Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Model: TC-P50S30
SKU: 2120201
UPC: 885170043558
This 50" plasma HDTV supports stunning images up to 1080p and features 3 HDMI inputs for flexible connectivity. Deep Color and x.v.Color technologies provide brilliant, detailed images Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix Pandora Facebook Learn more about Panasonic VIERA Connect.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 208 reviews
5 stars
149
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
14
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
183 out of 208
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV
Review 1 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

We really like it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Curtisjr
from Waco, Tx
on 02/29/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Really has a great clear colorful picture
What a great addition to our family. The TV has a great picture and many people have commented on how well they liked the picture.
This product has... Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Exceeded expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mls639
from Spring tx
on 02/12/2012
I read lots of reviews before purchase. We have 4 LCD's and I thought they were great but for realism plasma is the way to go. I love this set. Netflix is great, DLNA is great, gammer mode is great. No image retention with modern warfare 3 no burn in. Get one you will like it too.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Great value and features for the price
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix and pandora
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great picture, like most big screens sound not ...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: eGeek1
on 02/09/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Excellent picture quality deep rich colors
What's not so great: The sound is not good. A soundbar at a minimum is a must.
This Plasma TV has a great picture but as with most slim line big screens the sound is not good. I added a inexpensive sound bar from VIZIO which by the way matches the TV very well and produces good sound. With the sound bar I am very pleased with this setup. I picked up the TV and Sound bar for a total of $849. Remember Best Buy will match pricing.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Amazon online movie rentals, Cinema Now and Pandora
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

You won't be disappointed!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TreeCat56
from Bentonville, AR
on 02/08/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The picture, menus, internet connectivity
What's not so great: The sound is just "okay", but that is normal on flatscreen TVs
I have been planning to replace my Samsung 50" DLP 1080p HD Projection TV for over a year and have done a lot of research. I use my set to watch cable HD TV, Netflix, DVD movies, and to play Xbox 360. I was very happy with my Samsung and was planning to purchase another. After my research I decided that Plasma was the way to go. I looked at over 100 reviews and found that Panasonic had far superior ratings to the comparable Samsung Plasma TVs. I have been very happy with the TV. The set up was a breeze. I had the TV hooked up and operating within 10 minutes. The menus are clear and easy to navigate. The remote is easy to use. And best of all, the picture quality is a quantum leap improvement over my old DLP Projection. I have not had any problems with reflection or glare on the screen from ambient light, even though the room this set is in gets lots of afternoon sunlight. The only thing I would recommend against is purchasing a SoundBar if you are going to set the TV on a stand with the SoundBar directly in front of it. When you do that the SoundBar will block the TVs remote receiver preventing the remote from working. Otherwise, this is one great TV.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control, is excellent for gaming
About me... Gamer, Love to stream movies, tv enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Nice TV for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: catwhite
from Louisville, KY
on 02/01/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great true to life color
What's not so great: Need more other connections in addition to HD
Bought this TV in November 2011. Have not had any problems with it. Set up was easy, but we needed to buy several cables.
Would have been nice if it had come with at least 1. We spent 300 dollars on cables. Since it has mainly HD spots, we had to convert Wii, Xbox and stereo to other cables. Also had to buy internet connection device. Be sure to look at HD spots and other spots if have more than 1 game system.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Good TV Bad Service

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Busted1
from Texas
on 01/27/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Broken after 6 months and Poor service to get fixed
Bought this TV 6 months ago. It went out on me the beginning of Jan.
Panasonic sent a locol service tech to fix it and he took it to his shop.
After 3 weeks I find out that this new TV needed a part that had to be back ordered. So I won't get my TV back for 3 more weeks.
My Samsung Plasma I bought 2 years a ago still works great. That is what I'll buy next time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great TV But make sure you PS3 works on it first!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dexter007
from Colorado
on 01/25/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Menu and Picture
What's not so great: PS3 did not work on it!!!!!
Bought this on "black friday" for my PS3,. the PS3 work just fine on the first time I hooked it up and then the next day the Panasonic would not recognize the PS3 signal so I took the PS3 to Best Buy and we hooked it up to 3 different Panasonic's and still would not recognize the PS3 but the PS3 work on a toshiba, samsung, sony and a LG those are the ones we tried it on. The Panasonic that I bought had a manufactoring date of 12/11. We came to the conclusion there must be a compatiblity issue with the new Panasonic Plasma and I called both Sony and Panasonic cust. support and they pretty much pointed the finger at eachother for the reason it would not work. But Best Buy took care of the this issue and I bought a samsung and everything is good.
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Slo1
from Utah
on 01/25/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great product great price!!! Got this to replace a broken LCD. Full retail less than cost to repair outdated model. Bought on Black Friday an even better deal made. No complaints epically at the price I paid.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bacernate
from Firestone, CO.
on 01/20/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Very nice picture, there are a few things that are a little dark. The colors and the blacks more than make up for any other short comings. I got it black friday for 599. There isn't any other tv in this range that compares.
The sound is a little tinny but who buys a tv for the sound? It's not a 2000 tv but for 600-800 it's great.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great Plasma TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bean1502
from Piscataway, NJ
on 01/20/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Slimness, Picture
What's not so great: Need more non-HDMI connections
I got this TV to replace a large rear projection HDTV. So far (I've had the TV for a month) the TV is great. It's very slim, has excelent picture quality, and I've had no problems with the "blinking lights" or burn-in. the 3 HDMI connections are great but it only has one component and one composite video connections. I wish there were more so I could hook up more older equipment without HDMI at the same time.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Best for size

