Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Model: DMPBD75
SKU: 2024401
UPC: 885170033412
Enjoy your favorite movies in high-definition with this Blu-ray player that features Deep Color and x.v.Color technologies for stunning images. Dolby Digital Plus and Dolby TrueHD decoders provide a lush soundscape. Smart Blu-ray Player Get a world of instant entertainment with this smart Blu-ray player. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. Netflix CinemaNow
Average Customer Rating:
3.891 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 119 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
43
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
14
80% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
95 out of 119
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Inexpensive works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: muzikmanwi
from Winona MN
on 03/13/2011
What's great about it: Plays MKV files
Bought this to take some wear and tear off my HTPC Blu-ray drive and it works perfectly. Love the fact you can put MKV files on DVD or Blu-ray disc and it will play them. Very small and quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Fast and quick loads :D

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wickedg
from Orlando,FL
on 03/28/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast loading time
What's not so great: Default setting for Audio set to Bitstream, need to change to PCM to play your DVDs
I return the Tosiba BDX2200 after it failed on the first day and picked this one up as it replacement. Product works great, quality of picture clear and nice, Setup was quick too. I should mention if your planning to play DVD on this device to make sure to set in Audio options from Bitstream to PCM on both options, if not you will get a nasty noise feedback on your speakers. Best part the loading is quick and UI options are fast to move around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Good unit some features not up to snuff yet

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Aevans0001
from DFW
on 04/06/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Netflix
What's not so great: Freezing on Startup, Update error
This is a good unit. I have used it thoroughly now for about 2 weeks. Let it be known that everything else that is not listed here worked great!
Netflix Button: The button is located on the remote, if you press the button too quickly while Quick load feature is on the player freezes and then you have to power down by unplugging cord from wall. They say this SHOULD be fixed with new firmware
Upgrade Firmware: No firmware update currently (4/6/11), but when you try to get one it says check network connections instead of saying there are no updates. This is a known problem and they say WILL be fixed with new firmware.
Customer Service: Pitiful, after spending 30 minutes trying to explain the issues, got a hold of supervisor who was a lot better. He still did not offer me any concessions on an upgraded model (I was willign to pay some extra), or offer to replace it with them paying shipping both ways (to be fair he blamed everything on firmware and didn't think anything was WRONG with the system that could be fixed with a replacement.
Remote Control: Remote can only operate a panasonic tv. This is not a universal remote, and some older remotes I have could not control it..
Pandora: it is not on this system just Netflix, Cinemanow, VUDOO, and Napster
Overall I would recommend this player to anyone who reads this review and still purchases it. This is not a bad review and proably woudl go up to a 4 - 4.5 stars after the first firmware update
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Great Unit for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Terry22
from Washington, DC
on 04/27/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Upscaling and Picture quality
What's not so great: No 3D capability
Excellent picture, very quiet and easy to use. I have it networked to the PC's in my home. So, in addition to Blue-Ray movies, I also use it play movies stored on my PC onto my Big Screen TVs. The Panasonic's picture quality for upscaling was stunning! .
I purchased another Sony Blue Ray player with networking to do basically the same functionality for a TV in another room of the house. At nearly double the cost of the Panasonic, the Blue-Ray movie picture quality was decent, but the networked movie upscaling was horrible.
This is definitely a great little unit for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Becvar
 
Please wait while more information about Becvar is loaded.
Additional information about Becvar could not be loaded.
05/06/2011
Why would you post no 3D as a bad thing when the unit never claimed it in the first place. If you wanted 3D, you should have BOUGHT a 3D unit.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Review 5 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Great Blu-Ray Player for the price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JoshTheDrummer
from Dallas, TX
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, auto power down, easy to use remote and menus, quiet, and great picture -- at a great price.
What's not so great: No Wi-Fi
I bought this as my first Blu-ray player when Star Wars was released on Blu-Ray earlier this year. To my surprise, it was very easy to set up. Within ten minutes, I was watching the special features for Return of the Jedi. Standard DVD upconversion provides a great picture as well, even better than expected. With either format, the picture is clear and detailed.
The remote and player is easy to use as well. One nice feature that I was unaware of is auto power down. I often fall asleep with a movie playing to help me rest. I can set the sleep timer on my television, and the Blu-Ray player is turned off when I wake up. A great power saving feature.
The only downside to this player is the lack of wi-fi. Although it is internet-connectable, it's a little difficult to run a network cable to the nearest router in the house for downloading updates or to watch Netflix (which I haven't tried yet).
For the money and value, I highly recommend this item.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Broken after 62 days

