Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Model: 47LV5500
SKU: 2128133
UPC: 719192580053
This HDTV features built-in Wi-Fi and Smart TV technology that allows you to surf the Internet without using a computer. The full 1080p resolution and TruMotion 120Hz refresh rate provide exceptional detail and picture clarity. Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix YouTube
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 39 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
35 out of 39
)
Customer Reviews for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV
Review 1 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Nice TV for the price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: HRNATIVE
from Virginia Beach, VA
on 04/22/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and use. Good picture. Good value.
What's not so great: Speakers could be a little bigger. Can't attach a keyboard.
Bought this TV 4 months ago and have been pleased. Thought 47 would be too big for my 12 x 16 room but it is fine. The picture is very good from all angles. There are quite a few options for adjusting the picture as well as a couple of presets you can choose from. Like the internet options, youtube, netflix, and google. Not too wild about the wand you have to use for the internet options, wish I could use a keyboard for browsing. The sound is ok, but if you want movie theatre sound you will need to add speakers.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

what a great tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: javelina2012
from san antonio, Texas
on 04/16/2012
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture, clarity, smooth operation, easy to set up
What's not so great: sound from speakers come out the bottom of the screen
Love this tv alot. It is a pleasure to sit down and watch anything.
It turns on quickly. It was easy to set up when I got the wireless connection figured out. Picture is great. HD makes you feel like
you're on stage set with the actors and production team. Did not
get 3D and now I'm glad I didn't. This tv is big and beautiful except for the sound that comes out the bottom of the screen. I will set up speakers to get a better clear sound.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: news
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Very happy with purchase.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: craigms
from Maplewood, MN
on 02/04/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture, internet access and connection options.
My first hi-def wide screen television. I am really pleased with the picture.Good review by Consumer Reports and by Best Buy customers. I like the internet connection options of wired AND wireless access.
This product has... Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Still experimenting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Love it!!! It was a surprise gift!!!Surprise to me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: picture2
from farmingdale, ny
on 02/02/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good set up, and quality picture
What's not so great: Not sure yet...hopefully nothing!
My only complaint is that I can't seem to get the whole picture to fit the sceen. There seems to cut off on either side and haven't found how to correct the scene size. I love the size, picture, sound and the many different functions. Shopping around I think it was worth the price.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Yahoo, etc
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

fits the space, good color, price was great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mybb11
from somewhereinaz
on 02/01/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
consumer reports ranked it high that is why i bought it, so far so good and the price on line was less than in the store (which was out of them) with free delivery
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: firmware updates all it is used for
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

A challege to use but potential is there.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pdxlil
from Tigard, OR
on 01/21/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Clarity of picture, good sound.
What's not so great: Familiarity with remotes - takes time. Not always successful.
I am pleased with my choice because of the very good picture and sound, appearance also. I would reccomend, along with the purchase, an offer to attend classes in the use of the various features ( use, etc.) when having used the TV for a while and is more famiiar with some of the many features it has, in order to enjoy full use of all of it.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Right number of connections
About me... Casual viewer, Love to stream movies, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Apps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Awesome TV for a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LGTVuser
from Alpharetta, GA
on 01/18/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup and use
Awesome features, easy to setup and use, great video and audio quality, right price. The different picture modes are awesome. Would highly recommend this to anyone.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Beautiful Picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Waco,TX
on 01/08/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Needs more input ports for composite and componet
I love the picture. Looks like a movie theater screen. If you don't mind wearing the glasses, the 3D is amazing!!!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: NA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Good for my use.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sunrv1
from Northampton, Pa
on 01/06/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture
It has a great picture. The smart sond is OK, but LG should tweak it. Need updated Flash player, Hope LG Updates this soon. Apps that LG includes are so so, No Pandora app, it won"t down load either from the web. For web browsing it is OK, Wireless feature, works but it won"t hook up to Windows 7 intel wire less that shows lap top on screen.
Good starter for high tech.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Web browser
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

