Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Model: DX-WBRDVD1
SKU: 2333036
UPC: 600603139512
This Blu-ray Disc player features built-in Wi-Fi for wireless connection to streaming content and is Internet connectable for access to Instant Content. Smart Blu-ray PlayerGet a world of instant entertainment with this smart Blu-ray player. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.NetflixPandoraCinemaNow
Average Customer Rating:
3.766 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(368 Reviews) 368
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 368 reviews
5 stars
149
4 stars
112
3 stars
29
2 stars
28
1 star
50
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
284 out of 368
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player
  • Featured

A great, inexepensive Blu-Ray player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SusanJM
from Marshville, NC
on 12/13/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use, great price, small footprint, DVDs and Blu-Rays look amazing
What's not so great: Limited connection output options, moderately noisy when loading a disc, somewhat slow Blu-Ray load times
I'd been looking for a simple, inexpensive blu-ray player for a while now. I learned my lesson with DVD players when it comes to spending large amounts of money for electronics, only to have the 20 dollar player outlast the 250 dollar players by years. So when I saw this one on sale, I decided to pick it up. And I've been very glad I did.
Setup out of the box took about 15 minutes, connected to my network with no problem at all, connected to my Netflix and Pandora accounts in a few seconds and it was ready to go. Since our satellite was down and waiting for repair and upgrade for almost two weeks, this player got a real workout during that time. The menu is pretty intuitive, works just fine with my Logitech universal remote, and had no problem playing any DVD or Blu-Ray disc that I threw at it. I have not had one single issue with it so far.
As others have mentioned, it can be a little noisy at first spinning up a disc, but compared to my XBox 360, which sounds like a jet trying to take off, it's practically silent, and it never took over 30 - 60 seconds to load a Blu-Ray for me. DVDs spin up instantly and look amazing on this. It also does a great job of handling sound. Netflix is a little slow to load, but not enough to be a problem, but once it's all loaded it plays flawlessly for me. No stuttering, stopping for buffering, dropping connection or other issues, and we're on of the lower tier internet speeds. Pandora looks and sounds great, too, and I had no problem connecting an external USB drive via the front USB port. For those of you having a problem with this, make sure your drive is FAT formatted, instead of NTSF.
It is a basic player, so don't expect it to surf the internet or have a bunch of extra features, but basic is all we really needed since we already have other devices that fill in the gaps if we need them to. This player has a small footprint, which is also a plus, and we're extremely satisfied with it, especially for the price.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+168points
188out of 208found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Died 4 Days after warranty, Not Funny!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: ThisThingIsBrokenBad
from Sunny, AZ
on 12/05/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture, User Interface
What's not so great: Annoying Fast Forward Interface Lag
Loved this value Blu Ray until it stopped connecting with web service after owning it for 369 days. Even though we didn't open it until X-mas morning, warranty is from date of purchase. But hey, it cost less than $5 a month to have Blu-Ray and stream my Netflix. Loved the interface, but the FF lags and I'm an impatient american. It still plays DVD and Blu-Ray so I guess that's something.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Good for price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Jason41
from Anna,tx
on 11/30/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing
I don't think you can go wrong for price. I would buy again.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Great overall

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BabyMomma
from Raleigh, NC
on 10/22/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy, good price
What's not so great: Remote
We use ours primarily for Netflix and haven't had hardly any issues using the Wi-Fi. The remote control can be a little difficult but otherwise we are very happy with our purchase.
This product has... Good connection options
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Parent with movie watching kids, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Very good for $50

