Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Model: LC-40LE830U
SKU: 2380145
UPC: 074000373099
This Sharp AQUOS Quattron HDTV features an UltraBrilliant LED system for high brightness and color purity and Quad Pixel technology for a vibrant display. The X-Gen LCD panel delivers a high level of contrast.
Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 82 reviews
5 stars
64
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
78 out of 82
)
Customer Reviews for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
Review 1 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Excellent TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: matnyr
from Grand Blanc, MI
on 06/03/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
At the time when I purchased this TV I got it for half off. Let me say that its been well worth the money. Grant it 40 inches may seem smaller this day and age however still looks great with HD and Blu Ray.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
My Best Buy number: 0329879929
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Good HDTV!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MissLotusBlossom
from Boston, MA
on 10/24/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: 120hz Picture, fast Internet Streaming
What's not so great: Sound, a little show on running the apps
Have been using it it for 1+ year now. Overall good quality HDTV. Love the fast streaming internet. Sound quality could be better and quite slow on running some applications.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix & Pandora
My Best Buy number: 406362542
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Very happy with this purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: flipper6
from north carolina
on 03/10/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Picture
What's not so great: havent' had any negitives
Im very happy with this TV. The picture is excellent, the sound seems fine, no problems at all. The price was great. I feel I got an excellent bang for my buck!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

awesome tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fangmoua
from taylorsville, utah
on 02/19/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good price
one of the best tv ive bought, and ive been through alot of tvs
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Perfect Fit for my space

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Stephen814
from Long Island, NY
on 02/01/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality
This TV has a great picture and was a perfect fit for the space I have it in. I am thrilled with my purchase.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great TV!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bill105
from Meridian, MS
on 01/23/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
Picture is terrific. Sound is more than adequate in our large den. No detectable motion blur watching HD quality football. Wireless access to Netflix has worked well. Easy to set up. Plenty of settings for TVholics. Quite frankly, I've been surprised at the overall quality and my satisfaction level. Did purchase extended warranty to guarantee longevity.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great TV at a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bryan51
from Lexington, KY
on 01/17/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, price
What's not so great: Sound quality adequate
I've had this TV since August when I picked it up on sale for less than $600. Great feature set and incredible picture. The 120 Mhz refresh makes for a great, smooth picture. The Quattron picture is also excellent; some reviews have commented that the yellow pixel doesn't add anything, but my experience is that it allows for subtle shades of colors. HD pictures look fantastic. The built-in wireless works very well. Many sets at this price point require the purchase of a dongle, so the built-in wireless seems like a bonus.
Overall, for a web-enabled, 1080p, LED TV this is a great value.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Good LED

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GeneTS
from NYC
on 01/09/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
The Sharp 40" LED fits in the same space as my old Sony 30" box tv. Picture and sound quality are good; haven't gotten around to trying the internet features.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BraveheartRules
on 12/04/2011
First off never buy a Toshiba TV, read about the vertical lines issue on the 40 inch 40RF350U on Amazon that Toshiba doesn't take responsibility for. Anyhow, this Sharp is my new replacement for the Toshiba I owned less than 2 years. I have to say the picture is remarkable. The 120hz cinemotion refresh rate is so real looking that it almost looks fake, mostly because most of us are used to watching television at a 60hz or less TV. It takes some getting used to but if you can't then you have the option of going into the advanced settings and turning the refresh rate down. But as far as the sound quality goes it's acceptable but I would not use it as your primary source of sound, I use my sound system with it if you plan on watching a lot of movies. Overall the design, the picture, the user interface are all very nice and would highly recommend this TV to anyone. I cannot comment on the internet/applications because I do not use my TV to peruse the internet and I don't use services such as Netflix to watch TV and movies, although I'm sure I might check it out on this TV eventually. I bought this size TV because I have a very nice 36 inch TV cabinet I bought years back that the wifey doesn't want to part with. It's great because of the super thin Bezel around the frame of the screen allowing me to fit into the 36 inch TV cabinet. Anyhow, if you are wanting or needing a 40 inch TV then this is one of the best you can buy for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Sharp got it right

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheMrB
from Mesa,AZ
on 12/01/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The picture
What's not so great: HDMI ports are the side and cables stick out.
The picture on this TV will blow you away. The sharpness and the range and depth of color are incredible. It is so far the best TV I have ever owned.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Denon - 3D / Internet Connectable Blu-ray Disc Player
4.8 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Vudu and Pandora
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Best TV I've ever owned