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BryanR
from Phoenix, AZ
on 08/17/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice at first
What's not so great: Stopped working
Worked fine, only used it about 10 times then the sound stopped working, then the picture. Had to pay to have it shipped to Panasonic for warranty repair. Panasonic's "1 year warranty" is a joke. After 90 days Panasonic will only cover parts, not labor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Great for wired netflix

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: G444
from Ballwin, MO
on 06/22/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It works!
What's not so great: Cannot skip previews.
I only have a 720p plasma, but it still delivers a stunning picture. We wanted Blue-ray and Netflix capability. It boots fast, never buffers during playback and it works great for DVD, Blue-ray and Netflix (wired). No DLNA. Cannot skip Blue-ray disk previews, only fast forward. Unit remembers where you left off watching a Blue-ray. Streaming Netflix does not support Dolby Digital on this and most other devices, though it is super convenient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Great blueray player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DJSCJS
from Ohio
on 03/24/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Hookup...Picture...Playback
What's not so great: Nothing !
I purchased this unit on 3/21/11 from best buy with the 10% off coupon this past monday and for the money, love it..I have had no problem with the hookup, internet connection,or any playback of any movies yet..The picture quality with my panasonic lcs tv is awesome.. .Panasonic products have always been top quality and problem free for me over the last 15years, and i owe alot of them....I hope it continues with this unit also...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Great for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nosekeponer
from Houston, TX
on 11/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Solid performer for watching movies, etc.
What's not so great: Not a lot of extra features like built in wireless internet and apps
I first bought a 60" Panasonic plasma TV (which I love!), and the Reward Zone coupons I got from that purchase paid for most of this DVD player (I wanted to stick with the same brand as the TV). The DVD remote has the same layout as the TV remote, so it didn't take any getting used to. The picture quality looks great on the 60" when playing Bluray and regular DVDs.
I may buy a home theater system later on, but what I have done in the meantime is hook up some really nice computer speakers with subwoofer that I already had laying around. I just had to buy a cheap cable (the PC audio jack size female on one end to plug in the speakers, and on the other end, the red and white audio male to plug into the DVD player's audio out--this cable can easily be found for sale online). Then I just mute the TV audio and let the sound come out through the speakers which sounds awesome--definitely a theater experience! (If you use an HDMI connection between the DVD player and TV and don't mute the TV, you'll have the audio coming out there too because the HDMI still carries the audio signal to the TV even though the speakers are working through the audio jacks as well).
I would recommend this DVD player based on the ease of use and movie playback quality. I haven't yet explored it's other features, so I can't comment on them.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Fantastic little BluRay Player....but.............

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: oldbigdave
from St Cloud MN
on 01/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great performance for so little money!!!!!!
What's not so great: no built-in memory
yes there is always a "BUT". set-up was super easy, loaded and watched regular DVD movie instantly. loaded and watched BluRay "Sherlock Holmes" #the first one with Doweny Jr.# never have had a problem playing it.
Now comes the BUT part, tried to play Avatar the extended directors cut. It took about 5 minutes to load and when it started to play, a warning " no local storage" came up. I clicked on continue and the movie began to play. But is was kind of jerky and I couldn't access the BD live functions. I shut down the player and read the manual, it states there is no on board memory. # my old DVD player had at least a couple MB of ram# and it says to connect a USB drive Minimum 1GB to a maximum of 2TB, as long as the drive is formatted in FAT, i used a FAT32 2GB drive to test it. With the USB drive installed the player fired right up and loaded Avatar in just a few seconds, there came and went a couple of black screens, but the movie played smoooothly and the USB drive also acts as a buffer for streaming Netflix from the net. I'm going to replace the long 2GB drive with a Sadisk Mini 8GB drive, it's the size of a wart, since it's on the front of the player. SO if you are having problems with your unit, try installing a correctly formatted USB drive.
ALSO BE SURE TO UPDATE FIRMWARE IMMEDIATELY!!!!!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Great for Blu-Rays

