Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Model: GC30002
SKU: 2490074
UPC: 685387329311
This ColorStudio HD drawing application features an iMarker intelligent digital stylus for multiactivity drawing and features a library of backgrounds, music, sound effects and more to add personal touches to your drawings.
Average Customer Rating:
1.727 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 88 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
6
2 stars
11
1 star
60
15% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
13 out of 88
)
Customer Reviews for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2
Review 1 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Not worth the money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TF919081
from Livonia, MI
on 10/29/2012
What's great about it: Very Little!
What's not so great: Difficult to use. Does not respond well.
My 3 and 6 years old Grandsons did not find this product easy to use or very fun at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Not worth the money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Alana03
from Arizona
on 07/11/2012
What's not so great: You have to push hard and it's slow
I bought this for my 8yr old daughter, and hoped it would work as a stylus for me. We got the app for it and colored a few pics. You have to use heavy pressure for it to work, and it had a lot of lag. It was slow, you couldn't color fast at all. I returned it. I haven't tried a real stylus yet to compare it to so I'm not sure if I would have the same issues with one of those.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Nothing special

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Rockwall, TX
on 07/04/2012
What's great about it: not much
What's not so great: clunky
Its a bit cumbersome. Also, when the device is turned on, it makes a high pitched sound that is almost inaudible - yet you can still hear it. The pen is just ok, and the app is not that much better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Not very Good

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: venom01x
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: The Concept
What's not so great: The Execution
Bought this for my 4 year old and had to return it due to requiring quite a bit of pressure to color on the iPad2. I dont return too many things but I guess I should have read the rating on this before I bought it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Does not work with the IPad screen protector

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: IPadToddlerMom
from Phoenix, AZ
on 06/13/2012
What's great about it: Love the animations in the app
What's not so great: Stylus pen included doesn't work with screen protector
So you bought the Crayola ColorStudio, got it home, downloaded the free app, unlocked the app using the ColorStudio Pen, and low and behold the pen doesn't seem to work? Does your toddler really have to mash down on the pen this hard to color the pages? Why does the pen seem to work intermittently? Did you buy a defective product? The answer is no. But it sounds as though you have a protective plastic shield on your IPad to prevent your toddler from scratching the surface. Because we all know how gentle our little ones can be with electronics. The Crayola ColorStudio Stylus pen has a 3 second delay before the colors start to appear on the page. Plus, the stylus pen does not have the sensitivity to make contact with the IPad through the protective plastic cover. So now what? You just spent $30 plus tax on a toy that won't work on your IPad? There is no way you're going to remove the plastic shield and risk your precious little one from scratching your several hundred dollar electronic. The answer is yes, take it back to the store BUT don't return it...exchange it. Pick up the Bamboo Stylus pen instead. The Bamboo Stylus pen is thick enough for your toddler to grip, does not have a real built in pen (which could be a disaster for your walls), and has a rounded rubber tip to prevent the IPad from getting scratched. This pen has an instant reaction time for coloring on the pages of the Crayola ColorStudio app and is not affected by your plastic cover. The Bamboo Stylus pen is the same price as the Crayola ColorStudio stylus, so it will be an even swap. See, not such a waste of time and money after all for your toddler to have hours of fun coloring on the Crayola app.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Wacom - Bamboo Stylus for Most Touch-Screen Devices - Silver
4.2 out of 5(350)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

product does not work.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mdkyle
from clemmons
on 06/13/2012
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: the pen does not work and a stylus will not activate the app either
Do not buy this the pen that comes with it will not draw with the crayola app on the ipad and an aftermarket stylus will not work either. Completely useless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Hard to use...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BlueCayman
from Mountain View, CA
on 05/23/2012
What's great about it: Great concept
What's not so great: Pen
The solution is really neat. The graphics and concept really sit well with young children. However, the execution of the pen is less than useful. It takes quite a bit of pressure for the pen to register on the screen. For a child, it's challenging to make this work.
At this point, the pen is collecting dust and the app is unused. It's too bad you couldn't just use your finger or regular stylus to make the app work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

