Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Model: DPAC8KDB
SKU: 1980337
UPC: 067638902663
This portable air conditioner will cool up to a 250 sq. ft. room and features 3 fan speeds for custom control. The reusable air filter cleans the air as the unit cools the room. The electronic controls, LED display and remote allow for easy use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.426 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 54 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
10
69% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
37 out of 54
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great AC, price, and simple to install.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HaywoodJBME
from Indianapolis, IN
on 07/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: It works as expected and you can move around as needed.
What's not so great: There could be better info on packaging to help me know my concerns are covered.
Excellent product, price, and easy installation. Like that it senses when condensate bucket is full and shuts down automatically. This is important but is not prominently stated on packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0307667623
My Best Buy number: 0307667623
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great, but...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TimothyA
on 07/25/2014
The air conditioner is great, functions well, and cools amazingly. The only issue is that it is really only made for a very small room. We had this installed in our living room, and it did nothing, but after moving it to our bedroom, it worked much better
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2988147616
My Best Buy number: 2988147616
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good for a small room

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DudePP
from West Hollywood, CA
on 07/25/2014
What's great about it: Able to cool the room
What's not so great: Noise
Using it in a 350 square ft room when it was 85+ outside. The unit offers average cooling power. It cools the room but not as much as a window unit, better than just running it dehumidifier. Temperature dropped maybe 5 to 7 degrees. Cooled air coming from it wasn't nearly as cool as a traditional window air conditioner. I thought it would come close.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0559224971
My Best Buy number: 0559224971
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Powerful NOT!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Stillwarm
on 07/25/2014
This AC unit is very underpowered. Would not cool a 12X12 room on an 80degree day by more then 3 degrees.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 1042499739
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good for bedroom.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: CBel0409
from Central Ohio
on 07/25/2014
What's great about it: Works well for upstairs bedroom where central air doesn't work well.
What's not so great: Sucks up electricity.
Does what we bought it for - cools an upstairs bedroom where the central air doesn't work adequately. But it does use a fair amount of power. Noise level isn't too bad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2828442246
My Best Buy number: 2828442246
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Never gets cool

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DJRic
on 07/19/2014
I purchased this unit for the simplicity of it and it is that. The down side to it is, it never gets the room cool. It never gets the room lower then 82. I would not have bought it now knowing that. Room is 10x20
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0907041397
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excellent AC / Dehumidifier combo

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vikki530
from St Paul, MN
on 07/15/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: It is somewhat loud.
Does as advertised, cools and dehumidifies our entier 1000 sq ft apartment. Was easy to set up and is easy to operate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0041950203
My Best Buy number: 0041950203
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

portable & not noisey

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lindalinga99
from saint paul MN
on 07/11/2014
What's great about it: noise level is quite compared to on window AC unit & my reg house fan :)
What's not so great: big & bulky
Still love it! Size does matter & I wish I had a smaller one but it does the job without me having to higher the volume while watching TV in my living room. It sits in my corner and cools me off :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

business

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Snowballs
on 07/09/2014
Nice air condition if you have a small room without a lot of activity
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2792205250
My Best Buy number: 2792205250
Mobile Submission: True
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works OK - doesn't stink, isn't great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: IrishJimmy
from Long Beach, CA
on 07/05/2014
What's great about it: blows cold air
What's not so great: doesn't blow enough cold air
I have a small room, 13 x 13. It gets hit by the sun every afternoon and gets insanely hot. This a/c unit helps a little, but can't keep up with the heat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2662497235
My Best Buy number: 2662497235
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great AC for the price and BTU's

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dda310
on 07/04/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This AC is very easy to install and so far has been working great for my living room. Until now all I had was a really loud Vornado fan. This unit isn't silent but it's much quieter than my fan was and of course is cooling the room better.
I have casement windows and therefore can't install a window AC, so this was a great alternative for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0531389728
Mobile Submission: True
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for small room

