Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Model: TC-P50S30
SKU: 2120201
UPC: 885170043558
This 50" plasma HDTV supports stunning images up to 1080p and features 3 HDMI inputs for flexible connectivity. Deep Color and x.v.Color technologies provide brilliant, detailed images Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix Pandora Facebook Learn more about Panasonic VIERA Connect.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 208 reviews
5 stars
149
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
14
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
183 out of 208
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV
Review 41 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gihusr
from WI
on 01/10/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I got it for $550 on turkey day
What's not so great: my wife got mad!
Tv works great and looks great too. Awesome price and picture.
This product has... Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma HD Tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RonMessage
from Denver, Co
on 01/10/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I love my new Panasonic 50" Plasma HD TV. My only complaint is, is that I wish it were a little more bright. I've made the changes that it's capable of making, and it is still a little on the dark side. However, I'm still very happy with it
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

was good while it lasted

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: sadtv
from Wilmington, DE
on 01/10/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: nice picture, little glare
What's not so great: broke
9 days after the TV arrived, it died. The repair people that Panasonic sends came out 5 days after we called. He took the back off the unit and replaced 1 board and it still wouldn’t work. The repairman took the TV, leaving us with a smaller older model. It has been a month now because they are waiting for 3 boards to arrive in order to repair the TV. That is just about all the boards inside the unit, so essentially we will be getting a new ‘new’ TV when it comes back, if ever. The repair people say this is the way it is with all TVs because there are no stocks of repair items on hand, they all get sent from overseas.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great Tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sschne6
from Louisiana
on 01/10/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I got this TV on Black Friday and it was a great deal. I am very pleased with the picture! It has 3 HD hook ups which is great!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

New Plasma for Family Room

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Columbus, Ohio
on 01/10/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality
What's not so great: Reflections
I started having the 'white spots' show up on my Samsung DLP after 4+ solid years of service. Still have it at a repair shop to be fixed but figured that it was time to look for it's replacement. I know a couple people that purchased recently and the Panny 50" S30 was what they leaned towards. I decided that the price was good (not Black Friday good) but still good. I have enjoyed very sharp and bright images since we plugged it in. The only negative about the tv is the amount of reflection that I get compared to the DLP. Enjoy.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Good TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SunnyBoy2k
from Orlando
on 01/10/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Internet Firmware and USB ports
It is a good TV with an average amount HDMI ports. There is an internet port but the DLNA software is horrible and hard to navigate. The USB ports have limited usage. The TV has a great picture so the TV is great as a TV. I have PS3, Xbox360, TIVO on it and it work pretty well. I even use a learning remote which works well with it too. I had upgrade from DLP and the only thing that I miss is the Picture In Picture feature.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: none, the internet firmware on the TV sucks!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

clear picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CAteacher
from Visalia, Ca
on 01/09/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: clarity and colors
What's not so great: connection to computer didn't work
Excellent picture, though not quite as sharp as my Panasonic 42" plasma. One problem was not being able to make the connection work with computer to skype. We finally brought out my older 42" to connect for skyping during Christmas; that was pretty disappointing.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great picture quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PinBob
from Springfield, MO
on 01/09/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, easy to set up and use.
What's not so great: It's not a 60 inch unit.
I'm using this plasma set in a predominately dark area – not many windows. A very good environment for a plasma set. Very good blacks and high colors result in a great picture. 1080p and net capability with Netflix, Pandora, etc make this a very good hdtv for the price.
This product has... Great value and features for the price
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix when I get it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

What a Deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: brewchief
from st.louis
on 01/09/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: sound
I got this on sale for 600 bucks and It far outperforms what I expected. Great picture and the built in netflix and pandora are so usefull. Sound is lacking, It goes loud enough to hear it fine, but if you turn it up much past halfway it falls flat and distorts. Easy fix with the panasonic soundbar and subwoofer I just bought. It does not have full internet like some smart tvs just a few apps.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix,pandora
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jacon
from Salem, NH
on 01/09/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, picture quality and size of TV
What's not so great: Audio seems to be out of sync with video
Only issue I have is that the sound is out of sync with the video. I don't have this issue on another TV with cable hookup.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

great picture

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: InDanvers
from Danvers, MA
on 01/09/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great picture, easy to setup, price
What's not so great: nothing
We bought this TV on black friday 2011. Not only was the price great, but it is an excellent TV. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles like 3D but it does have the same quality plasma panel as the more expensive panasonic TVs that do. Kudos to the BestBuy delivery service as well.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

