Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Model: KDL55HX729
SKU: 2392286
UPC: 027242816770
Learn more about Magnolia Premium Installation   This HDTV features an X-Reality PRO engine for optimal color, contrast and sharpness. To build a complete 3D home theatet system, we recommend you purchase 3D glasses designed for this TV, a 3D Blu-ray player, high-speed HDMI cable and an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D prodcuts. Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. Netflix Pandora skype YouTube
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 64 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
59 out of 64
)
Customer Reviews for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
Review 1 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Amazing Picture, crisp and clean.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: adrielaugust
from Carlisle, PA
on 06/08/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Amazing Picture Quality. Clarity is Outstanding. Motionflow looks great on most movies. 3D is Quite good.
What's not so great: TV is physically a little wobbly. Sound Quality.
*** Before reading this review understand that watching a movie on a new TV right out of the box will not provide the best picture. I spend hours and hours perfecting the settings and features of this 3D HDTV before I even tried to watch something. This SONY 3D HDTV has a huge amount of options and when set just right, you will no believe your eyes.
Pros:
+ Amazing Picture Quality. Clean crisp images with amazing depth.
+ Netflix and other streaming programs launch easily.
+ SONY’s menu system while watching is great. Change options and features as you watch.
+ Very beautiful TV. It is a work of art and even while off I can’t stop looking at it.
+ Built in WiFi
+ Built in 3D Transmitter
Cons:
- Sound is not the best. The speakers are mounted in the back of the set which is nice because they are hidden, however this greatly hinders the audio quality. This is not an issue to me though as I have never used a TV’s built in speakers to watch a flick.
- The TV itself is a little wobbly. The stand is quite simple and seems almost too light to hold the TV up. But this goes with the simple clean look of the new Sony HDTV’s.
- Not really much of a physical manual. It is actually on the TV in the menu. "i-Manual”.
I purchased the KDL-55HX729 over the KDL-55HX720 due to the built in WiFi and the built in 3D glasses transmitter. They are not expensive to add, however the less extra junk I have the better. I like that everything is built in and it was well worth the extra money.
This is a great Sony 3D HDTV. I have seen Samsung and Panasonic 3D and I would say this is just as good. I watched Resident Evil: Afterlife in 3D the night I got it and I was blown away. But I honestly didn't buy this TV for the 3D. I was simply looking forward to an upgrade from my 6 year old 52" SONY HDTV, which was great, however so much new technology has been released.
My old Sony HDTV had a large frame with speakers in the front and a "glass" frame around it. It took up about 4 1/2 inches of space on each side, which was pretty, but very unnecessary. The KDL-55HX729 has a very simply clean design with hardly any frame and the speakers are in the back. The screen is quite reflective, however this is not an issue while viewing. It simply makes it a littler nicer to look at while it's off.
One of the first things I watch was LIFE on Blu-ray. LIFE is an HD nature documentary type program. Watching this blew me away, especially while watching the close-ups of the little bugs and reptiles. The color and depth felt incredibly realistic and very true to how nature intended.
One gripe I had as compared to my old LCD TV (non LED) is the LED lighting on this TV is much more noticeable. When the screen is black, I can see some spotlighting or flash-lighting or whatever you want to call it. This is where the LED light is. Also when the screen has a large white moving object on it I can see thin dark lines that I believe is the frame work that holds rows of lights behind the screen. I noticed this while watching LIFE and there was a above shot of an iceberg and then the camera moved upward. While the camera was still I really couldn’t see these lines in the screen, however when the camera shifted upward it was noticeable. So when the screen is white you really can’t see the lines. However they popped out to me when there was large white movement with darker backgrounds surrounding it. This could just be me nitpicking, however I thought it was worth mentioning. It is nothing worth returning the TV over.
Another small gripe is the sturdiness of the stand which upon this beautiful expensive TV sits. The TV pivots and turns, which is nice, however I think they would have been better off taking the flexibility away and simply making a strong sturdy stand. I would say mounting this TV to a strong wall or an equipped TV stand may be a better option if you are worried. But this TV is about 6 inches thinner than my last TV. I think I may just not be used to something so much smaller and less bulky.
The menu system is great as always. Internet programs and Netflix are great and fast. The movement of the menus, programs and simply turning on and off is very smooth and simple. The options are great. There are a few new options that I had to mess around with and test out, however the basic brightness and contrast are the same settings I had on my old Sony HDTV.
Due to the amazingly realistic picture quality I can over look some of the smaller issues with this TV. It is the closest to perfect I have ever seen. The design, PQ and features make this a piece of beautiful artwork which I am proud to display in my home. I highly recommend this series of Sony 3D HDTV’s and look forward to this baby for years and years. Also I purchased a 4 year warrantee from SquareTrade for under $250. Well worth it for piece of mind.
Best Uses: Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+107points
111out of 115found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Make sure the "Ambient Sensor" feature is OFF.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jewlzie
from Frisco, TX
on 11/26/2011
What's great about it: Bright, vivid, crisp, clear picture quality.
What's not so great: Nothing yet!
I am a Samsung fan and was really wanting a Samsung. However, we bought our new Sony KDL-55HX729 55" HDTV today... it was on sale for less than 1/2 the original price so we went for it since it was Sony and our previous 46" was a Bravia that we had no issues with.
When we first set the TV up, the picture looked VERY dark and I was so frustrated. I couldn't figure out what was wrong and started to wonder if it was just a faulty TV or just a really cruddy TV on Sony's part. I started thinking, "I should have gone with that Samsung like I had planned."
Well, I'm a web/graphic designer and am very fussy with a discerning eye when it comes to color/contrast/sharpness/brightness, etc and am very patient and determined when it comes to figuring out how to make it look the way I want it to.
So, I kept playing around in the menus and set up options, etc... and finally found the "Ambient Sensor" feature was set to "ON". I turned that Sensor to "OFF" and WOW! It's a whole new, FABULOUS TV.
I'm so thrilled with the purchase now and glad I won't need to exchange it.
---->> To find the "Ambient Sensor" feature, press "Home" on your remote to bring up your menus, arrow left or right until you find the "Picture & Display" menu. Then arrow down to "Ambient Sensor" and make sure it is set to "OFF".
Hope that helps! =)
Now... I'm off to go watch some more awesomely bright, vivid, crisp, clear hockey.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

