Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Model: VG140 Silver
SKU: 2207069
UPC: 050332179363
Capture high-quality photos and videos with this digital camera that features digital image stabilization for clear, crisp photos and a magic filter that adds an artistic touch to your photos, including pop art, punk, sparkle, fisheye and more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 44 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
8
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
34 out of 44
)
Customer Reviews for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver
Review 1 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great bargain & pocket camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LoRo
from IN
on 04/13/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: compact, easy to use, nice picture quality, priced right
What's not so great: nothing
I bought this camera as a Deal fo the Day and kicked myself for not buying two. Do I need two? Not really but it is a great little camera, comparable to my compact Canon for 1/3 the cost. I gave this one to my daughter and she loves it. My SLR is an Olympus, so I have confidence in the brand. The deal is back, so I am buying two more- one for me and one for a graduation gift. The picture quality is very good, the video is good, the features are self-explanatory if you've ever owned a point and shoot. Highly recommend.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Not worth My Time

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: likes32cameras
from Minneapolis
on 04/04/2012
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Not Much
What's not so great: Niether
If I'm going to spend any money close to a hundred dollars it beter be able to take decent pictures and have good image stabalization where it is not going to blur inside unless every light is on. Also was not enthused about the clarity of the LCD display. I have a SLR and A Nikon Coolpix 500 and these have way higher quality but are expected to be for the cost. I just wanted a small camera to throw in the pocket that you don't have to be in pain if you drop it use it fishing, but still takes wonderful pictures. I missed a better deal on here that was a Nikon going for $89..99 normal price 249.99 but was sold out immediately so I will return this for store credit and wait for higher quality image stablization ind LCD display. This camera would be good for 12 years and under that like to shoot ok pictures of their friends.
About me... Love shooting sports, Video enthusiast, Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, just have been into photography since 14 years old, shooting photos for18 years, know what i like alway do your research
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great Camera for a beginner.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LucyGuzzi
from Lititz,PA
on 04/03/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The size & easy to use.
I really enjoy using this camera. It fits easily into my pocket. My husband & I do many Moto Guzzi Rallies over Spring/Fall & Summer. And this camera is great for that. It's easy to use. It's a good camera for anyone.
I'm very glad I purchased it!! I had purchased it when it was on the Best Buy Deal of the Day Special. So, it was very reasonable priced. Give it a try. if you don't like it just return it back to the store.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, casual user, great to take on trips.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

thank god for this camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: brnh102
from st louis mo
on 04/03/2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: it holds my last pictures of my wife and allowed me to see her beautiful face for life
What's not so great: havent had a problem yet
my wife passed a week after we got it only wish we would have had a camera this good and this esay to use and that takes this quality of picture years ago
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Good starter camera.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Slacks
from Minnetonka, MN
on 04/02/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Good little camera. The battery seems to last a long time. Picture quality is 'meh' but good deal for the price. Flash drowns out subject if too close.
About me... Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

great camera to keep in my purse!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: teenbetch1022
from Menomonee Falls WI
on 04/02/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size and picture quality
What's not so great: lack of digital zoom
I carry this camera with me at all times. It's easy to grab and snap and so far, the picture quality has been excellent. I love being able to later use my camera to edit photos and not lose the original. There are alot of interesting ways of playing with pics, but haven't many of them yet....will be now that the weather is so nice
About me... Video enthusiast, Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, casual user, parent of furry pets
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Good backup camera

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Jefinsd
from san diego,ca
on 04/02/2012
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Low cost on sale, wide angle
What's not so great: non standard usb, fish eye
The first thing that disappointed me was the fish eye. I bought this camera for my wife for "her" camera. I bought this model specifically for the fish eye feature. Unfortunately, the fish eye function just modifies an existing pix rather than being a true fish eye so it makes things look really distorted. The 2nd thing that bothered me was the charger. They use a non standard usb cable, which means yet another adapter/cable to drag around and potentially loose. The internal speaker volume is very low. The wide angle lens is useful.
I got it on sale for $60 so for the price it is good as a 2nd camera. I would not use it for my primary though.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great camera for the price

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Lor42
from Wilkes-Barre, PA
on 04/02/2012
What's great about it: Great picture quality
What's not so great: No viewfinder
Takes excellent pictures, is very easy to use. I would recommend this product.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

