Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Model: IPS236V
SKU: 2031077
UPC: 719192188266
This LED monitor features a 5,000,000:1 contrast ratio and up to 250 cd/m� brightness for stunning movies, games and graphics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 88 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
7
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
68 out of 88
)
Customer Reviews for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor
Review 1 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Great Clarity

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Long Beach
on 04/11/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very Streamline
Excellent for dual monitor use and take up very little space.
This product has... Attractive design
About me... Dual monitors user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Excellent Monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bikerider
from tampa,fl
on 04/11/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything as far as I'm Concerned
What's not so great: Nothing
Took it home, Plugged it in, turned it on, Installed it . I doubt it took more than 15 Min. Best monitor I have ever had. NO trouble with install or with ANYTHING.. Well worth the money and perfect for my use!!
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, somewhat tech challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Stopped working after 2 weeks

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Enfuego
from Houston
on 03/26/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Not much to say about this monitor. It was on sale for $200 at Best Buy and it had the features I wanted (HDMI input, 23" size, 1080P). Got home and I thought the picture was great. Unfortunately the monitor stopped turning on after 2 weeks. Was able to return it and I ended up getting the same main features with a Samsung monitor but it ended up costing me an extra $60. Not sure what the defect was, but it's extremely disappointing to spend money on something that just stops working. Luckily it happened before the 45 day exchange window as I did not buy the BB warranty thing. I shouldn't have to spend 10% extra to cover something that should work for a long time.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, Difficult to adjust/use buttons, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Quality image/excellent value/great looks

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cdirector
from Ocala, FL
on 03/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Value and excellent picture/color quality
What's not so great: Accessing the onscreen adjustments (it may just be me)
I was able to purchase this excellent monitor for $200 on sale at Best Buy.
I needed something that had reliable, quality color since it would be used in a graphics environment and also be used for photo retouching. Out of the box, the color, while good, appeared to be a bit on the blue side. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I downloaded a free calibrated color profile for this monitor series from the Digital Versus website. I easily installed it in my Mac system (Macintosh HD > Library > ColorSync > Profiles:) and selected it in system prefs > monitor ...the color then was instantly where I wanted it to be. I have not really spent time with the monitor's onscreen adjustments (I haven't needed to) other than to explore them a bit. I initially found them confusing to navigate but I went back to the store and one of the sales staff and I figured them out together.
I sent a file out to a service bureau to have a quality color proof made on a system I could rely on. Again, the hard copy color was right where I expected it to be... a quality result! I also tried the monitor connected to my laptop. The laptop's image is mirrored on the LG, fills about 21 of the 23-inches and looks very good.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Dual monitors user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Met all my expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: YVAN1950
from Boynton Beach, Fl
on 03/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Still have to push my experience with it further more...
For now super picture:
+ non reflective screen
- No vertical adjustment
Tilting and IPS viewing angles does the job for me.
Good value, satisfied with my purchase.
This product has... Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Photo/video enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Nice bright monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SeanNobody
from Sarasota, FL
on 02/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Brightest picture of all monitors on display
What's not so great: No USB ports/no adjustable height
I bought this monitor as a 2nd monitor for my laptop to do photo editing and workflow using Lightroom 3.5. This monitor has a very high contrast ratio and is extremely bright. Although I have not measured the color accuracy, the colors seem accurate and are very rich. I sometimes watch movies from Netflix on this monitor and it is superb for this.
The only features this monitor lacks that I liked with my Dell 1905FW are additional USB ports and an adjustable height. It has DVI, HDMI, VGA and a speaker output.
For an entry-level IPS monitor, I recommend this for the budget-minded photo enthusiast like me.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Dual monitors user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