No Regrets

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jake318
from SF
on 11/27/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I just bought this TV yesterday after tons of research. Comparing Samsung to Sony, the series, the pros the cons from a ton of different reviews from various websites as well as spent hours talking to the best buy rep. So here is my overall opinion on the TV.
PICTURE:
First of all, if you're thinking that it's going to make regular channels look spectacular, then you're mistaken. Ordinary channels look like they normal would because, from what I have come to learn and I am by no means an expert, the quality you receive is dependent on what is feeding into the television. Most ordinary channels don't give you the 1080p. That being said, once I called comcast and paid an additional $10 bucks a month for HD, WOW! Feel sooooo much better about my purchase. Looks amazing!!! Other things to consider which I had difficulties with is getting the settings right. These are SMART TV’s and there is a bit of a learning curve to them, so you have to be patient. Don't automatically assume it's the television. I got a blue ray player and purchased the transformer movie and spent about 30 minutes messing with the settings, searching online for specs and once I figured some of them out, WAY BETTER!!! I'm also considering paying for someone to come and calibrate the television. If anyone has any comments or wants to add comments/correct me, please do so as I am still learning just like you about these TV’s.
SOUND
Sound is not bad at all, I mean it's not great but after reading all the reviews of the poor sound I wasn't disappointed. Given that these TV's are a lot thinner, something has to give. While I was in Best Buy I considered going for a lower model and including a sound system but then I figured why jeopardize quality for quantity. This TV has headphone jack and I just plugged my computer speakers in and it sounds pretty good. Eventually I will upgrade and invest in a nice surround sound. Also, remember that speakers don't depreciate as quickly as TV's. LED depreciate anywhere from 5 to at the most 15 years while speakers maintain their value (resale value# for much longer so taking extra time and purchasing a nice surround sound is definitely worth it.
FEATURES
Easy to hook up the internet, Netflicks all that stuff is fairly straight forward. I'm not too concerned with the features because I bought the TV for watching TV; I have my computer to go on the internet. I haven't tried out the 3D yet so I'm sorry I cannot comment on that but I did look at the one on display that was the same model and I was quite pleased.
OVERALL
Like I said, I spent countless hours going back and forth between Samsung and Sony. I first wanted a Samsung because I liked the frame and stand a lot better; it gave a more modern look. I came to the conclusion that I am eventually going to mount it so I the stand no longer became a factor. Also, considering this TV was $1,399 and the comparable Samsung 7000 series was $1,799 #$2,000 out the door without warranty, HDMI Cables, etc.# it made me lean more towards the Sony. They are both great televisions with a marginal difference that is extremely miniscule compared to other brands in the market. I ended up purchasing the floor model and got a 20% discount #$1,120# and walked out the door with this TV, Sony blueray player #out of box#, 4 year warranty and a top of the line HDMI cable all for $1,500 that I put on my BB card for 36 months NO INTEREST. I'm not sure if I needed to spend so much on a cable. If anyone has any comments on the HDMI cable, please share whether it makes a huge difference. The guy was telling me that the more silver it had the better quality but for a ridiculous price.
Final note; I am pleased with it and I do not regret it. Do your research, compare model numbers so you know how to compare apples to apples. Good luck out there and please if anyone has any comments, additional info, corrections, please don't hesitate to post. We are all trying to get the best bang for our buck. Oh and please excuse any grammatical errors, not an English major :p #content over form).
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: They all seem what you would expect, happy with them all.
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

