Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Model: DPAC8KDB
SKU: 1980337
UPC: 067638902663
This portable air conditioner will cool up to a 250 sq. ft. room and features 3 fan speeds for custom control. The reusable air filter cleans the air as the unit cools the room. The electronic controls, LED display and remote allow for easy use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.355 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
7
65% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
20 out of 31
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great use but takes time to understand how to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CollegeAttendee
on 10/11/2013
What's great about it: The temperature controls
What's not so great: Too many types of fan/AC options
I use this in my room and it does take up a lot of space. Assembly alone is easy enough, but it does seem useless in a room when the weather gets colder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2843118294
My Best Buy number: 2843118294
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for small room

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ValTexas
from Austin, TX
on 09/08/2013
What's great about it: It is very, quiet and worked liked I thoght it would.
Very easy to put together and the directions were easy to follow. I'm glad I bought it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good Air Conditioner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Green Bay
on 09/04/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Cools the room
What's not so great: Fan runs constantly
My room was expanded into what used to be the attic, therefore it does not have much insulation. In the summer it gets really hot and in the winter it gets really cold and I recently set up a gaming desktop which can kick out some heat. So this summer I decided to get an air condition unit for my room. This product does exactly what it is meant to. I turn it on when I get home from work and in a couple minutes the room is at whatever temperature I set it at. The only problem is that the fan on the unit does not shut off when its on. I would assume that once the room hits the set temperature, the fan in the air conditioner would shut down to save electricity. This is only a minor problem though because I only have it on during really hot days and only when I'm in the room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0574854276
My Best Buy number: 0574854276
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Air for camper

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Summertime7654
from Ohio
on 08/23/2013
I wanted to use this for my camper during hot days. It didn't work real well during the day (with the sun beating down on camper) but once the sun went down, it served its purpose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 1013810143
My Best Buy number: 1013810143
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Good Alternative to Window Units

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: swvgdj
from Austin, TX
on 08/19/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Relatively Quiet and Easy to Install
What's not so great: Less Cooling Power Than Hoped For
This is a clean-looking unit that is easier to install than a window unit and easier to move around as well. The instruction manual is slightly confusing and the unit delivers slightly less cooling power than hoped for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2746085747
My Best Buy number: 2746085747
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

great air conditioner for the bedroom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cool51
from nampa id
on 08/17/2013
What's great about it: it cools down the room
What's not so great: nothing
it works really good in the bedroom. was easy to set up. am very satisfied with it,
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0576077338
My Best Buy number: 0576077338
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Quiet and works well for smaller spaces

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LLB94
on 08/16/2013
Bought this to cool a very open family room. Works good considering it is such and open space. Not amazing, but cools the room down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1050492005
My Best Buy number: 1050492005
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Very weak

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Slammerblue
from New Jersey
on 08/10/2013
What's not so great: Not very powerful
Not much cooling power for an attic room, I expected it to be stronger
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2605284250
My Best Buy number: 2605284250
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Don't like this air conditioner.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NoCOOL
from New york,NY
on 08/09/2013
What's great about it: Look good
What's not so great: Not cooling room down as said.
this air conditioner does not cool down a small bed room.
The lowest tempreture it can reach is 79 degrees.
Plus the HUGE air hose is very inconvenient at any room.
It takes a lot of space.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2217988423
My Best Buy number: 2217988423
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

My first one

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Terip79
from San Marcos, ca
on 08/03/2013
What's great about it: Keeps my room very cool
What's not so great: Having to dump the water out
I love it to the max..... My room gets cooler quick when my ac is running for 15mins.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2850010093
My Best Buy number: 2850010093
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 1boomer1
from Portland, Or
on 08/02/2013
What's great about it: Easy set up, not as noisey as others in this range
What's not so great: Still haven't figured out timer.
A little hassel getting it but very happy with the unit. Cools my west facing, upstairs room fast, drops temp about 6-8 degrees in 20 minutes or so. Looks nicer than the Home Depot unit, better vent set up, worth the extra $12 I would say.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Quit working within four hours

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Hedgehodge
from Lebanon, NH
on 08/02/2013
What's great about it: It was available during a 90 degree heat wave
What's not so great: Only worked for four hours, then never functioned properly in any of the three capacities.
Followed the directions carefully in setting up the unit, and it worked great... for the first four hours. I happened to be standing next to it when it quit working. It appeared to freeze up. The temperature on the front panel kept dropping, eventually reaching 46 degrees, and the unit stopped blowing any air. After unplugging it and waiting several hours it appeared to leak. I attempted to drain it following the directions, but very little water came out. After that the unit would not function for AC, dehumidifying, or on simple fan settings. Boxed it up and took it back. Stuck an old AC window unit in, and have been pleased enough with its function to just leave well enough alone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

good for small rooms

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mul75
from swartz creek,michigan
on 07/27/2013
What's great about it: helps bring down humidity level
What's not so great: barely cools the room
makes room comfy but not cold,only good in sm.room
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 1026140787
My Best Buy number: 1026140787
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Great for smaller spaces

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Fefe4570
from RI
on 07/26/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy install
What's not so great: Not enough BTUs
This unit is ideal for smaller spaces. It's portable and remote control access is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2626650607
My Best Buy number: 2626650607
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

keeps my 2 year old son's room comfortably cool.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: happymothernow
from Hudson, WI
on 07/26/2013
What's great about it: easy to operate. perfect results.
We are very happy knowing our child is comfortable and cool on the hot summer nights. Its worth every penny. I would buy another one if i needed one. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1052059909
My Best Buy number: 1052059909
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Don't waste your time

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ChetoL
from Austin, Texas
on 07/20/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
It does not cool at all. Took it back and paid $200 more for a honeywell that I am very happy with. Don't waste your time .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Will not cool the room.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ToohotinMaine
from Bath, ME
on 07/20/2013
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Barely lowers the room temperature.
This air conditioner must run for hours before it cools even a small room a few degrees. After running for an entire night, the temperature in the room was higher than the outside temp. I would have been better off using a window fan and pulling in the cooler outside air. In other words, a $30 window fan makes the room more comfortable than this $300 disappointment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Not particularly good at cooling room

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Maggiet
from Cleveland
on 07/16/2013
What's great about it: Continuous drain
What's not so great: Does not cool particularly well
Dehumidifies well but if very hot does not get the job done. Has never gotten below 72. Seems at best to get 10 degrees below outside temp so if it is 90 out does not get much below 80 which does not cut it, the room is only 10 x 15 at most so it should be doing better.
Not sure if I got a defective machine or it is just junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Excelent AC for an average sized bedroom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: garyinwillington
from Willington, CT
on 07/14/2013
What's great about it: Easy to install, cools room quickly, and is relativly quiet
Easy to unpack. It weighs about the same as a standard window mount AC so you may need two adults to carry to an upstairs bedroom. Exhaust tube kit was very easy to install in the window and fits horizontal or vertical sliding windows as well as sliding patio doors. Exhaust hose and electric wire are long enough to move the unit around the window area. Remote control is nice. Relatively quiet and cools the room quite nicely even during hot and humid days and nights. This was a great investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby - 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - White

Cools the room quickly, great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Suzq0626
from Nashua,NH
on 06/29/2013
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: N/a
Great value for a quality product. Took 20 minutes to set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0027477694
My Best Buy number: 0027477694
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>