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: joekool1000
from Athens, GA
on 11/30/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
We picked up this TV when our highly-rated (Consumer Reports) Toshiba LED TV crashed after only three years and several repairs.
After having the Sharp for three months, we're happy the other one broke. This TV takes HD to the next level, and even standard definition looks great. We never realized what we were missing with picture quality, but this TV has made us TV snobs -- we totally notice when we go to someone else's home with a poor TV. Sports is especially awesome on this TV.
It flawlessly works with all our other components.
Highly recommended!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JGmanG
from NH
on 11/17/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture quality
What's not so great: nothing so far
When I bought this tv i was looking for a 32-37 led for the bedroom and I found this one. I absolutly love this tv, it looks better than my back lit led LG in the living room. It has great blacks decent sound all around awesome tv. I now want to upgrade my living room tv to either the 3d 60" or 52".
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Excellant Picture and Good Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fan11
from Dayton, OH
on 11/16/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up, price, picture quality
What's not so great: diffcult to turn off internal speakers
Hook-up and set was easy. picture quailty great. I would recommend this tv to a friend. Little difficult to turn off internal speakers when using a external home theater system.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Nice buy for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BamaJam2
from Birmingham, AL
on 11/15/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great features fo price
First time trying Sharp brand... very pleased. Met my expectations fully. Instruction manual is a little vague on some features.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Unbelievable TV at an unbelievable price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: delgin
from Greenville, SC
on 10/30/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, sound, features, built-in wifi connection.
Old TV died and needed a replacement that would fit in cabinet, but didn't want to spend too much. Realized smaller bezel on LED's would allow for a 40" when LCD would only allow 37". Unfortunately, LED meant more money; then I found this deal! Retails for $1099, but on sale for $599. BestBuy didn't even know about it, found it on their website, but allowed for pickup at my local store. Professional reviews were OK, but all user reviews were great. I was skeptical, but took a chance on such a great deal. Out of the box, TV has amazing picture, great sound, easy hookup to Internet; what more could I ask for. Have had for about a month now and could not be happier!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

More then a TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tkessock
from Orwigsburg, PA
on 10/26/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: .....
I got this TV mostly becasue it was on sale for the weekend, as mine broke and I was just looking to get something. The LED is great becasue there is virtually no heat, and I have it set in a wooden entertainment center. The picture is perfect. It also connects to the internet and has a Netflix app.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Fabulous TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Philbz34
from Syracuse ny
on 10/26/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This LED Tv has an awesome picture ... Picture is almost to good while watching my shows .... Can see where makeup ends ...
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Have had it for a month

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: truzquilla
from Tucson Az
on 10/21/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
I purchased this TV during labor day weekend, so I got it on sale, I think it was a pretty good deal. I would not pay a dollar more for it though. The picture quality is pretty good, the sound is decent enough although it could be better. The navigation menu is easy once you get used to it. But I did spend a few hours playing with it, especially trying to connect to the internet, was a bit of a challenge inputting characters using my TV remote. The user's manual is hard to understand, but I barely need it at this point.
Features: It comes with a very poor Aquous net software that has some pre-loaded applications like Twitter, Horoscopes, News, weather etc, you cannot really use it to browse the web, I only used this application once and felt no need to try it again whatsoever. There are more applications like Netflix, CinemaNow, Blockbuster, Vudu (Vudu has a large menu of applications to chose from, but I only use Pandora and facebook sometimes, the rest are really slow and not very interesting#. I really enjoy Netflix #I have 1.5Mbps connection and it manages to stream without pausing), and Pandora, but I was dissapointed to see that I cannot download more applications, I though I would have access to the real web, or sites like Youtube, or Hulu, but I was wrong, apparently the software for that is only included in Sony. Luckily my PC has an HDMI cable that I was able to connect to the TV and I have used it as a monitor a few times while streaming real videos from the web.
Overall I am very happy with it, except for the lack of more interesting web applications, very nice TV for the price though.
This product has... great value for the sale price
About me... Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great HiDef TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: woweeeeeeeee
from NY
on 10/20/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
The picture and colors are fantastic. Love this TV.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sharp - Sharp AQUOS 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great tv for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: schemsteve
from chicago, il
on 10/20/2011
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Paid $600 for a 120hz LED TV. Great picture quality. Has 4 hdmi ports which is nice so I can watch multiple cable boxes in my house. Easy set up but had to call customer service because the latest update wasn't working. They said so many people were updating immediately to wait at least a day to update. That worked. Wish it had a better web browser.
A very happy customer!!!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>