great tv plenty of features

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zman14
on 11/14/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture quality features and price
What's not so great: nothing really except simulated 3d is okay
i have had the tv for almost a month now and its been great. the picture quality is amazing. the 240hz is great for football and fast action movies. the x-reality pro engine is very good. for led it has good black levels and is a great tv. the speakers are not that bad but if your getting a higher end tv like this a home theater system is a good idea. it has plenty of features and picture settings. so far its been the best tv i hav ever owned and is better than my previous 50 inch samsung plasma. i have been loyal to samsung until now for the price you wont get a tv with these features and a name like sony. the samsung that is equal to this would be the D7000 which is $2,137.99 right now. in store this sony is $1,799.99 i got it the last day it was $1,699.99. i highly recommend this to anyone who wants a great tv. the best plasmas may have better picture quality but image retention is very annoying. i was going to buy the panasonic GT30 or the GT31 which is the package. but when i was watching it i saw the channel logo in the bottom right corner and my samsung plasma had terrible image retention and was only 1 year old. if you are getting a tv only for movies plasma is the way to go but for a family room or anything else i would get lcd or led. i use the ps3 as my 3d bluray player and is great. mw3 is awesome in 1080p.the 3d is good. the simulated 3d is okay but not great.but actual 3d content such as 3d blurays or 3d movies on demand are great and the 3d picture quality is great.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Sports enthusiast, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Sony - PlayStation 3 (160GB)
4.6 out of 5(185)
 
 
 
AudioQuest - Forest 3-2/7' In-Wall HDMI Cable - Black/Green
4.4 out of 5(75)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

excellent tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: justin2115
from richland, wa
on 10/13/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
I have the 55 kdl-hx800 which is a very close model to this tv. If you're looking for a top notch tv this is the one to buy. If you're looking for an excellent 3D tv this is the tv to buy. The picture on this tv is amazing. I have the tv hooked up to a PS3 for movies and gaming. Movies in Blu-ray are outstanding and even regular tv programming (with directv HD) look amazing. I also use this tv for watching netflix,wired, so I don't use the wireless adapter.This tv is awesome.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix and pandora
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Best looking 55" in the store