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jefferyg
from Mobile, AL
on 10/15/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price, small size
What's not so great: No subtitles on Netflix, Set up not so easy, slow on start up and connections
We'd been looking for an inexpensive Blu-ray with wi-fi player and this was on sale for $49.99. It is what it is. Picture is great. No subtitles on Netflix. I have a hearing problem, so this was a big disappointment. I've contacted customer service and there is no solution, in fact, they attempted to blame Netflix! Set up took a little longer than a standard DVD player due to setting up wi-fi. The player takes quite a bit of time on start up before it's ready to use, and the wi-fi connection always seems slow compared to our other wireless devices. If the price had not been so low I probably would have already returned it.
This product has... Slow load time, Good connection options, Easy to use controls, no subtitles on netflix
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Awesome!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Marista
from East Texas
on 10/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: love the built in wifi! I can get netflix on it...
The only down side to this product is that it is just another remote that I have to keep up with! But other than that, ITs awesome!
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Wi-Fi applications need work

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: carls44
from Iowa
on 09/26/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Low price
What's not so great: Netflix application is frustrating
The price of this unit is definitely good and it plays discs well.
Unfortunately, some of the Wi-Fi applications are definitely lacking. I have been a Netflix member for quite some time and have no trouble accessing my account on other devices including my PC, Kindle Fire, and Toshiba smart TV. When I attempt to access Netflix on this player, it pushes my patience to the limit. It requires multiple attempts. Eventually, the page will slowly load and I can navigate to my choice of movies. You can then literally leave the room to take a quick bathroom break and grab some popcorn and a soda before the movie begins. To be fair, the movie will then usually stream without interruption from that point forward. This is in spite of the fact that the unit is only approximately 6 ft. from my router and the player itself indicates excellent signal strength. I don't have this problem if I use the You Tube or other applications.
This product has... Slow load time, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Doesnt work. Have to jiggle hdmi cable to get soun

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Stadal
from Ny
on 09/26/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Cheap
What's not so great: Doesnt work
Sound works only when you jiggle hdmi cable. Wifi setup wants password even though it is correct still does not work Not worth the trouble
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Great price, but some issues

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jstump37
from Oklahoma
on 09/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice low price
What's not so great: Will not play some blu-rays
Overall, I am pleased with the player. Immediately after hooking it up, the player updated itself, which was nice. Unfortunately, it won't play some blu-rays I already own.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Very Nice Smart Blu-Ray Player for the Pirce!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PrayingMantis
from Washington, DC
on 09/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Works Great and Nice Price
Bought this device back in December. It has not given me one problem. I did have to call tech support during set-up, but beyond that, it has worked phenomenally. I was too scared to do an update until last week but was pleasantly surprised that after the update completed, I now have access to Hulu Plus and YouTube through this device. I very pleased with this purchse! In fact, I am considering getting an additional Dynex for another TV in my house.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

A REAL BARGAIN

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ELMO37
from HOUSTON, TX
on 08/25/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: VERY EASY SETUP
I bought this unit to be able to view video streaming in my bedroom. It is very small. The setup was really easy. The picture quality is excellent. Watching content from the internet is a snap. Everything I was looking for at a very good price.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Stop working after only 3 monhts.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: cooooo
from california
on 08/20/2012
What's great about it: nothing at this point.
What's not so great: It stops working shortly after purchasing it.
Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player…..After only three months of purchasing this product it stopped working. I have another brand name Wi-Fi in my bedroom I purchased before this one and it still works fine, so, I know it's not my internet connection. Plus, I have blast speed. The first 3 months I had no problem with this product. Now when trying to connect to Wi-Fi with this product, I get two different error messages. I either get: "timed out” or " DNS failed". I have reset my wireless and internet connection a dozen times trying to get this Dynex to connect to the internet, but no luck. I will no longer waste anymore of my time trying to get this Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player to work. $80 down the drain.
This product has... bad connection issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Pure Junk!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: bella126
from Warren, MI
on 08/18/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Worked great for 6 months
What's not so great: No longer works!
I purchased this blu ray player for a Christmas gift to myself for Christmas of 2011. Less than a year later, the player no longer works! All the extras work... i.e. Pandora Radio, Netflix, etc.; however, the actual blu ray player no longer plays discs. The disc drive does not open when you want it to, and you can't even load a disc anymore. Junk, junk, junk!!!
Picture quality is good for netflix.
When it did work, it would take forever for the disc drive to open and then forever for the movie to play. Don't waste your money!
This product has... Slow load time, Useful Internet-enabled features
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Great Blu-Ray for its price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: mrad27
on 08/11/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price
What's not so great: WiFi didn't work after a year
Item was easy to setup. The remote is a bit bulky. WiFi didn't work after using it for a year. Highly recommend getting a replacement plan with this item.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Parent with movie watching kids, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Believe the reviews. Great value!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Noker
from Roanoke, VA
on 08/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up. Easy to operate. Able to program access to device for Cox Cable remote with standard code.
What's not so great: Nothing so far except maybe more internet access channel capabilities.
I read the reviews and they don't lie. This is a good value. No, for the price, it is an awesome value. Works as advertised. No issues in setup. So far/so good.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Useful Internet-enabled features, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Netflix stops working after a month

