Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Model: TC-L37U3
SKU: 2125215
UPC: 885170042629
This LCD television lets you enjoy your favorite movies, games and TV shows in stunning high-definition detail with resolution up to 1080p. The Secure Digital card slot makes it easy to share photos and full-HD videos with friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
10 out of 12
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Nice no-frills LCD -- good value + image

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RGrizz238
from Chicago, IL
on 04/24/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Image quality, decent sound, good price
What's not so great: No frills, wish aspect ratio changes were channel specific
I've been doing a ton of research on flatscreens and was set on either a 46 or 50 inch Panasonic plasma. Plasma's have the best color, deepest blacks and handles motion the smoothest. Issues with burn-in are a non-factor in 2011 and LCD's still have a ways to go to match the 600hz you get from plasma's. I'm still getting the 50 inch Panny plasma for the man-cave, but needed a TV for our living room. My wife was adamant about it not "being too big" or "taking over the room" so this was the size that gave us the best compromise. I wasn't concerned with the lack of 120hz since this wouldn't be my primary TV but have been pleasantly surprised by the image quality in this set. We've watched OTA HD, an upscaled DVD of Tron:Legacy and played some NBA 2K11 on the Xbox -- all of which looked fabulous. Sound quality is good too -- I'm no audiophile so I'm satisfied. Picture looked good out of the box, although a little dim and not so good in bright light. Tweaked the settings a bit and got it where we needed it to be. Lack of wifi and integrated Netflix isn't a deal breaker when a Blu-ray and the Xbox already have those. All in all, a great 37" set at a great price. Lots of fighting on Samsung vs. Sony, meanwhile Panasonic continues to churn out some of the best TVs in the marketplace.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+38points
40out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great tv right out of the box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tater62
from Bryan, Texas
on 06/11/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to operate settings and great quality.
What's not so great: I can't think of anything.
This tv is just the right size if your in the market for something larger than a 32 but not as big as a 40 or 42. I put this one in the bedroom and its just right. The picture quality is excellant and great sound too. I think Panasonic tv's are top quality and I have owned them for over 10 years and currently also have a 42 in my living room
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Poor audio output - low volume

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: apartmentpete
from Blacksburg, VA
on 09/17/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's not so great: volume
Picture and features seem good, but can't get past the very poor audio output. When the volume is turned all the way up to 100 I need to be within 10 feet to hear it. I went through all of the troubleshooting and even spent 30 minutes on the phone with Panasonic only to have them tell me that this model has low volume and needs an external speaker system to be "normal". 24 of the 30 minutes on the phone were on hold - grrrrrrr.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

satisfied

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 999969
from Marysville, OH
on 10/05/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture quality, ease of setting up.
What's not so great: haven't found anything yet
purchased and returned 3 other brand tv's before purchasing this. VERY satisfied.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TV3838
on 11/29/2011
Tv is great for the bedroom. Awesome picture especially when connected to a blu-ray player. Very easy set up. Looks great and fits perfectly into existing cabinet. Also great as a PC monitor. All in all very pleased with purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Decent TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ken50
from ME
on 07/03/2011
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The price & the 1080p from a blue ray DVD
What's not so great: Black in power save & cofusing energy star ratings
Pros:
The buying of this TV was easy in the store and the sales woman was quite helpful finding the information I needed, except for the energy ratings.
I liked the price of this 37" TV too considering my last LCD TV was more expensive and had a smaller screen size of 32 inches. It was also an energy hog for an LCD TV.
This TV has a decent picture if you adjust the TV settings for picture, or use the Cinema, Game, or Vivid settings. I found the 1080p is awesome when viewing movies from my blue ray DVD. I know some people say you can't tell, but I can se a diference.The sound is good for this TV and I can find no faults there.
Minor Cons:
This Panasonic TV has a minor issue displaying black unless you turn up the backlight and brightness. I also found this black problem was worse when using the energy save mode. The action of turning up the backlight defeats the purpose of the energy save mode, so why have it at all in picture options menu.
I also found the energy star rating to be confusing to say the least. The television is rated for 66 watts, but what don't tell you until you read the owners manual, is it can use up to 154 watts with the settings maxed out. I did a readings on it with a kill-a-watt meter and the settings do make a big difference in the wattage used. I may go swap this for a LED model with an Internet connection for $200 more, but I need to decide if it's really worth it for the Internet connection, as the energy savings is not that large enough to make it worth it..
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
Internet content most enjoyed: n/a
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good value for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: leftwing
from CT
on 08/31/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Quality of the picture
What's not so great: Speakers could be better, would like sound leveling for commericals...
The picture on this set is excellent. The sound is good given the small speakers. Did not need internet connection since I have that with the Panasonic Blue Ray player I bought as well. I like the quality of Panasonic products for the money.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Panasonic Blu-ray Player
3.9 out of 5(119)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix through the blue ray
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good for a smaller room

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mwelham
from Gallatin, TN
on 08/10/2011
What's great about it: High definition viewing
It works very well for viewing cable TV and for playing XPox video games. True HD works best, but even standard cable comes in well. The graphics on video games are superb, especially when using the HDMI cable to connect. It was important to have it calibrated about a month after we brought it home, but the factory settings were very close to the final, calibrated settings.
Best Uses: Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hcarp
from Portland
on 09/22/2011
Upgraded from a 32". Brought back a 42" in exchange for this one becuase of sound quality. This one has no problems at all. Looks and sounds great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Nice lightweight TV - BUT . . .

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: empireman1
from Hollywood Hills
on 09/21/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture and I carried it in by myself! GREAT bang for your buck!
What's not so great: Sound quality!
The sound sucks so you'll need to hook it up to a theater surround sound to get decent sound out of it. I do like the picture very much though.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control, lightweight
About me... tv nut!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

good replacement for old tube-type

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Orthapod
from HSV, AR
on 08/25/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Trim border and short pedestal
What's not so great: Sound volume
Picture at times is fuzzy. Volume of sound could be better if speakers would be faced forward instead of to rear. Remote is about too complicated for us elderly.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic VIERA - 37" Class - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Excellent price, good bedroom tv

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: RockStarGoddess
from Detroit, MI
on 05/16/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: I got it for a fantastic price
What's not so great: Speaker is a bit muffled, not loud enough
I was looking for a tv for my bedroom and was trying to find one to fit inside an armoire I had bought. The dimensions for this model fit the armoire perfectly, however nobody had any in stock. I finally found one, a floor model, and because it didn't have the remote or the stand, Best Buy sold it to me at a very low price. I had already contacted Panasonic and inquired about the availability of the remote and the stand, and so I knew I could order these parts for a reasonable price.
As for the picture: if I were not accustomed to viewing my gorgeous Panasonic plasma TC-P54V10, I'm sure I would be giving it a higher rating. The colors are not as vivid, the images not as clear, and the blacks are not nearly as dark as they are on my plasma. This is still a very good picture, but no lcd, save for the led, will match a plasma for picture quality.
The price and the size are the two factors that sold me. I'm sure I could've went out and bought a more generic brand, but I like Panasonic and the picture was better than other lcds in my price range. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend this tv for the budget minded shopper with above average expectations.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.