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GregD
from NJ
on 10/05/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I bought this TV to watch cable HD programs and play Xbox 360 on. Not really interested in the 3D, or internet gadgets, so I wont comment on those aspects.
FYI, the TV is $200 less in-store than it is on the Best Buy site. I paid $1699, while its currently listed on here for $1899. Unfortunately, few stores have this model in stock. So I made the purchase at a store, and went to the local Best Buy warehouse to pick it up.
Wow! what a beautiful picture. There is a barely any backlight bleed through. Black backgrounds and borders look like black glass. The colors are realistic and so smooth. This screen is semi glossy coated with "gorilla glass". This gives off a bit of reflection if you have a bright lamp, or sunny window directly in front. However, its almost indestructable to pets and small children.
The TV came out of the box pretty much setup perfectly. Not a disaster of over-the-top dynamic everything going on like other brands. The only thing I really had to adjust was the motion flow feature to OFF. I just dont care for it. It makes motion smoother, but even with the high end Sony model, it still makes the picture move a little weird.
I use a soundbar, but sampling the TVs sound alone was really better than expected for such a thin model. The optical out cable was completely in-sync with the TV speakers too.
The viewing angle is full color all around. It doesnt fade more than a little, even if you are looking from the side edge.
The only complaint I have is that the TV doesnt come with 3D glasses or any extras. However, the picture quality is worth the separate purchase. I recently bought an LG 3D bundled TV, which I returned almost immediately due to its awful picture quality. Dont be enticed by these "get stuff free" packages. This is an amazing TV.
I am so happy with this purchase!!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Quality at a nice price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tdog8050
from dfw,texas
on 08/24/2011
  • Top 250 Contributor
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Its a Sony
What's not so great: the price in comparison to others if not on sale
In preparation for the upcoming football season I was in the market for a new 55" of some sort. I always wanted a Sony big screen so they were my first choice. I also looked into Samsung and Panasonic. Eventually I had my mind set on Sony only and eyed all the 240mhz tv's. I ended up going with this lower priced model and I am glad I did. After 2-3 weeks of my purchase the price went from 2499 to 1999. I went back to Best Buy and without a hassle, I got the price difference.
My setup consist of this model tv, S580 3d Blu Ray, the STR1010 Receiver, a PS3 and DirecTV all connected via HDMI (1) going to TV. I will admit that it was pain to get it working right but that pain was only because the new HDMI 1.4a wasn't compatible with the ARC for some reason. It took me a week to figure this out. Once I did figured it out, every thing was perfect and would have only taken a few hours to setup. So be aware that your cable could be a problem.
The screen is very reflective. Mirror like in fact. If you have alot of light going on while watching, it could be a problem. My setup has limited lighting so I am fine. I actually had to add ambient lighting behind the TV. Adding led on the perimeter of the tv all around looks real real good being wall mounted. Viewing the set up is awesome.
The quality of this TV is great. Spend the time to tune it. If needed, get the geek squad to calibrate it. There are loads of features and options to modify. The apps and the interface is good. No complaints. One of my main intents for this purchase was for the 3d. Everything is going 3d nowadays so I wanted to jump aboard now. Teamed up with the S580, my setup is nice, crisp and clear. Love it. My HD directv and its 3d programs functions just as the 3d movies and it all looks real good. My whole setup purchased this past summer was and is well worth the cost. I am a big Sony fan and Sony came thru for me as usual.
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Crackle
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Best TV I have ever owned

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sierra88
from Birmingham, AL
on 08/02/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Best Picture I have ever seen
What's not so great: Nothing
Every 5-6 years I upgrade our main household TV to the best that I can afford. I purchased this TV over one week ago and have had a chance to sample every type of television show from network TV shows to sports to movies.
This TV is exactly what I expected from Sony, incredible picture quality and full of features. While doing research I read several concerns about the sound not being adequate but I have had no problem using the speakers built into the TV. If you turn the bass up just a bit higher than the treble it helps out a great deal.
I also read on some 'professional sites' about how this TV has the LEDs in the corners and does not perform well in very dark scenes. After watching 'The Godfather' I can tell you that is not true, there are so many dark scenes in the movie and I was pleased throughout.
The built in wifi is very cool but I will be running a CAT 5 cable to the TV soon because it seems a bit sluggish probably due to marginal signal from my wireless router.
I have not used the 3D capabilities just because that does not interest me.
The TV is much heavier compared to other similar sized TVs, you will definitely need two people carrying this in your home and to mount.
I really like the 'Presence Sensor' that will turn the TV off after it does not detect any motion in the room for a set period (you can choose the time to turn off). It should prolong the life of the TV as I can't tell you how many times I come home and the kids or wife left the TV on all day.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: You Tube
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great picture, amazing size, nice features

