Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Model: 1EV4.019.03
SKU: 2192066
UPC: 636926048422
Plan your next trip with this GPS that features text-to-speech technology that makes it easy to follow directions while concentrating on the road. The lifetime traffic and map updates keep you informed of the latest traffic conditions and road changes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.458 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 120 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
19
65% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
78 out of 120
)
Customer Reviews for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates
Review 1 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Very good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jade422
from FL
on 11/19/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Needs simulator mode
As a professional driver I need accuracy and I find that Garmin twist and turns you even when you just need to go in a straight line yes it gets you there but with added steps i don't need .....what I like about this is I can say the address and it imports it saves me a lot of time what I miss and need on this unit is the simulator mode its very important and helpful for me PLEASE BRING IT BACK I use it often on my Garmin also would like to see a louder stronger and clearer voice on TomTom they all sound tiny other wise this is a good unit
This product has... Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Great unit for lighthouse764the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dino764
from New York, ny
on 10/04/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: easy to use, right out of box
What's not so great: traffic doesn't always work
Nice unit and easy to use. Bought unit when old one broke. Pureed this one in an was back on road within the hour. Tom Tom always had user friendly units. I love the free map and traffic updates
This product has... Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0573679726
My Best Buy number: 0573679726
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Great gps

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vroman254
from Killeen tx
on 09/20/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Get unlimited map updates for life.
What's not so great: Havent found any yet.
I use this gps everyday for work and its pretty accurate,great that you can get free map and traffic updates for life.
This product has... Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0571915086
My Best Buy number: 0571915086
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Great camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Fregene
from Garland, TX
on 09/09/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: User friendly
What's not so great: Can not tell about the durability.
My first TomTom is not responding freezen try to reset it but not coming right. Hope this one will not end like that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Awesome and slick GPS with traffic control

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mashak77
from Casper, WY
on 09/06/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Got last year model with all needed features at a discounted price!
What's not so great: Traffic control feature is not worse it when you are saving just a couple minutes. Stick to main route in such cases.
I am enjoying new TomTom. It had lifetime map updates unlike my previous old version of it. It is thin and sexier looking than previous models. Traffic control is a cool feature, but do not always listen to it, especially if it only saves you a couple of minutes. It can detour you in such a way that you can get lost and loose time :)
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2742985379
My Best Buy number: 2742985379
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Better than Garmin

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jtb9265
from San Diego, CA
on 08/12/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, works perfectly
What's not so great: No compass
I owned a Garmin, so I was a little skeptical about switching to TomTom, though this is definitely a better GPS. I own a Smart car, which doesn't have Bluetooth, so that feature was particularly important to me. After having nothing but trouble with a Garmin unit (the Bluetooth would rarely recognize my phone - and when it did, it would never stay connected), I returned it for this TomTom - and the Bluetooth has worked flawlessly since I purchased it about a month ago. The unit is easy to use, directions/navigation voice are clear and accurate, and there lots of features I've never seen on a Garmin. And TomTom's customer service blows Garmin's away. About the only thing missing from this TomTom is a compass (N/S/E/W). According to TomTom customer service, they removed it for one of their software releases - though the woman mentioned they might be looking to put it back in the future. Overall, a great unit, terrific value for the money. Highly recommended!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, great bluetooth
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Business Professional, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Big Screen

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: baber786
from carol stream,il
on 08/02/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to Use and handle.
What's not so great: USB cable too small.
Great Purchase.......................................................................
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates, light weight
About me... casual user, not so often traveller
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1015970678
My Best Buy number: 1015970678
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Reasonable unit for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: 1dbm
from NH
on 08/02/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good graphics
What's not so great: The GUI could be more intuitive
The GPS works as specified and is a reasonable unit. Some some beginning users the GUI could be more intuitive.
This product has... Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0740591882
My Best Buy number: 0740591882
By TomTomCommunityManager08/12/2013
Hi 1dbm, I read your review and wanted to thank you for the feedback – I will make sure to pass it on internally as we strive towards improving the quality of the products and service we offer. It’s always a challenge to balance features against simplicity of use but it’s very important that we keep track of what you as a customer appreciate or miss about the product.TomTomInc.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Love my New Tom Tom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mejane80
from Swedesboro, NJ
on 08/01/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of Use
What's not so great: short battery life
So updated than previous versions. At a really good price too.
All I have to is type in where I wanna go and it does the rest! Awesome!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Parent with kids, Use for long distance sports (i.e. bicycling, skiing, running)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0954294470
My Best Buy number: 0954294470
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

my first gps and it is great...i got a very good d

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mypic
from san antonio,texas
on 07/26/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: its easy to understand and work
I highly recommend this product...this product I was kind of hesitate but after using it I was glad I bought it.my family was overwhelmed at the accuracy of it.
This product has... Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0903353777
My Best Buy number: 0903353777
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lunny
from buffalo,NY
on 07/22/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: nothing
The TOM TOM is reliable, easy to use and with the lifetime updates a very practical GPS.
This product has... Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2176198727
My Best Buy number: 2176198727
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Great Navigator for the Driver