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: spawn78
from miami,fl
on 08/06/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great blue ray player
What's not so great: not good after update
The player stopped playing netflix after update and then dynex customer service tried to blame it on my internet then they made me download a software off their website to find out that the player has a internal error(1200) to take it back to best buy sorry for inconvenience they said. Yeah I'm sorry too that I bought this piece of $#!?!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Don't bother

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Rachc
from Charlotte, NC
on 08/06/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Worked fine for about 6 months
What's not so great: No picture after 6 months
This Blu-ray worked fine for about 6 months. We enjoyed using it probably 3-4 times a week for Netflix & Blu-rays. However, after having this same Blu-ray in our bedroom & living room, they both stopped having a picture within 6 months. You can hear a movie playing if you can figure out how to get it started. But, there is no video at all. Save your money and invest in a higher quality blu-ray.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

WASTE OF MONEY!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jorge24242424
on 08/05/2012
The wifi stopped working after 3 months. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!! Stick with Samsung or Sony!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

Overall, very capable for the price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MikeMattMac
from Spring Lake Park, MN
on 07/21/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Very simple to use, DVD/BD quality is superb.
What's not so great: Slow interface for streaming services.
I want to say that if you're in the market for a Blu-Ray player in the sub $100 range that features wi-fi, this is by far one of the better ones I've used. The video quality is better than the old Memorex BD player I was replacing.
The downside is the interface for Netflix and Pandora is dated and slow. It lacks some of the features that other devices have including subtitles and audio options for Netflix. Also, it takes almost as long to load streaming movies as my old Memorex (it is faster, but not a lot). My Xbox 360 has all the features this lacks along with a nice interface (not a comparison, just a statement). Before going to this BD player, I tried a Roku XD and it had a nice interface, but lacked the features I was hoping for (subtitle and audio options)...it also had very quick load times for streaming...shortly after I returned that I heard they updated it so I'm guessing it has some of those features now that I was hoping for.
Like I said, for the price range, this is one of the best I've used and I would venture to say the picture quality is even better than my LG BD player in my home theater setup. The LG is about 3 years old now, but still works flawlessly.
If you're on a budget and want a Wi-Fi BD player...strongly consider this one. Worst case scenario, you don't like it and return it for something else.
My only reason for the rating I gave it is I'm expecting too much out of this price range. I will have to try a BD player that is in the $100-150 range to get what I'm looking for most likely.
The only other thing I want to mention is that I'm disappointed it doesn't come with ANY connection cable whatsoever. I would expect them to at least include a basic RCA cable so it can be hooked up to any TV. So be warned, if you buy this, you will need to have either an RCA cable or an HDMI cable otherwise you'll be making a second trip to the store.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Slow load time, Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Player

The Wireless Drops Out

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: sylviandark
from North Carolina
on 07/13/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Netflix cannot stream an entire movie without the wireless dropping out. I have a computer in the same room that works on wireless with no problem at all. The Dynex player settings show the blu-ray player has a 'good' signal (3/4 bars lit up).
Running a wire to the player is a bit inconvenient given the locations of the router and the player.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>