Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Model: TC-P60S30
SKU: 2120247
UPC: 885170043541
This TV features x.v.Color and Deep Color technologies for vivid images and 1080p resolution for stunning detail and clarity. Three HDMI inputs allow flexible connectivity. Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix Pandora Facebook Learn more about Panasonic VIERA Connect.
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 102 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
93 out of 102
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV
Review 81 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

A solid TV, the price makes it even more sweet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mike80inSTL
from St. Louis, MO
on 09/15/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The size, picture quality, and price
What's not so great: Not much
After owning a Pioneer Kuro Elite (and parents with a Panny Z1, and VT20), It was time for a 60". The picture looks great, it does not have the extra pane of glass so there is no reflection issue, and It does NOT have 3D (thankfully). With this TV there is a very good picture with the features I like while not having to pay for the ones I don't. It might look a little washed out/grey under the bright lights in the store but when it is in a house, wow it looks good. With this model I am not longing for the next model higher as this looks great. The sound needs to be adjusted with treble way up and bass slightly up to give more than adequate sound (as good as any other panel TV in the market), but they are only TV speakers, don't expect them to immerse you in 5.1 surround. If you are in the market for a 60" with a great pic without all the bells and whistles, this ones for you!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Top rated quality, 1/2 the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sullnc22
from Hattiesburg, MS
on 09/09/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Superb picture quality!
What's not so great: Glare?
After reading reviews and analysis from CNET, PC Mag, and mostly Consumer Reports, it now seems clear that Plasma technology has surpassed LCD and LCD+LED in overall performance. I was very hesitant to purchase a plasma but, now that I have I don't think that I will ever regret it.
The only draw backs listed against plasma were glare from the glass screen and hefty power usage. The glare issue really seems to be a non-issue now that I have seen it for myself. Also, I do not feel like $20-$30/year in electricity usage should be a serious factor in someone's decision about what TV to get.
In summary, colors are vivid, motion is 100% blur-less, and no artificial "pixilation"/washout occurs if you don't have your picture settings on "Vivid." Read the owner's manual to understand how to adjust picture settings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Good quality for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NinoF
from New Kensington, PA
on 09/08/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good brand, quality and price
What's not so great: The amount of heat thrown off
Was never a fan of Plasma TV's until I saw this 60" beauty and learn of the advancements in plasma technology. The picture is great in the "Vivid" mode. Not so great in any other display setting. Unit throws off a tremendous amount of heat from the screen. There are times that pixelation shows on certain angles. Overall however, this is a great television. Live sporting events are spectacular! It is like you are acutally there. I love it!!!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: None so far
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dunnb
from virginia
on 09/07/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Color, picture
What's not so great: sound
Color is fantastic. Crisp, clear.
Sound is lacking -- needs a sound bar or connectivity to a sound system.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix, Pandora
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Can't complain for the $$

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: XSCOUT
from Nevada
on 09/01/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Big, clear and crisp pictures with 600 HZ refresh rate / Price
What's not so great: Internet WiFi adaptor needs some work.
I had origionally purchased a Sharp LED TV, which I traded in for this Panasonic Plasma. The LED's picture was noticably better in the color, clarity and brightness than this Panasonic Plasma, however the refresh rate on the LED was only 120Hz and made watching sports and action movies unbearable because of the motion blur. This Plasma keeps up with the action shots very well and has incredibly rich and smooth blacks in dark movie scenes.
The apps on this TV are nice additions and fun to have at your remoting fingertips, however the WiFi adaptor that you must purchase seperately has fairly weak reception power. It took several attemps to actually link up to my wireless (cable internet) router's full-bar-signal. I enjoy using the Netflix Application on the TV instead of using my Wii because the movies available in HD are displayed in full High Definition. The problem is the constant buffering throughout a movie because of the inadeqate WiFi adapter that connects through the USB slot.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