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Schnizer
from Iowa
on 09/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
For anyone looking for something to hook-up to an HDTV and just play Blu-rays and DVDs....look no further. Great picture and sound quality. I don't really use it for streaming, because I have multiple options to choose from (PC, XBox 360, PS3, TV) so I can't really say anything in that regard. Heard it is somewhat limited and problematic. Although, I did just test is out a few times AFTER updating the drivers and didn't have any problem with it locking up or crashing.
Also, this blu-ray player only has the older RCA Red/White stereo output. No digital optical or coaxial. I run everything to my TV and output an optical from my TV to my receiver, so it wasn't a big bother to me. Just thought I'd throw that out there.
Overall, if you just want something to play blu-rays in 1080p and not worried about vast streaming options through this, then this is the blu-ray player for you.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Unbelievable Value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Raleighwood
on 07/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: VALUE and Picture Quality
What's not so great: Cheaply made, light weight, flimsy, will not last as a BD player, may stream indefinitely.
For less than a Benjamin this is a steal. The picture is better out of this player than my previous Panny BD player than cost 3X more a few years ago. The network streaming capability is just incredible. Please note this player requires an ethernet wired connection. Will not do wifi as far as I know. Netflix works beautifully. Watching Battlestar Galactica episodes in full screen on my 8 year old 60" Sony RPTV and it looks GREAT. Never watched the series when it was new due to not being on an HD channel on my system, that and the commercials. I am blown away by this little player. It weighs next to nothing which is not necessarily a good thing in the long run but for streaming which requires no parts to move it works fine. This is a throw away appliance. When it breaks after a year, you throw it away. Does it make sense in this ever changing hi tech world to spend a thousand dollars on a BD player? If you have ethernet close by and want a streaming BD player, run, don't walk to BB and get this Panny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Not a bad deal, just slow load time.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tvboy92
from Houston TX
on 10/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
A great bluray player for all. Great picture quality and easy to control.
This product has... Slow load time, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

while it works

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: draven007
from new york
on 02/25/2012
What's great about it: was easy to use has some good features
What's not so great: the lemon on a laser to start it be nice to get 4 or 5 years at least out of something.
was a good product until it stops playing Blu ray disk but it still plays dvds come to find out they use a different laser then other company's and they all go at some point seems a year and a half to 2 years on the avg even a friend of mine with a repair center confirmed what I have read sad I use to love there brand and its all I bought but after 2 of these going no thx ill go to Sony or samsung from now on.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Good bang for buck, but no optical out

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CodeDysfunction
from Lexington, KY
on 12/04/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, fast
What's not so great: No optical or coaxial digital audio connections. No component video.
I really like this player. It is fast to start. Menus are easy to use in configuration.
I only regret not checking first that this player had an optical audio output. The only output for surround sound is HDMI.
I was going to eventually upgrade my receiver anyway so I got over it.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Very good for technology challanged people.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kross824
from FERNDALE, MI
on 10/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This was very easy to set up. Instructions are easy to follow. I love it.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Internet Connectable?

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Reviewer10000
from Huntsville, AL
on 04/13/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Inexpensive, good picture, easy to use.
What's not so great: Misleading claims of wireless conectivity.
I was generally pleased with the unit, it performs quite well considering the bargain price. Don't be fooled by the claims of "Wireless LAN Ready" on the box, though. It can't be connected to a wireless network without the purchase of an additional wireless adapter. It is *NOT* ready out of the box as you would expect. Very misleading in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Locks up constantly

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: chanmatt
on 01/05/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: nice picture when working
What's not so great: locks up
This player locks up every time you take the disk out or turn off the power.
About me... Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

Locks up after streaming

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: joebobby
from New Yorkie
on 09/10/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: PQ on BD discs
What's not so great: Lock up issue after streaming
PQ on this little Pany is great especially with BD discs. I got it to stream Netflix and it does that pretty well although I read that other BD players and other streaming devices have a better Netflix PQ. Not sure how that is possible. The problem is and had become worse over the 2 months I have owned this machine, is that it locks up when you go to power it off. Unplugging it is the only thing that will shut it down and reboot it. Known issue I found out from checking reviews elsewhere. Panny just pushed out a firmware update in the past week or so and it promptly locked up after the update. Thank you Panasonic. This kind of aggravation just gets on my last nerve. The terms idiot and moron come to mind. Doubt they will ever fix the issue and my unit is now out of store warranty but not Panny warranty. It got me thru the long hot boring summer but I can't see sending a sub $100 unit off to their service depot and waiting w/o a player for who knows how long to get it back and statistics would indicate it will not be fixed when it comes back. Rethinking my whole love affair with Panny products. Reading reviews of various consumer electronic products would indicate the mass market mfrs are all pretty much the same. Selling buggy cheap plastic boxes to bozos like us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic Blu-ray Player

We love it and it was a great price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: magnusp
from san diego, CA
on 04/27/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This was our first Blu-Ray player and we love it, it is perfect for our family movie nights. The price was great too!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>