it is horrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: schoolmom17
from choctaw ok
on 05/22/2012
What's great about it: great ideal but needs a lot of improvment
What's not so great: it does not work with screen covers
I bought this to see if it would keep my three year old busy when he wasn't otherwise busy. It did not work for me so I wasn't about to let him try. I did try the regular stylus and it worked great. If you are thinking about getting one don't just use a regular stylus..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Fun game, better with fingers or regular stylus.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Andrea43123
from Ohio
on 05/20/2012
What's great about it: Colorful, plenty of options and fun, keeps my 3.5-year-old busy.
What's not so great: The Crayola stylus is useless with a Zagg screen protector.
I was convinced we were doing something wrong until I read the reviews on this product! It's such a fun, neat idea for little ones, but the stylus is definitely a joke if you have any kind of heavy duty protector on your screen like I do (Zagg Invisible Shield). I can't speak for ease of use without it, but I'm really disappointed overall. It just so happened that I purchased a regular stylus for my iPhone and iPad the same day -- it works a thousand times better than the Crayola stylus! My advice? Return the game and buy a plain old stylus compatible with the Apple platform #less than half the price). The Crayola Studio HD app is free, so you can still use it. This is what I'll be doing very soon!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Great Tool for Coloring on a I-Pad

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: QueenAnne
on 05/16/2012
What's great about it: Very Easy to Use
I am pleased with the product! My daughter enjoys coloring. This application helps her pass the time when she is waiting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Your finger works better!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Jen454321
from Ma
on 05/04/2012
We tried using this pen with our son and it was junk. We kept trying to draw things or color and it would stop working. But then I used my finger and that worked great! Returned it the next day!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Don't waste your money!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: paigem4
from Benton, Ar
on 04/06/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
I purchased this stylus for my 4 year old daughter for Christmas. Once I got batteries in it and got it connected to the iPad, the thing wouldn't even color. We have a Zagg Shield on our iPad for protection from whatever she can do to harm it. The stylus never had a chance. You had to press really hard on the screen. I had to press so hard for it to work that the screen changed colors. I took it back the next day!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Difficult to use

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Clemclem
on 04/05/2012
What's great about it: The idea
What's not so great: Have to press way too hard with pen.
I feel like it is difficult for me to press hard enough to get this to work let alone my three year old. Extremely disappointing design with poor response time from pen to app. Avoid this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from VAB
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
Kids hated it. Didn't work.
Avoid it.
Overpriced.
Junk
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

To difficult

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SavingAngel
from Texas
on 03/14/2012
My kids had a hard time using it. I tried and couldn't get it to work right. I would not reccomend this. Save your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Terrible. Cheap and not useable.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JWeldin
from Summerville, SC
on 03/08/2012
What's great about it: The idea.
What's not so great: Quality. Responsiveness.
Cheaply made. Broke within 20 minutes of normal use. Doesn't interact well with the app even when working correctly. Required so much pressure to use that my 3 year old had a hard time using it. I returned it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Worst Product EVER !!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TampaBuyer
from Tampa FL
on 03/02/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
Simply speaking, dont WASTE your money on this, even in case you received as a gift, go back a returned !!!
My Duagther was not even able to do anything with it... dont waste your time and money on this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

AWFULL

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: grandfather44
from florida
on 03/01/2012
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: EVERYTHING
DOES NOT WORK AS ADVERTISED, VERY FRUSTRATING FOR MY GRANDAUGHTER AGE 5.
I RETURNED IT, WHICH I VERY SELDOM DO WITH ANY PRODUCT.!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

it barely works

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ogsamerz
from oregon
on 03/01/2012
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: it doesnt work right
I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. my kids dont even use it because it is so faulty. I think its in a drawer somewhere. I wish I had the box so that I could return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Griffin Technology - Crayola ColorStudio HD for Apple iPad and iPad 2

Hard for little ones to use, not worth the money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ss83
from Ohio
on 03/01/2012
A simple stylus would be much easier for a child to use. You have to push down with a decent amount of pressure for the pen to work. My three year old would rather use her fingers because the pen is so frustrating. For the price you would expect it to open up more activities than what it actually does. Pen is very cheaply made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>