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Blueivy
from Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
on 07/12/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: It has to be plugged into a car to program
My husband and I went on a trip to Florence, Kentucky and didn't know how to get there. We typed in the address from where we were leaving from and then typed in our destination and a map appeared showing the driving directions. The voice verbally told us where to go and the yellow arrows on the screen showed us the proper lanes to stay in to avoid getting lost. We made a wrong turn and the voice told us how to get back on the freeway and which exit to take. We're very happy with our purchase!
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2273480503
My Best Buy number: 2273480503
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Love the traffic alerts.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dc1954
from des moines, ia
on 07/12/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I travel so the Tom Tom travels with me. The travel alerts are really handy and amazing.
What's not so great: na
Great product. I travel and this is a great product that easily fits in my travel bag and doens't take much room. Easy to set up. I highly recommend the travel alerts...
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2279079411
My Best Buy number: 2279079411
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

GPS works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: telltales
from Lufkin, TX
on 07/10/2013
What's great about it: Got it on sale at Best Buy, a really good deal
My last two cars had GPS in them my current car did not come with that option. It is a sportscar and the size on the GPS unit is perfect. This unit works great and has traffic. Happy with purchase. Last trip it saved me from getting a ticket.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Easy to use. I am not a techie.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bearmomma
from Indiana
on 07/08/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: I like the verbal commands.
What's not so great: No problems yet.
I found it easy to use and helpful to find local attractions while traveling.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Free map updates
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2798927958
My Best Buy number: 2798927958
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

it didn't work right

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mejjmc
from Oklahoma
on 07/06/2013
What's great about it: ???????????
What's not so great: shut down suddenly; the voice was so scratchy sounding that you couldn't understand the "lady" giving directions.
I was so disappointed in this TomTom. I had purchased a TomTom a few years back and loved it but it finally quit holding a charge. This brand new one seemed the same way! We bought it to take with us to Houston, Texas on a trip and didn't like the fact the it would shut down right in the middle of a trip in Houston city limits causing us to try to figure out what land on the interstate we were supposed to be in since there were multiple lanes! Disaster!!!!! I took it back to B est Buy Norman, OK and even the BB guy couldn't get it to work right! AWFUL GPS!!!
This product has... Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2856599714
My Best Buy number: 2856599714
By TomTomCommunityManager07/09/2013
Hi mejjmc, I’m sorry for the experience you’ve had. My best suggestion here is to reach out to us via our direct line 866 486 6866 or the following page: http://bit.ly/Jn4Fjv . Our agents will then be able to look more into the case and work on a solution to the issue you point out.TomTomInc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Good GPS, Good Price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gyspy
from Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
on 07/06/2013
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Dose not hold a charge very long.
I like the GPS very much, easy to use, like the turn by turn directions, but dose not hold a charge very long, so if you can;t plug it it your car during use you might have trouble.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2009588091
My Best Buy number: 2009588091
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Great GPS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Misslez
from NC
on 07/05/2013
What's great about it: It is updated
This GPS is cool. It has so many different voice selections and features. It even has the map of Canada.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus
About me... Budget Conscious, Frequent traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2875975704
My Best Buy number: 2875975704
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

Good but gets lost

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jfietek
from Coon Rapids
on 07/05/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and like voice command option
What's not so great: It has gotten me lost
It is user friendly but my previous TomTom never got me lost and this one has already done it four times in three months.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Easy menus, Lifetime traffic, Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2099627748
My Best Buy number: 2099627748
By TomTomCommunityManager07/09/2013
Hi jfietek, I apologize for the overall experience you’ve had. I would like to help you out here, but I don’t have enough information. What I recommend doing is to reach out to us via our direct line 866 486 6866 or the following page: http://bit.ly/Jn4Fjv . Our agents will then be able to have a more detailed look at the issue you point out and work on a resolution.TomTomInc.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom - VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS with Built-In Bluetooth and Lifetime Map and Traffic Updates

It's okay

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Frustratedonnickname
from Wi
on 07/05/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice display, shows the lane you should be in
What's not so great: Turns off every so often, takes you in circles sometimes
I liked the fact that you got lifetime traffic and map updates free. The cost for me was great ($120). We were going to take my Harley from wi to va to see relatives. It got me there but took me right through Washington DC in the afternoon. It might have told me an alternate but I didn't see it since I was on the bike. For 99% of the trip it did its job. The one place it screwed up was in OH when it directed me to a circle instead of a Walmart. The suction back held firm on the bike for days. The one huge flaw is while driving down the road, it decided to turn off and re boot. Not good when your in unfamiliar territory. It did this many times toward the end of the trip so remember this if you buy it. It does go right back to you and your route but it takes over a minute to do so and by that time you could be off course
This product has... Free map updates
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0755907593
My Best Buy number: 0755907593
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>