For Plasma it is fantastic!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Stoney4me
from California
on 01/08/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and Picture quality
What's not so great: Netgear connector has problems at times to connect
You hear all the hype about Plasma, LCD and LED. I bought the Plasma and am very very happy with the TV, internet connection and the picture.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Love to stream movies, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Quit working after 5 weeks

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: vshow
on 01/07/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
After reading many reviews about many different TVs, I bought this TV on Black Friday since it was a great deal and the reviews were pretty good on it overall. It arrived in a timely manner and in good condition. I bought some high-end HDMI cables with the fastest refresh rate available. Everything was simple to hook up. I plugged it into a surge protector that I got within this past year and it showed that the unit was grounded. The picture on this TV was fantastic (I did customize the picture a little bit). I didn't use the other features, so I can't say anything about them. On January 3, my wife tried to turn it on, but it wouldn't turn on. The power light on the TV blinked 7 times, stopped blinking momentarily, blinked 7 times again, and just continued this pattern. If you read any of the reviews about Panasonic plasmas, this problem happens more often than it should. The number of times the light flashes lets a tech know what is wrong with the TV. Since the TV could still be returned because of Best Buy's extended holiday return policy, I just returned it. I didn't get it fixed because I was concerned that other problems would just arise later when it was out of warranty. I can't say that it was a lemon since the same type of problem has happened with a fair amount of other Panasonic plasma owners, which is also why I didn't exchange mine for another one. Even though this was a great TV when it worked, I can only give it one star since it worked for such a short time. I'm very disappointed in Panasonic.
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BlueAndGoldMan
from Indiana
on 01/07/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, menus, remote
What's not so great: nothing
I don't need to be on the bleeding edge of technology and was in the market for a bigger screen TV. This one was several hundred off since it's not 3D. It had everything else that I wanted and I haven't been disappointed. Great picture, very good sound, (a sound bar would be needed if you need movie theater-type sound), easy-to-use menus, a good number of connections. The set-up was ridiculously easy.
Overall, I've been extremely pleased.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

BEST TV I"ve Ever Owned ..

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hobbyhorse
from centralia.wa
on 01/07/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use remote with the panasonic Blue ray player Also recommened by consumer reports.
What's not so great: I haven't found anything I don"t like, but I"m far from a expert on electronics.
We were thinking about a big screen TV for quite a while Then the issue of Consumer Reports Magazine came out with their top picks, and this make and model was listed and a very good reveiw. We didn't have room for anything bigger than a 50" inch and did not want anything smaller so this was a perfect TV.It was delivered when they said it would be and was real easy to setup, Great picture and sound. Price was great also got it for 649.00 Iwas aliitle bummed out that after christmas it was 599. But thats the only regret I have, I know ,quit whining it"s only 50 bucks!!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Plasma is still the way to go

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: philadelphian
from St Davids, PA
on 01/07/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
I've owned plasma, LED, projection and LCD televisions. This is my 2nd Panasonic plasma. The buyers of my last home begged me to leave my first one on the wall, which I did. I owned my first one for about a year and this one just 2 months.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: I haven't used any.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Another great value!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chiller84
from Rochester, MI
on 01/07/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, great value, fabulous picture.
What's not so great: No built in online services but I am nit picking.
This is a top Consumer Reports rated TV and the regular price is $1000. I got it for $799 and it looks great! I did not care for 3D so it's OK if it not included on this model. I also use a Panasonic BD player for online services which is also not included on this model unless you buy an adapter. Finally, I purchased a Panasonic Soundbar because the internal speakers are not that great.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Great price, picture and extras

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PsychoMisfit
from St. Louis
on 01/07/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
I purchased this TV on black Friday for my man cave and It has blown me away. The picture is amazing in every aspect and the online content works very smoothly. I can access all my music, videos and pictures from my computer through the tv, no more burning discs or using flash drives. The sound isnt amazing but your not going to get that great of sound out of a thin tv like this or any other. I am big on reading reveiws before I buy so if your reading this and thinking about it. BUY IT!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: All of them
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Plasma -Next best thing to LED

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Macross2064
from Hayward, CA
on 01/06/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Features and picture quality
What's not so great: Nothing
I purchased this item because LED was still a little pricey. It is comparable to watching an LED though. I can't really see a difference between the two. Overall, it beats out LCD in picture quality and is just as thin as an LED. Lots of HDMI ports and USB also. Comes on quickly, and looks awesome. I love this television. Was also an outstanding deal at Best Buy after Xmas sale.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Panasonic 50" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / Smart HDTV

Awesome TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: YBerra
from Milan, MN
on 01/06/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture
I've only had this TV for a month but so far am more than pleased. The HD is perfect all I need from it now is longevity.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>