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MikeF22315
from Woodbridge, VA
on 10/20/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, easy to configure, good price
So far, very impressed with this system. The 3-D feature is an interesting expansion and I'm looking forward to more future 3D content, particularly in sports. TV is bright, picture is crisp, refreshes well, and the size is remarkably thin. Although I chose to table mount it, it would be easy to mount to a wall given the thinness and lightness of the TV.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Even better than I expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ntjchatm
from Boston, MA
on 10/12/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up internet connection
What's not so great: Haven't found any problems yet
I bought this TV a week ago after doing some research and realizing that the features stacked up quite well against the competition. With a recent sale that was going on we got a great deal. I had Best Buy deliver and set up the TV and it worked from the start. With only a couple clicks of the controller I had the internet up and running on my wireless network. I have a Play Station 3 that I found quite difficult to set up and this was so easy in comparison The free content is amazing and preloaded programs give a ton of content, I especially like the Billabong network which has free action sports videos on demand. Having the TV on the wireless network allows you to get updates from Sony when they come available. The picture quality is great and the sound is better than I expected, even without a surround sound system. We have the TV in an extremely bright room and it works perfectly with very little glare.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Billabong Action Network
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

The cable guy seriously drooled a bit over this TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JFold
from Ypsilanti, MI
on 07/31/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The picture: bright and crisp
What's not so great: The sound: dull and canned, plan on buying a soundbar
I purchased this TV last week to replace a 5 or so year old Sharp Aquos. The good: The picture on this TV is nothing short of stunning. It is also very easy to set up and connects to internet via WIFI. The Sync feature is relatively easy to use and exceptionally convenient so long as you have sync-friendly equipment, meaning Sony accessories. This feature for simple functions eliminates the need for other remotes and streamlines device changes. I can easily control my soundbar and bluray with my TV remote. I also love that there is a Netflix button for easy viewing as well as plenty of online features. This TV is also very slim.
The not so good: The sound is pathetic when compared to the beauty of the picture and overall expense of the TV. If you are purchasing this TV then plan on purchasing a Sony soundbar and connect it to the TV with an HDMI cable to sync and control through the TV remote/ cable remote. The soundbar itself has 3 or 4 HDMI inputs and can act to eliminate wires behind the TV. The soundbar hides easily behind the TV on the stand and the sub woofer really adds to the viewing experience. Also on the not so good: the stand is somewhat flimsy. While it does rotate, the single bar holding the TV up seems somewhat inadequate. The TV actually rocks a bit on the stand when touched.
Despite the poor quality of the sound I still give this TV 5-stars. The soundbar while an added expense integrates with the TV easily and is relatively unobtrusive. What the soundbar does however is complete the theater-like experience without cluttering my living room with multiple speakers and wires. For this TV it is a necessary evil because the overalll slim design and narrow frame prevent decent sound. Speakers are behind the monitor and there are no obvious speaker vents from the front. To me it is a question of form vs function. The TV is beatiful. The soundbar merely makes up for the loss of function.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer
4.3 out of 5(154)
 
 
 
Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.3 out of 5(383)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Exceptional Picture quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GoCOAvs
from Golden
on 11/18/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size and picture quality are just great
What's not so great: Sonyt TV internal speakers are of poor quality
Easy installation, exception picture quality, poor sound quality must use external speakers.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: none
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

