Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Model: SAMSUNG SCH-U370
SKU: 2257755
UPC: 635753490282
This mobile phone makes it easy to stay connected with family and friends with a 3" touch-screen display for simple navigation and a slide-out QWERTY keyboard for quick typing. The 3.2MP camera lets you capture action when you're on the go. Early termination fee of $175.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 89 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
80 out of 89
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black
Review 1 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Good little phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gypsylady3200
from Florida
on 11/02/2011
What's great about it: I like the feel of the keys and how easy the screen is to see
What's not so great: I wish the contacts list was easier to get to ...have to scroll down thru everyone to find who I want.
Not too many frills, but it does the job nicely. If you just want a phone and don't need all the extras, this one is great.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Use for phone calls only, light texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Pleasantly Surprised

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ckwonka
from Berkeley, CA
on 10/31/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use, great touchscreen, fun features
What's not so great: screen glare, changes to default background
Still not ready to get a smart phone, but I use my phone a lot so I wanted something nice. I am very happy with this phone. The touch screen works quite well- it's a cross between a touch screen and a push screen, so not quite as sensitive as the iPhone but much better than most I've encountered. It has a lot of cool features, like the way you unlock the screen by dragging the screen off in any direction, and has 3 home screens to flip between. I haven't thought of any features that I wish this phone had and then realized it didn't. I carry my phone in my pocket only, and haven't butt-dialed anyone yet, or had my phone turn off by itself like some of the other reviewers. The keyboard is also really nice, though a little hard to get used to as some of the keys are in different places than on my old EnV 3. It's a very user-friendly phone, and took me no time at all to get used to.
The only problems I have with the phone are its tendency to change the backgrounds back to the defaults (this happens too frequently), and the glare of the screen in the sun. It really is quite hard to see the screen when you're outside, making it difficult to make calls, much less read or write texts.
In short, I love this phone, and am really happy with my purchase. I don't know why it's being taken off the market (it's no longer on verizon.com and only a few BestBuys have them now). It's slick and looks great for not being a smart phone (no data plan required!). Highly recommend! :)
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Worst phone I have ever owned!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NewHampshire
from Manchester NH
on 10/29/2011
What's great about it: I threw it out. Nothing good about it.
What's not so great: Design of the buttons. On/Off switch/ Pocket dialing.
Get ready for pocket dialing among other things. Put ths phone in your pocket and watch what it does. Does not stay locked and makes calls. Not to mention the on and off button gets hit by accident all the time. Save your time and avoid this phone.
This product is... not worth it, a piece of junk
About me... Budget Conscious, Use for phone calls only
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Good feature phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: earthquakechicken
from Cleveland, OH
on 10/21/2011
What's great about it: Good price and features
What's not so great: Scratches easily
for those who don't want to get violated by verizon's obscenely overpriced data plans, this is one of the few "feature" phones left that have some nice features. took a little getting used to but love the touch screen and qwerty keyboard is great as usual.
with how big the screen is definitely recommend getting screen protection.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, use for calls/moderate texting
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Awesome data package-free phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: limellama
on 10/16/2011
What's great about it: User friendly, good features, no data package
I absolutely love this phone. I'll try to break it down into the specs I think are most important.
MESSAGING
-This is obviously a keyboard phone meant for texting. The keyboard is very easy to use, and I don't think the buttons are too small.
-Threaded messaging is an option. One drawback is that you can't infinitely store your messages. I'm not sure how many messages it can store in your inbox, but it's significantly more than your sent messages. So if you're looking at your texts in threaded format, the phone will eventually start deleting your sent messages, starting with the oldest. It will look like the people you're texting are talking to themselves after a certain point. But I don't think it's that big of a deal. As far as I know, there's no way to change this. You can definitely have the phone save your incoming messages until you choose to delete them, just not your outgoing ones.
-When someone sends you an MMS, your phone will save it for eternity (in your inbox) until you choose to delete it. The picture does NOT expand when you click the message. If you want to expand it you'll have to save it to your pictures.
-Has Spanish characters.
CAMERA
-3.2 MP, the quality isn't too terrible. No flash.
-Can take panorama pics.
-You have the option to flip the pictures over horizontally to expand them. You can also zoom in on them. If you tilt the phone, the pictures will roll from one picture to the next until you align the phone again. If you take vertical pictures though you have to make sure you hold the phone vertically to look at them. For example, say you're scrolling through pictures horizontally and then you hit a vertical one. You naturally flip the phone so it's vertical, but then the picture will automatically minimize. Not too big of a deal but Samsung didn't really think that one out. You can look at the larger image if you touch the expand option on the screen and keep the phone vertical.
-Video quality isn't horrendous. If you want to send a video as an MMS, it will give you the option to record for 30 seconds (176 x 144). The quality is significantly better if you record for saving (10 min. maximum, 640 x 480).
-If you upload the video to your computer you should play it with Quicktime to hear the sound. WMP doesn't support the sound format so you won't be able to hear anything. I tried installing a codec package but that didn't seem to help.
-Picture options are single, multi shot, panorama, mosaic frame, and frame shot. Resolution is 2048 x 1536. You can also adjust the brightness. Settings that can be changed (I haven't played with them so can't comment) include autoshot, night shot, white balance, ISO, metering, contrast, saturation, and sharpness.
SCREEN
-Resistive touch screen but still very responsive. You don't really have to press down very hard to get the phone to do what you want. I haven't had any problems with it at all. Scrolling through pictures and contacts is a breeze.
-3 customizable home pages. There is a widgets bar on the left (basically for shortcuts). You can drag and drop things (example, music player) from it and you can drag things back into it to take them off your home screen(s).
-Home screen locks and you drag the screen to open it (or hold down the lock button). This lock screen picture can be customized. As far as I know you can't set a password to unlock the phone (like you can with a smartphone). Basically you can only set a password to unlock the phone when it powers on, not when it's already on.
CALL QUALITY
-Awesome...I mean, it's Verizon! Very clear. I get reception everywhere and haven't had a dropped call yet.
MUSIC, DATA, RINGTONES, BATTERY
-I don't subscribe to a data package so I can't assess the browser quality. I've tried the music player before and it's pretty good. I recommend using an SD card because the internal memory is only 100 MB.
-Ringtones are nothing special, but of course you can add your own (whether via text message or downloading).
-No Wi-Fi.
-Decent battery life. I charge it about once every 4 days. If I'm texting heavily then it's about once every 2 days.
Overall, an awesome basic phone that doesn't require a data package. No wonder Verizon doesn't feature it on its website! Please feel free to comment about anything I haven't included and I'll try my best to answer your questions.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Excellent upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: qwertyaddict
from toledo,ohio
on 10/13/2011
I needed a basic phone with qwerty to replace worn out voyager, keyboard is easy to use, love the full size headphone jack. If you want a great phone without the data plan, get the Samsung you will not be disappointed.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