I bought this camera

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: evitaa
from Sterling Heights MI
on 04/02/2012
Ease to Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
and couldn't even get it to work out of the box. Very disappointed. Went to get another, and had the same issue.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great camera for my HS freshman daughter

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: xxx32
from Rockville, MD
on 04/02/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great deal @ $60!
What's not so great: Nothing
Excellent pictures, great size, easy to use. Perfect camera for travelling - takes great pics but if damaged, no biggie!
About me... Love shooting sports, Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Very disappointing

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jah58
from Chicago, IL
on 03/21/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: It broke within a week.
This camera broke within the first week that I bought it. I used it for work and it locked up when I was taking a picture and wouldn't turn off or retract its lens. I was very disappointed with it and didn't buy another Olympus to replace it.
About me... Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Good starter digital camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 5ven64
from Detroit
on 01/26/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Camera works well and takes nice pictures. Menus are pretty logical and can be navigated without referring to the instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Not great for night or near water

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: RickinOKC2012
from Oklahoma City, OK
on 01/15/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great Indoors in good lighting.
What's not so great: Poor in low light, or early morning.
I had high expectations for a 14MP digital camera. At Niagara Falls, it did not perform any better than a disposable camera. Water mist and night lighting created enough glare to ruin every shot. Early morning photos during sunrise met the same fate. Camera shots indoors were very clear however!
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Easy to use, great output

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Leo2See
on 01/12/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple use, good quality photos
What's not so great: Won't focus so well on smaller subjects at close-range
Out of the box, this camera was ready to use. It has the options to be complicated or it can do everything for you except decide to take a picture. It'd be a great item at 1.5 times the price.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great camera for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GatorDanRN
from Gainesville, FL
on 01/11/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: compact and price
What's not so great: Flash is on the the right side where the trigger button is and your fingers block the flash, bad area for the flash
Great camera, but the flash is the only complaint I have. It is situated in a bad spot because your finger blocks it while your holding the camera and trying to take pictures with it.
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Exceptional camera...what blurry stuff?

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chopperdude
from Hollywood
on 01/05/2012
What's great about it: the HD VIDEO recorder built in at 720 resolution
What's not so great: make sure you have 2 of the usb6 cables
Bought this (silver) 2 be brutally honest because BestBuy threw in a tripod, 4 GB sd card, and case all FOR $99. What have I got to lose? The next day, had to go to Asia for Christmas and my Nikon coolpix quit on me. I NEVER read the instructions as I owned several point-shoot cameras. And this one had the 720P resolution VIDEO RECORD MOVIE feature which had exceptional sound.
PROS: Saw many reviews for other cameras where there is a delay in shots, this one didn't. Took the pics, and didn't notice any blurry stuff. Maybe whiners didn't know about the DIS feature w/c removes the blur. The HIDEF MOVIE record feature is good with 720P reso. The battery lasted 10 days before I lost the usb 6 cable.
CONS ( i think); Lost the USB6 cable which is the rarest type of usb. Went to this screwed up place in HK, and they sold me the Nikon usb which worked! Buy 2, my advice.
SUMMARY:good intermediate camera with record capabilities.
About me... Video enthusiast, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great everyday camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kingkong8811
from Northwest, IN
on 11/24/2011
Very happy with this camera for the price. It is fast. Recovers fast for the next shot. The battery lasts pretty long. Takes great pictures. Good zoom capabilities. Good photo settings for different types of shots, such as indoors, outdoors, night.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
25out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

still new

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: gullwing10
from Lakeland FL
on 11/09/2011
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
So far, so good. Owners manual sucks. Camera a bit confusing with all options.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
6out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Features suck you in, image quality is horrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Frank516
from Burke, VA
on 10/06/2011
Ease to Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: not much
What's not so great: image quality, ease of use, setting ease
Searched and searched for a camera about $100 with features I like and found this one. After a month of use, taking hundreds of pictures and several dozen videos, I'm sorry I ever bought it. the images might as well be 1MP because they are so blurry, the 14MP is a joke. I know how to use a camera, and have tried a multitude of automatic and manual settings, and I can tell you this one is a loser. It's a shame,too, because my last Olympus was fine. I'm not ruling out buying an Olympus, but you should avoid this one like the plague.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
27out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Olympus VG140 14.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Easy to use, great for a beginner.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: clamasol
from Maryland, MD
on 09/30/2011
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Not only right camera size, but accessories too. Easy to carry in your purse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>