Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Model: DPAC8KDB
SKU: 1980337
UPC: 067638902663
This portable air conditioner will cool up to a 250 sq. ft. room and features 3 fan speeds for custom control. The reusable air filter cleans the air as the unit cools the room. The electronic controls, LED display and remote allow for easy use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.586 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 104 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
32
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
16
72% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
75 out of 104
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good Portable AC

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DZACMOM
on 10/23/2014
Like previous reviewers, the unit is a little loud and the blue light is pretty bright but overall it is a good unit for the price and I have learned to live with the noise... I can actually sleep through the noise and bright light. We use the unit in our townhouse, top floor master bedroom which has 14 feet ceilings and it actually works better than our house unit in cooling the room. We did have to be a little inventive in cutting the window slider to fit the window. We used hedge cutters/shears or some garden/lawn tool which surprisingly worked out very well. We just had to shave like two or three inches for it to fit the bedroom window.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0422876740
My Best Buy number: 0422876740
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

would not recommend

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Vero
on 10/05/2014
I do not understand why anyone would want to purchase a portable AC. This ac is very cumbersome and not convenient. One piece is very large and bulky and is unattractive in the home. I would not recommend portable ACs over window unit ACs to anyone. we ended up returning this AC and purchasing a regular AC. This AC also did not cool enough.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2979814114
My Best Buy number: 2979814114
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for a small room

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Hkm94
on 10/04/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
My son uses this in his dorm room and it works great!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0327688141
My Best Buy number: 0327688141
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: retazz3096
from Acton, MA
on 10/01/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Works excellent! Maintain the room cool in minutes
Only bad about it, is that makes some noise, but it is just a little noise
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2684099264
My Best Buy number: 2684099264
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good AC for a small office

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HotinFlorida
on 10/01/2014
I work from home and it was costing far too much to keep the whole house AC operational just for my small office - especially with family moving in and out of the house or leaving the patio doors open. I looked around but could not find a higher spec device for the cost. Set up was simple and the unit runs great keeping my office below 78 degrees all day long. If you are going to install remember to buy some double sided door draught excluder tape or hook and eye fixing to enable to the window section to be left in place instead of having to remove it every time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2746992632
My Best Buy number: 2746992632
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Worked Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sumice
on 09/26/2014
I used it in my camper and it keep us cool in 100 Temp
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0573786660
My Best Buy number: 0573786660
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good for the Price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: kim1t2
on 09/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Needs to be vented outside, so if it is for a large area, consider this first. Does well in a smaller space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2652592223
My Best Buy number: 2652592223
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

AAA

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: letterbird
on 09/24/2014
Amazing, works incredibly fine for a small room. Perfect for those hot days
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0571208591
My Best Buy number: 0571208591
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for smaller rooms

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jaypee
on 09/16/2014
Love the little AC. It judt I needed to help my main unit cool my entire place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0539901830
My Best Buy number: 0539901830
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Relatively Quiet but Poor Otherwise

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: f02eric
from New York, NY
on 09/12/2014
What's great about it: Relatively Quiet, Price
What's not so great: Unable to deal with high humidity, poor cooling
The unit is relatively quiet but it can't handle high levels of humidity. It's supposed to vent the humidity outside but if the level is too high it'll start to leak water from the reservoir normally used for the dehumidifier function. You have to hookup a hose and route it to a drain or bucket in this scenario. The air is only moderately cool.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0570249083
My Best Buy number: 0570249083
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

not working good

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: asam
from san diego
on 09/09/2014
What's great about it: not working good
What's not so great: does not cool off.
i already asked for the contact phone number to call and arrange a visit from repaire person. please comply and provide information asked for twicw now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jripple7
from Denver, CO
on 09/07/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up
Works well for its size, wish I would have got a bigger unit
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2918036973
My Best Buy number: 2918036973
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good AC For Individual Room Cooling

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BRW1974
from KCMO
on 09/03/2014
What's great about it: Easy to move around from room to room.
What's not so great: Have to remove vent tube to roll the unit easily, otherwise no problem.
This unit has helped get us through the hot months of the summer. Our home's air conditioning unit isn't quite big enough to cool our entire home efficiently, so our solution was to purchase this unit in order to cool our bedroom at night. The unit has both air conditioning and regular fan capabilities, as well as a dehumidifier, which we haven't tried yet. Apparently that feature will require us to empty a water collection tray when it fills up. The unit is a little noisy when on full blast, but nothing you can't sleep through. It seems to do a good job maintaining the temperature we have selected on the unit, and we actually end up adjusting our home's ac unit to not work as hard overnight for the rest of the house. We really haven't seen a noticeable increase on our utility bill either - the bill was just about the same as the previous month, when we did not have the unit yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2084508571
My Best Buy number: 2084508571
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works fine

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Me2014
from Boston
on 08/30/2014
What's great about it: cools
What's not so great: bit noisy
works as needed so far. Will know more when have used it more
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2836698802
My Best Buy number: 2836698802
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Not bad but to much noise with limited options

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Bestbuyshopper
on 08/29/2014
Great product , unfortunately the remote control comes with limited options to Handel , the light on the screen never goes off so at night in the bedroom it is a problem . The big problem is noise , really loud , beside that works very well...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1345678999
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

great fan/air conditioner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cjntrish
from olympia,wa
on 08/29/2014
What's great about it: gets my bedroom cold fast
What's not so great: very loud when switching from air to fan
great air conditioner for the price. easy set up. my only complaint is it's very loud when switching from air to fan. the option we have it set on is after it reaches designated temp, it switches to fan. big clunk noise involved. i am getting used to it though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2572094654
My Best Buy number: 2572094654
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great portable AC Unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: esbj95
on 08/29/2014
I absolutely love it. It cooled my room in seconds great for one room cooling and also for a car garage to do work in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2974405232
My Best Buy number: 2974405232
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good for a small room

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Brandonh
on 08/28/2014
Works for a small room not great on hot summer days works better when it is already cold outside and only works good when the bedroom door is shut for a small room. only recommend maybe only if they need a extra ac unit for a small spear bedroom
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2979922277
My Best Buy number: 2979922277
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Easy to use and install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Voxcaster
from Gilroy California
on 08/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use and install
What's not so great: nothing yet
Easy to use and install priced well and fairly quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1048401156
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

effective but noisey

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: t2kulz
from NY, NY
on 08/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: noise
Selection was limited in store for floor model roll aways.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0308064346
My Best Buy number: 0308064346
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>