I LOVE THIS PHONE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GeorgiaChick
from Warner Robins, GA
on 10/08/2011
What's great about it: Easy to set up, great price, easy texting, good battery life
What's not so great: Nothing really!
This phone is like the best phone ever! It is very durable I have dropped it several times and NOT A SINGLE scratch! Texting is easy and fast! (which is very important to me) I have had this phone for 3 months...and I it still keeps battery life for atleast 2 days, and I use it A LOT! The only problem I have come across is I can not post pictures to facebook without paying the extra fee per month...but I can make status updates for free...you see I came over to this phone from the LG cosmos and I could do everything on facebook from the phone...except see peoples posts and stuff. So that is not a big problem, but this phone takes great Pics. and videos! I JUST LOVE THIS PHONE! 5 STAR RATING FOR SURE(:
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Tough/durable, great battery life
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

its okay...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: delscandy
from south central minnesota
on 10/06/2011
What's great about it: easy texting
What's not so great: buttons activated unintentionally
Phone is relatively easy to use. However, I have problems with the lock and power buttons. I can turn off the phone, put it in my bag, and it pushes against something in my bag and the phone turns on. Same with the lock. FAR too easy for the buttons to be activated unintentionally! Then when unlocked, anything goes as far as other operations activated unintentionally! I would love to hear suggestions for avoiding this problem... Other colors would be nice, too...
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious, light phone and text user
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MovieMomof3
from West Jordan, UT
on 10/05/2011
I did a lot of research into my new phone. I wasn't sure if I was ready for a smartphone or not. I came from an Env3 with a lot of problems and am so happy with this phone! I love the touchscreen, the alarms, the calendar.... All are fabulous! I have absolutely no problems with this phone and would highly reccommend it to anyone!
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Just your simple celly

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Topsyturvy
from Waipahu, HI
on 10/02/2011
What's great about it: Open and close keyboard
What's not so great: Constant touching on icons.
In managing an operation you really have to press down on the icon hard or hit it several times for it to work. As for finding your contacts, it moves super fast where you might stop on the wrong contact. The ideal feature is it opens to a little keyboard. All in all just a simple celly.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Very good starter phone...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SirNick
from New Lond,CT.
on 09/29/2011
What's great about it: Very easy to use.
Very good starter phone and easy to use,very nice...
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Nice Basic Phone With Touch Screen

