Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Model: WNDR4000
SKU: 2089103
UPC: 606449077629
The NETGEAR N750 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router offers high performance wireless speeds of up to 450 Mbps needed for demanding applications, such as large file transfers, streaming HD video and multiplayer gaming. Dual band technology avoids interference, ensuring top speeds and the highest range, while Gigabit offers ultra-fast wired connections.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 172 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
34
3 stars
10
2 stars
15
1 star
23
74% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
127 out of 172
)
Customer Reviews for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n
Review 1 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n
  • Featured

Great router for home use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WhoFan
from Ruckersville, VA
on 08/31/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, better wireless signal
What's not so great: Slightly too large
This router was extremely easy to set up right out of the box. The initial installation took about 15 minutes; then it was no problem to connect my laptop, wireless TV, iPod, and iPad. I have had no connection problems with any of my devices. Also, since both of the household computers are still running Windows XP, it was nice to find a router that would work with that old software.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection, easy setup, works with older computer software
About me... Budget Conscious, moderate media streamer, home office
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Replaced older troublesome NetGear Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: desertgeek
from Northen Mojave Desert
on 11/18/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easier to setup than expected
What's not so great: Need to occasionally reboot (on/off) router
Replaced an older troublesome NetGear router which worked but would drop wireless devices from network. Was skeptical with replacing it with same brand and anticipated lengthy and difficult setup. Completely wrong. Setup was easy and worked immediately with old and new laptops, wireless printers one of which was dropped from network a week after setup never to be seen again by old router. Also works with bluetooth device. Love the online interface. Website is loaded with easy to follow information. Finally an all around quality product. Definitely worth the money. Only one minor issue - when devices don't show on the network interface, reboot router with on/off switch. Online boot doesn't clear the problem. Has only happened a couple times but took a while to troubleshoot.
This product has... Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Another junker

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: KCCC
from Cincinnati
on 11/11/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Nothing
Took back my other two day old Netgear router and traded up to this one. It's junk also, but at least it ran for a week. It keeps resetting itself to the default setting, forgetting passwords or not allowing Wifi connections.
This product has... Unreliable connection, Short range, Difficult setup
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Fast and works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NCTim
from Charlotte, NC
on 09/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It is reliable and fast.
What's not so great: Installation alittle complicated.
Even though installation was a little complicated, it got installed and was able to set up two MHz ranges. It's fast. Works all over the house. Range excellent. So good,I bought two. One for another location.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

computers run better and faster

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: buddypal
from Lake Forest, Ca
on 09/26/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I don't get bogged down going from page to page
What's not so great: no down side to this unit
this is a great product, I'm very pleased I replaced my old router. I noticed a difference from the start.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Great product. Works as advertized. 300 mb/s.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WmAM
from Memphis
on 09/19/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Few dropped connections
What's not so great: $cost
Great speed, reliable connections, range is good, range could be a bit better.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Meh

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: NerdistNerd
from Chesterfield, Mi
on 09/12/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good looking, some options.
What's not so great: Range is poor. Data speeds at more than 20ft away terrible.
Not much else to say. Expected waaaay more out of this router. My cheap one at work seems to out perform this one.
This product has... Dual band, Short range, slow connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Small home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Easy and fast setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HappyInNJ
from New Jersey
on 09/06/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: more bandwidth, more features
What's not so great: no issues
I had my previous Linksys router in place for 5 years, so i was apprehensive about change. However I was running a "G" wireless network and wanted to keep up with the times, so one Sunday afternoon I made the decision to make the change. I plugged the 3 computers and Ethernet cable coming from the modem into this new router. I was able to log in and change the password and ssid. I was done in 20 minutes. It was very easy and up and running with no issues. What I thought was going to be a major project turned out very simple, and I attribute that to Net Gear's clear directions and easy setup.
I chose this router because of the features, one of which you can shut off a network for example at a certain time every night, if you don't want the kids staying up all night playing online games. I also like the download speeds in case I get into video streaming. Having a 3 floors in house, there were previous issues of wireless connection. This router seems to have better range.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Internet phone user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Awesome Router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rikker
from Tuscaloosa
on 09/06/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast,easy to get going
What's not so great: Have no issues with this router
Replaced an older router with this one due to having so much wireless hardware in the house.My old one would drop certain things like the printer or laptop during high traffic times but the new one just keeps going and never gives an indication of being overwhelmed even when the wife is on Facebook,the kids have multiple Netflix movies on and Im checking email all at the same time.Awesome router.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Great Router!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ITScott
from Loganville, GA
on 09/05/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy Setup, Lots of Features, Good Price, Good Range, Lifetime Warranty
This router is well worth the price! I used to only by the Linksys WRT54G... Then Cisco bought them and the E1000 and E2000 series routers are inferior and unreliable. I'm an IT guy who deals with home routers A LOT, so I know. This one is also highly rated by Consumer Reports.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Easy to set up and has the speed promised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TecBuyer
from Marina, CA
on 08/21/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
Router was easy to set up and has the speed it promises. Have had it for over a month and not one issue. Software included is great.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mortalmallard
from Erie, PA
on 08/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: Nada
Easy to set up. No more interference. N is limited to newer products that support the N band but most of my items are newere so uses the faster N band. Overall very good router.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Internet phone user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Good router for my purposes