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lbcsmithj
from Long Beach, CA
on 07/01/2014
What's great about it: Instantly cools room
What's not so great: Its a lil loud and a lil pricy
My bedroom is the hottest room in the house and with this air conditioner I am able to cool the room down pretty quick...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2874093751
My Best Buy number: 2874093751
Mobile Submission: True
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good A/C for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Oscar
from Apopka , Fl
on 06/29/2014
What's great about it: the size
What's not so great: a bit loud
for the price it is a good unit it cool down a 10 x 10 room fast in less than 5 min , the unit is a bit loud but if it is put in the high setting , easy to install , in overall in happy whit this A/C unit...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0571924569
My Best Buy number: 0571924569
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

danby ac dont buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: nothappy
from illinois
on 06/21/2014
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: does not cool as advertised
purchased two of these units last night one was inop out of box ie display flickered will not turn and controls inop,second ac unit running all night outside tempature 78 degrees in a 200sqft sealed room that is a well insulated room would not get below 75 degrees at night,best buy customer support was limted to refund of purchased price with no comparable replacments instock at stores within 100 mile radius ,so 200 mile round trip to store .2 failed ac units and one very very unhappy customer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Decent Machine, LED light is TOO BRIGHT

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Coolnunchuckdude
from Minneapolis, MN
on 06/17/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: It keeps things cool
What's not so great: the LED light is really super bright
I got this unit for my bedroom and it's quiet, keeps things cool and is not too big. What really drives me crazy is the LED light on the unit is so frustratingly bright that when I try to sleep at night everything in my room is enveloped in a bright blue light. There is no way to turn this off without turning off the whole unit. I really liked this unit otherwise so I am sad that I will need to bring it back and find something that does not have a blinding light.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0950233800
-12points
8out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Did not like

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Guster61
from Buffalo, NY
on 06/14/2014
What's great about it: Not much
What's not so great: Did not get cold enough
I usually dont purchase larger items soley because of pride but in this case I had a wake up call and did just that. I firmly believe you get what you pay for. This is not a quiet AC and it did not cool down my average size room much at all. Needless to say, I did return this unit and got another brand at another retailer, which works perfectly and I am satisfied with.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0546397220
My Best Buy number: 0546397220
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

great ac

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: solsan
on 06/13/2014
a good portable ac I actually thought at first it was gonna be a waste of money ... the next couple of days it proved me wrong . It freezes my bedroom up ... I plan on gettin another one for the living room
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3302063711
My Best Buy number: 3302063711
Mobile Submission: True
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excellent at cooling, loud from time to time

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Designasaurs
from Bergen County
on 06/07/2014
What's great about it: easy to install in window, cools apartment well
What's not so great: heavy, loud
The best buy employee helped me carry this to the register, but not my car. I was worried I wouldn't be able to get it into the backseat when I tried to lift it and realized it's very heavy! It was too heavy for me to lift out of the box once I got it home. I had to cut open the bottom of the box to remove the box from around it, then wheel it into place. It cools off my entire apartment when using it in "cool" and "auto" mode on a very warm day. I keep it in my bedroom, and if the door is open and all windows in the apartment are closed, I can feel it cooling down other rooms. It shuts on and off when it reaching the temperature it's set to, which sounds like the unit is turning off completely (makes me think it's broken) - then it turns on with a loud start that startles me a little each time. Overall, great cooling unit. I have not used the dehumidifier mode yet. Fan is pretty good, too. You cannot adjust the vents, they point in a fixed direction. Might recommend to someone not worried about the noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2502093115
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Easy to use and set up.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: rhcktkcj
from south bend, in
on 06/06/2014
What's great about it: good price, easy to use, multiple settings, thermostat
What's not so great: pretty loud, fixed fan direction
All in all a good product. Works well and cools an area around 200 square feet. Attractive unit, however it is pretty loud if you are sleeping next to it. Has programmable thermostat and a fan only feature which is nice on cooler nights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0547297345
My Best Buy number: 0547297345
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

NICE COOL AIR, nice and quiet.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jtlv
from Las Vegas, NV
on 05/30/2014
What's great about it: Price, quality, Design
Living in the hot desert southwest, I have tried several portable air conditioners. The Danby is the perfect amount of quiet, as in you can sleep with it on in your bedroom. It also is super power efficient and keeps a nice size room cold. The most important thing is to vent it and insulate the hose. Get the hot air out. Keep the cool in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2838781137
My Best Buy number: 2838781137
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>