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MrJingles
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 09/28/2011
What's great about it: touch screen, and no data package
What's not so great: Hard to find covers and screen protectors
I like this phone, its basic and doesnt need a data package. its nice to txt with. I have minor problems with it, it sometimes locks up playing music, i cant keep the wall paper picture to stay (it always goes back to the default pic), it has a default phone lock after 7 seconds of inactivity which would be nice to be able to make longer, and i cant find covers or screen protectors for it other then on ebay
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Does almost everthing I need

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DonaldRG
from RI
on 09/22/2011
What's great about it: good call & screen quality
What's not so great: can't transfer the iCal
So far my u370 does what I needed it to do except for the calendar. I wanted to transfer my iCal to my Samsung u 370 phone, but no can do without going through gmail. That is something I do not want to do. So my calendar is updated manually on the phone.
This product is... Great screen, Good call quality
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Very good touch phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CanalGuide
from Palmyra NY
on 09/21/2011
What's great about it: The keyboard
What's not so great: Nothing
Verizon does not give you a good selection of touch phones. The only one they have is a Cosmo. The cosmo has the silver keyboard and they are very hard to see the letters.This phone is very user friendly and is everything that I need in a phone, short of going to a touch phone and I do not need the data plan. I very happy and satisfied and would recomennd it to anyone.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Spend more money on a real phone

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: badnewsbears
from michigan
on 09/21/2011
What's great about it: Cheap, the call quality is fine, keyboard is good for texting, long battery life
What's not so great: bad lock screen, loss of wallpapers and info, turns off while in your pocket or purse,
Classic example of you get what you pay for. The lock screen doesn't work so you end up pocket dialing all the time. It also shuts itself off and when i comes back on all your pictures and settings have disappeared. Making you take the time to redo your wallpapers and widgets. I just returned it and got an iphone. It's much more expensive but far less of a headache.
This product is... Good call quality
About me... Heavy texter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Samsung SCH-u370 not for me

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DaniNJ
from NJ
on 09/21/2011
Phone is light, but the entire thing is too complicated. The front is a touch screen that locks but until it locks the phone screen flips and flops.. the contact list is so difficult to scroll to the letter you want then find the contact....they you must touch with your NAILS to call or text..forget it if you are in a hurry. The pull out text screen with number and letter keys is a nice idea.however I have to text with my nails to be able to get to the letters they are so small......this phone is just not for me....it got good reviews . but I find it so much more difficult than my EN V 3...I have no idea why I had to pay 29.99 for it..with a 2 yr contract with verzion. I stay away from this one
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Great phone for calls and texting

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kgoiii
from Monmouth County, NJ
on 09/21/2011
What's great about it: Good price, easy to use and set up, large screen
This is a simple, compact, touch phone w/out internet capability that's easy to setup and use. The QWERT keyboard is great for texting, and the large screen is a plus. The sound quality of the calls is good and I'm happy with it.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Great Phone!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nickelberry
from Oolitic, IN
on 09/15/2011
I wanted a phone that had some cool features without having to get a data plan. This phone fits the bill, literally. lol I love the keyboard and touch screen and multiple front screens. The only con, is every once in a while buttons get pushed that aren't meant to be pushed. For the most part the lock feature works so that doesn't happen very often.
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

New Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wisconsingirl34
from Eau Claire, WI
on 09/15/2011
What's great about it: Easy to set up, great price
I just got this phone and I love it! Super easy to use and for someone that has never had a touch phone it was easy to get used to. Great phone for someone who doesn't want to start paying for the data plans!
This product is... Great screen, Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung SCH-U370 Mobile Phone - Black

Best Verizon phone right now

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jojo963
from USA
on 09/15/2011
What's great about it: The software is smooth and works well... actually the phone as a whole works great
What's not so great: The only bad thing is that the camera isn't that great, but it's good for taking basic pictures
Definitely the best Verizon phone right now, and so much better than my old EnV Touch! All the other phones Verizon offers right now are pretty much useless unless you want to pay the exorbitant data plan fees and get a smartphone (which over 2 years adds up to about $800). Definitely satisfied with this phone though everything works smoothly and it gets the job done. I've already recommended it to pretty much everyone I know who is getting an upgrade soon!
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Good call quality, overall great phone, good non-smartphone
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>