eIPS at a reasonable price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Southern California
on 02/13/2012
What's great about it: Picture quality, sexy looking
What's not so great: touch controls diffficult to use
I researched for days looking for the right monitor for my first new computer in 11 years. At first I was looking at Samsungs but their monitor quality has gone down in their new generation. I looked into the Viewsonic and ASUS monitors, however, they didn't have the right connectivity that I needed (both DVI and HDMI), they didn't have good professional reviews, or they just didn't look sexy enough. As I was researching monitors on professional review sites I learned about the technology behind the computer monitor. Apparently, most panels out there in the mainstream category are TN (twisted nematic) monitors which have fast response times but suffer in color reproduction and off angle viewing. The next step up is VA (vertical alignment), which sees improvements in those categories. At the top of the heap (for now) lies IPS, which typically is very costly, with prices reaching the $1000+ range. This monitor is an eIPS panel, which means that it has improved response rate compared to the first generation of IPS panels, which was the Achilles heel of IPS in the past.
My experience with this monitor has been nothing short of extraordinary. The colors are bright and vibrant, the off angle viewing far surpasses TN screens (however comes nowhere near my plasma TV downstairs), and is darn sexy looking to boot! The touch controls are a bit finicky at times because you have to hit them just right and the area that you are supposed to touch is not well marked, but that is a small price to pay for the aesthetic appeal of the monitor. I have used this panel for a variety of applications from word processing and web surfing, watching Blu Ray movies, editing photos, to playing games such as Battlefield 3, Starcraft 2, and Batman Arkham Asylum, and can say that it has exceeded my expectations for each. Text is sharp and smooth, movies have good color reproduction and decent black levels, photo colors pop, and games have no motion blur whatsoever. There are no dead pixels and no backlight bleeding to speak of.
If you're looking for a monitor with great color reproduction, DVI and HDMI (+VGA if needed), fast response time (for gaming/action movies), with good off angle viewing that will compliment the modern setting of your home, you've found the right product.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, Difficult to adjust/use buttons, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

great monitor for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: hachi808
from honolulu
on 01/26/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great price
What's not so great: haven't found anything yet
great color at a great price. easy set-up with hdmi connection. love the additional desktop space when using two monitor set up. great for apps with a lot of menus/pallettes.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Dual monitors user, graphic design professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Fantastic... but why pink?

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LobsterofDoom
from Ogden, UT
on 01/24/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Contrast, resolution, sturdy, IPS, and price.
What's not so great: Not to beat a dead horse, but the pink color.
Purchased this monitor on sale for $199.99 today after returning my Samsung S23A550H. I am very pleased with the upgrade. The base is sturdy, the design is sleek and contemporary (with exceptions for the pinkish color on the base) , and has plenty of menu options. The touch controls are also superior to the Samsung's and there is a little blue LED that lights up when the monitor is on. The 5M:1 contrast is amazing. The blacks are dark, the whites are light, and there are plenty of colors in between. I rated the Design 4/5 due to the pink color on the base, it is kind of a odd color for a monitor. Strange colors aside, this monitor was worth every penny. Can't wait to test it out on some blu-rays in the future, but for now my games (WoW and SC2) look fantastic!
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection, touch controls
About me... Student, Gamer, lobster
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Stellar! Love everything about it so far...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Travis74
from Los Angeles
on 01/18/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything from the screen and play quality, to the looks
What's not so great: Nothing. Get one for yourself, you'll love it!
I don't have a bad thing to say about this monitor. It was a great deal. The image is super crisp, lots of control over features with a neat digital UI (User Interface), very little motion blur even with high speed blu-ray action movies. I like the multiple input options, have a desktop and PS3 connect between HDMI and DVI-D connect. The stand and overall look are quite refined, very sharp and professional looking. Incredibly thin. You'll love it!
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Technology guru/developer, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Very good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Wh95
on 01/16/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good image quality displayed
What's not so great: Improved instruction manual
After a few months of owning this monitor I am enjoying the large screen/display.
This product has... poor initial instructions
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

very convenient

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: halp
from Costa Rica
on 01/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: low power draw
What's not so great: quality of picture so so
The monitor is very useful. The driver for mac muzt be downloaded from AOC as it is not included with the monitor. It is a bit slow and not very high quality but very useful for photoshop and dreamweaver.
This product has... Attractive design, No speakers
About me... Photo/video enthusiast, Dual monitors user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

didn't work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kaykay1519
from New Albany, IN
on 01/16/2012
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything
I purchased a computer for my son for Christmas. A few days later I went back to get a monitor. I showed the guy the exact computer I bought and he said the LG monitor would be just fine. On Christmas Eve I decided to set up the computer and everything on the monitor was distorted. I called Best Buy and asked them what to do and they couldn't figure it out. They said I would have to bring it in. So on Christmas Eve I spent 3 hours at Best Buy for them to figure out that the LG monitor was not compatible with the computer I bought. I was very angry that I had to spend 3 hours at Best Buy on Christmas Eve.They should hire people who know what they are doing.
This product has... doesn't work with every computer
About me... Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-42points
1out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Great Monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Canyonbabe2
from Santa Clarita, CA
on 01/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Colors are shrap and true
What's not so great: Hmmmm can't think of anything
I love this monitor. It looks great. Works good for my photo editing colors are very clear.
This product has... Easy to setup
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Parent with kids, Technology guru/developer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Nice looking monitor

