Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Model: 47LW5600
SKU: 2128045
UPC: 719192580954
This 47" LED TV supports stunning high-definition images up to 1080p and lifelike 3D. LG Smart TV allows you to browse the Internet and wireless compatibility makes connecting components simple. To help build your complete 3D home theater system, 4 pairs of battery-free Cinema 3D glasses are included. Additional 3D glasses designed for this TV are available for purchase. You'll also need a 3D Blu-ray player and high-speed HDMI cable; and we recommend an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D products. Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix Facebook
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 119 reviews
5 stars
96
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
111 out of 119
)
Customer Reviews for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV
Review 1 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV
  • Featured

Incredible Picture, Limited Apps

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ndsean
from South Bend, IN
on 01/12/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Incredible picture quality and 3D capability
What's not so great: Few good apps available
I'm continually impressed by the picture quality. I've had the TV a little over a month now, and I still can't believe how incredible the picture is quality at times. I've only played around with the 3D feature a little, but the 3D picture is so clear that one can tell the type of material that items on the screen are made of, such as that a hat is denim or that a chair has soft fabric. Amazing!
The only feature that hasn't lived up to or exceeded my expectations is the internet connectivity. It was great that the TV is able to update it's own software, however the limited apps with limited functionality have meant that I don't really use this feature. The web browser has problems with displaying some graphics and utilizing the interactive features of some web pages. Few apps available without needing subscriptions to services. No WatchESPN for access to ESPN3. But these were not really why I bought the TV anyway, so I'm still overall very happy with this purchase.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Nicest TV I have ever used!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: studio253
from Providence, RI
on 11/30/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: East set up.
The picture quality is absolutely amazing. Plenty of HDMI inputs.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
My Best Buy number: 810217353
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Best TV in this price range

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nate4research
from Toledo
on 04/21/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fantastic picture quality even in 3D
What's not so great: No streaming from a website.
I did extensive research and tested several of the other top brands. This is a better TV at a cheaper price. I was skeptical about the passive 3D but I love it. There will obviously be a difference between the picture quality with movies or shows designed for 3D and those that are not. If you are doing a comparison, make sure you take that into account. The passive 3D is far more useful to me because the glasses are much cheaper. I have already watched 3D movies with 10 people. No way I'd be able to do that with the cost of the shutter glasses for active 3D. Overall a fantastic TV at a cheaper price than anything else at this quality level.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora, Sermonaudio
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Brought the 2011 model and saved $400 :-)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Monty869
from Charlotte, NC
on 04/12/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 3D conversion of 2D content - Passive Glasses
What's not so great: Sometimes TV content does not fill the screen
OK - so the best thing about this TV is the 3D and the Passive glasses - it uses the same glasses that you get at the movies - I have taken them home and yes they work - it's crazy - I have no idea why anyone would buy a TV with active glasses, batteries etc - that's seems like a huge hassle.
The next best thing about this TV is that it can convert 2D content to 3D content. I was skeptical when I first saw that feature on the box - but trust me it is the real deal - OK it's not the 3D where they wave stuff in your face but there is a definite sense of depth that you don't get from normal 2D - and its adjustable - you can dial in how much depth there is - for the price of this TV this is insane value.
Throw in built in WIFI, the Apps, Netflix etc , the motion sensitive pointer and you definitely have a winner. The only significant difference between the 2011 version and the 2012 version is supposedly the web browsing is a little better, and if you connect a console game (xbox, ps3 etc) and get special glasses you can play full screen dual player mode - that might be worth the $400 price differential if you are a gamer.
The only negative I could find is that sometimes TV content does not fill the screen entirely and none of the settings seems to yield a really pleasing result - maybe I am just being pick but I hate black bars on my TV. I suspect this is an issue with most TVs these days not just this one.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Best Picture