This TV has outstanding picture quality.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Miner
from Montgomery, TX
on 11/22/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
We have only had the TV for a month but have had no problems and the picture quality is excellent.
About me... Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflex
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great Picture! Great Connectivity!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MusicPerson
from Pennsylvannia
on 02/23/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Can do everything that I want. AWESOME PICTURE!
What's not so great: Sony style interface...lots of settings
In reading the other reviews before purchasing this unit, I saw that many people had a lot to say about the sound quality. I cannot really speak to that, as I have mine hooked into a sound system. I didn't buy it for the sound; I bought it for it's awesome display.
And about that display: this unit has the best picture I've seen in an LED. It's blacks are very dark (mostly due to the actively dimming LEDs). Its colors are beyond vibrant, and it is a very clear picture.
The 3D image on the TV is very stable and clear. I am able to play games and watch 3D movies for long times and have found it to be a very enjoyable experience. It seems more realistic than the 3D movies at the theater, and the large 55" screen really pulls you into the movie/game.
The online apps work smoothly, and the contained WiFI is speedy and was simple to connect to my home network. Because of the faster WIFI, I have been very impressed with streaming HD content from both Netflix and Amazon. The picture has much better quality than I had been used to with the slower connection through both my PS3 and Wii.
I only really have one problem with the TV, and it is more of a positive disguised as a negative. Sony likes to give you a lot of choices and preferences. They are all set-up through Sony's style of settings and preferences (very close to the PS3's XMB settings style). It has a learning curve. But it has to in order to give you so many choices. So at first it will confuse you. After hours of button pushing you will love all the preferences and settings, but it will take some work. Like I said, a positive that will start out as a negative.
This is a great TV, and I will recommend this to anyone who wants a great screen, and isn't scared of learning how to use it!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Amazon VOD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Best International TV I have ever owned !!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: amit2204
from Spokane,WA
on 12/15/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything !!!!
What's not so great: Nothing :(
I spent hours doing research and reading reviews, comparing Sony to all available products, the pros the cons from a ton of different reviews from various websites before I bought this TV. I was able to buy this TV in a black Friday sale that was going on and we got a great deal on the KDL-55HX729 for $1368.
If you're looking for a top notch tv this is the one to buy. If you're looking for an excellent 3D tv this is the tv to buy. The picture on this tv is amazing. Having the TV on the wireless network allows you to get updates from Sony when they become available. The picture quality is great and the sound is better than I expected; I recommend getting a 3D Blu Ray player and Monster Cables - You won’t believe your eyes.
The TV supports 120v ~ 240v, 50hz-60Hz. Since it is distributed primarily in the US & Canada, the UL certification is for 120v only. Hence the UL label is different from the Manufacturer label. I personally tested the unit at home by connecting it to a 240V - 50HZ testing apparatus; this was very important for me as I might need to move to another country with different voltage levels and frequencies due to the "nature" of my job.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Techie123456
from Arlington, VA
on 11/28/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great features and price and clean look
What's not so great: Internet connection too slow
Was looking for a 60" TV but ended up going with this for the great price and features. TV has a very thin slick look and the sound is pretty decent. I actually didn't expect the sound to be that good but it is very good. The remote control is very easy to use and simplistic. Lots of times you get these TVs with overly complex remote controls. This TV has tons of features and the picture quality is great. I will say on my Xbox I watch the Netflix through that and the picture quality was not as good as I anticipated for this TV. Picture was better when I used the Netflix app built into the TV but the Internet connection is so slow on this TV. I was excited that it has a built in Web browser but its pointless because the WiFi connection is so slow. Maybe it will be faster if I plug it in directly or use a router but jeez its slow... TV is not too heavy and has a clean look. Took me seconds to put it together, very easy to set up. For the price, you can't beat what you get with this package. I am sure once I get a 3D Blue Ray player it will be even better! And playing my Xbox games on this ant its amazing! Picture is so clear and sound quality is great i feel like I am in the game! Perfect for playing Battlefield 3!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Yahoo Widgets