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mnguitarguy
from Rosemount MN
on 01/18/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: nothing!
I did my research and this was the top rated plasma for 50" in a consumer reporting magazine. great picture, sounds great with or without suround sound, very happy with this tv.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great picture, poor wireless

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ferg112
from Omaha, NE
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Online applications, wireless connectivity
Tv has a great picture but the wireless capability is terrible. No other electronics in my house have this issue. Bought the wireless adapter separately and watching Netflix is the most frustrating thing in the world because it constantly buffers or fails connection. Picture quality is great but if you are getting it for its online apps, consider another tv.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Best in class

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Seamus001
from Rockford, Illinois
on 01/17/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Remote options
Bought my first Panasonic plasma three years ago, since then I have added two more. Best value for the dollar. Picture quality is amazing. Only wish Panasonic would add sleep timer option directly on remote so you do not have to go in to menu options to choose.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Panasonic 50" Plasma

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TerriLa
from EHT, NJ
on 01/16/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
great tv for the $$....i'm not to happy with the sound quality though, it sounds too tinny.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Excellent Picture quality, Needs a Hulu App.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bman1111111
from Ogden, UT
on 01/16/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up; great picture; above average sound
What's not so great: No Hulu App
Got this TV just before christmas and we have loved it. Set up out of the box was pretty simple, although the diagrams on the instructions were so small and the instructions vague it took us longer than it should have to figure out how to connect the TV stand to the TV. As soon as we got it set up the start up menu was very easy to navigate and we were ready to watch in no time.
The picture quality on this TV is excellent, I calibrated a few of the settings following instructions on the internet. The process was simple, took maybe 10 minutes, and the picture quality is definitely improved.
I don't have a sound system or soundbar but surprisingly the sound right out of the TV has been better than i expected. When researching HDTV's everyone's biggest complaint seemed to be sound quality but I have not had a problem with it at all. I do plan to get a sound system at some point to get the whole cinematic experience; I would not recommend getting a sound bar for this TV. The TV just doesn't really need it and you might as well get a surround sound system for a tv of this size.
The internet apps on this TV are great, i just wish there were more. That is the only reason i gave this rating a 4 star and not 5. Not having a hulu app has been very frustrating for me. It is easy enough to hook up my computer with an HDMI cable but a built in app would be so much better. Other than that everything is great, we use the netflix app all the time, I don't even have a cable/dish package or even the broadcast networks because we can watch everything on netflix or hulu (through my computer).
All in all this is a great TV, I would definitely recommend it.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: oo11
from Arlington, tx
on 01/15/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Noting yet
TV size and quality are terrific. NO issues with this product. I may even purchase a smaller one for 2nd bedroom.
delivery guys were extremely helpful and knowledgeable
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

First HD TV. VERY happy.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MattBPA
from Sunbury, PA
on 01/15/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Picture
What's not so great: Slight buzzing sometimes
I've come to trust Panasonic for a lot of electronics over the years. I even still have a 22" Panasonic TV that's at least 15 years old, and works great. When I decided on this set, I was comfortable with my choice. The price was right, it's a brand I trust, and knowing that any questions I had about it I could get answered at Best Buy made it all the better. Purchase was easy (online), delivery setup was easy (notified of WHEN I'd be notified to set up delivery), delivery went great (arrived on time, and delivery workers were courteous, helpful, and just seemed all around nice). I have one tiiiiiny qualm about the set itself, and that is that on certain screens like bright white pictures, there is a slight buzzing. It's no big deal, and I was aware of it before I bought the set, so I'm not upset. I have zero regrets about this purchase, and would make it again in a heartbeat.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

great product for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KEG81
from massachusetts
on 01/15/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: excellent picture at a great price
What's not so great: not the greatest sound, but great when paired with a surround sound
Excellent picture at a great value, would recommended to others that like the plasma picture.. Plasma offers deep blacks and bright whites, very nice picture..
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Amazing flat screen TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Skiptech
from San Rafael, CA
on 01/15/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fantastic picture quality
Exceptional picture quality with 1080 d and 600hz screen; rich, true colors, deep blacks, no blur or shadow with action. Straight forward set-up. Easy internet connection. Now able to stream movies and listen to Pandora thru the home theater system.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Perfect for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dixedreg
from VA
on 01/15/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
We bought this at the Black Friday Sale. Great decision. The price was right and the picture quality is wonderful.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>