Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Model: PowerShot 300HS Black
SKU: 2044104
UPC: 013803133585
Capture detailed photos with this Canon PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-megapixel digital camera that features high ISO sensitivity for shooting clear photos in low light. Five scene modes and 3 photo effects let you add a touch of creativity to your photos.What's Included?See what comes packaged with this product. Watch the video.
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 178 reviews
5 stars
125
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
4
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
169 out of 178
)
Customer Reviews for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
Review 1 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Amazin'

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: muralescarpment
on 04/14/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Having had this camera for a few months, I have to say that for the price, it is amazin'. Normally I use my DSLR for work but when I need a smaller camera, this is my go to. It packs light, is compact, and has great image quality. The textured body also helps with the grip, especially since it's so small.
About me... semi-pro photographer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 574949880
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

nice point and shoot

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SpachDaddy
from Fort Wayne, IN
on 04/14/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small
I bought this camera for my wife and she loves it. Fits easily in any purse and is great for snapping shots. Has a ton of settings to choose from but we tend to just use all the automatic settings because pictures turn out fine with them.
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 532015558
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

tiny but mighty

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: willawhim
from mn
on 04/06/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small size, great video and picture quality
What's not so great: black matte scratches
I love this little camera! It takes better quality point and shoot than my old 10 MP sony with zeiss lens. I cannot complain about anything. I did scratch it but was my fault. I would buy this camera for anyone wanting great portable little camera for traveling, etc.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

great camera for a beginner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gonehunting
from Stevens Point, WI
on 03/17/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: all was good
This camera is light and compact, fits nicely into hands.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

good camera for poor photographers

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: happyvisitor
from kingscill australia
on 02/16/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: focuses itself and not a lot of buttons to worry about
What's not so great: maybe not a lot of feautures
The camera was just what I was looking for - easy to use and takes great photos. The price also was very good. The camera took very good close up shots which was great also.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Camera and camcorder in one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CuriousCreature
from Sisters Oregon
on 02/09/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: How much HD video it can record
What's not so great: Not as intuitive as I'd like
I replaced a Sony camera and camcorder purchased a few years ago and you can already see the major advancements made in just this short of time. Everything continues to get smaller, more feature rich and lighter weight. The fact that you can put it in your pocket and shoot 2 hours of 1080 HD is crazy great. I use this for YouTube videos and photographs for my work. The only slight downside is that i'd like it to be a bit more intuitive. I don't like to read a book to know how to work something. I like it to be well designed enough that I don't need reference material. This is 80% there.
About me... Video enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sanshri
from gainesville
on 07/05/2012
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: quality
What's not so great: not user friendly
The best camera I ever had. Only concern is that video mode takes too much memory.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

as usual Canon reliability

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ck0wr
from W Covina, CA
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: it's a Canon!
What's not so great: it's not free & Canon what's up with the G12?! I was gonna get one but...
I used to have a Nikon but got disappointed with the burst or lack of. Upon my first purchase of an ELPH 100hs my loyalty in cameras immediately changed. This is my second Canon in 9 months - the first one I bought for my wife ended up with my daughter so I bought a second one. Now all I need to do is get another one for my other daughter then I can get one for ME!
About me... Parent with kids, casual user, use mostly for group photos
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

I love it!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Marty155
from San Antonio, Tx
on 06/17/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to take pics, great with vacations
I had to get a new camera, so I fell in love with this camera as soon as I saw it. Love it! Great price, great deal.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Good Little Camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CDF3
from Atlanta
on 06/03/2012
  • Top 500 Contributor
What's great about it: Size, Price
What's not so great: Video Zoom Recording
I purchased this camera because of its compact size. I can put it in my pants pocket with no problem. It's very portable. It takes pretty good pictures. Video quality is good. The only thing I don't like is that the sound cuts out somewhat while zooming in and out. It's able to take pictures in low light, but many of them come out blurry. The burst mode allows you to take rapid shots, and I like how they are lumped together in playback mode.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Takes great pictures when you push the button!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: reanarn
from CA
on 06/01/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Little to know delay, snaps pic immediately.
What's not so great: nothing
Love this! Always used Sony Cybershop before, but this one's way better. Sony's delay is too long from the time you push the button to the time it snaps the pic. This Cannon snaps immediately & takes a nice, clear pic. Oh yeah, the zoom is awesome too. When you zoom the the 20x, it still comes out pretty clear and not too grainy.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Clear & Convenient