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rickyvic
from Mustang, OK
on 04/07/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The sharp clear picture from any angle in my living room
What's not so great: The stand, the TV sits to the back of the stand, So we wall mounted in the book case
I've had my TV for about a month now and really enjoy it. The picture is really sharp using the Blue Ray or the 3D. I have not had any problems feeling motion sick.. It is so easy to get on line to watch movies using my NETFLIX account..Great TV
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... love movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netrflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Amazing picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: colelauer
from Mondovi, WI
on 03/23/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The picture quality
What's not so great: The speakers
The LG has an amazing picture, even when not watching in 3d the pictures almost looks like 3d. The LG LED picture is more defined than our Sony LCD TV we already have. The sound is not great unless you invest in additional speakers, but overall has been a great purchase thus far.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Awesome television.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LepRKan427
from Baltimore, MD
on 03/16/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Beautiful, crisp picture. You can make ANY program, movie or game 3D. Easy, light weight glasses that require no power. Works with the 3D glasses from the movie theaters! I love this TV.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Great TV but some issues with backlight settings.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sunshinela
from Baton Rouge, LA
on 03/15/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good 3D and picture quality in high light settings.
What's not so great: Automatic picure settings don't do well under low light.
TV has a great picture in some lighting situations, but dims too much under low light. This can be corrected with some customization and settings adjustment, but it the settings can be confusing. The internet content and 3D are great. The passive 3D is very good and does not require expensive glasses. Movie theater 3D glasses work great. It also needs additional component inputs.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix and Amazon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Great tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bigjoeybx
from New York
on 03/14/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
Great product was a little skeptical. But plugged it in best picture I ever saw. And the streaming ability is awesome also.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Great Smart Television

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steve402
from Omaha,Ne.
on 03/09/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture,sound,easy setup,3d
I bought this model just a couple of days ago after getting the 5300 first and loving it. The 5600 is in my living room and the 5300 is in my bedroom. I have watched more tv since getting these two models than I have for a long time. The 5600 was a display model and I saved hundeds of dollars on it at Best Buy. I can't find anything that I do not like about it. I have searched and searched but everything about it is great. The picture is very sharp and clear and set up was easy and took just a few minutes. If you can still find this model at BB or anywhere else , you should buy it. You will not regret it.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

LG fan, good tv ,

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: elvislives
from boston
on 03/09/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 3D, and internet connection
What's not so great: the sound
I'm a LG fan, and have a few of them, this is a really nice product but
the sound and picture skips a bit, I am trying to figure out if it's the
station or the tv itself, doesn't happen all the time, I will give it another week and then call for service. other than that I do really love the 3D the picture is truly wonderful
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

lg 3d smart tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dks11
from florence ky
on 03/08/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The 3d without having to buy expensive glasses
What's not so great: cant't complain on anything
I love this tv and all of it's features and the 3d is great. The 3d conversion of 2d is very good and makes watching movies more exciting. lg done a very good job with all the bells and whistles this tv has.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Top

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from flint mi
on 03/03/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture and 3D option
What's not so great: better sound (more powerfull)
Excellent easy set up and fabulous 3D picture even for the 2D channels!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflicks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

LOVE IT!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ghenny440
from lorain, ohio
on 03/03/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Love this tv and all accessories it came with 10 pair of 3d glasses to
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: vudu
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

The best 3D LED TV out there!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Raybear65
from Akron, OH
on 03/01/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 3D Content free from LG on the web!!!
What's not so great: There is a slight delay if you use the internal speakers and a stereo at the same time. You just need to turn down TV.
This thing does everything except make my coffee in the morning. The best product I have ever bought. Easy to set up easy to hook things up to easy, easy, easy. I love this TV.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: all of it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