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AFVET
from Virginia
on 08/19/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Not a bad price
What's not so great: Had difficulty connecting some devices especially my printer
Replaced my old NETGEAR RangeMax with this 750. Installation was easy. Had difficulty with setting up a connection to some devices especially my wireless printer.
This product has... Dual band, Reliable connection, Difficult setup
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

netgear always does what it is supposed to do...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GypsiFox
from Silver Springs, FL
on 08/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
not much you can say about netgear except that it always does what it is supposed to do... it is affordable... their support system is awesome... and it has a lifetime warranty...
This product has... Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Great wireless router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RickV14
from Sioux Falls, SD
on 08/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Nothing
I upgraded from a G router so it made a significant improvement in speed, it was easy to set up, apply the appropriate level of security, and add my printer, and other computers to the network. Great range on this router so I can use my laptop anywhere in my yard.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Fair Router

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DOsier
from Nebraska
on 08/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: USB Port
What's not so great: Range
I've had this router for a little over a year and am mildly satisfied with the product. It is reliable however the range on the "N" band is extremely limited. I have Windows and MAC machines on the router and a PS3, multiple cell phones, a WII and a DVD player. When I had the router going at full "N" speed the connection would drop consistently 2-3 times an hour and sometimes worse. This is a router is good for those who just have "G" or are happy with that speed.
This product has... Short range
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Top performer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mtnman1
from Soddy Daisy, TN
on 08/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: ease of setup. Good, strong throught my 4500 sq. ft home. Better than any other wireless router I have tried, even on 5g
What's not so great: nothing
I bought this as a replacement for an earlier model that got zapped by a storm. Even though I have previously had a Netgear 3700, which was good and a D_Link 855, which was also good, this new router outshines them by a "bunch"! Singnal strength and real world speed are far better than my others.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... experienced
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Solid Performance, Easy to Install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: roundhouse11
from San Francisco
on 08/08/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install, seems to offer more bandwidth . .
What's not so great: Spotty reception in parts of house.
Would give this an excellent overall rating if it weren't for places in the house where the reception is a bit spotty. May be because the placement of the router is too far to one end of the house and one spot has always been spotty at times.
Really like the warranty and pre-configured password that is unique to each unit sold. Makes it very easy to install. Haven't really tested the bandwidth, ie the 5G alternative yet.
This product has... Fast connection, Dual band, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Doesn't boost signal enough

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Hyme
from Denver
on 08/01/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
The salesman said the N750 'would be a large enough booster.' It helped but not enough to make a significant difference.
This product has... Short range, slow connection
About me... somewhere between guru & challanged
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NETGEAR - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11n

Great wireless router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ElmoAdams
from Detroit, MI
on 07/29/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plug & Go; USB Connection ports
Device is very easy to set up and provides a very strong signal. I live on 2 acres and have not found a corner where I do not have a signal. USB port enables me to turn a non-wireless printer into wireless.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>