disappointed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: reneeb
from Illinois
on 01/01/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: streaming videos
I must say I am disappointed in this tv. We bought it with the intention of being able to stream internet content. Well, every tv show or movie we have tried to watch via a website requires Flash and this tv does not have the ability. It has great video, fine sound - but the fact we cannot do the one thing we specifically asked the Best Buy salesperson if it could do has completely spoiled the enjoyment for us. Oh, and beware of the youtube ap it offers - there is no ability for parental controls and the 2 times we have allowed our 13 year old to access you tube on this tv it auto plays some very family un-friendly videos. If you are looking for a smart tv (meaning you can access any site and watch anything just like a computer) ,look for another tv!
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Excellent picture and sound, needs Flash update.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GeneCD
from Clifton Park, NY
on 12/05/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
TV has excellent picture and sound. Smart TV features a web browser but you may not be able to view your favorite web site since the Flash Player included is only version 8. Most web sites are now on a new release of Flash. Hopefully LG will include an updated browser in a future software release. Overall this is an excellent TV and I am happy with it
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Great overall HDTV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nightcap
from Simsbury, CT
on 11/10/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good picture and easy to operate
I now have 2 of this same model and like both a lot.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Great computer for home use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nathlete14
from Sherman Oaks, CA
on 10/30/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality for the price
What's not so great: Can't adjust picture or sound in that many ways...only pre-set selections that you choose from.
TV has been great! Perfect size, great picture and sound quality; I love it!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Super thin with great picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JShaf
from Masontown, WV
on 10/20/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Super thin, the thickness is litterally from the end of my pointer finger to the second knuckle, amazing!!
What's not so great: speaker are average, need a stereo
got burned by samsung and was hesitant to buy another LCD but I liked the info I was reading about the new LED LCD's and decided that they were just too good all the way around to ignore. the substantially decreased power consumption, the tact that they run much much cooler than any other type of TV. and the Picture was amoung the best . worth ever cent. one caviate you gotta get a sterio that this thing can plug in to because the speakers are not very loud. decent for a small room but if you want a decent theater experience your going to have to get a sterio hooked up to it or a surround sound home theater system.. But most thin design TV's are the same when it comes to the stock speakers.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control, needs a stereo system to make compleat
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, watch a ton of movies via blue ray player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: just played with it a little, not my favorite feature yet
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Nice Television

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: spider1950
from Marshall, MN
on 10/13/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Keeps losing time settings
It's been several weeks since I purchased this TV. In fact this is the 2nd TV. The first one was defective and I returned it to Best Buy. (Best Buy was really good about the exchange). The replacement has been a pleasant surprise. I previously owned a Vizio 42" LCD TV and was satisfied with its performance. However, I had no idea how much nicer the picture quality was with the LG. It's met or exceeded my expectations.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Vudu
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Great Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: a032215
from Foxboro, MA
on 09/27/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Have been extremely pleased with the quality of the picture and the sound. Is easy to use.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Sports enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Great tv for great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: prosser91
from Prosser, Wa
on 09/24/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I've had this TV for a week now and I love it. It looks really good and I like the magic remote and the internet browser. I like to watch YouTube videos with the YouTube app and go on Facebook with the Facebook app. Those are the only apps I've used so far. I got this TV when it was on sale for $999.99 so I saved $300. I would recommend this TV to everyone.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Facebook, Youtube
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Beautiful picture, plus two remotes!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mrskg
from Cincinnati
on 09/09/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Thin design, crisp picture, matte screen
This TV has a beautiful picture. The matte finish screen prevents reflection from the nearby French doors in our room. It was nice to discover that it came with two remote controls.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

TV has an excellent picture!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rwood728
from Houston
on 09/07/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Nothing
The TV has been everything that I wanted and more. Outstanding picture, good sound from internal speakers ... plenty of volume from them for most rooms, and online features that are fun to play with.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LG 47" Class / LED / 1080p / 120Hz / HDTV

Totally meets our expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LGLover2011
from Victor NY
on 09/01/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The picture and sound.
We researched the purchase of a television extensively prior to making our purchase. The 47 inch LED LG met our requirements.
This is our first flat screen LCD/LED television and we are very satisfied with the picture under all lighting conditions (day time, night time, etc.). Setup was extremely easy. We opted not to purchase the setup service. We use our television for viewing via cable, DVD, VCR or streaming video from Netflix. So we can't comment how the TV operates other types of accessories such as gaming equipment.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>