One little problem that went away, TV works great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jkiec001
on 08/31/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: huge screen size
What's not so great: the "smart" tv applications aren't that great
I had one issue with the TV's audio not recognizing my blu ray player's output, but after several stops and restarts the problem hasn't recurred. (this was after I had set it all up and it'd been working fine for about 2 weeks)
Other than that I love this TV! The screen size is huge (obviously) and my movies (blu rays) look great on it. My normal cable is finally annoying me so I'm getting HD in a couple weeks and I'm sure it will look great!
I also purchased the internet device that connects with the TV. I like that it will allow you to connect to your pictures on your laptop, but I wish it would allow you to fully connect to your laptop. I also wish it would allow you to access an internet browser. Pandora works great, however my Netflix stops every couple minutes (when it doesn't with the same internet connection on my laptop) so that's annoying. So I'm not that happy with this TV as a "smart" tv.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Great Plasma TV "Movie theatre screen" experience

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RKOz
from DFW
on 08/29/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Movie Theatre Experience
What's not so great: Soung quality
In summary:
This TV offers a "Movie theatre screen" like experience, which once ppl actually look at it will know what I mean. Many reviewers who give negative comments towards how dark it looks just bought the wrong TV. If they want a brighter screen/lighter colors, they should go buy an LCD/LED.
Actual use:
Movie buffs and Bluray addicts will LOVE this TV. Truly a theatre like experience in the home. The Graininess ppl talk about gives the image a "pull down screen" effect, again like in the theatres (some like this, some dont). Playing games look great with very little to non-existent motion blur, but is not recommended as its main use (even with the burn in prevention/solutions they have built in now). Watching sports will offer deep/dark colors, games at night may at times be hard to see the background (especially in baseball, but the clairty of the players is amazing).
Features:
No 3D and wired ethernet input. Netflix, pandora, cinema now, and facebook integration, but they are mainly just instant queue, limited videos and photo viewers, and music lists (no search/browse options). Though the content does load very fast. In short, buy a roku box/apple tv if you want a better feature experience.
Hardware/build:
The screen size is overwhelming and the thiness of it will amaze you for a plasma. The speakers are poor but as long as you have some kind of sound system solution setup (as you should with any 60 inch) you will be fine. The remote is basic, buttons are large. No backlight keys and no dedicated picture adjustment button, you have to go in and adjust the picture settings in the menu. But luckily the TV remembers the last settings you use for each input.
Setup:
You will need two people to help set this TV up as it is quite heavy. The stand is large and sturdy and you won't worry about it ever moving. Setup is straightforward on screen. If you decide to mount it, make sure you have at least 1.8 inches of clearence from the tv to the wall or else the power cord will not fit. Most mounts will tell you the wall clearence to ensure this will not happen and also check the weight capacity, make sure it can support at least 150lbs. Initially, the screen may look dark and greyed out, just play with the picture settings and you will find your fit. I prefer the "cinema" or "Vivid" settings, but theres a "custom" selection as well for you to adjust. Each input remembers their own settings, therefore you may have to enter the same picture settings for each input.
If I missed anything, or if you have any questions just leave a comment!
Best Uses: Sports, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Excellent television

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: butch117
from Pa.
on 08/21/2011
What's great about it: Easy set up great price
What's not so great: Nothing
This panasonic plasma is fantastic, picture quality is excellent and also are blacks. Blu-ray dvds are superb, can't get any better.
Best Uses: Sports, Movies, tv shows
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet content most enjoyed: None
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Great TV!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kennylbz
from Riverside ca
on 08/18/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This TV is by far worth every dollar. Love everything about it, the picture rocks and the features are very easy to use. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a lot of TV, for not alot of money.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Perfect for Living room

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Thielkesp18
from Menomonee Falls, wI
on 08/18/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality with Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This TV is awesome. Picture is amazing, If your thinking of a 55" just save yourself the trouble of comparing and get the 60" you will not be disappointed believe me. I myself was very skeptical about Plasmas because I thought it was a dead technology but I was mistaken. 600hz compared to the 120hz of the LED tv's. zero motion blur and I don't have to turn mine on to see it, PLUS my tv doesn't look like someone is filming everything in the same room, it still looks like TV should. the price point of $1500 is a steal for everything you get with the size of the TV. I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