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Simply awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Axiomatic
from New jersey
on 02/10/2012
What's great about it: Picture quality, great price for 240 refresh, Internet capability
What's not so great: Flimsy on stand but mounting it to the wall soon
Truly great tv. Easy to set up and fantastic picture quality. I have it paired with a Sony bravia surround sound system so one hdmi cable delivers video and sound. This is my second Sony Bravia t.v. Wouldn't buy anything else.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Sony - 1000W 5.1-Ch. 3D/Wi-Fi Blu-ray Home Theater System
4.1 out of 5(75)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Compared to Panasonic and Samsung, clearly superio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PackerFan38
from Greendale, WI
on 12/19/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, picture, picture. Did I mention picture?
What's not so great: Haven't found a super-easy way to switch from Netflix back to TV.
I bought this TV to replace my older, 42" Panasonic plasma TV. It took me 3 tries to get it right.
The first TV I purchased was the Panasonic plasma, the ST30 model. I assumed this would be much better than my older Panasonic, but when I brought it home I was....disappointed. The picture appeared dark, colors were dull. I tried all sorts of adjustments, but no luck. Returned the TV.
The second TV was a Samsung 6420. The picture was a little better than the Panasonic, but I was annoyed by the "blurring" in fast motion. I know that it doesn't bother some people, but after having a plasma screen for years I really didn't like it. Had to return this one, too.
Finally, I picked up the Sony. I was getting a little tired of looking at TV's, and then not liking them, and had kind of resigned myself to live with this TV, good or bad.
I can say that from the minute I plugged it in, this TV had the "wow" factor. Beautiful picture, no blurring on motion, and an upgrade over my old Panasonic plasma TV.
I do not know if my the first TV, the ST30, was defective, because the picture on that TV seemed like it had a "contrast filter" over the screen (I even looked to see if there was a screen protector that I had forgotten to remove). And the Samsung, at 120Hz, really had a blur in fast motion. The Sony, though, has by far the best picture and does not have any blur at all.
And I'm just happy I don't have to look at TV's for another decade or so!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great Value for Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Skrill
from Hammond, IN
on 12/21/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sony, Price, Quality
What's not so great: Have not found anything yet.
The picture looks better in my home than at the store. Tv has alot of features but still easy to setup. After a couple of minutes through the initial setup the tv was looking awesome. Can change the settings to your own preference. Has many options, tools, features. More than what i was expecting. I feel like you're getting top quality. I've only had the tv for a few days setup with HDTV and PS3 and it is great. Will be adding more items to tv. Sound is great for tv. I've read previous reviews and some give the tv bad rating on sound but i don't feel like it's bad. Remember it's a tv speaker not a home theater system.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora, Yahoo Widgets, Youtube
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BRAVIA - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Excellent TV!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dave0000000000001
from Brooklyn, NY
on 12/19/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture quality/refresh rate!
What's not so great: nothing worth mentioning
ok, to start I have been looking into buying a new tv for months but could never quite pull the trigger. But the sales around Thanksgiving this year were too good to pass up. Reviews were good for all my options (primarily Samsung and LG) so it came down to specs, size and price.
literally took the TV out of the box plugged in hdmi to PS3, my hd antenna, and ethernet (it has wifi but Id rather hardwire when possible). After maybe five minutes of a 20 question on screen set up guide I was up and running beautifully. Watched transformers 3 and could not have been more pleased. While i really had my heart set on the samsung thin frame tv's, this TV has a narrow frame anyway for the the size and price (at the time) it could not be beat.
sound seems fine to me for a TV, of course its not theater sound but thats why there are milliions of home theater systems to choose from.
the menu navigation for all the online features seems to be a little laggy at times but I don't use it enough to really care.
the pandora and netflix apps are awesome and make it really nice to not have to switch on the ps3.
Ive only had the tv for a week but so far I couldn't be happier. SD and HD both look fantastic!!!!!
haven't tried the 3d yet because I didn't buy the glasses. speaking of - thats one downside is not only are they more expensive glasses but this was probably the only tv that didn't include the kit when I bought it - oh well. I don't really care for 3d much but I'll try to post an update once I check it out.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
PlayStation 3 - Refurbished PlayStation 3 Slim (160GB) Gaming System
2.0 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>