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Hacienda Heights, CA
on 01/14/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Great picture
What's not so great: Stand flimsy
Bought this for a new HP PC. Image quality is great. However there were two issues I had to deal with. First one I needed to always reload the driver for the monitor almost every time the PC was shut down and turned back on. Now not sure if this was more of the HP PC not recognizing the monitor properly or not. Second issue was the stand. Looks great but the monitor would not stand straight. It was slightly tilted and couldn't straighten it out. Other than those two issues I loved the screen size and picture quality. However, due to the issues mentioned I ended up returning it.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers
About me... Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Great Monitor for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Killerken
from Philadelphia, PA
on 01/13/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to Setup, Great Picture, Good Price
What's not so great: Cannot wall mount
The LG IPS Series 23" LED Monitor works great with my LG Flatron W2240T in my dual monitor setup. I also use the LG IPS Series 23" LED Monitor in a dual monitor setup with my laptop. It is easy to switch back and forth between my main computer and laptop with this monitor using the input button.
The image quality is great on this monitory allot sharper than my LG Flatron W2240T.
The only down side to this monitor as well as my Flatron Monitor is that they are not wall mountable which cause me to loose allot of Desk Space.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Photo/video enthusiast, Dual monitors user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Not my first choice...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: rokkr
from Alaska
on 01/12/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good Picture, mounting capability.
What's not so great: Backlight bleeding
I bought two of these and intend to buy a third one in the near future. I want to get three that are all the same for triple monitor surround gaming. The main reason I went for this monitor was that there was not much in stock that had all the features I wanted.
The things I wanted were VESA mount capability on a good mid price range 23" LED with around 5ms response time. At first I looked at the Samsung monitors as I have always used them, however not one of them in store had mount capabilities. All the Asus monitors I looked at had mounting capabilities but were all out of stock. I saw this monitor and it seemed to fit the bill so I picked up two.
Unfortunately both of them had back light bleed issues like allot of other reviews have said. One of them was tolerable but the other one was on all four corners. I brought the worst of the two back and luckily the replacement had no bleeding issues. If it had bleeding as well I would have just brought them both back and waited another month for something else with better quality control.
I do like these monitors don't get me wrong, this monitor has a great screen, crisp picture, and with the ips tech it has rather accurate colors as far as I can tell. The back light bleeding It is not really something you would notice if you just use it for basic computing.
All in all they are good monitors, not great but for the price not bad either. If it weren't for LG's lack of quality control out of the factory I would actually recommend it.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, HDMI connection
About me... Photo/video enthusiast, Student, Gamer, triple monitors user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Some features does not work with windowsxp

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: retired75
from Owasso, Ok
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It is large and easier to work with
What's not so great: The adjust buttons and easy setup package
I often have to change my coloring because of the easy set package. It says it works with windows 2000 and others but not xp. I need more time to mess with this to see how I really feel about the programs . The image control is great .
This product has... Attractive design, Difficult to adjust/use buttons, No speakers
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Parent with kids, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

great monitor for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Virtue
from Kentucky
on 01/07/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: image quality is excellent, $180 sale was a good price =)
What's not so great: backlight bleed on the left side, but i seen alot of models with backlight bleeding in 2011 =|
i recently had my old monitor die on me, so i was in need of a new one,
i bought this monitor when it was on sale for $180
it was well worth the price
i wanted to give this model a 4 due to the minor backlight bleed but just about every monitor i tested in 2011 had backlight bleeding =/.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers, HDMI connection
About me... Photo/video enthusiast, Student, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LG - IPS Series 23" Refurbished LED Monitor

Good price for IPS panel

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: djordje
from auburn hills, mi
on 01/06/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
This is great monitor for $179, considering it has same panel as DELL U2311 that is $100 more expensive. I would not spend more than $200 on it though. It's good value for the money.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
About me... Photo/video enthusiast, Student, Technology guru/developer, Dual monitors user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>