This Plasma is Great...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: todarion
from San Antonio, Tx
on 08/13/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Screen color and picture quality
What's not so great: nothing
This Plasma TV has a great picture and vibrant color. Others have said that the sound was not up to par but I have to say the while a little lacking in Bass the sound is really good and clear. you wont be disappointed with this model.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AaronPa
from Indianapolis, IN
on 08/03/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price/ picture quality
What's not so great: not much
This tV has served me well for the 3 months I've owned it. Panasonic Plasma is the way to go for most vivid colors and dark darks.
Would defintely recommend. I only gave a good rating on sound because I use my bose system for surround
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Exactly as advertised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BrooklynPark
from Brookly Park
on 08/03/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Great for sports/movies. Hooked up to my own sound source (Bose)
Best Uses: Sports, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Great TV for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chken
from Manchester, NH
on 07/28/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Nothing
This TV is great!! For the money you won't find one this good.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Amazing TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PatAsheNCorri
from Chicago, IL
on 07/28/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: Must have HD, hard to keep clean
There is virtually no setup with this TV. The remote controls my home theatre system automatically without having to program it. The APPs used witht he internet pop up with the touch of a button, and the colors and picture quality are amazing. It has a true 180 degree veiweing angle.
Another user commented that the speakers are bad. They are not amazing, but if you have a 60" plasma and don't have a home theatre system something is wrong. You can very easily set the TV to automatically play through your home theater system, but if you choose not to the sound is just fine.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Panasonic is top of the line Plasma!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fleafly
from El Paso, TX.
on 07/18/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up and BEAUTIFUL picture quality!
What's not so great: Nothing at all!
People, please do not pay attention to the "Buyer Beware" review. This person said he has owned his/her plasma for 3 years, The Panasonic Tv listed here is a 2011 model. I wish people would pay attention more to what they are posting. Let me tell you that this TV has an absolutely beautiful picture on it after you calibrate the picture settings. Panasonic is rated as the best brand for plasma. Sound quality wasn't an issue for me as I have a surround sound setup in my living room. Don't expect ANY TV to have exceptional sound from it. This TV connects to Netflix, Facebook, Pandora, among others...except Youtube. Nice bonus if you ask me. I found this TV advertised cheaper on another website and BB price matched it! I suggest you try doing the same. I have had no flickering issues. I'm in LOVE with this TV. Don't think twice just get it. Plasma has the best display, LCD cannot compete with it, especially if you like watching sports no jittery artifacts or motion blur. Enjoy it!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix!
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Buyer Beware

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ToniP
from Texas
on 07/14/2011
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
What's not so great: Dies WAY before the 60,000hr life it states to have
Let me start by saying the picture on this TV is great...until the red flashing lights of death appear. We have had this TV for a little over 3 yrs, our Panasonic extended warranty has just expired, and it died two days ago. When I went to research what the flashing power light meant I stumbled across MANY websites devoted to the flashing red light that occurs when one of many parts on this TV go out. Mine was flashing twice (there are 10+ different flashes) which means the 15v SOS D board is out. We were thinking of having it repaired, for about $400, until we realized this is probably the first of the many parts on this TV to go out.
Before you buy this TV PLEASE go online and research more than just this sight. You might end up regreting it if you don't.
Best Uses: left at the store
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
-90points
16out of 122found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

great picture

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mrsbutch
from fresno ca
on 07/13/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
great picture, although it goes from light to dark on occassion. had to order a sound bar to improve the sound. still waitiing for it.
is replacing a samsung dlp that was only 4 years old, but had to have serviced at least 3 times a year. this time i will continue the warranty
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: n/a
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Good tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pvdogteam
from grand prairie
on 07/07/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good picture
What's not so great: nothing
Works well and Geek squad installed it real well. The tv looks good in the light and in the dark. Sturdy screen and shows good from any angle
Best Uses: Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Panasonic 60" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

This a great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: john7751
from Sparks, NV
on 06/16/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, Great picture
What's not so great: none
This a great TV for the money if you don't need all the bells and whistles. I didn't need a TV to do my Facebook or use it for the internet. I liked this TV over Samsung, Sony and Sharp. When you are ready to buy a TV go into the store and look at the picture quality before buying I was going to buy a Samsung I liked Panasonic's picture quality alot more than the other TV's
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>