only complaint is it's very loud when switching from air to fan. the option we have it set on is after it reaches designated temp, it switches to fan. big clunk noise involved. i am getting used to it though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2572094654
My Best Buy number: 2572094654
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great portable AC Unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: esbj95
on 08/29/2014
I absolutely love it. It cooled my room in seconds great for one room cooling and also for a car garage to do work in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2974405232
My Best Buy number: 2974405232
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good for a small room

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Brandonh
on 08/28/2014
Works for a small room not great on hot summer days works better when it is already cold outside and only works good when the bedroom door is shut for a small room. only recommend maybe only if they need a extra ac unit for a small spear bedroom
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2979922277
My Best Buy number: 2979922277
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Easy to use and install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Voxcaster
from Gilroy California
on 08/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use and install
What's not so great: nothing yet
Easy to use and install priced well and fairly quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1048401156
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

effective but noisey

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: t2kulz
from NY, NY
on 08/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: noise
Selection was limited in store for floor model roll aways.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0308064346
My Best Buy number: 0308064346
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pooch59
from chesapeake va
on 08/27/2014
What's great about it: it is quiet easy to operate will cool a room down very quick
What's not so great: having to find a place to let the water to drain from it
I would recommend this to any of my friends and family
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1032009436
My Best Buy number: 1032009436
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works Awesome couldnt be happier

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rayson64
from Bend Oregon
on 08/27/2014
What's great about it: perfect for a smaller office space
What's not so great: controls are a little quirky but they work good
Happy employees now!!!! Unit works good and seems to really cool down our space nicely
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3317123943
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Perfect for my son's bedroom.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MChristieR
from Sacramento
on 08/27/2014
What's great about it: It cools the room quickly.
What's not so great: It's a bit chunky and takes up floor space.
Needed this to cool my son's bedroom, which was like an oven before. Now, we don't have to keep the rest of the house like a refridgerator just to make his room bearable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2989978066
My Best Buy number: 2989978066
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Very easy to use, keeps 2 rooms very cool

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bestccbuy
from los ángeles
on 08/25/2014
What's great about it: quiet, cools fast
What's not so great: large tube to the window
Although a bit large units, it wore very week and cools the room fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2726749164
My Best Buy number: 2726749164
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>