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Riznacho
from Indianapolis, IN
on 05/31/2012
What's great about it: Professional Like Pictures
What's not so great: Learning all the different options
I have used the Cannon EOS and some expensive cameras that are bulky to carry around. This camera takes amazing pictures, covering more area and is wonderful for the 'point & shoot' photographer or trips where you cannot take a large camera, i.e. hiking etc. I have had almost every model for at least the past 5-6 years and I will not stop buying them, they have outdone themselves with this model though, best by far!
About me... Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, casual user, love outdoor scenery
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great camera for getting quick shots

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Redbarn
from Pennsylvania
on 05/30/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small size makes it easy to carry
Easy to use. Fits nicely in a pocket. Turns on quickly. Super slow mo video is nice for sports (filming Little League pitchers). Lots of different photo option settings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Granddaughter loves it!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lovetoteach
from Rockford, IL
on 05/29/2012
What's great about it: Easy to use. Lots of great features
I purchased this camera for my granddaughter's 16th birthday. She is thrilled with my choice. I selected this particular model based on the recommendation of my salesman, who was absolutely wonderful. He did such a good job explaining all of the camera's features and understood his target audience.
About me... purchased camera as a gift
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great Pictures but breaks easily

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MommyTomi
from Atlanta
on 05/29/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The pictures
What's not so great: The lense retraction breaks so easily. I have owned 4 and have all died in less than a year because of the lense.
This camera is compact and fits in your pocket. It takes great pictures in all light. But it lasts less than a year if you are active at all or have children. If it is dropped or knocked over whether the camera is on or off, the lense is affected and it will not retract anymore. The camera will not operate if the lense malfunctions. I have had 4 in three years. 2 died within the purchased warranty period. I will not buy another one.
About me... Love shooting sports, Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Love this camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: helpfulmommy
on 05/27/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use
What's not so great: the strap included
Love this camera! We needed a replacement camera becuase ours was old and starting to lock up. So we purchased this new version of our old camera and absolutely love it! I read the previous reviews on here to make sure others were pleased and if any issues. The camera is perfect! Works wonderful, takes great pics, small enough to fit in pocket or small carry pouch, the texture is an easy to grip- I like that, the features are amazing! Love it! VERY PLEASED! And the battery charger came with it- yeah! We did purchase extra batteries at Amazon for a lower price and have been very pleased, we were able to buy mutli batteries for a very low price. The only thing I do not like about the camer accessories- the strap that came with it is very stiff and always sticks in the camera shot, so I replaced it for one I had on my old camera.
About me... Parent with kids, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great camera, great price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vanity123
from SF Bay area
on 05/25/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, lots of fun modes.
What's not so great: nothing!
I bought this camera for the fun functions and picture quality. My daughters also have canon cameras and we love the dependability. Always get great shots and with the "kids and Pets" mode we are sure to catch them all at our 4-H functions!
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, avid pet photographer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Canon Point and Shoots are the Best!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheRaygun
from Ohio
on 05/24/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great pictures, great price
I've had several different P&S cameras over the years and Canon have always been the best. The picture quality is the best you'll find in a non-DSLR camera. It's ultra compact and easy to use. The new video record button is extra handy.
About me... Video enthusiast, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great compact camera for beginners or experienced

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Noskcaj
from Yorba Linda, CA
on 05/23/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Perfect for video's. Easy plus smooth & quiet zoom
What's not so great: Nothing. It does what I bought it for.
Compact and easy to use. So far, it's been rugged as I carry it in my pocket every day. You can set the program mode to do special shots and it's only a click away. Having a direct video button is a big plus as you can shoot video as quickly as taking a photo. The battery life is good enough. So far I haven't had to buy a backup. I think I got a lot for my money. Well worth having, regardless of what your experience level is, as It's nice to always have a camera handy.
About me... Video enthusiast, Photo enthusiast, i have 17 grandkids to photograph
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon - PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Awesome Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MeyoLu
from California
on 05/18/2012
What's great about it: I love that picture quality and that you can drop it and it wont break easily
What's not so great: Feels kinda raspy to the female touch
I love this camera, I got it for a friend and it takes good clear pictures. I especially love that it makes a video of all the pictures you've taken and you can hear the sound and stuff you did before you took the picture ! :)
About me... Video enthusiast, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>