First SmartTV, it's GREAT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AdamsEve
from Evergreen Park, IL
on 03/01/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Caught it on sale: Great Apps, Great Picture, and Great Connectivity
What's not so great: I haven't found anything yet
Great features! As for aspect ratio, you can set the screen for wide, full, let the program set it, or set it yourself. As far as picture, it has seven preset features intelligent sensor, vivid, standard, cinema, game, expert 1 &2. I love the vivid mode it is better than game mode to me the picture looks extra clear. It also has 5 sound modes, I enjoy the cinema mode, it sounds good even when watching music videos on YouTube.
It features apps that work with the 3d mode of the tv for free and other great apps. It also features a magic remote controll that can be used like a wii remote when playing games.
Also my laptop computer recognized it with its DLNA features included in the tv, and installed the device as a sharing device. This was the first time this has happened to me.
I also enjoy the fact that I can watch 3d movies without high electronic glasses. I can actually use the glasses that I kept from going to the theatre to see 3d movies.
I love my new tv
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control, great picture
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: YouTube, LG Apps and browsing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Exceptional performance, great value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BigTexBlaster
from Southlake TX
on 03/01/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: LG Apps, which is a big part of the smart TV feature.
The sales person told me the TV would look even better when I connected it in my home. That was an understatement! The picture quality is fantastic! I replaced a Samsung LCD which I always thought had a great picture. This LED with 'local dimming' is exceptional! The 3D function, which was not my main reason for purchasing this model, is much better than I expected. We've watched a few 3D movies from HBO and its a much more enjoyable experience than I expected. The installation and setup of the TV including connecting to the internet was a breeze. The whole setup took no more than 15 minutes. There are only two minor negatives: The LG Apps are pretty lame. I haven't seen much of interest there. Also, the "TruMotion" feature that supposedly enhances the motion rate causes some skipping or jumping in the picture, however, turning off TruMotion doesn't seem to negatively affect the picture quality. The value is evident when compared to my neighbor's Samsung 3D. Picture and performance are equal but my LG costs hundreds less.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Amazon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Awesome HDTV/3D

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hermie555
from MI
on 03/01/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Incredible clarity, wonderful 3D, love the satin screen, no glare! Only issue is set up is somewhat difficult for anyone other than the Geek Squad.
This product has... Great value and features for the price
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: N/A
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

fabulous picture and features @ reasonable price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LGowner
from Silver Spring MD
on 02/29/2012
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture quality, internet connectivity options
What's not so great: internet connectivity apps somewhat slow
As of December 2011 this is now my first large-screen TV as well as first HD TV. So, I've been quite far behind in home entertainment, despite the fact that I shoot & edit HD video and develop web pages in my work. I read a lot of reviews, mostly on cnet.com, before I made some tentative choices. This LG model seemed to have all the features I wanted and more, but I was mostly influenced by basic image quality ratings in relationship to price. I also looked at different models in the store – although that is usually frustrating and inconclusive because you never know the status of settings that affect color and brightness. I have been extremely pleased with the image quality and mostly pleased with the internet connectivity and other features. I also like the alternate "magic motion" remote, although it sometimes loses connection and you have to cancel and start over. [The centering of the crosshair tends to drift off-center, but you can reset it by dragging it to one side and then repositioning the remote in your hand until it's visually lined up with the current position of the cursor.] The browser and youtube apps are slow compared to doing things on the home computer and sometimes unreliable in connection, but I think that's not specifically due to LG's implementation. (I have also used the TV with the "Logitech Revue with Google TV" box, and the results are about the same; in the latter case both the internet connection and the apps are coming from the Logitech box, not the TV.) I've only seen the 3D function by viewing samples available in the apps area – but from that I would say it looks great and I think the passive 3D glasses are just fine.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: youtube
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LG LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / 3D / HDTV

Good HDTV with cheap plastic body

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: vebrocks
from Texas
on 02/27/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: passive 3D feature
What's not so great: Available Apps, slower internet, cheap plastic body, No Pandora
It is good purchase for the price and size. 3D feature is OK and still needs to be improved. Missed keypad that would speed up typing. Sound quality is poor just like any other HDTV. There is no Pandoa App yet available on LG app store. TV body is cheap plastic and there is no height adjustment available. TV panel just hands on a delicate TV stand, so cleaning TV screen is a very risky task. (Sony and Samsung TVs have sturdy body). Internet is slow and loading video on youtube sucks. They should redesign youtube app.
I still like TV for its 3D feature that I can change 2D --> 3D.
This product has... Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix , vTuner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>